Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
285 Reviews
1234.964915
Previous | 1 2 3...28 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 4, 2013

The Fistula Foundation is a wonderful charity that our family is extremely proud to support. While spending many years living overseas we have seen the real needs in the world, and have become very p... more

October 30, 2014

I've donated to Fistula Foundation for nearly a decade now. I am very picky about where my charity dollars go, and Fistula is one of the very few that meet my strict criteria. I feel that all the money is well used, transparency is high, management is highly competent and the mission and vision of the charity are clear. They are at the very top of my trusted charity lists.
September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation is a wonderful charity that our family is extremely proud to support. While spending many years living overseas we have seen the real needs in the world, and have become very picky about the charities we support. This one is on the top of our list. Dollar for dollar, we feel that we can do more good with a donation to the Fistula Foundation that with almost any other charity. Reporting is transparent, money is spent where it will be best used, and the results are clear and tangible. I can't recommend them any more highly. Other charities should follow this model.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Much gratitude for the amazing work you do on behalf of women who suffer physically and psychologically in ways most of us can't even begin to imagine. Your work is vital, your organization totally professional and accountable, and receipts always prompt and courteous. Nobel prize-worthy, for sure.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Fistula Foundation's life changing non profit organization for women who lost their lives and dignity
becuase of child birth. Any amount of donation you give bring new life for these women. Everyone in fistula foundation deserve apprecation and applause for their hard work.
God
Bless!!!!!!!! Yasna

October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Fistula Foundation's work is real and verifiable. I donate because they change women's lives in the most personal and important way. I am pro choice in my political views; however, when any woman anywhere does bring a new life into this world, she should not have to suffer like they are without the help of the Fistula Foundation. I wish I could donate more but I will send my continued contributions and bless you all for this most life changing work.
Thank you.
P. A. R. Alexandria, VA. USA
October 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2012

I worked as a Peace Corps volunteer in Somaliland in the 1960's and went back some years ago on my retirement. I have been working with a group of Somali doctors who set up a fistula hospital there. ... more

October 18, 2014

Anfac was a 16 year old Somali girl in a refugee camp on the Kenyan border with Somalia. She was raped by 2 soldiers, 2 soldiers who then killed her brother who was trying to rescue her. Anfac ended up as a broken soul with an obstetric fistula. Through funding from The Fistula Foundation to the National Borama Fistula Hospital in Somaliland, Anfac was found, diagnosed, transported with her mother the 700 miles to the hospital, repaired. Kate and I met her there. Anfac was kept on at the hospital which underwrote her going to school, where she quickly learned English, computer skills, on a course to become a nurse while working at the hospital. This hospital provides free fistula repair and recovery facilities to over 450 patients per year. The Fistula Foundation has provided equipment, a bus to pick up patients, funding for over 50% of the operating costs of the hospital (the remainder of which is largely funded by the doctors themselves), and a wonderful, talented obstetric fistula surgeon from New York University (who operates, teaches residents, nurses and medical students) and comes twice a year. The Fistula Foundation has been doing this consistently for over 5 years. Fistula cases within 50 miles of the hospital have been reduced markedly and are dealt with on a current basis. The hospital is now reaching out to provide obstetric fistula education to the people throughout the Somali-speaking areas of the Horn of Africa and to extend their care throughout the region.

Why and How: Dedicated doctors, Kate Grant and her wonderful team at The Fistula Foundation

June 21, 2012

I worked as a Peace Corps volunteer in Somaliland in the 1960's and went back some years ago on my retirement. I have been working with a group of Somali doctors who set up a fistula hospital there. It is free, and set up solely to help repair the destroyed birth canals of the thousands of women in the Somali region who suffer from fistulas because of no pre-natal care, inadequate trained birth assistants, and no post-natal care. These women are ostracized from society. I helped the National Borama (Somaliland) Fistula Hospital (NBFH) apply to The Fistula Foundation for assistance. The Fistula Foundation welcomed our request, understood the fistula problems in this region of Africa, helped us with a grant application, were very clear and specific with their suggestions and timely with their responses. As a consequence The Fistula Foundation helped NBFH pay for operating equipment, doctors, patient care and operating expenses. This increased the number of patients who could be treated. There were about 400 patients treated in 2011 and, with the continuing support of The Fistula Foundation, the plan is to increase patients treated to about 500 in 2012. Needless to say - we think The Fistula Foundation is wonderful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Less than $500 will change the life of a woman who likely was forced into marriage and then had a baby before her body was ready to give birth. Years of being ostracized for a medical problem. All solved with just $500 in one donation or in many giving smaller amounts. Charity Navigator ranks this group at the highest level. A gift to The Fistula Foundation is a direct route to helping women in horrible circumstances.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

What Fistula Foundation is doing is very Biblical. Just like Christ gives hope to the hopeless and gives them a reason to smile again. Please let us join in donating to this noble cause. I suggest that more awareness towards this foundation is characterized by perhaps having a Fistula week in various Institutions like Universities in turns, in Kenya. I have discovered that many people do not know that such a movement exists. We have HIV AIDS week and Cancer screening every year when people also donate blood. Whey not have Fistula Week as well?

I got to know about this foundation sometimes in 2009 until last week when I needed to refer a patient and wondered if the foundation still exists, and the nearest hospital she could visit.

Let create more awareness please ......

Start with Nakuru - Kenya.
Ery
0726-418699
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

These people are among the rarest of the rare: a charity that doesn't spend inordinate amounts of your donations on "fundraising," "board members" or other nonsense that doesn't directly help the people they want to help. The women they help are among the most powerless and downtrodden humans on this earth: women with obstetric fistula.

It all begins with a community that disrespects women; little girls are fed last, given only the scraps of meals. that means they are chronically underfed, malnourished and very small for their age. Little girls are expected to do heavy work from the age of two, toting water and wood that an adult American would find too heavy. At the age of nine or so, a little girl is married to a man picked by her family and often a stranger to her. She usually knows noting about sex or contraception in an effort to make sure she is a virgin for marriage.

Thus little girls of age 12 or 14 are pregnant and expected to give birth to sons with no obstetric care or any intervention. When she goes into labor, she is sent into her hut with all expecting her to emerge ten or twelve hours later with a baby (preferably a son). When a day or two, or three go by, some of the people in her village may take action. Someone might pull the dead baby from her exhausted body, or she may manage to push the dead child out. But the worst is yet to come: the head of the dying child, stick in the birth canal, has stopped the blood supply to that section of the birth canal and the urethra. From then on, this poor little girl is incontinent. If fate is truly frowning on this poor child, she will also be incontinent with feces and urine. Either way, her life has ended, as far as her family, village and husband are concerned. She will be discarded, sometimes living in a tiny lean-to she builds herself, shivering alone at night as she waits to die.

The Fistula Foundation takes in these women with no regard for payment, and for the first time, she learns that she is not alone and cursed, she simply has a medical problem that will be cured (most of the time). She is given good food and plenty of it, and after her operation and recovery, is sent home with the first set of new clothes she has likely ever seen. She can now return home with her head held high, live with her family (or husband, if he hasn't totally discarded her), and be the woman she wants to be.

The cost of treating a case of obstetric fistula is pitifully small: about $500 for everything. A tiny amount considering the benefit it provides. I give because I hope and pray that my donation helps one of these girls and because I know that it is only an accident of birth that allowed me to be born in the developed world, to have plenty to eat, a chance to be educated and to marry when and whom I choose. I give because I am blessed and hope to pass my blessings along to those who have been seemingly forgotten. I can only thank the Fistula Foundation for bringing attention to these girls and helping them to have normal, dignified lives.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I follow their progress and donate to Fistula Foundation for years , it is a solid foundation backed with years of experience and true results. On a personal note i believe that Dr Hamlin should be nominated every year for a NOBEL prize and that she deserves one , it is our obligation if we can to help women get back their lives and dignity even more women in Afica . Maria
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Fistula Foundation does amazing work for women who are relegated as untouchables in their communities. They're an amazing organization.
Previous | 1 2 3...28 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer