Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
175 Reviews
1234.965715
Previous | 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

I love the work that Rikki's Refuge, aka Life Unlimited of Virginia, does. They save and provide a safe harbor for countless number of rescued animals that otherwise would be euthanized in shelters and farms. The refuge provides a safe home for 22 species of unwanted animals. The tireless work that the volunteers and staff do to feed and care for these animals is amazing and worthy of my donations throughout the year. I've been supporting Rikki's for over 10 years and look forward to supporting the work that they do for many more to come. I tell all my family and friends to support them, and I say to them - don't worry about me and gifts - give what you can to Rikki's and I'll be happy for that. It's just a great charity doing great work for the animals that I love. The ratio of funding going directly to the animals compared to the administrative or overhead costs is really good. I know my support is going for what I intended and the work done with my donations is outstanding, kind, considerate, and so important. I love Rikki's!
July 22, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 7, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is a no-kill animal sanctuary in Virginia that is home to nearly 1300 animals of 22 different species. I have been a donor and supporter of Rikki's since its inception in 1998. Rikki'... more

July 22, 2014

Rikki's Refuge is my favorite charity, and I have been supporting them since they opened in 1998. Rikki's takes in animals that would otherwise have been destroyed: old, disabled, behavior problems. With 1300 animals of 22 different species, and over 600 cats, Rikki's is a wonderful, live-filled sanctuary. ALL operating expenses for Rikki's come from donations, and it takes a lot of funding to keep the sanctuary open 24/7/365.

I retired and moved to Kauai, from the DC metro area, one year ago. Rikki's continues to be a big part of my life, and has been a major influence in my new life as a retiree: I now work with a non-profit feral cat organization. I am involved in fund raising, trapping cats to be spayed and neutered, and fostering kittens. I have been able to reach out to Rikki's Executive Director, Kerry Hilliard, for advice on my new "work." Ms. Hilliard has always taken the time to provide encouragement and helpful hints about rescuing and working with feral cats, and she has shared the joys and sorrows I've experienced with that work. Ms. Hilliard is a font of information on cats, given that there are over 600 cats at Rikki's, and she is always, ALWAYS there to share that information with anyone who asks -- either via email, or through Facebook.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find some way to make sure Rikki's Refuge ALWAYS has the funds needed to feed and care for all of their animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is a no-kill animal sanctuary in Virginia that is home to nearly 1300 animals of 22 different species. I have been a donor and supporter of Rikki's since its inception in 1998. Rikki's takes in animals that would otherwise be destroyed, especially those who are disabled, elderly and/or with behavioral issues. Rikki's is staffed almost entirely with volunteers, so that for any donations made to this 501(c)3 charity, well over 95% goes towards food and shelter and veterinary care for the animals. Rikki's also does a great deal of community education: traveling to local events with several of their "differently abled" animals, to demonstrate that all animals, and be inference, all humans, have value. Rikki's also has a "spokescat" and a "spokesdog," both of whom are differently abled. The spokescat is missing part of his back legs, and the spokesdog is blind: both of these wonderful animals would have been destroyed had some kind soul not contacted Rikki's to give them a home. I have visited Rikki's a number of times. and I am always truly overwhelmed at the feeling of love that is everywhere. Rikki's operates solely on donations, and because of the nearly all-volunteer staff, they somehow manage to get buy on about one dollar a day per animal. Because of Facebook, Rikki's also has a world-wide following. This nonprofit organization is nothing less than wonderful, and I am proud to be a part of their family, and a supporter and donor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2011

Rikki's is an amazing place, full of love for all living beings -- no matter how many legs, whether they have fur or feathers. I have been contributing to Rikki's since its inception over 10 years ago. It's great to have a sanctuary that absolutely will not kill, that will take care of animals of all species, no matter what their problems. I found Rikki's over 10years ago because I had a 13-year-old Shepherd-Husky mix female who had become mentally unglued following my divorce. It had become impossible for me to take care of my best friend, and so I embarked on a search to find someone or some place that would take care of my friend for the rest of her natural life. I found Rikki's on the Internet, sent Kerry -- who runs the place -- a note, and then went to visit. I then made what was one of the most difficult decisions of my life -- to give away my best friend, instead of putting her down. Kerry and company took my Sheba in, and loved her and cared for her for about six months, until she died of a series of strokes. Ihave been a contributor to Rikki's ever since, because I know that such places are needed and that they are always, always short of funds. It's nice to know that Rikki's is there, and that it will take in animals of all species -- I think there are 24 species there now, and over 1200 animals. Other shelters and sanctuaries usually deal with only one species, such as a certain breed of dog or cat. But, Rikki's does not discriminate, and that makes them a model of what a sanctuary should be. I am thankful every day that Rikki's is there, and that it provides a "live your life by our example" model.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Taking care of my aged dog, and witnessing the good will spread when Rikki's animals conduct fund-raising events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that it had the funds needed to sustain it all the time! Expand the faclities for cats with various medical issues.

