Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
425 Reviews
123.7647145
Write A Review
November 6, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

After being medically retired from the Marine Corps it's been difficult to live everyday life. The feeling of not fitting in and missing everything you loved doing over the last 7 years. The Wounded Warrior Project has brought a sense of community to events that otherwise I felt wouldn't be experienced again. Not only that but being able to take my family to go do things like staying the night in the Florida Keys and getting in the water with dolphins and swimming with them, which was so amazing and we had only dreamed of something like that. I tell all of my fellow disabled veterans of the therapeutic and special events they provide for us, I am forever thankful.
February 26, 2015

more

February 26, 2015

I haven't been able to attend an event yet but have been able to interact with other WWP Alumni. I tried to get out and get into more things so I could be more comfortable being a wounded warrior and Disabled American Veteran. Through the WWP I understood that I don't have to be so guarded about my military history or injuries and that the injuries don't have to be hidden. This has allowed me to join the local DAV and be more supportive of other WWP Alumni and become a leader who wants to help other veterans and current military members. I have even become the Iowa state coordinator for the National Freedom Ride. Any WWP Alumni who wish to attend can join the ride on the 16th of May and can see the event on facebook by placing this in the address bar: https://www.facebook.com/events/1601251946754996 I hope to see as many WWP Members as possible and if any come up and let me know they heard about the ride through the WWP they will not have to pay the entry fee.
February 26, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Spent my entire adult life serving my country. Medically discharged and left feeling hopeless and with no interest in anything. Depressed and unable to care about anything. I attended a Project Odyssey event in Breckenridge Colorado. I haven't had that good of a time in many years. The staff are top notch and the facility and events are AMAZING. I salute you WWP. You are a class act. Thank you for everything.
February 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Wounded Warrior Project has been an immense help to this retired vet. My VSO Shawn Poston was my ONLY contact throughout my VA disability claim process that took the VA over 15 months to come to a decision. Not one time did the VA contact me during that 15 months to let me know what was going on with my claim; however, Shawn sent me an email nearly every month, in addition he enrolled me into the WWP Alumni program, they provided me with assistance in resume writing, job fairs, clothing allowances once I got my new job to help me purchase business attire. Bottom Line, the entire team at the WWP Nashville office, specifically Shawn Poston, were instrumental in helping me make the transition from 28 years of military service with four combat tours to civilian life. WWP has gotten some grief in the press about their overhead costs and how much of donated dollars actually go to a vet....well, all I can tell you is, the proof is in their effectiveness. They have offices in every major city, which means they have to employee a large number of people, pay rent, etc... this costs money...but these people provide direct assistance to the vets, from counseling to acting as a VSO to training. I received a 90% disability rating from the VA, yes I am broke, but had I not had Shawn there to guide me through the process, I probably would not have claimed injuries I should have or gotten a lesser rating....even when I got my rating the VA said they were not counting me as married, even though my wife and I have been married for 26 years, all of which I was in the Army....Shawn immediately called the VA on my behalf showed them that they had made a mistake and they revised my claim on the spot, this means real additional dollars in compensation....I could go on and on....bottom line, WWP is an amazing organization, wholly focused on supporting veterans, and you can't find a better place to work with as a vet or send money as a donor. WWP gets the job done!
February 17, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

THE WOUNDED WARRIOR PROJECT CHANGED MY LIFE. LITERALLY. I'M 47 YEARS OLD, AND WAS SENT TO IRAQ IN 2004. SINCE I'VE RETURNED FROM IRAQ, WITH INJURIES, I WAS SITTING AROUND DEPRESSED AND SUICIDAL. NOTHING SEEMED LIKE IT WAS GOING WELL FOR ME. EVERYTHING, LIFE, JUST SEEMED SO MISERABLE AND UNHAPPY FOR ME. I AM IN CONSTANT PAIN, BOTH PHYSICALLY AND MENTALLY, AND THAT REALLY TAKES A TOLL ON ME. I LOOKED INTO THE WOUNDED WARRIOR PROJECT, AND I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT. THEY TURNED OUT TO BE THE NICEST, KINDEST, MOST CARING PEOPLE I HAVE EVER MET IN MY LIFE. FROM A CHARITY POINT-OF-VIEW, I CAN PERSONALLY ATTEST TO THE FACT THAT THEY SPEND THEIR MONEY ON THE VETERAN. SERIOUS. I HAVE VIEWED THEIR CHARITABLE ACTIONS FIRST-HAND, AND HAD THE PRIVILEDGE OF BEING A RECIPIENT. THEY REALLY DO SPEND THEIR MONEY ON THE VETERAN. IF YOU CHOOSE TO DONATE TO THE WOUNDED WARRIOR PROJECT, THE MONEY REALLY DOES GO TO THE VETERAN. I CAN'T STRESS THAT ENOUGH. THEY TURNED ME AROUND FROM A DEPRESSED, SUICIDAL LUMP OF CRAP, AND HELPED ME BUILD MY LIFE BACK UP. THEY HAVE DONE MORE FOR ME THAN ANYONE EVER HAS. I HAVE ACTUALLY BEEN HAPPY SINCE I MET THEM, SOMETHING I WASN'T FOR 9 YEARS. THEY ARE THE REAL-DEAL. HOOAH.
February 17, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have had nothing but great experiences with the wounded warrior project. From the friendly and awesome staff at the local office to the family events, and the different physical abd wellness things I have participated in.
February 16, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I'm 100% disabled VET. In (ALASKA) and my wife and I because of kind people and their donation were able to spend a weekend at Chena Hot Springs in ALASKA with WWP ,it was educational and exciteing.This was the first time in almost 10 years my wife and I were able to spend that type of quality time together and with people that deal with the same issues we deal with on a daily Bases. Also like to make a special shout out to Jason, Sean and Brooksi thank each one of you for the information.and also special shout out to all those people who donate to (WW P ) I want to let you know it does make a difference.Thanks agin The Shepherd Family
February 13, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I am the spouse of a wounded warrior and the WWP has been phenomenal in helping us. I am a licensed attorney who has had a hard time finding a job. The WWP has assisted me with revising my resume, as well as helping to pay the cost of my admission fees so that our family can become more financially secure. When my husband was active duty, I participated in many of the career fairs and resume writing workshops, but never received as much help as I did with WWP. We are so thankful that there is an organIzation out there that helps wounded warriors and their families. Thank you again WWP!
February 13, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

My husband was critically wounded while serving in Afghanistan. One of the injuries is a moderate brain injury. Sadly it has affected my husband in a lot of ways. Not feeling like he has a purpose and not being able to experience fun are some of the ways this has impacted us. Thanks to the Independence Program, which helps moderate to severely brain injured veterans link up with recreational therapists in the area to gain access to things that help bring them joy again. One of the best things we have connected him to is equine therapy. Being around horses puts a smile on his face like nothing else I have ever seen. It is truly a miracle to see him smile like that.

Recently, I got to go to Amelia Island in Florida with other caregivers of veterans in the Independence Project. It was so nice to relax and bond with others going through similar situations. I can't thank you all enough for what you do for our veterans and families. Anna Frese, Andrea Bridson.. thanks a million.
February 11, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I mean where do I begin? The Wounded Warrior project is simply AWESOME! They are just a bunch of awesome people EVERY single one of them! They are always looking out for veterans like me AND my family. I tell all my Veteran friends about the Wounded Warrior Project. They are always concerned about my needs and look out for my wants as well. They treat me and my family like GOLD!. The benefits team goes above and beyond and not only because I won my VA claim but because of how they informed me of the process and explained everything to me and didn't make any broken promises. I'm very proud to wear my WWP shirts and hats and brag to everyone about them. I highly recommend supporting and becoming a part of this nonprofit.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers