Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
324 Reviews
123.5648145
Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I don't even know where to begin with the help WWP has provided to my son and I. My son is an Iraq war veteran. While he did not sustain any visible injuries from the war, he was diagnosed with TBI and PTSD 2 yrs after discharge. WWP has been a real blessing for me in it helped me learn more about TBI and PTSD and how these injuries have effected my son and so many other service members. I am thankful every day for the endless support they have given us. I get weekly help through Warrior Talk and my WWP Mentor. These people have been such a source of strength and support to me - I don't feel so alone in dealing with the issues surrounding these injuries. I am forever thankful for this wonderful organization and the numerous resources they provide for veterans and their families.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

Words cannot express the positive life changing experiences I have encountered with the Wounded Warrior Program in the last 6 months. Back in March of this year I was laid off for the first time in my life. The following day I was at a two day workshop “Warriors to Work Program” offered by the Wounded Warrior Project. Those two days were crucial to enhance my interviewing skills, resume writing skills, and effective job searching skills. The feedback and training I received during those two days, helped me down the road when I began to interview for different jobs.

As the days of unemployment turned into weeks, I began to feel like I was going to break down mentally, the staff from the Wounded Warrior Program was there for me, I was able to enroll to physical and social activities such as, running, cooking classes, poker night, “Tough Mudder”, and baseball games. During these activities I was able to meet other veterans that were facing the same obstacles. I have been able to form a bond with some of them and once again I feel that sense of comradery, that I have only felt during my years in the service.

I was also able to be enrolled on the Pathfinder program, where I was able to receive excellent assistance to continue my education. After I returned from my tour of duty in Iraq, things were not the same and I struggled when I returned to college. My grades suffered and I had to drop out to work on myself. The Pathfinder program has helped me get back in track and by January of next year I should be back in school to finish my education.

The services provided by the Wounded Warrior Project do make a difference on veterans with different barriers like myself. I have been blessed to have the support of this great organization that truly cares about empowering each veteran. Now, I’m fully employed, getting ready to go back to school, I meet new veterans at each event I attend. When I get the opportunity, I try to help any veteran I encounter, by referring them to the Wounded Warrior Project or by sharing my experiences, and guiding them through their barriers.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for being there when I was at a low point in my life.

Sincerely,

Ulises
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

Everyone knows that they WWP is a godsend to those of us in need of help after the military. I'm here to tell you my side and my experience with the San Antonio Benefits team. I've never met an organization that will call you just to remind you of certain paperwork that should be submitted in order for you to be further compensated by either the VA out with the military. I can't speak for all benefit teams but the San Antonio benefiting went above and beyond what I could've ever hoped for. I now feel more confident knowing that the WWP has my back and so many of my brothers and sisters thank you I am forever in your debt. My only regret about this whole situation is that I only wish that I would've joined as soon as I got up and I waited soo long...
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

WWP has been instrumental in my recovery and has been there throughout the good, bad, and victories of my life. I can't say enough about the greatness of thier impact on the veteran community, we (warriors) consider them family and trust them with all aspects of our growth. Wounded has been redifined through WWP services as mentally and physically abled citizens who make great decisions with the tools and staff they provide us. They have since thier founding filled the gap left by traditional veterans organizations,WWP in essance has restated what defines VSO by setting a new standard through legislation, mental/physical wellness, and family support. I am a better father, husband, and citizen because of WWP's impact in my life.
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Lourdes Minor and I am a 16-year Army Veteran. I became a WWP Alumni in June of this year, and my experience thus far has exceeded my expectations!!! Joining WWP has been one of the best decisions I have made for myself and for my family since getting discharged. I have participated in the following WWP events: ATL Braves Bat Practice, Hero Run 5K, Wounded Warrior 8K Run Jacksonville, 7 Habits of Highly Effective People Seminar, Transition Training Academy, Basics of Culinary, Summer Jam Concert , and Six Flags Over Georgia! All these events have been AWESOME!!! I have had the honor of meeting various WWP staff members and other fellow WWP Alumni. Everybody has been very friendly. Dealing with PTSD can sometimes make it difficult to relate to others or make new friends, but being involved with WWP feels like home and helps me feel normal again. Thank you Wounded Warrior Project from the bottom of my heart!!!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I'm a coast guard member that suffered a brain injury. Its been a few years since I had gone out and done much of anything fun in public because of public anxiety and other issues stemming from the injury. The wwp has encouraged me to get out and be apart of events with my family.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Woundedwarriorproject.org got tickets to see WWE Live and I had a blast.
From hanging out with fellow veterans, to the great seats. It was an amazing experience.

Thank you.
September 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Bill Jones and I was the veteran hired to go on tour with Def Leppard during their summer tour with KISS. I was selected among thousands of candidates through the WWP Warriors to Work program, military.com, and the Raven Drum Project.

Before I get to the review portion, I will
need to first give a little history as to how the Warriors to Work program has drastically changed my life. I retired medically from the Army in June of 2013. I was medically discharged primarily for PTSD along with some underlying back/neck/shoulder issues. I tried for six months to find work and the only jobs available were either minimum wage or based off of commission. Saying as if I commuted 45 minutes daily to Nashville to work a long day than drive back every evening was a lot to handle, but to do it without pay was worse. I was trying to make it in the life insurance industry and failed miserably.

When I signed up for the Warriors to work program, I was battered and torn. I was simply trying to find some stability. Around mid April, I received an email announcing a job opportunity for the summer with Def Leppard. Saying as if Def Leppard has been a huge impact in my life for over twenty years I jumped on the opportunity. My Warriors to Work rep in the Nashville office assisted me with ensuring my resume was sound and well written. I had no expectations as I knew I was competing with thousands. Eventually, through numerous interviews I was eventually hired.

The experience has been amazing. From being accepted into the Def Leppard family on the first day, to gaining valuable trade skills during the tour, I have proven that a veteran has an outstanding work ethic. I started out not knowing what I would be doing, than was directed to video because I was in a degree program for broadcast media. I was brought under the wing of a very experienced LED technician, learning everything from cabling and assembly, to identifying errors. I was also asked to run a camera during the show. Due to my work ethic, I was promoted to lead camera operator within the first month, and remained so until the tour completed on the 31st of August. Initially, I was supposed to go home after the tour, but I was asked to continue on with Def Leppard for an additional set in Mexico.

I can't thank the WWP enough for giving me that opportunity to be a part of something big. Something that only few have experienced. Without them, I would still be trying to figure out where our mortgage is coming from and how to feed our children. Thank You WWP.
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

Hello, I am the spouse of a wounded warrior and the Wounded Warriors To Work asset has helped me beyond my wildest dreams. Laura L. first equipped me with the Warrior's to Work Workshop then she fixed my resume for me e.g. fixed what was wrong with it. Later she sent me job listings that proved to be better than any I could have found on my own. Lastly, I received a hit from the company that I applied for. I haven't worked since 2007 however, with my MBA in hand my job search has even been a month. The Warriors to Work program will also help you obtain suitable clothing. Because of my long lapse of employment I thought it would be hard it wasn't Laura and the Wounded Warrior Project gave me tools on Networking, LinkedIn, hiring agents attended the Workshop to explain what they are looking for in candidates all of which I believe worked in my favor. Great non profit they have helped my husband tremendously, my children, and myself. The Wounded Warrior Project helps the entire family not just the wounded soldier
Thanks,
Willette T. Gore

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure that more wounded warriors new the help that they are missing is out there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

I attended an Alumni AZ Female Warrior Sedona Wellness Weekend. The Wounded Warrior Project gave females a chance to connect to each other and females were able to share their experiences, good and bad. This was a great experience. Thank you to the Wounded Warrior Project.
Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers