Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 16, 2014

My kids rode at Challenge for 2yrs, and I volunteered on several occasions. I had wanted to volunteer regularly, but the Ranch Owner is impossible to work with. She has an illl temper and habit of making demeaning comments to kids, parents and volunteers. I spoke to a Board member about this explaining that I couldn’t deal with the Owner’s personal attacks. The Board member was aware of the Owner’s reputation as I wasn’t the 1st to complain. At the time I rationalized that everything else about the Ranch was good for kids. I still volunteered a little and supported fund raisers. Eventually the Owner kicked my kids out of the Ranch over a dispute between she and I when I had the gall to yell back at her during one of her rants. The Owner has a terrible reputation in the horse community for kicking kids out if their parents confront her. Challenge Ranch is a totalitarian regime of bullying and favoritism. I highly recommend against participation in their program in any capacity
November 26, 2014

more

November 26, 2014

I have been volunteering at Challenge Ranch for about 9 years. Over that time, the program has grown some, but has a nice balance between serving a large number of kids, but not continuing to get too big. I have stuck with Challenge Ranch because I have seen the change it can make in a child's life. I have seen children so shy, they would not make eye contact or utter a single word on their first day blossom into outgoing teenagers. Challenge Ranch isn't just about teaching horseback riding, it's about teaching life skills such as eye contact when communicating, thinking about how one's actions affect others, and other common courtesies that many of the participating children might not be exposed to based on their current living situation. Equine Assisted Learning (using the horses to teach) sessions are put together on an impromptu basis when a program participant is showing behavior that might not be appropriate, it is one thing to tell a child something is wrong verses showing them or letting them figure it out through the horses. Now, based on what I have said about the ranch, don't get the impression that Challenge Ranch doesn't teach kids to ride horses, because with all the life skills they are learning, kids actually learn to ride at Challenge Ranch. Challenge Ranch kids participate in games shows, hunter/jumper shows, trail trials, and 25 and 50 mile endurance rides.
June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I was looking for a place to volunteer in San Diego and stumbled upon Challenge Ranch.

I reviewed their website and came out for a Sunday to help out with a couple of my friends. We were welcomed to the Ranch by Ron and Jane, who described what the ranch did for the young people of San
Diego County. We spent the morning and early afternoon helping out with basic maintenance and grooming the horses. We were all invited to join them at their Annual Benefit the next Saturday.

The next Saturday I was floored by how many people (especially kids and families) were at the Ranch. We found out the kids were from group, foster homes, or other challenged walks of life and had been coming to the ranch for weeks to years. They talked about the ranch as their second home and were so grateful of how the ranch taught them friendship, responsibility and confidence. We enjoyed food, live music, and a performance by the kids on horseback. Even though the kids were from all different backgrounds, you could tell they didn't care- they were at the ranch.

This place, their stories, the owners commitment, the energetic horses are incredible to experience. I highly recommend this place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have even more community events!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2010

more

January 27, 2010

A beautiful Ranch with about 25 horses and ponies of all sizes and breeds. The Ranch is open six days a week, year round to benefit under privileged and disadvantaged children. The children learn how to ride, general horsemanship and participate in all the ranch activities. The atmosphere is very friendly, the horses are well kept, the young people are well supervised and the standard of instruction is high, with qualified and experienced Volunteers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the difference this program makes in children's lives. They become confident and able to accept responsibility. Their ideas of what may be possible for them in life broaden considerably.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

meeting the other Volunteers - wonderful people. Spending time with the young people on the Program - inspirational.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

teenager to much older! All were enthusiastic. Twice a month a great group of Navy guys arrive and help with the heavy stuff!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

create similar Ranches in other areas. It would not expand here - as to be too big/busy would spoil the great atmosphere Challenge Ranch has. Challenge Ranch could really use a tractor though!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

All of the ranch maintenance and support is through volunteers. We have opportunities for all different skill sets (light work: painting, weeding, sorting Ranch supplies to heavy work: cutting trees, digging holes, mending corrals) Volunteer