Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
12.56345
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
December 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Smile Train is a wonderful organization. I really love the mission and seeing how a simple surgery opens the door for these kids, giving them the chance to rise to their full potential. The staff I have interacted with are all incredibly caring and dedicated, and the charity accomplishes an amazing amount with relatively few people. By all accounts the new leadership has the organization more focused and efficient than ever. Absolutely one of the best charities out there.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a privilege to support this AMAZING organization! It's amazing when you recognize the incredible impact this organization makes on the children and families they serve. The fact that they can have this sort of impact for an average of $250 per surgery is stunning!

Congratulations on
your great success Smile Train! You make a meaningful impact on a daily basis to the lives of millions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, that I'm aware of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Please read this before you ever give to Smile Train again: http://www.charitywatch.org/articles/smiletrain.html

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the CEO and the Executive Director who makes over a 1/3 of a million dollars annually plus benefits and travel vouchers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have given over a grand to what I had considered a worthy cause. Pres. Brian takes almost 700 thou. from this charity, a ludicrous amount. 2,800 cleft repairs are denied to push Brian into the enviable 1% of top takers. I was suspicious of his constant fundraising and his long standing at the helm of a charity. He should have moved on by now, so I did some digging and learned why he stayed, Smile Train is a pork train to anyone taking outrageous "compensation". I am sure Brian never left the office exhausted nor did anyone else. Why are they not part of Operation Smile????? I am a retired attorney and I shall follow through with the appropriate NY authorities. All compensation for staff at non profits should be spelled out prominently on their web site and not require an investigative journalist to seek out unconscionable gouging. Everyone opens their hearts and minds to these deserving children. Shame and more shame on profiteers!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have volunteer top managers from business and academia serve one year, unpaid terms and move on. No professional, non profit porkers need apply!!!!! Non profit salaries for top "executives" have become ludicrous almost without exception. The Salvation Army is almost without blemish and Jean Kroc rewarded their fine work with infrastructure bequests, not confiscatory salaries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

$250 per child.
approximately 120,000 children helped last year.
That's $30,000,000.
They raised almost $200,000,000 according to Forbes.
They spend $170,000,000 on everything, except helping the kids.
Only 15% of the money goes to the kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more transparent about their financials. Post them on the web. Come clean. Replace the corrupt individuals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

#thepowerofasmile
Smile Train not only changes lives for people born with a cleft lip and palate it educates Dr.'s, Nurses, and the public on the stigma of being born with a cleft. Smile Train has created a model that gives back by empowering. I am honored to say that many of my family members
and friends give to this organization.
I myself was born with a cleft palate and enjoy seeing the SMILES that are created by such a wonderfully powerful organization!
#thepowerofasmile

Sandy Kreif

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I made a donation to Smile Train about 10 months ago. I have been bombarded with constant emails and mail requesting more donations. i took myself off of their email list but once in awhile still get an email but even worse is constant mail requests. I wrote them a letter asking them to take me off of their list and got another letter a couple of weeks later. This is a more than once a month, more like 3 times a month maybe 4 times request via mail for more donations. I wrote another letter to Smile Train asking that they take me off their list and hopefully this will work. I will never donate again to them fearing that this constant barrage will start all over again. I donated to St. Judes Children Hospital in Mephis and they are very respectful in sending me a once in awhile request for a donation. Smile Train would get a zero on the above rating if that was possible!
April 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Smile Train Rocks! I was introduced to this wonderful organization as I traveled the country as a motivational speaker at many huge national dental conferences. I was so touched by the professionals who generously gave their time, love and expertise to travel to perform critical surgeries. These missions of love enable thousands of children to finally get relief from birth deformaties that prevent them from eating and drinking normally. Not only does Smile Train help them nourish their bodies, but it helps them nourish their souls---some of them actually smiling for the first time--finally unafraid to show their faces. Can you imagine being so ashamed of how you look that you stifle one of the most endearing traits of childhood: a beaming smile! I cried when I thought of how miserable that must feel when they had nothing to do with causing this deformity to happen.
I'm in the same business: as a humorist & Leadership / Staff Engagement Specialist, I travel the world helping people smile in the face of uncertanty...sometimes even when we don't know what's around the next corner. Smile Train brings more than just smiles to these kids; it forms a cornerstone foundation of self esteem and confidence, which can change a kid's life...so they, in turn, can change ours! One way I feel I can make a difference in the lives of these kids is to donate a portion of my speaking proceeds to Smile Train. Another way is to keep letting others know what a great cause it is! Keep up the great work! Kelli V.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the publicity/marketing, so more people would know about it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Smile Train is a charity near and dear to our hearts. They do tremendous work around the world saving lives by providing free surgeries to children and adults suffering from clefts. I was just in NYC and was able to visit the office and meet the people behind the scenes. I was impressed with everyone I met and feel like these people are dedicated to such a great cause. My family and I are very excited about continuing to fundraise for the Smile Train and hope to become even more involved in the future. I highly recommend this charity!
April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

I raised over $6,000.00 for the Smile Train, and well over 30 plus donors to this awesome organziation. I did this fundraising effort in conjunction with my Ironman that I completed in Los Cabos Mexico on March 30, 2014. The money I raised will directly impact 24 children who will receive free surgery to fix thier cleft palet. That is 24 lives that are positively changed!!

This is an oranization that I am very passionate about, and how such a small amount of money can go such a long way. I am so happy that I was able to tie The Smile Train in directly with a huge event in my life. I am so excited about raising thousands of dollars more fro the Smile Train.

Please keep your donations comin to The Smile Train

Kelli M. Trudel
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers