Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Veterans Ocean Adventures, is "THE" organization that you want to learn about, become a part of, contribute to, and share with your family-friends-coworkers-and anyone that you talk to... Here is my story. I am a disabled Veteran (US Army Infantry, combat). I have been diagnosed with a TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) from proximity to multiple concussive explosions, neurological damage from contracting West Nile Virus - damaged hypothalamus/frontal lobe/left lobe (resulting in anterograge amnesia [don't form any new memories, so at the end of the day, I know that I will awake with no recall of the day I just had. It is a brand new day, but I am lucky that I am aware that it is not the same day, over and and over again]), autonomic system is out of control so my body can not regulate body temperature - heart rate - blood pressure - sense of hunger - etc, pseudo bulbar affect (inability to control emotions), post viral narcolepsy (take meds to keep me from sleeping 22 hours a day or falling asleep if I stop moving), chronic fatigue syndrome, post viral migraine headaches, damaged ankle/knees/shoulders/and disks in the lower back, photo phobia (light sensitivity) which the Nova Eye Clinic tested me and prescribed filtered eyeglasses, PTSD, and a few other minor things that we deal with on a regular basis... THIS is where Veterans Ocean Adventures comes in. My wife was put in touch with the Veterans Ocean Adventures organization, for a sunset sailing event for military and Veterans. At the time, we spent almost every day at VA doctor appointments or in the hospital. We were desperate! That's when we met the organizations founder and one of his most trusted staff volunteer. From there, as my physical abilities would allow, I was introduced to kayaking, indoor rock climbing, sailing, and SCUBA diving! Veterans Ocean Adventures (VOA) has taken me through certification in small keel sailing skipper, and multiple levels of SCUBA certifications (Open Water Diver/Advanced Open Water Diver/Enriched Air Diver/Specialty Diver/(and perhaps the ones that make me feel the most pride) Rescue / HSA Certified Buddy Diver. I started with VOA as a patron, in need of a family. I am now a volunteer, as my physical abilities and schedule allows, for assisting fellow handicap divers when VOA is able to sponsor SCUBA diving events. Oh yes, one other VERY Important note: My Neurologist highly recommended SCUBA diving for me, after I was medically cleared to do so - especially with VOA and their ability to assist handicap divers, because SCUBA diving has some of the same beneficial effects that the Hyperbaric Chamber has for patients with TBI's! Due to costs, the VA doctors can not get all of us scheduled to get that treatment up in the Tampa VA clinics. SCUBA diving is an inexpensive means of achieving some of the same positive effects as the Hyperbaric Chamber. Please consider donating to this organization. Please help them have an uplifting impact on the lives of Veterans, their families, and other handicap individuals within our community. Thank you, and have a Blessed Day.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Veterans Ocean Adventures is probably the best, most hand-on Veteran service Organization I know. I have attended several events over the last 4 years. They have all always treated me with respect and have gone out of their way to make me feel welcomed. I hope to be able to continue to be involved for a long time with the organization.

VOA is in the ground, with the vets providing support for us in all different aspects, from recreation, to knowledge sessions, to personal development, to networking and support for other endeavors within the veteran community.

I have personal experience with all of the above mention services. I have attended several of their courses from SCUBA, to Sailing, to Rock Climbing, etc.., I am now certified SCUBA diver thanks to their amazing program and staff. I have received continuous advice on dealing with civilian life as a veteran from the staff, and I have also received professional advice and help while I was tasked to find employment for veterans.

I have been diagnosed with severe PTSD and several physical problems such as chronic back, knee and shoulder pain. They still give me the opportunity to hang out and do things to whatever my limit is. I am extremely grateful for their existence and the fact that I got to know them and their staff.

I hope to be able to become a volunteer soon so I can start giving back to some veterans what Veterans Ocean Adventures has given to me.
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

VOA is an outstanding organization. Before a recent deployment to Afghanistan, my family and I took advantage of a catamaran cruise for military members and families with VOA . This was an invaluable opportunity for our family to be together before being separated for a long period of time. The memory of being together on the water for a day of sailing kept me going during the challenging days of my deployment. After the deployment my wife and I took advantage of a couples cruise for returning veterans. Again VOA provided an invaluable opportunity for my wife and I to reconnect and to share experiences with other military family couples. VOA is a superb non-profit with a great mission and focus of serving our military members.
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love donating to this charity not only because our vets are underserviced in general, but also because every penny directly benefits the vets. It is an all volunteer organization, but they do have expenses, e.g., specially outfitting sailboats so injured vets can sail them. The vets love their ocean sailingtrips, their diving excursions, etc. The organization has many more inquiries than it can accomodate, so they need to expand. We can help them do that with even a small donation. I feel that even one small donation lets the vets know someone appreciates their sacrifices. Thanks to Elizabeth and Rosanna Bernstein for making me aware of this great organization.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Throughout my life I've support several nonprofit organizations and causes, none has been as personal and more worthy than Veterans Ocean Adventures. As a Veteran, I've spent years carrying for those who serve, but never really took time for myself. Now 23 years later, it's me that was in need of care.

When I met the founder of Veterans Ocean Adventures, I'd been deployed during the initial Iraqi War and three tours after that. I was frayed, hardly recognizing the person I was, broken - mind and body. Before I ever went out on the water (although he'd invite me several times), we'd talked a great deal. I finally went out for a sail and it was the most calming and peaceful time that I could remember. Just remembering that calming peace brings tears to my eyes and I can never thank the Founder enough for caring to start such a venture and his ability to see the need in those he serve as well as his and his charity’s willing to help make a difference in my life.

This is one of the most worthy charities out there because it's Veterans helping Veterans. In a VA system that is problematic, this charity definitely served me as well as other Veterans by truly showing it cares, not just lip service with a catchy sound bit. This Charity is genuine! I support this charity, not because of what it has done for me, but because I know there are many other like me that will benefit from its existence. If you are looking for a worthy cause, look no further. Take a trip, look them up and see what is being accomplished and how they are helping veteran heal and feel someone out there cares. I assure you, you will not return the same, but will have a deeper appreciation of what this organization is doing to help Veteran, love ones and family members. This organization is about healing, understanding and lessening the pain of loss. This is THE charity to support.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

VOA has been a great influence on me since i left the military. VOA has given me the opportunity to continue to stay connected with my community and the veteran community of South Florida, while at the same time, allows me the opportunity to continue to serve back to the community. VOA was also a great part of me integrating into civilian life, I don't know where I would be without them!
Providing an opportunity for veterans to experience healing through the power of water is one of the most effective and best programs I have come across.
October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a career service member (over 21 yrs and still going). This is **the best** veteran's support organization I have seen, bar none. Small, professional, completely dedicated, and focused on one mission- helping veterans in need. Additionally, being a retired vet himself, Branson is completely in sync with veterans and offers a personal atmosphere to every adventure. He's a trained professional in each medium, so totally safe as well. Thank you Veteran's Ocean Adventures!
October 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I recently met Branson Rector the founder of this non profit and I was very imipressed with his total dedication and caring for the veterans that he has wrapped his arms around. I recently began volunteering and was very touched at the first event I went to, The Gold Star Mother's Sunset Cruise and Luncheon. Branson and his volunteers prepared and dedicated a special afternoon for these Mothers who have lost a child in combat in the US Military. I could see the sadness and stress on the faces on the Mothers as they arrived, but by the time the evening had ended with the lovely sunset cruise on Biscayne Bay, I could see this stress wash away and hear so many of them comment how "Being out on the water had relaxed and given them one of the first peaceful afternoons for a long time." This is just one of the events that Voa sponsors.

My wish for the next year for VOA is for more volunteers and also more donations for VOA. I know ALL of these funds go directly toward the very special events planned by VOA to heal these Veterans with the power of water. From many of the Veterans own comments above, I can see that Branson's long hours of planning and executing and teaching all of these Scuba, sailing and other adventures are touching and changing the lives of our Veterans and their families. Great work Branson and all of your volunteers! I hope everyone's New Years Resolutions will be to touch one of these Veterans through this non profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about this organization (and I've seen quite a few nonprofits at work). It helps veterans with physical and mental disabilities by exposing them to the ocean and "the healing power of water." In other words, it teaches veterans to sail, scuba dive, kayak and paddle board.
It's entirely volunteer-run, and many of its volunteers are vets themselves, so they understand the unique issues veterans face. All of the activities are free to vets. And, most importantly, the people who are involved with VOA--both volunteers and participants--really form a community. (I don't think "family" is too strong of a word here.) The caring is very, very real. And it starts at the top, with the group's founder, Branson Rector, and spreads to everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure it got more donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I work for the Department of the Army, taking care of the families of Fallen Heroes or Gold Star Families. These are the families who are mourning the loss of a Hero in the line of duty. Veterans Oceans Adventures have provided free "sunset sails" several times to conmemorate Gold Star Mothers Day every year. On the last Sunday of September each year, VOA has provided a lunch at a sailing club around Miami, and then the opportunity for the mothers to go out on a sunset sail that many describe as a way to find peace.

One of the mothers who was shellshocked after the loss of her son in Afghanistan, finally broked free during the sailing trip. Now, not only does she smile but, she can talk of her loss and she is willing to take part in other activites. I will continue to rely upon VOA for this special annual event and have become a donor, myself! Low key, specially reflective, only interested in the Survivors needs - VOA simply makes it happen.
Maddie Husta GS-11/ Survivor Outreach Services Coordinator/ 305-437-2178
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers