Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
12.57459345
Previous | 1 2 3...18 |
Write A Review
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I met the Wounded Warrior Project while still in Walter Reed Army Medical Center in 2006. They brought me a back pack like they have done for so many. That was the start of a very rewarding relationship. Through various events WWP got me out of my shell and doing things that I thought I would never do again. Those events themselves are great but really the greatest part of it all was that those few short events translated into friendships and confidence that allows me to get out of my house everyday and go to work or to the store or whatever it is I want to do. I'm not like I was before the IED blast but in some ways I'm better and WWP is a big part of that.
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

In 2013, I had plans to go back to school, filed for VA Compensation rating increase but I wasn't getting to lead way doing by myself. My Marine Corps brother, Jemel Smith introduce me to the Wounded Warrior Projects. Mr Smith took to the San Diego WWP office to met Dennis Mesday, where I was enrolled in Alumni for future events. I was able to get a copy of my DD214, I was able to get my GI Bill so I could go back to school for business. Dennis show what Wounded Warrior Project has to offer. I took full advantage of everything! I was able to use Warrior to Work, joined dodgeball, kickball with fellow veterans. My experiences with Wounded Warrior Project was the best thing that happen to me. All the plans I wanted to accomplish in 2014 are being done. I want to thank Dennis Mesday, Chase Sterling, Ron Conway and the rest of the WWP San Diego office for their help for a better future for my family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

WWP has helped in so many ways. They have done so many positive things for me and my family. They all truly care about the wounded warriors in the program.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I was referred to WWP via a veterans crisis line. Subsequent interaction with other WWP vets helped move me from a place of utter hopelessness and despondency to one of fellowship and hope. When I was invited to an Odessey, my life was changed for the better because the event proved to me that there was a place in society for me; one of a well-adjusted citizen veteran.

The WWP employee staff are very sincere in their efforts to assist the veteran. It is an endless, thankless task that requires a great deal of dedication. Many are wounded warriors themselves, so they know first-hand the challenges faced by their target audience.

Wwp cannot be all things to all people; to those who ask, no answer will suffice. But know this: they do not lie, cheat, or steal, and do not tolerate those who do. They give of themselves freely, encourage the weak, carry the fallen, and honor the mission with service to those in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

By far the best non profit out there. They truley know how to aid these current and newer veterans out there. My hat is off to them for above and beyond approach they have to meet the needs of those who need it! By the way, I'm one of these wounded veterans. People complain a lot about them, but if you walked a day in my shoes. You'd see them in a entirely different light.
Best,
Alex Perkins
USMC Ret.
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am writing this review to help all that don't understand what wounded warrior project means to me and my brother's and sister's.
I was injured on july 1 2003 by (IED) witch changed my life . I asked myself where do i go from here.I lost my family one that i had for 16 years . But i did fine
family the WWP family they have been there for me threw the thick and thin of it all .yes my life has changed but with the WWP family. There was light at the end of the tunnel.they was there when i had thoughts of the end and pulled me out.they where there when i needed a friend to talk to. When i needed help with finances. But most of all WWP Family was there when i needed a Family.they have tought me so much to beleive in myself and others.now i am in am mentor for WWP to empower outhers brothers and sister's to become a alumni and peer mentor . If it wasn't for WWP i wouldn't be here today. I love my new family and you should understand what they do for our soldiers comes from the heart. Thanks to the WWP Family for being part of my life And letting me be a part of yours .
WWP Mentor David Allen Calhoun
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Since Jan 2013 to right now Apr 2014 my life has changed completely. I went from being an isolated person to one who is more friendly, active in society, involved in different projects. The Wounded Warrior Project has given me the opportunity to make this change; it has empowered me to participate in different events at no cost to me or my wife. I got to meet other warriors who with I could relate and make friends.
The Wounded Warrior Project is a magnificent organization always looking for the veteran's welfare.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

WWP has been under fire lately. The bottom line is they do amazing stuff to help veterans like myself who are suffering from PTSD. Many veterans like myself are far worse, to include missing limbs and amputees.

I will always be there for my fellow warrior! I will always be there for
the WWP, because they have always been there for me! They empower the warriors to be better! Live better, get better jobs, eat healthier!

Keep up the good work WWP! You like the Warriors who didn't make it back, will never be forgotten!
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I just returned from a WWP Summit this weekend and I can honestly say that the leadership at WWP are the real deal! Every single leader I met had only one goal in mind; to help wounded warriors. After meeting most of the leadership from the top down, I can honestly say that I am honored to be a part of this organization. The WWP are genuinely passionate about helping their fellow wounded warriors and their families. The vast majority of the WWP leaders are combat-wounded veterans themselves. As a Wounded Warrior with PTSD, WWP helped me though some difficult times in my life and now I look forward to helping my fellow warriors in any way that I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let people see just how passionate the leaders at WWP are about helping wounded warriors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 11, 2014

more

April 11, 2014

When introduced to Wounded Warrior Project, I never imagined that they would have such a strong and positive impact on my life. The two events I have attended, Tampa and NYC, play such a huge part in my day to day life and remind me to maintain what I can control and let go of the rest. It reminds me that I am just one person and it's okay to take time for myself. As a caregiver to my husband, I tend to forget this.

On every event, I have been surrounded by some of the most courageous and inspiring women that are caregivers of wounded warriors, but most importantly, that are wives and mothers loving their veteran with a love that runs so deep words can never describe. Our stories are all different, yet so much alike. We do this because of the love we have and share with our men. I could not have asked for better women. I am blessed to have shared this opportunity with these women and will forever hold them in my heart.

Thank you WWP for allowing us these opportunities, for funding it, and for being there every step of the way as we find ourselves on an unexpected journey. Every time I try to find the right words to show my appreciation to WWP for not only the most recent trip, but also the one in Tampa last year, I struggle because works never seem sufficient enough. WWP is changing lives of caregivers and veterans across the nation on a daily basis!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...18 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers