Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.826925
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
June 24, 2014

more

June 24, 2014

i was deeply saddened by the obvious censorship and discrimination TAPS actively engages in against anyone that has opinions that differ from theirs. it seems that they do not provide support for ALL families as their mission statement suggests. if patriotism is the new religion then TAPS is nothing more then a church preaching pro war propaganda and those who dare advocate for truth, justice, and peace be damned. This is obviously not a place where an atheist, transgendered, anti war, 13 year old who lost their dad in combat is welcome. It is truly a sad state of affairs when an organizations that touts our soldiers as heroes defending our freedom actively engages in suppressing an American citizens First amendment rights. I will now look for other organizations that are more open to different ideas and all people and if I can't find one I'll start one. it's the least i can do for my child and other children who have been ostracized by TAPS for not fitting in with their unofficial doctrine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take away their tax exemption unless they want to register as a church.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

Our son was KIA 8/6/11. TAPS has been there from the beginning. Carol, Bonnie, and the whole team are an amazing group of incredibly compassionate people doing some critical and much needed work. I highly recommend them as first of all a very fiscally responsible organization doing what they say they do. But also a very effectively run organization with some highly dedicated people who are there for you.
I have since become a peer mentor volunteer to give back and help others who are now members of the Gold Star Families (Families of our heroes that we have lost). Definitely would support, recommend, and encourage you to do the same. All the Best to TAPS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more people aware of TAPS both to support and as a referral for services for other Gold Star Families.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

My son died from chemo complications. He had Hodgkins Disease - more than likely due to immune deficiencies from toxic chemicals emitted from burn pits while deployed to Camp Victory, Baghdad. He was also diagnosed with meningitis and avium bacterium. i too learned about TAPS about a year after Austin died and signed myself up online. Thanks to TAPS I've learned that i'm not alone, am surrounded by love, and - most importantly - have learned to "celebrate the life' now with perhaps a little more frequency than I mourn the loss of my precious son. I've participated in TAPS parents retreats, two TAPS National Seminars in DC on Memorial Weekend, local TAPS seminars, written for the TAPS parents blog and the TAPS Magazine, and I am a peer mentor. I truly receive more from being a mentor than I give. My daughter-in-law and grandchild have joined me at the National Seminars and the local seminar at PNAS. My little Anna Lee loves her TAPS trips and her mentors. Unbelievable - each child has their own mentor for the whole seminar. I've met wonderful Moms who have and continue to walk my walk and who have lived my nightmare. Thanks to TAPS, it's just a little easier for each of us to get up every morning, put one foot in front of the other, and make that effort to focus on the good memories of our heroes rather than our loss. God Bless Bonnie Carroll, TAPS, our Heroes, and our great Country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am a volunteer and donor also.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

There are no words strong enough to express my appreciation for all that TAPS has done for me and my family after the death of my son, US Marine PFC Devan Krausch. My son was home on leave Christmas last year when he died as a result of his injuried while riding as a passenger in a friends car. His fiance was 4 month pregnant with their first child. Their constant support has truely helped each of us in so many ways. I honestly do not know where I would be today if it had not been for the TAPS program. I do not feel alone in my grief journey and having a safe place to go (mentally) has helped my heart to smile again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes come to mind.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I know I would not be sitting here typing today if it wasn't for TAPS. I lost my son, a 29 year old Marine, to suicide in 2012. I had no idea where to turn for help and support. This tragedy was something no parent should ever have to live through. With the constant, and I mean constant support from TAPS almost a year out from the day I lost him, I am finally seeing the light of day and am slowly beginning to live my life again. Their services cover every single aspect of grief, available services in your specific area, peer mentoring, unbelievable seminars and most of all.....love and concern. Thank you TAPS for all that you do for us. Without you, I don't know where we'd be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see TAPS open more information to legal aid. With the passing of a young person with no will, the legal system can be overwhelming, to say the least. Especially when parents are divorced and don't see "eye to eye". It's been almost two years and I still don't have my son's estate settled, after I've spent more than I should have had to to get such a small estate settled. If there IS legal help out there, I would like some information.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My life was forever changed this year by two events. On Feb. 4, my son, Sgt. Tim Stalter, who was struggling with PTSD, took his own life. Through my loss I gained my TAPS Family. The loving support and care has remained even after my friends and family have returned to the business of living. I am eternally grateful for my TAPS Family. I gain comfort and strength knowing that they will remain with me as I go through my journey of grief.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of regional care and support groups.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a person who works closely with survivors shortly after the tragic loss of their loved ones, I have seen hope and strength in the eyes of those whom TAPS has supported over the years. The listening and the care and understanding that TAPS demonstrates through the way it supports child survivors gives powerful visible strength and support to their parents who, without TAPS, would suffer in silence. Watching survivors move from senses of guilt and anger to a sense of confidence through the grief process is amazing. TAPS facilitates that process. Thank you for what you have done TAPS.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

After my brother John was killed in 2007, my entire life changed & for a while there not so much for the good. I was struggling with everything in life, pushing people away so I didn't have to face my reality, & going through certain measures that were nothing like my character to just try to feel like I was someone else besides someone who had this type of pain now. I found TAPS five years after John was KIA in Afghanistan. Ever since John's death I have had so many people who have said I've changed & who wanted the old me back. (Not as much I as did!) I didn't know how to get back to that place I was before 6/17/2007. At my first TAPS retreat, I realized that it was ok that I wasn't that person anymore. I felt free to be who I had become. I wasn't judged for the feelings I had (not even when I expressed anger towards John for leaving us). Everything I had felt was normal & I found a whole set of siblings that felt just like me, that had done some of those same things I did to try & forget who I was after he died. I have support now. My journey of healing has begun now & I don't have to do it alone anymore. At my second retreat, I learned how to have fun again and how to live again the way John would have wanted, the way all our siblings would have wanted us to live. I'm debt fully grateful to TAPS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be part of it more! The organization is amazing! I wish we had a local office closer to me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I can't thank TAPS enough. My 24 year-old son, Andrew, an Iraqi Freedom Veteran died last September in a single car accident, just shy of a year of being out of the military. There were mistakes made when ordering Andrew's grave marker and one phone call with TAPS set the ball rolling to finally help me rectify the problem. My son will no longer rest in an unmarked grave. Thank you TAPS!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

TAPS was there for me when no one else was. Because of the manner in which my husband was killed, the military wanted to wash their hands of me. TAPS stood by me and literally took me by the hand to show me the way. They put me in touch with women who had lost their husbands/fiances/ boyfriends in a similar manner--cannot tell you how helpful that was! I was introduced to chatrooms, peer counselors, and a wealth of resources to help me. I had lost so much when my husband was killed--not just my Soulmate, but my hopes and dreams, my sense of self and my place in the world. Little by little, TAPS has helped me get some of those things back. Cannot say enough for the organization! I devour their magazine, went on one widow's retreat, and still visit their website, 5 years out now from my husband's death. A truly unique and outstanding organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I was so very out of it when I first got in touch with TAPS, I do wish they could have set me up with some peer counselors in-person in my area, instead of just over the phone. The phone was very difficult for me to use that first year or two--I'm not sure why even.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help create 300 Survivor Resource Kits that go directly to newly survived families at no cost, containing vital information and special items designed to provide personal resources, as well as items of comfort and care. Volunteer