Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
288 Reviews
1234.951395
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

This amazing organization provides fistula repair and post surgical care that may involve helping them find a job and place to work. I feel so strongly about this organization, that put them in my will. Virtually all the money they get goes right into fistula repair but they also have an excellent outreach program to teach people about fistula, how to avoid it, and how it is fixed. They want to eliminate the shame and stigma that goes hand in hand with fistula.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have absolute trust in this organization to use my donations where they will do the most good. Their work is faithful to the true meaning of charity.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This is a fabulous organization that allows women in underdeveloped countries regain their dignity. What they offer women completely changes their lives. This is the one organization that I support outside of those I can personally visit. They have touched my heart with the work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 4, 2013

The Fistula Foundation is a wonderful charity that our family is extremely proud to support. While spending many years living overseas we have seen the real needs in the world, and have become very p... more

October 30, 2014

I've donated to Fistula Foundation for nearly a decade now. I am very picky about where my charity dollars go, and Fistula is one of the very few that meet my strict criteria. I feel that all the money is well used, transparency is high, management is highly competent and the mission and vision of the charity are clear. They are at the very top of my trusted charity lists.
September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation is a wonderful charity that our family is extremely proud to support. While spending many years living overseas we have seen the real needs in the world, and have become very picky about the charities we support. This one is on the top of our list. Dollar for dollar, we feel that we can do more good with a donation to the Fistula Foundation that with almost any other charity. Reporting is transparent, money is spent where it will be best used, and the results are clear and tangible. I can't recommend them any more highly. Other charities should follow this model.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Much gratitude for the amazing work you do on behalf of women who suffer physically and psychologically in ways most of us can't even begin to imagine. Your work is vital, your organization totally professional and accountable, and receipts always prompt and courteous. Nobel prize-worthy, for sure.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Fistula Foundation's life changing non profit organization for women who lost their lives and dignity
becuase of child birth. Any amount of donation you give bring new life for these women. Everyone in fistula foundation deserve apprecation and applause for their hard work.
God
Bless!!!!!!!! Yasna

October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Fistula Foundation's work is real and verifiable. I donate because they change women's lives in the most personal and important way. I am pro choice in my political views; however, when any woman anywhere does bring a new life into this world, she should not have to suffer like they are without the help of the Fistula Foundation. I wish I could donate more but I will send my continued contributions and bless you all for this most life changing work.
Thank you.
P. A. R. Alexandria, VA. USA
October 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2012

I worked as a Peace Corps volunteer in Somaliland in the 1960's and went back some years ago on my retirement. I have been working with a group of Somali doctors who set up a fistula hospital there. ... more

October 18, 2014

Anfac was a 16 year old Somali girl in a refugee camp on the Kenyan border with Somalia. She was raped by 2 soldiers, 2 soldiers who then killed her brother who was trying to rescue her. Anfac ended up as a broken soul with an obstetric fistula. Through funding from The Fistula Foundation to the National Borama Fistula Hospital in Somaliland, Anfac was found, diagnosed, transported with her mother the 700 miles to the hospital, repaired. Kate and I met her there. Anfac was kept on at the hospital which underwrote her going to school, where she quickly learned English, computer skills, on a course to become a nurse while working at the hospital. This hospital provides free fistula repair and recovery facilities to over 450 patients per year. The Fistula Foundation has provided equipment, a bus to pick up patients, funding for over 50% of the operating costs of the hospital (the remainder of which is largely funded by the doctors themselves), and a wonderful, talented obstetric fistula surgeon from New York University (who operates, teaches residents, nurses and medical students) and comes twice a year. The Fistula Foundation has been doing this consistently for over 5 years. Fistula cases within 50 miles of the hospital have been reduced markedly and are dealt with on a current basis. The hospital is now reaching out to provide obstetric fistula education to the people throughout the Somali-speaking areas of the Horn of Africa and to extend their care throughout the region.

Why and How: Dedicated doctors, Kate Grant and her wonderful team at The Fistula Foundation

June 21, 2012

I worked as a Peace Corps volunteer in Somaliland in the 1960's and went back some years ago on my retirement. I have been working with a group of Somali doctors who set up a fistula hospital there. It is free, and set up solely to help repair the destroyed birth canals of the thousands of women in the Somali region who suffer from fistulas because of no pre-natal care, inadequate trained birth assistants, and no post-natal care. These women are ostracized from society. I helped the National Borama (Somaliland) Fistula Hospital (NBFH) apply to The Fistula Foundation for assistance. The Fistula Foundation welcomed our request, understood the fistula problems in this region of Africa, helped us with a grant application, were very clear and specific with their suggestions and timely with their responses. As a consequence The Fistula Foundation helped NBFH pay for operating equipment, doctors, patient care and operating expenses. This increased the number of patients who could be treated. There were about 400 patients treated in 2011 and, with the continuing support of The Fistula Foundation, the plan is to increase patients treated to about 500 in 2012. Needless to say - we think The Fistula Foundation is wonderful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Less than $500 will change the life of a woman who likely was forced into marriage and then had a baby before her body was ready to give birth. Years of being ostracized for a medical problem. All solved with just $500 in one donation or in many giving smaller amounts. Charity Navigator ranks this group at the highest level. A gift to The Fistula Foundation is a direct route to helping women in horrible circumstances.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

What Fistula Foundation is doing is very Biblical. Just like Christ gives hope to the hopeless and gives them a reason to smile again. Please let us join in donating to this noble cause. I suggest that more awareness towards this foundation is characterized by perhaps having a Fistula week in various Institutions like Universities in turns, in Kenya. I have discovered that many people do not know that such a movement exists. We have HIV AIDS week and Cancer screening every year when people also donate blood. Whey not have Fistula Week as well?

I got to know about this foundation sometimes in 2009 until last week when I needed to refer a patient and wondered if the foundation still exists, and the nearest hospital she could visit.

Let create more awareness please ......

Start with Nakuru - Kenya.
Ery
0726-418699
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer