Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.2307745
Write A Review
June 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I cannot say enough about The Gabriel Foundation. The care these birds receive is unbelievable! Every time I am at the Aviary or Birdbrain the cages are clean, the diet is what I feed my birds at home (which incidentally is better than what I feed myself) and there are plenty of toys in their cages. Knowing birds as I do you can definitely tell if they are happy or sad or upset by the look in their eyes. The birds are happy. Consider the circumstances these birds have gone through.....locked in closets by previous owners, abused because they are simply being loud or destructive (as birds sometimes can be) and you will know that they know they are in a better situation. The one thing I ask everyone who may give them a poor review is what are YOU doing to help the situation. I foster several birds from the organization and have nothing but good things to say. Nobody is perfect in running a "business" but at the end of the day there wouldn't be a need for the foundation if pet "caretakers" were more responsible for their animals and not buy them because they look "cute" (among other reasons).

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

This 501c3 organization does not have a functioning board (a group of the founder's friends only) and Julie Murad is the sole person making all decisions: animal welfare, financial, etc. Because there is no system of checks and balances this is not a charity I would recommend giving money to. Ms. Murad often makes bad decisions, such as buying fancy books and perches and then not having money for bird seed & pellets. Every payday the employees worry about whether they will get their checks and whether they will be correct. EVERY payday there is a problem--either checks are held or there are errors. Payroll taxes are not paid on time and the Foundation consistently pays penalties and late fees-not a good use of donor's money. There are no independent audits conducted and due to this organization's track record of making poor financial decisions, I would strongly advise against sending your hard-earned dollars here. There are other parrot welfare organizations far superior to this one and it is doubtful whether TGF will continue to exist any length of time if Julie Murad continues to lead it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

While the staff and volunteers are amazing, the CEO, Julie Murad, makes very poor business decisions and is, unfortunately, running the organization into the ground. She is the only person making decisions for this public charity and they are bad, unethical decisions. She has difficulty making payroll, ordering bird food on a regular basis, and has failed on numerous occasions to report theft. She will spend $800 on Christmas decorations while the staff is using sunflower, safflower and pumpkin seeds to feed the birds because she can't afford to order the better grade seed and grains. She hires illegals and then treats them poorly. She is putting a stop to testing for avian viruses (very bad when you are dealing with over 700 birds). I would donate to avain rescues such as Foster Parrots, Phoenix Landing, The Oasis, or Project Perry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove Julie Murad from any position of authority or decision making.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2009
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2009
2 people found this review helpful

This nonprofit is absolutely TERRIBLE. The foundation has also been literally kicked out of other counties in the state and has gone through numerous managerial turnovers as the result of poor management on the part of the president.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire an independent accountant to review the historical accounting and pay any necessary penalties, a lawyer to see if I was criminally liable, and an animal behavioralist to train the staff on better approaches to animal care.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff and volunteers were great. They cared very deeply about the birds and worked hard on their behalf.

Ways to make it better...

The president had not made very unethical choices.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

The president.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers