Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2013

May 8, 2012, our then 22 year old son, a Lance Corporal in the U.S. Marine Corps stationed in Afghanistan, stepped on an IED and lost both of his legs. It doesnt take much of an imagination to conjure up the simultaneous feelings of shock, fear, sorrow, nausea, and confusion, along with gratitude that your loved one is alive, that family and friends feel upon hearing this news. The first days are a blur. The Marine Corps flew my husband, myself, and one of our 5 children, our younger son, from Pueblo, Colorado to D.C. to Walter Reed Military Medical Center in Bethesda, MD. What a joy to see our precious son, alive and very upbeat, very much himself in spite of his injuries. How very quickly it becomes overwhelming when you are told of the months, possibly years of treatment that lie ahead and the realization that one of us will be able, thank God, to stay with him through his recovery time, but that we will be separated as a family. After a few days, my husband and younger son flew home and I stayed with our injured son. We were told about Luke's Wings, a wonderful organization that wil fly family in to visit their wounded warrior for free. What a Godsend! Our family of 7 is very close and the joy that it brought my son to have his three sisters and his beloved niece able to visit him later that week was the best medicine in the world. Many times throughout the next year, Luke's Wings provided flights which I credit directly with my son's cheerful attitude, quick healing, and keeping our family close. I was away from my then 15 year old daughter and my husband throughout that year and from my 10 year old daughter for 6 months, but thanks to Luke's Wings, my son and I flew home for the best Thanksgiving and Christmas ever, our first visit home since May. Anytime I am asked what charities were the most helpful during our time at Walter Reed, Luke's Wings is at the top of the list. Not only did they keep us together as a family, flying us between Colorado and D.C., but Jen Magerer, the liaison at Luke's Wings, is a friend to all the families at Walter Reed, coordinating fun outings, providing for us in ways above and beyond her job description, and just being a friend. I know this is a bit long, but I just can't say enough about this wonderful charity. My son and I came home this May, one year after his injuries. He is doing very well. He is now engaged to a lovely young lady who was his girlfriend last May and is now his fiancée. Luke's Wings flew her out several times over the last year as well, which definitely contributed to my son's healing process and happiness. To our family, Luke's Wings are angel's wings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cant think of anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hi, my name is Rebecca Strong, the wife of Chaplain Will Strong Jr. Chaplain Strong collapsed in Fort Irwin, California due to a condition called Hydrocephalus (fluid on the brain). He has had a lot of complications due to this condition and has had two brain surgeries to place a shunt to remove fluid off his brain. Last April, Lindsay Kin and Fletcher flew to the Hydro Angel of the Year Event in San Antonio, Texas to meet Will and let him know that he was going to get his dream come true. His dream was to fly to Alaska to see his family, including his sister whom he hadn't seen in over 12 years. He was suppose to fly last July, but was too sick to do so. Will was medically retired in September of 2012. Our family is currently visiting Wasilla, Alaska and we are so thankful to Luke's Wings who was able to purchase our tickets and for following up with us through out this past year as we needed to wait for him to be well enough. I definitely recommend that people should give to this organization as they are doing so much to help our wounded military families. I haven't seen my husband smile this much in a very long time. Thank you Luke's Wings.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Hello my name is Carlos Lopez and I'm the father of an injured Marine who's hospitalized in Maryland recovering from multiple injuries endured while in combat in Afghanistan last April. Words cannot express the gratitude my whole family feels within our hearts having Luke's wings there to assist our family with flights so we can care for our loved ones needs. Without their outstanding assistance, flights would be impossible for us. I can't imagine my son progressing in his recovery as he has and is doing had he gone through all he has alone. Luke's wings providing my wife with flights to care for him and to come home and care for all of us has elevated us from one of many worries. And for that I will always be thankful. I've witnessed some go through this transition alone and it's very sad and different compared to the ones blessed with family members caring for them. The efforts Luke's wings puts into bringing families together is exceptually awesome! I'm grateful because I can only imagine by what I've witnessed that their job is not easy but by their faces I can tell its rewarding to them to do what they do. Thank you likes wings team!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! Get them more help if anything

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Hello my name is CPL Joshua Lopez. I am a US Marine injured early April 2013, while in combat in Afghanistan. Ever since have been hospitalized recovering from my many injuries at Walter Reed Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. I come from a big family having 6 younger siblings, my father self employed and his work load is very slow and my mother who lost her job to be with me caring for all needs this whole time. Luke's Wings unselfish acts of kindness has allowed my mother to be with me as well fly back and forth home to also attend to the rest of the family. Without their dedication and generosity, it would be impossible for my family to assist me as they have. I am forever grateful for all their hard work, their kindness and the immediate flights they provide which makes a world of a difference in my spiritual outcome as well as in my recovery progress. I've witnessed their devotion at Walter Reed visiting numerous families from all branches. Spending countless hours of their own time making life a little nicer for the injured. Bringing personal items such as clothing for the ladies to attend the balls. Things such as that that they do not have to do but do so because of their sincere kind nature. I've seen and delt with other organizations and by far Luke's wings has touched my heart the most. Thank you Jennifer, Tammi, Linsey and Fletcher. I'm humbled by your blessings! God bless Luke's wings

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes... They're perfect! If I could do anything it would be promote this organization to bring in more donors so more families could be together.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization that helped us in the time of need. Very carrying people and each and everyone of them is taking time to be personally involved in the lives of wounded soldiers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Luke's Wings make it possible for me to come visit my brother at Walter Reed. He was wounded in Afghanistan almost three years ago and is still there doing physical therapy every day. It is because of Luke's Wings that I am able to come visit him and marvel in his progress- I would not be able to afford a plane ticket across the country and they make it possible. It has been especially touching to me when they reach out in times of uncertainty and get you there as soon as possible when your wounded warrior is back in the hospital and in need of the love of their family. Thank you Luke's Wings for everything you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

On January 24, my 82 year old father was scheduled for surgery on his right leg. He has had approximately 13 surgeries to include five heart surgeries. He has also had prostate cancer. My father had surgery in November 2011 and died during the procedure but the doctors were able to revive him. I requested help from Luke's Wings to be with my father before, during and after his surgery. His is a Marine Veteran who lives in Florida and I am an Air Force Veteran who lives in Texas. My father is married and he and my stepmother have raised three grandchildren for the past 17 years. The eldest child who is now 18, just recently moved from their home. They sill have two children there, ages 16 and 15. There are no school buses for help, no local grocery stores or gas stations. They only own one car. Despite their ages and my dad's heath, they have had to manage raising children on limited income and resources and little support from others. I was not sure how much help I could be, but I wanted to be there to help and support my parents before and after my dad's surgery.
The surgery was to help restore blood circulation to his foot. His does not have diabetes, but has had poor circulation in his veins and arteries for years. He has had most of the veins in his left leg replaced. Veins have been taken from his arms and used elsewhere. He has had surgery on his right leg before and has plastic veins in it. For some reason, there was no blood flow below the knee of his right leg so one of the surgeons recommend amputation of the leg above the knee. Another surgeon suggested they wait until they open his leg and see what other options they may have. During surgery, the doctors found a functioning vein below the knee which ran to the foot. The vein which was not functioning was replaced with a vein from a cadaver and connected to a working vein in the thigh area and the working vein in the shin area. He stay in the hospital a few days to ensure the vein would continue to function and provide blood flow to his foot. He has a strong pulse in his foot. My step mother and I took turns staying with him in the hospital. Once home, I was able to help with getting the children to school, getting him to the bathroom, in and out of his chair, making him comfortable, staying with him so my stepmother could go to the grocery store, taking him to a doctor's appointment., etc.
When he went into surgery, my stepmother, father and I had some of the same fears. Would he survive? Would he lose and leg and if so, could he return home? How would my stepmother be able to manage a 6', 280 lb man? How would she be able to manage the children without him? When I found out he was not going to lose his leg and he could eventually return home, all I could do was cry and be thankful he was still alive.
This may be more information than requested, but I want to some how convey how important it was for my father and me to be there during this time. I am very fortunate to still have my father in my life at our ages. Thank you Luke's Wings and your supporte for allowing me to have this opportunity to spend time he and his family. We not only spent time together, we got to create memories and I believe drew us closer together. I will always be grateful. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My fiance Jessie is a double amputee, above the knee. He was injured in Afghanistan Oct. 17, 2011. Jessie and I first heard about Luke's Wings through their No Soldier Spends Christmas Alone campaign 2011 and got our first flight through them with this program. We definitely did not spend Christmas alone that year and were able to fly home to spend it with family and friends instead of in a hospital room. Since then, the organization has flown us several times, including a surprise visit to Jessie's 9 year old brother for his birthday who had not seen Jessie since before he was deployed to Afghanistan. We're very grateful for what they do, not only for us, but for the many other families that have been impacted by their flights and also their friendship. Jessie and I are so proud to be a part of the Luke's Wings Family!! I recommend Luke's Wings to all the new families at the hospital that I can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My son CPL Joshua Lopez a US Marine, was injured in Afghanistan on April 2, 2012 while in combat after he stepped on a 40 pound IED (improvised exposive devise.) The explosion resulted in many serious injuries. My husband is self employed and I began a new job the day my son was blown up. Although we have a large family and know they need us, Joshua was a priority and being with him meant we would figure all else out later. This was the hardest experience of my life and even at my age, I had been through many trails. For my husband and I to witness our son go through so many surgical procedures sometime 2-3 per week for almost two (2) months was the worse feeling EVER! And having six (6) children at home depending on us just brought so much anguish! To be helpless and still have other life situations coming on it was very helpful to have an organization such as Luke's Wings out there making miracles happen for families who need to be together but do not have the financial means. Thanks to Luke's Wings I was able to fly back and forths from Walter Reed Medical Center where my son Joshua is a patient and home to be with my children and husband as well. I call it, "Able to be in two worlds". It's one less life stressor I as a mother and a wife had to endure because of their kindness and dedication in seeking donations/sponsors to make miracles happen. Here are my sons injuries: His pelvis was broken front & back, lacerations to the right arm, right hand wounded causing a hole through the hand, left heel was detached, lacerations to both legs from heel to up to buttocks, Left leg loss of tissue needing full skin grafting, right leg loss 15cm of tibia, muscle and tissue. Attmepts to salvage the right leg but after four (4) months in severe pain and negative results from surgeries, Joshua decided to have the lower leg amputated. Mentally he is a trooper and well! God bless Luke's Wings now and forever! I will always be humbly grateful for their existance! Mrs. Jessica Meglone-Lopez

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My husband was severly wounded in Iraq in 2008. We lived in the Maryland area for 4 years while my husband spent countless hours going back and worth to Walter Reed Army Medical Center. At the end of 2011 we decided we wanted to go back to my husbands home state of Arkansas to visit with his entire family for Christmas. We were trying to plan our trip when I remembered Luke's Wings helps get soldiers home for the hoildays. I called and after some careful planning we were not only able to fly our entire family of 6 to Arkansas but they also helped us with a rental car. I'm not sure Luke's Wings even does rental cars all the time but with 4 little boys we needed a car to get around to visit family members. We spent 2 weeks reconnecting with my husbands family and enjoyed ever last minute we could with them. It was truly a blessing to have had the oppunity to not worry about ligistics and driving and hotels!! Anyone with kids knows how hard it is to plan long trips!! Thank you Luke's Wings you were a large part in our awesome family time;)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers