Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.985515
Write A Review
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

en primer lugar... Gracias Proyecto Itzaes por darnos el privilegio de tenerte en la comunidad y que detras de este proyecto hay muchas personas que hacen que esto marche bien.
Lo que me gusta de este proyecto es que involucra a todas las personas sin importar edad, sin embargo la mayoria de
estas son jóvenes que como sabemos en la actualidad se han ido por caminos malos y que mejor que aquí ellos se vean involucrados, se distraigan y sobre todo aprendan.
y en mi persona siendo estudiante de la Licenciatura en Educación Especial observando como los niños(as) socializan, aprenden, de igual manera me agrada ver que niños(as) con capacidades diferentes asistan.
sin mas que decir nuevamente Gracias, sobre todo por esta oportunidad de ser parte de este proyecto.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Desde el momento que Proyecto Itzaes llego a mi vida, todo cambió, es una gran fundación que día a día se ha preocupado por el futuro de los niños y jóvenes de los diferentes pueblos donde se establece, por mi parte estoy muy agradecido con esta institución porque gracias a ella ahora soy un profesionista, gracias a su apoyo ahora soy Licenciado en Educación, y actualmente me encuentro trabajando pero sin descuidar mi compromiso con este gran programa, un compromiso moral por todo lo que me brindaron, sigo trabajando con los niños del proyecto y eso es lo que realmente me hace feliz.

Gracias PI por todo lo que has dejado en mi y mi gente, desde hace más de un década. =)

Lic. en Educación: Jose Francisco Pech Cutz
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Antes que nada, quiero darles las gracias a todas a aquellas personas que se encuentran detrás de este proyecto y que no tenemos la oportunidad de darle las gracias en persona.
El proyecto itzaes empezó a formar parte de mi vida, justo en el momento que más lo necesitaba ahí puedo distraerme
enseñándole a las nuevas generaciones de niños que asisten, conocimientos habilidades, técnicas, hablarles sobre la importancia de la ecología y el cuidado del medio ambiente la importancia del reciclaje pero sobre todo enseñanzas académicas que reforzaran más su desempeño escolar y los harán sobresalir y ser reconocidos tanto en la comunidad como en su vida futura.
Al formar parte de del proyecto yo siento que pertenezco a una segunda familia de personas muy buenas que nos ayudamos mutuamente pero sobre todo que sentimos su apoyo en todo momento es por ello que gracias al proyecto yo puedo seguir estudiando mi licenciatura en enfermería.
Desde hoy y siempre estaré mas que agradecido con el proyecto itzaes estaré con el hasta donde me permitan porque así de simple lo adopte como parte de mi vida.
Para despedirme quiero darle las gracias de corazón y con mucho cariño a Cindy y Simon que fueron los que me dieron la oportunidad de pertenecer e integrarme de igual modo como mencione anteriormente a todas a aquellas personas que no vemos, pero que sabemos que están detrás del proyecto a todos ustedes mil gracias.

Edgar Enrique Pech Piste, Estudiante de la licenciatura en Enfermería.
GRACIAS PROYECTO ITZAES =)
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Proyecto Itzaes para mi ha sido una gran experiencia, que ha cambiado por completo mi vida y la de mi comunidad, en todos los aspectos posibles. Sin esta fundación difícilmente hubiera podido continuar con mis estudios superiores, y ahora no sería lo que soy, me transformó la vida por completo, ahora soy una estudiante de Contaduría y asesora de matemáticas de los niños del PI. Quién diría que aquella invitación de hace más de 10 años para formar parte de esta gran familia, serían las bases de lo que ahora soy. En mis casi 12 años de pertenecer a esta fundación, he visto de cerca el esfuerzo y dedicación de toda aquellas personas que están detrás de este gran proyecto para llevarlo a gran nivel. Un programa que promueve la educación de las personas que más lo necesitan a través de becas, la ecología y el cuidado del medio ambiente, el uso de técnicas para reciclar a comunidades indígenas, la conservación de la cultura y lengua maya, el aprecio a la lectura para todas las edades, entre otras cosas, hacen de este programa un programa único. Sin duda alguna, estoy orgullosa de pertenecer a Proyecto Itzaes y espero continuar para en un futuro, ya como profesional, devolver un poco de lo mucho que han dado por mí.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expandir este programa a más comunidades...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I first got involved with Proyecto Itzaes 12 years ago and have had the privilege of watching it grow from changing lives in one village to supporting education in five villages. PI provides a unique space in each community that allows for hands-on learning for kids and their parents (while making it fun!) that did not exist before PI. This resource and the activities that take place there reinforce the importance of community and early exposure to reading. I have watched kids grow up to pursue higher education as a result of PI.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 25, 2013

I have followed Proyecto Itzaes activities closely for many years and know Cindy Wilber very well. Cindy's energy, values, and devotion to helping others are a model for non profit leadership. She und... more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Proyecto Itzaes is an excellent example of how to be a high impact non profit. It is managed by a highly competent people with a passion for the organization's mission. As a financial supporter who has personally observed PI's activities, I can say that its work is having a big impact on local Yucatan communities. Financial resources are used very efficiently and are well focused on the organizations mission. It is easy for me to urge others to support PI as well. Bill Gomez

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013

I have followed Proyecto Itzaes activities closely for many years and know Cindy Wilber very well. Cindy's energy, values, and devotion to helping others are a model for non profit leadership. She understands the Yucatan community and its needs extremely well. Proyecto Itzaes services are very well targeted and cost effective in servicing the community. My wife adn I are very enthusiastic donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Many places on this planet could benefit from using Proyecto Itzaes as a model. The seed for this project, planted by Cindy Wilbur in 1995, has grown and blossomed into a flower of literacy, education and community involvement that should travel well beyond the little Mayan village in the Yucatan Peninsula. Watching the progress on the PI Facebook page, and learning that once-illiterate children have been helped by PI to graduate from college and then come back to help others to do so tells me that the seed Cindy planted is bearing abundant fruit. Definitely a worthwhile organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a Doctoral candidate in math education at Stanford University specializing in teacher education of linguistic and ethnic/racial minority students, and I have been a mathematics teacher for 22 years. What I like most about Proyecto Itzaes is that our donations translate into real differences for people at both the everyday and big-life levels. For example, the summer science projects brings engaging enrichment activities to children in these Yucatec Maya communities, and not only does this put smiles on their little faces, but it also lays the groundwork for their lifetime love affair with education. I have seen photos of children buried amidst mountains of legos, and they are building, creating, and flourishing. I have seen pics of children making games and activites, armed with only their imaginations and cardboard. I met a 22 year-old woman who was ushered through their programs since elementary school, who is now teaching at Proyecto Itzaes and is finishing her degree in math. She will be helping me with my research project in the Yucatan next year, and we are hoping that she goes to Stanford in the future to study math education to bring back her expertise to her local community. When you donate to Proyecto Itzaes, you are not just teaching a child for a day or a week or a school year, you are teaching a kid to love to learn for a lifetime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them have more money to bring even bigger opportunities to the local community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

PI is performing sustainable work in the Maya community of Yucatan. Its education programs are helping and inspiring children to pursue higher education. Support their mission!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes provides resources for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal villages of the Yucatan. PI has been providing access to books, essential school and learning sup... more

August 11, 2014

Proyecto Itzaes provides education resources, conservation of cultural heritage, and health information for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal Mayan villages of the Yucatan. I have been a donor and friend of PI since 2004. They provide access to books, essential school and learning supplies, 21st Century technology education, life skills and generational literacy programs and services producing amazing results. Many of the youth participating in the Proyecto Itzaes program have gone on to become graduates of the University of Merida, a testament to the quality of this extraordinary program! Many graduates have returned to their villages to start careers and businesses and also to volunteer at PI "to give back, pay it forward, and help the next generation of children and improve the quality life of the village." I know every dollar I commit to Proyecto Itzaes benefits and helps to improve the quality of life for children and will improve opportunities for their future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes provides resources for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal villages of the Yucatan. PI has been providing access to books, essential school and learning supplies, computer education, life skills and generational literacy programs and services producing amazing results. Many of the children participating in the Proyecto Itzaes program have gone on to become graduates of the University of Merida, a testament to the quality of this extraordinary program! Many of the graduates have returned to their villages starting successful careers and businesses and also volunteer at PI "to give back and help the next generation of children and improve the quality life of the village." I know every dollar I commit to PI benefits and helps to improve the quality of life for children and will improve opportunities for their future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers