Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 7, 2014

more

November 7, 2014

Keepers of the Wild is amazing and I'm grateful for the work they do providing a second chance to animals harmed by humans!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I have lived about 35 miles from Keeps of the Wild for eight years and have been out to visit the sanctuary about once a year. Each time I visit, I have seen the continuous improvements to the animal's habitats as they have had the money to expand and improve them.
The founders and staff are
very dedicated and the animals are extremely well-cared for.
It is outrageous that there are still people and organizations that have exotic animals for pets or entertainment. As usual, once they weary of them or the animal is no longer useful to them, they discard like trash.
It is wonderful that Keepers of the Wild hears about these animals and rescues as many as they can handle. These animals then get to live out the rest of their lives in peace and within the best habitat that can be provided to them.
Keepers of the Wild is worthy of your donation.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I love visiting Keepers of the Wild. They are always acquiring new animals and giving them the chance in life a lot of them never had. They are healthy, happy and it shows by their care. The caretakers here truly love their animals and keep them in as close a native habit as possible. You won't be disappointed here.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I really enjoyed the visit. It is nice that a person can choose how they participate. Take a tour or just stroll around. They also have a very nice gift shop and picnic table area. Beautiful scenery and a wide variety of animals.

Keep up the good work!
September 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 12, 2011

I read about Keepers of the Wild in The Smithsonian and so went on a tour of it with my wife over ten years ago. Since then we have volunteered there every couple of years. When you go for a tour you ... more

September 2, 2014

When you get there they take you on a guided tour, and then you can walk along the paths on your own. I hate guided tours, but these are actually well done. You get to learn about THAT animal, and his or her story. Anyone who thinks they want a wild animal for a pet, should go here and hear their (the animals) side of the story. Go there. Make it possible.

I go to Keepers if I am within a few hundred miles from it, and if I lived within a hundred miles I would volunteer all the time. All the animals where taken care of, and it is cool that they do not kill or breed there. I bought a shirt that said, "Keepers of the Wild: We love, we care, and we protect" Or something like that. I wore it out. Need to get back there and get another one, and see all their new animals and even better habitats.
May 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I read about Keepers of the Wild in The Smithsonian and so went on a tour of it with my wife over ten years ago. Since then we have volunteered there every couple of years. When you go for a tour you get to see a diverse collection of unwanted animals, ranging from lions to skunks, from a huge African Tortoise to a wolf pack; there are tigers, several monkeys, and even a cow, along with so many other animals. Each has a story: they were almost starved to death, they attacked their owner, they attacked multiple people, or a company just didn't want the tiger anymore. Hearing the stories can sometimes be sad; while others are quite funny or cheerful, like getting to hear of a rescue or event that led to that animal's very happy move to their new home.

Keepers of the Wild has a motto of: We love. We care. We protect. We are Keepers of the Wild. They never abuse the animals and offer a permanent place for them to live out their lives while giving one last performance--and that is to educate people about the dangers of owning such animals--and the dishonor of harming them.

It is worth checking out their website and planning a visit. My major complaint is that they are so far away. Other complaints I had I see have already been, or are being, fixed. Once upon a time the exotic bird habit was not as large, but they have since been working hard on that and they now have a bigger area. I suppose a place like this is a never ending project. Each time we get to go there we see so many new improvements as well as new animals, even though this place is a non-breading facility.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having volunteered many times we have been able to tell the stories of the animals they have, including abuse, but also just how dangerous it is to have hybrid wolves, monkeys, and the likes, as pets. This experience made my passion more valid and has prevented people from acquiring animals that are better left in the wild where they belong.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only that their message of kindness to animals, and not having wild animals as pets, could reach more people. Perhaps via video or schools this will one day happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Straining my brain to think of one ... earplugs for the bird building, perhaps? Some of them are very loud.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I already posted some of this, but yes, in that the people there are great to work with and it is always sad when I have to leave after being there for a week.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It is a topic often mentioned. We alway look forward to going to a few different places, and this is one of them.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I had never heard of KOTW until my husband told me about it. On one of our trips to Arizona we took a trip to go see the many animals. It is heart breaking to find out what some of the beautiful animals have been through. It's wonderful to know that KOTW takes them in and gives them a wonderful place to stay for the rest of their lives. The facility is beautiful and the animals are very well taken care of. I plan on visiting again. I encourage anyone who has not visited to take the time to visit KOTW to see what wonderful work they are doing for all the animals.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

When I found out I was going to be in Arizona last year I made sure to schedule a trip to Keepers of the Wild as I had heard about them on a documentary. What a wonderful place for the animals to live and the staff are the most enthusiastic I have ever seen. Much better than any city/state run zoo, and I felt much more confident that the animals had a better life than at a regular zoo. I will make sure that every time I'm in Arizona I will find the time to visit again, and getting their newsletter helps to keep me feeling involved. Wonderful place!
September 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Driving home from a Las Vegas run we opted to take the scenic route and it led us by Keepers of the Wild, a place I'd never heard of despite having lived 40 years in Arizona. We had no idea what to expect but thought we'd give it a look-see. We ended up spending far longer than we anticipated and left amazed and impressed at the Keepers' mission, its facilities, and its people. My family and I were blown away when we heard what happens to wild animals, how they face a grim fate when no longer cute, and how this sanctum sanctorum in the middle of the desert was making a difference despite all odds. We returned home and told all of our friends and family about this amazing place. My family wants to become a sponsor of a few animals as we feel this isn't just a zoo, or an animal rescue shelter, but a place that has a message that truly should be heard by the general public.
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

WAY better than any zoo! I was so pleasantly surprised with my experience at Keepers of the Wild. All the animals appear really content and healthy. Not a single animal was pacing or demonstrating any neurotic behavior - the type of thing I typically see in even highly rated zoos. Every time I go to a zoo, I usually end up leaving both enriched yet really, really sad. Keepers of the Wild was such a delight. I took the feeding time tour and learned more about the animals than I ever have at a zoological park. Not to mention it was really fun to see that animals get fed. Will definitely go back.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I absolutely love the work the Keepers of the Wild do. Feeding time is a great time to learn more about their rescue work. Absolutely one of the best places I've ever been.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers