Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.791675
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have a dog from Can Do Canines.
I expected my dog to do work for me but never did I for a moment realize the change she would make in me.
After having a few falls in public before her I had decided to stay in my home as much as possible and because of the depression that came with my
disability I cut off as much outside contact as possible. I even refused to see my own family and spoke to them only on holidays.
Then along came my assistance dog Camille. I wasnt too sure at first about trusting her but after being awaken from a fire starting in my home I had little doubt I could trust her.
With Camilles help we are truly a team and she makes sure I get out of the house everyday and visit with people and she LOVES to see my nephews and even cries in the car as we get closer to seeing them. :)
THANK YOU Can Do Canines and all those involved in bringing Camille into my life she really had saved my life!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

My wife received Diabetic Assist dog Hailey several years ago. My wife was at a very critical point in her life because she has had diabetes for nearly 50 years. We were house bound and I could not turn my back on her as she would just pass out in a matter of moments. Sleeping all night without a very low and dangerous blood sugar episode was impossible. Hailey has changed everything. She catches the low blood sugars before they become a problem and has certainly saved my wife's life dozens of times. Please take the time to go to Can-D0-Canines website and check them out. Try and make it to one of their events. I promise it will change your life.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

My husband, Frank, received his mobility assistance dog Diva 2 years ago and she has been a Godsend. I know I can go to work each day and not worry as much because she is there when he needs her. Diva will hop up on my side of the bed after I leave and will stay next to Frank if he didn't sleep that night until he is feeling rested and ready to transfer into his wheelchair.
Can Do Canines is a wonderful agency and is staffed by people who sincerely want to be of service to those that need the love and help from a highly trained dog.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I received the most loving, crazy, intelligent, life saver from Can-Do-Canines on 10/03/2013!!! Bubba is a Schipperke that alerts me to dangerously low blood sugars before they become to low to correct on my own or cause me to have a seizure or pass out. He does this all for love and treats. He keeps me safe everyday at work, at home, at hockey games, and everywhere else we go. He had the best training, I hear quite often "I didn't even see your dog". When we are at home is a typical Schipperke, but when we are at work or out in the public he is all business. Can-Do-Canines has been there for me every step of the way, they have made Bubba and I a great team! I can never thank them enough. Can -Do-Canines has done all of this for me for free. The love have for their dogs and their clients is priceless!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have been a client of Can Do Canines for 20 years and during that time had the honor of having 3 hearing assistance dogs. Each dog was well trained and provided me with invaluable service. The staff at Can Do Canines is responsive and sensitive to my needs and the needs of my assistance dogs. I strongly recommend Can Do Canines. Their work with training assistance dogs for people with a wide variety of disabilities is top notch.
October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

The work this organization does has changed my life. I was blessed with an assistance dog in January and I have already been able to improve my sugar control and my life. They are professional, so h... more

October 27, 2014

Can Do Canines is a fabulous organization! I was blessed and accepted into their program, and received a diabetes assistance dog that has changed my life. I have regained my independence, and am so grateful for their mission. The entire process was so smooth- they are very professional. I especially love the sense of family that the organization fosters for past graduates.
October 31, 2013

The work this organization does has changed my life. I was blessed with an assistance dog in January and I have already been able to improve my sugar control and my life. They are professional, so helpful, and they make such a significant difference in their client's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it and serve more people! Of course, that is dependent on those who support non profits. This one is a fantastic opportunity to help change someone's life for the better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

When I first applied over 5 years ago, even through today, if I have a question about my mobility assist dog, someone at this agency is helpful in answer it or helping me to find the answer. I've been very happy with this agency from the time they came to my home to do the interview, the information they gave me, letting me know what they expect of me, the training with my dog match, even finding a match with the breed I prerferred. The day of our graduation as a service dog team was so new to me, but very exciting, and a person really needs to attend a gradutation to understand the importance of these dogs to the presonal lives of the individuals who receive them. I've been back for someone else';s graduation, and have the same feelings I had at my graduation. The dog placed with me, Redford, was an excellent match. He continues to demonstrate how smart he is and has changed my world in so many positive ways!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a satellite office in Wisconsin

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

This organization helped to change my life - I should not say helped but was the key to the change in the form of Cyrus, my mobility assist dog. Before Cyrus I was very house bound - afraid of going out in public, falling, and not being able to do those little tasks others take for granted. Since Cyrus my world has again opened up and the fear that kept me in the house is gone. The training he received by the puppy-raisers, trainers, volunteers and staff at the Can Do Canines organization was the reason I have the freedom I have today. There is no way I can ever thank them enough

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing - the service and caring is fantastic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I have Multiple Sclerosis and have a desperate need for help doing the daily tasked that "normal" people take for granted. Can Do Canines has stepped forward by providing me with an assistance dog that helps me with these tasks and, as a sheer bonus, is a wonderful addition to my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish their headquarters were closer, but that's minor detail. Nothing else, really.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked with dogs, professionally, all my working life. It came to the point, because of my MS, that I could no longer do the work I had done for so many years. I was urged to apply with Can Do Canines. By a miracle of God, they accepted me into the program. It took some time but eventually they showed up at my doorstep with a beautiful, fully trained female black lab. I fell in love with her instantly and the love has only grown with each day. The trainers are AWESOME as are the puppy raisers!

"Karma' helps to balance me when I walk and gets me things I drop. She also will get a phone for me when I fall in the house. She's always with me wherever I go. Before Karma, I rarely went out because I was afraid of falling. Now, with the brace she wears I can hold onto her and I no longer fear falling in public.

She's my best buddy and watches me continuously. She loves to curl up with me to watch TV and snuggles with me in bed on cold nights. She also barks very loud and scares off anyone who comes to our door. Unless she knows them! They get a toy picked out and carried to them by Karma:) She loves everyone but I'm okay with her loud ferocious bark!

Karma has opened my world again. She goes to all my medical appointments which are many! They love her there and she makes the appointments more fun while sitting in the waiting room. She's special and makes me feel special. I love her so much! And, she was given to me by Can Do Canines who do not charge for these awesome dogs! Kathy Schroeder and Karma.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope that more people would donate so more clients could get a dog like I have!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers