Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.971015
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
February 12, 2014

more

February 12, 2014

The retreat was absolutely awesome! The positive energy, the connection with other survivors and the love and kindness shown to us by the organization made the weekend a wonderful experience. I learned so much from each and every presenter. I am so grateful for all the volunteers that took the time to make this such a positive experience for people like me. I now have the tools for better living physically, mentally and nutritionally. I truly appreciate all the volunteers' time and effort. Strengh For Life has had an incredible impact on my life and my recovery.



More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014

more

February 11, 2014

I am so fortunate to have shared a wonderful retreat with other women who share similar diagnoses. Strength for Live is a non-profit agency geared towards those who are directly effected from breast, ovarian and other cancers. The mission of Strength for Life says it all. Collectively through volunteers, survivors, and healing practioners, we learn how to become strong mentally emotionally and of course physically. The spectrum of ages is no barrier when surrounded by love, support and unconditional acceptance. This organization is powerful and there is not one out there which compares. I am privileged to have taken part in the retreat which is filled with laughter, education, and practioners who share a common goal, health and then the next step is, how do we get to there together!?

I have also participated in the 8-week strength for life program. It was the first time since I worked out since surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation. The instructor, Jaqui is pure motivation and she tailored the work outs so each and everyone of us was able to full participate given our 'physical' limitation. I highly recommend Strength for Life. Upward and onward we go!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 25, 2013

I attended a Wellness retreat on the weekend of Sept 14th and it was a life-changing experience. Jacqui and Debbie were amazing, they really went above and beyond in making everyone comfortable and h... more

February 10, 2014

I attended the Wellness retreat by Strength for Life this past weekend in Hauppauge and I was grateful to be included for the second year in a row. I didn't think it was possible but it was even better than last year. The amazing women, Jacqui, Debbie and Theresa, who dedicate their time and energy to this cause outdid themselves once again. From the guest speakers, to the food, accommodations, exercise, yoga, Zumba, Reiki and Tai Chi classes, nothing was lacking!! These women genuinely care and love helping others and that's what makes this program so special. I met so many amazing and brave women at the retreat and they all truly inspire me. We laughed, talked and got emotional together. I will never forget everything I learned this weekend and I will hopefully educate others about staying healthy. I only wish more people affected by cancer can experience Strength for Life and the important and life-changing work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2013

I attended a Wellness retreat on the weekend of Sept 14th and it was a life-changing experience.
Jacqui and Debbie were amazing, they really went above and beyond in making everyone comfortable and happy. The yoga, meditation/poetry, Zumba, reiki classes were all done by volunteers and they
were all wonderful. Since I work in a hospital, I would recommend this to any patients/friends who are dealing with cancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

This program was such a wonderful experience. I learned a lot about strength training from Jacqueline. She is a very dedicated and caring teacher and I would recommend her classes to my friends. Also I can't wait to sign up for another session.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

This retreat far exceeded my expectations. I feel that healthy living can help prevent a reoccurrence and I really needed support to get back on track with an exercise program. And most importantly and unexpected, the emotional support that was provided (while we were receiving very valuable info relating to our battle with this disease and "exercising our way into wellness") made me feel less alone. I was in tears listening to others unique but similar stories and deeply touched by the level of care and concern by the organizers and all the volunteers. Never have I felt so nurtured on this journey. I don't think there is anything out there that can compare to the healing I received here. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it so many more could receive it's benefits!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

It was such a wonderful experience. I have never really been able to share everything I went through and it was such a comfort to have other people to share with. Everyone is so warm and caring. The speakers and other girls that attended share their information and you learn so many things and resources that you had no idea existed. The atmosphere was so welcoming and fun. Once all of the exercising was done (which made my thighs so sore), we experienced Reiki which was amazing. I cannot express how much I got out of the weekend. It was much more than I expected!!! I am so grateful that I was able to attend!!
Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

I attended the wellness retreat this past weekend was just amazed at the dedication these ladies had to helping us through a very rough time in our lives. The information provided to us was so helpful and the support system created was just priceless to me. A cancer diagnosis can be a very scary thing. Even though I am lucky enough to have the support of friends and family, this group provided the missing piece of the puzzle I needed to help me through.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. I think they are doing a great job.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014

more

February 9, 2014

Yesterday morning I drove 3 hrs for what I thought was a yoga retreat. I was pleasantly surprised for much more than that. There were classes on health and wellness through natural living, strength training, Zumba, yoga, Tai Chi, Qi Gong, Guided mediation and imagery, a group Reiki healing, more classes on chiropractic care and Feng Shui. Not to mention we were well fed throughout the day and blessed with many caring volunteers to help guide us through the activities.
It might be diffcult to believe that was one day since they packed so much in there. I had to retire as soon as it was done to get some well deserved rest in bed. I have two small children, 2 and 5, so I cherish sleep when I can get it. The hotel room was peaceful and pleasantly posh. Knowing that I didn't have to clean up a huge mess after a long day was even more comforting. I slept like a baby.
After breakfast on Sunday, I did a work out on the elliptical in the gorgeous gym. We had a group water ballet class and said our goodbyes. It was over so quickly, but the bonds built this weekend will last. I have a whole new group of women that I can help support and lean on when needed. Cancer can be very isolating. As a young survivor, I don't know women my age that I can relate to on this level.
This retreat has come at a time when I needed it most. Several months after reconstruction and a year out from my last chemo, anxiety has been difficult to manage. I've been working as much as possible to catch up with debts incurred during treatment and through several surgeries. Exercise has been difficult to fit in with the cold weather, caring for two little ones, and house work. A weight has been lifted. Now I possess more tools for finding "Strength for life". It was so much more than just a yoga retreat. I can't thank them enough for this life enriching experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything was exceptional, but the food was just ok.... yet plentiful. Probably better that way since I would've stuffed my face more!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014

more

February 9, 2014

I had a very rare cancer called leiomyosarcoma of my abdomen and belly. I was diagnosed in dec of 2012. I spent almost a month in the hospital. i had a tumor the size of a melon and a kidney removed. I spent most of the year of 2013 getting very aggressive chemo every week and trying to recover from the major surgery i had. I am so grateful to be alive and count my blessings every day. Meetin jacqui, Debbie and everyone else on the wellness retreat weekend was one of the best things that has happened. I met wonderful people from all over and we all learned a lot from each other. The love and support everyone shared was incredible. I was there Feb8-9 2014. Thank you jacqui and Debbie for making this possible looking forward to many events in the future. Jamie Flecker

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 25, 2014

more

January 25, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a fitness weekend get away about 3 years ago with Strength For Life. It was an amazing weekend filled with activities and good times. It was comfortable to workout with others going thru treatment and not feeling like the odd man out at the gym. The weekend gave me the boost I needed to start working out again, which is exactly what I needed to regain my inner strength. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am a breast cancer survivor. In 2011 I had surgery and radiation treatments which left me sore and stiff. I found myself not able to move as well as before and I was becoming more and more sedentary because all my joints were aching and stiff. The Strength For Life exercise class helped me get myself moving again and the stiffness, aches and pains have lessened by a lot. More importantly, Strength For Life got me started on a path to know that I must keep moving and stretching in order to function better in my life as I move forward. I now realize that fact and have become adamant that I exercise each day and do whatever I can to keep myself moving. It's my new lifestyle. Thank you Jacqui Errico!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us on our wellness weekend.