July 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

I visited Rikki's Refuge in early this year, from Australia. I was impressed by the dedication and love shown by the volunteers and employees for the 1300 plus animals that they have. I highly recomme... more

July 18, 2014

Rikki's Refuge provides love and care for all species of animals. Many of these animals would end up euthanized if Rikki's did not take them in.
The staff are lovely and the care and love shown to the animals is fantastic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2013

I visited Rikki's Refuge in early this year, from Australia. I was impressed by the dedication and love shown by the volunteers and employees for the 1300 plus animals that they have. I highly recommend this lovely place to everyone, it is so rare to find a place that cares as much as they do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I learned about Rikki's Refuge through Facebook because of my love of animals. I have seen and heard wonderful things about the Refuge over the last couple of years and wish I could do more than vote for them when I get the chance but we have our own feral cat colony to care for on our farm in Wisconsin. You can see how well the animals are cared for by the wonderful, hard working people at Rikki's Refuge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more help and resources so they could do more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is unlike any other place I've ever heard of. they go far beyond just saving cats and dogs. Twenty two species of animals call Rikki's home. The volunteers are amazing...they never s... more

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to Life Unlimited of VA, aka Rikki's Refuge for many years. Living more than 400 miles away though, I only saw their facilities via pictures. I finally was able to make the trek this year and had the best time of my life. My first vacation in 16 years!
The people who
work and volunteer at Rikki's are amazing individuals. They care so much for each and every animal. they know all their names and when there are almost 1300 animals of all kinds, that's a lot of names to remember! The work is physically demanding and the hours are long but each person gives their all with a smile and a kind touch.
They do their very best and run on donations alone to feed and care for those that would not even be alive if Rikki's didn't exist. Differently abled, unwanted, ill, and old will find a home at RIkki's. The animals know they are safe. The animals know they will be fed and cared for until the end of their earthly days. I saw with my own eyes how well the animals are cared for and would trust one of my own to them any day.
They tirelessly fundraise and apply for grants so they can continue to care for the animals in their care. They promote education so today's children will continue their good work in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding and grants so the organization wouldn't have to struggle to get what they need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is unlike any other place I've ever heard of. they go far beyond just saving cats and dogs. Twenty two species of animals call Rikki's home. The volunteers are amazing...they never say "we can't". They somehow make great things happen and overcome problems where other rescues would say no, we can't help. Differently abled animals that would be killed anywhere else live and thrive there. Throw away animals with no place to call home now have wonderful lives because of Rikki's. I have been a supporter for quite some time and my first vacation in 15 years will be this year and I'm going to Rikki's!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I, too, learned about Rikki's Refuge through Wayne Morris on Facebook. Ever since I check on Rikki's daily through Facebook and I've donated many items for them. They are such wonderful people. They are kind and make sure that they keep in touch. They have helped so many cats and dogs in need and they are a no-kill rescue. Since I am too emotional to work at rescues, I try to do as much as possible for them by networking and getting their message across to as many people as possible.
Just by daily voting, we can all help Rikki's feed the many animals that live there.
Rikki's is one of the BEST rescues in the country!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing. They are great the way they are. I wish that I could give them millions to feed all of their rescues.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Many nonprofits are founded and run by caring people; rescues attract volunteers willing to donate their time and Life Unlimited of VA, Inc (aka Rikki's Refuge) organizes these volunteers into a labor force for kindness. Rikki's actually thanks every individual (via social media such as Facebook, Pinterest, etc.) so donors and volunteers feel recognized and included in the organization, contributing ideas as well as money. Simple thanks and kindness pervades this organization, making interaction with them a joy!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I learned of Rikki's Rescue thru artist Wayne Morris who does art work for Rikki's. When I found out that it is a no kill humane shelter that treats the residents with love and dignity I was immediately won over. I follow the face book page every day and enjoy hearing the stories of the staff members and animals living at the refuge, who I believe go above and beyond to maintain Rikki's Rescue. Life Unlimited of Virginia has changed my life by helping me understand the terrible plight of unwanted animals in our country. How they manage this huge task is amazing. Can you imagine tending to the daily needs of over 1400 different kinds of animals every day in all kinds of weather on a limited budget and still doing such a great job, I myself could never accomplish what is done at Life Unlimited. Bravo Rikki's Refuge.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

How wonderful it would be if there were more no-kill rescues like Rikki's Refuge, Life Unlimited Of Virginia Inc. The animals are cared for as family. Your donation goes a long way at Rikki's Refuge. They have a handful of employees who work very hard to care for the animals. The annual budget is minimal, with almost no overhead. If you love animals, please try to come by for a tour. Their location is Central Virginia, in what is mostly an agricultural area. I bet most people have never seen a real peacock up close. So happy the time I was able to be there for the “peacock parade.” As a supporter & volunteer, I have helped with many events. Thank goodness for all the volunteers who help. As a result, all events & functions are handled by people who donate their time and talents. All donations to Rikki's Refuge far exceed other nonprofits. Your money is put to good use here. If anyone would like to know more, please have them contact me. Thank you for Rikki’s Refuge.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have known of and been a supporter of Rikki's Refuge, Life Unlimited of Virginia INC, for many years. I recently moved down to Orange County, VA and now live within 15 minutes of Rikkis so I feel so blessed.

This animal sanctuary is incredible. Animals of all kinds - healthy, sick,
old, and young - are treated with kindness, dignity, and LOVE. The owner, Kerry, is a rock star! The employees and volunteers are just amazing - caring for so many animals is HARD grueling work in any and all kinds of weather conditions - and they do it with LOVE. I was most recently at the Refuge on July 4, and when you are there, surrounded by the animals (cows, sheep, goats, dogs, cats, donkeys, chickens, ducks, pigs, emus and so many more!) it is immediately evident that these animals are HAPPY and cared for with love and respect. I think the animals KNOW and can sense how very lucky they are to have landed in this place, for whatever reason, and will be allowed to stay there for the rest of their lives.

That's why I will always support RIkki's Refuge, Life Unlimited of Virginia INC, with my money, my time, and my voice.

Lolly Busey

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make cat shelters, create better footing for the dogs, feed the goats, plant feed crops for the pigs, repair a donated vehicle.... Volunteer