Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.857145
Write A Review
January 6, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
January 6, 2015

By the time I was directed to the EDRC to help resolve a family eating disorder issue, Ms. Bremis' reputation had already preceded her. I'd heard about the strong portfolio of resources that they offered, as well as how positive and effective they were.

When I did go there in person I
was offered all sorts of great materials, contacts and advice that proved to be vital in the treatment and recovery process. However, what stood out for me was the very insightful and personal connection EDRC makes with the "client". It made not only a big difference but left a lasting impression that I will continue to share with others in need.

My best wishes, deepest gratitude and desire to continue supporting the center!
Laurence K.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their visibility

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough about how much the erdc has helped and enriched my life. As a young woman who has struggled with some form of an eating disorder for more than half my life and have never had the courage to seek professional help, this place/organization opend so many doors to healing for me. I took a chance and went to a group meeting one Wednesday night a handful of months ago and I am happy to report that things are beginning to really change for me! I truly look forward to the meetings each month. I am so appretiative for the welcoming, safe, and supportive environment and staff they have. They even have a library of great self help books to borrow from which is great for those that want to continue therapy at home! They are a wealth of information on all facets of eating disorders. I don't know where I would be right now had this valuable resource not been available to me. I am truly grateful for the erdc!! If you are even considering getting help, take a step towards self love and check them out. You and they are worth it!
September 4, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 4, 2014

EDRC sent volunteers to help educate out staff about eating disorders. They were extremely kind, equipped & helpful! I plan on having them back some time soon!

-Spencer Kilgore-
-South Bay Teen Challenge - San Jose CA-
November 15, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 15, 2013

Last year, much to our horror, my husband and I determined that our 13-year-old daughter had succumbed to an eating disorder prior to the start of 8th grade. She had started to see treatment professionals, but in two months she had gotten worse rather than better. In need of other approaches and providers that would be in-plan for our insurance, I began to research other options. Finding the Website for the Eating Disorders Resource Center made all the difference. I combed through the site, using the directory of treatment professionals. Founder Janis Bremis, program director Kira Olson, and support group facilitator Debra Schlesinger shared their expertise with me on the phone in long consultations. When I attended the Friends and Family support group in Mt. View, Debra provided even more valuable information in the form of an eating disorder treatment handbook. Armed with the knowledge and guidance provided by EDRC, I was able to move forward with confidence and get my daughter into the LPCH Eating Disorders outpatient program. While she remains in treatment as she continues to deal with the psychological aspects of her disorder, she has maintained a stable healthy weight for six months. She is in a much better place than she was a year ago, but knowing that eating disorders can be tenacious foes, we aren't yet completely out of the woods. I am grateful to EDRC for the support they provided to my family at a time of crisis and it gives me solace knowing that they continue to be a resource as my daughter works to overcome this debilitating condition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My impression is that this organization operates on a shoestring, yet they were able to provide me with a lot of support. I would like to see them be better funded so that they could have a wider reach. Much of the services they are able to provide are in the South Bay/San Jose area. I wish there was more available mid-penisula. I also wish there was more available for teenager girls, perhaps programming that would debunk unrealistic media portrayals of girls and woman.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers