Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.94035
Write A Review
July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

Science News is the best all-around science magazine. I have also subscribed to Scientific American and Discover. I see the abstract in Science News and read the more detailed account in SA. Science News by its nature can encompass more articles about more fields of science. So it gives the reader a broader knowledge of what is happening in science, medicine, etc. I love it and have read it for more years than I can remember. Keep on doing what you're doing.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

The Intel International Science and Engineering Fair is the premiere competition for high school students in the world. I have worked as a judge after a career of advising students, some of whom advanced to compete against the best in the world at ISEF. The competition helped these students stay on career paths in science and technology. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

Our daughter was selected as a finalist to participate in Broadcom. MASTERS the first year it launched. What an incredible experience for a 13 year-old from a small, isolate, rural area to work with other like- minded kids. She is still in touch with many of these kids from across the country that she met. Currently she is President of the after school Science Club and mentors other elementary and middle school budding scientists. She has continued to compete in science competitions in high school while juggling the most rigorous academic load offered, participating in varsity sports, working, and participating in an assortment of other extra-curricular activities. As I write this review on the sunniest, summer day in July, she is working on the drafts for the INTEL Talent Search. You inspired a young impressible teenager that anything is possible. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

I have been reading Science News for close to 40 years since I discovered it by accident in the periodicals section of my local library. Its succinct format and quality of information provides a service I've found no where else. It has helped me be a more informed citizen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

Science News provides current scientific information to share with my students. Young, pre-teen students are so eager to learn more about their world, and Science News offers everything I need to springboard into a unit of study. Science News makes science relevant and real, not just a sci-fi/imaginatin world. It helps me to convince my students that Science is LIFE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

Although I cannot afford a weekly subscription to SCIENCE NEWS print publication, I do receive the weekly email as well as general news from the Society for Science & the Public in order to keep up with important news and developments in the scientific world. If I COULD afford a weekly subscription to SCIENCE NEWS, I would DEFINITELY subscribe. Thanks, SSP!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

My daughter was one of the finalist of 2014 ISEF. One of the teachers suggested that I should volunteer as interpreter because I speak Spanish. What a great experience! I got to help a girl from Colombia who was presenting her ideas for a Cube Sat. Since I am a computer engineer I enjoyed the whole time. I helped a second day receiving children visiting the fair from public schools around LA and it was a very good experience too. Everything was very organized and they treated volunteers nicely: free conmemorative tshirts, delicious breakfast and lunch and they always made you feel really appreciated. Will do it again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow them to organize more scientific type of activities. They are good!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

This year I participated in Intel STS as well as another fair, and Society for Science and the Public made both experiences fantastic. The impeccable organization allowed me to focus on meeting professional scientists and other interested students, broadening my understanding and appreciation of a variety of topics. In addition, SSP's publications are filled with fascinating articles that pique my interest and keep me abreast of contemporary research. I only wish I had discovered their programs sooner!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

This past year, I had the opportunity to participate in two of Society for Science & the Public's high school research competitions (Intel STS and Intel ISEF). My experience with SSP has been nothing short of amazing. The organization not only offers the two most incredible science research competitions available to high school students, but also provides two science magazines (Science News and Science News for Students) with up-to-date and fascinating articles. SSP has a tremendously positive impact on middle and high school students and their interests in science, technology, engineering, and math because they want to make science relevant, stimulating, and fun-- and they are very successful at their goal. Society for Science & the Public is achieving what few (if any) other organizations can achieve-- they are connecting with students, engaging them with science, and giving them the opportunity to share their discoveries with the world. I can't think of a more rewarding, wonderful organization, and I'm so grateful to have had the chance to work with them over the past year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

Society for Science and the Public has proven to be unparalleled in its efforts to encourage young people to engage with scientific research. As a participant in the SSP-affiliated research competitions, I found that SSP gave access to a host of free resources, including its Science News and Science News for Students publications that I regularly use. Whenever I contacted them with questions or concerns, whether it was before, during, or after the competition, the SSP staff was happy to help. I hope to have more interaction with SSP in the near future!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers