Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
123.963345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

It was brought to our (Legacy Dog Rescue) attention of a dog tied outside, 24/7 with minimal human interaction and his dog "house" was a dog carrier, which was always in two parts. In no way, could we leave him out there. We asked the owner to surrender and she claimed to love him, but that we was 'bad' in the house. We continued to ask her if we could help, we had the authorities out to check on him and see if he was licensed. She then contacted us and agreed to relinquish him. Sadly he was purchased at a puppy store a couple years ago, and has lived outside, with no vet care. He was extremely nervous at first, but has since calmed down is loving life in his foster home, playing with the other dog and enjoying rolling around on the bed! Dogs Deserve Better granted us the Hero grant to fully vet Dodger - what an amazing group, helping the dogs out there with no voice. Thank you!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

They are an amazing group!! I adopted an american bulldog/border collie mix who had been abused and tied to a tree for months. He has some health isssues and needs to be fixed, and with the help of dogs deserve better I can take him to the vets without worrying. THANK YOU DOGS DESERVE BETTER!!!!
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

What an incredible organization! DDB paid for the vet bills for a dog I rescued off a chain. I can only imagine how many dogs they've saved because of these services! Thank you, DDB and the Hero fund!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

Thank you to DDB for helping assist my family with financial assistance for our new family member, Charlie. He was rescued from a chain and is living in a much better home now, where he is loved and spoiled! Process was very easy and we appreciate the support!
May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

My two awesome dogs were DDB rescues. The representatives I worked with for each adoption displayed levels of compassion and professionalism that we should all strive for. This world is a kinder and better place for our canine companions because of the efforts of exceptional folks like Tami, Sheila, and Robin. My pooches and I woof them very much for bringing us together! DDB ROCKS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them more support to help more dogs and assistance in securing legislation that priotitizes animal welfare.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Dogs Deserve Better rescued 2 abandoned and neglected dogs when other rescues wouldn't even return an email, text, or phone call. Not only did they rescue the animals, but gave them both the highest quality of vet care which included a very expensive Cardiologist and prescription food. I've never witnessed a more generous and organized rescue than Dogs Deserve Better. Robin Budin was in contact constantly assuring that the details were all going as scheduled until the dogs were delivered to their foster dogs. A truly amazing and heartwarming experience .
Kitty Downs
Hoover, Alabama

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

I have had to ask for help from DDB many times in the last several years, and I am constantly impressed with their dedication and follow through. Their representatives are unrelenting in their efforts to help dogs in trouble. They are immediately available when a crisis happens and do an amazing job of outreach to draw attention to dogs being neglected. Their biggest challenge, frankly, is the limitations in the laws which allow people to mistreat their animals. But DDB uses every resource available to get animals out of unhealthy situations. They are an incredible resource for the rescue community.
May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

I have known Tami for over 12 years, I volunteered for DDB also becoming a Dogs Deserve Better Rep for many years, I also ran a rescue and was Animal Cruelty Investigator for Delaware County. I had to step down and just work on my own rescue as I couldn't focus on one thing and the stress factor became to much. Working with Tami was uplifting, fair, firm and but most of all Tami always had your back. Last year I had 4 dogs that needed Major help, Tami helped them all with the Hero fund. One female Rott that was in deplorable shape, tied to a truck I could not get because it was out of state and we had to get her quick. Tami jumped in with both feet and got her vetting, back in shape and adopted to a wonderful home. One in particular I rescued was Teddy who lived on a chain for 14 years and now lives on my couch. I contacted Tami and without hesitation she sent my vet $300 from the Hero fund, that really helped with not only Teddy's expense but helps with the stress factor. Without the Hero fund many dogs would not be saved but mainly have all the proper vet care they need as usually the ones we get are hot messes anyway. Tami is the most driven, determined person I know and point blank... she is just about the dogs period. I think about not only all the dogs she has saved but the people she has help along the way through the Hero Fund. Tami and I have always had a great relationship but the trust we have for each other I have earned and proud to be her friend. Even though I do not work for Tami anymore in her yearly calendars she always puts a dog our organization rescues in which really makes me feel pretty damn special. I recently rescued a rott tied to a tree, with an embedded collar, 40 pounds underweight, HW positive, full of worms, ear mites and just a hot mess and Tami was right there for me. Tami doesn't forget the good you do and I have nothing but admiration and respect for her and for that.... I will always have her back.
Sincerely, Gayla Frances Evans---President and Founder of Ohio Rottweiler Rescue

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do Nothing that I can see, it is fine the way it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

My journey with Tami and DDB started about 2 1/2 years ago when I first met Liesa Collier who is a volunteer rescue worker. She rescued 2 dogs that were left without food, water and shelter in a slum area in my town after being abandoned by their owner. One was a terrier mix chained under a trailer and the other a Pit Bull chained to a picnic table. Liesa made daily 40 mile round trips for about 2 weeks until the Pit Bull finally trusted her enough to allow her to take them both into her care. However, there were other dogs in the same area that were chained without proper shelter and lacking food and water. None of them had ever been to a vet for vaccine shots, let alone to be spayed or neutered. Over the next several winter months, I helped Liesa by taking food and straw to the dogs every 3-4 days. Two families moved and gladly signed over the dogs to DDB. Without the monetary help of DDB those dogs would not have been vetted, spayed and neutered and re-homed into loving families.

Since that time I have come across many pathetic cases of dogs on 3-5 foot chains, many in full sun with little to no shelters - again no food or water. I call Liesa and she always gets to my location as soon as possible to help. She tries to educate the owner but mostly the owners are glad to sign over the dogs to DDB just to get rid of them. This is how I came across Duke, a mini Beagle, with a cherry eye chained to a dog house. His chain was so short he barely got into his dog house. The owners said they could not afford the vet bills, so gladly signed him over to DDB and I became his foster mom and then his adopted mom which would not have been a possibility without the financial help of DDB. About 5 months after Duke became a part of my family, I was driving along a local street on a very hot summer evening when I noticed a large dog with his head being pulled to the ground. I stopped my car and saw he was on a tow chain that had become so short from being kinked and twisted that he could not lift his head more than 6 inches off the ground and actually could not move. Even if he had been able to reach his water bowl - it was dry. I immediately called Liesa who lives about 20 miles away. She said she was on her way to my location. She arrived just before dark. By then the owner arrived. The dog, Max, is a German Shepard/Lab mix - all 75 pounds of him. During the next several weeks I checked on him almost daily. One day I noticed his right eye was watery and got permission from the owner to take him to my vet. My vet said it appeared he had sustained severe trauma to that eye and referred me to an eye specialist. At this time I talked to the owner and told him without treatment Max would loose his eye. He signed Max over to DDB. The specialist started Max on a series of tests, medications and routine visits trying to prevent glaucoma and the loss/removal of the right eye. That all started in August 2013. Max had his latest eye appointment in Feb 2014 and does not have to return for 6 mos unless there is a problem. He is slowly being weaned off his steroid medications but will need lifelong eye drops and eye vitamins to keep his eye stable. Max has also been fully vetted and neutered. I am going to adopt Max. His treatment costs to date has been over one thousand dollars. All paid for from DONATIONS paid to DDB on behalf of Max.

Bottom line................in the past 2 1/2 years, I alone, have been witness to over thirty dogs being taken off chains, given shelter, food, water, fully vetted, spayed or neutered and re-homed ALL due to donations made to DDB on behalf of all God's creatures that rely on us for help.


LINDA C.
UNIONTOWN, PA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

We love working with DDB. We're a small non-profit with the same mission of educating owners on the dangers of perpetual chaining/penning. They helped us out last year with $300 for vetting a Golden Retriever that we got off the chain and into rescue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer