Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
123.1794945
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
January 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've removed them from my will. From Wikipedia: "1900 corporate sponsers ... legislation to allow drilling [in the ANWR] is supported by members of the Conservancy leadership council, which consists of members from BP and ExxonMobil, as well as by Phillips Alaska, Inc.". They're mission has clearly been corrupted.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cut the corporate ties and start over.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I was ready to write a check for my annual contribution until I read the review coments.
I agree with the issues of paying too high a salary to the CEO as well as the
cruel results of hunting.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Just a thought regarding salaries. I have worked in the non-profit field my entire career, and in my current employment, the CEO is paid a six-figure salary for managing a regional program with a multi-million budget. This CEO compensation, if compared to the for-profit sector is probably in line, for a national company. Too often, the term "non-profit" seems to equal substandard. You do often get what you pay for. I have had to leave jobs, and seen my colleagues leave great organizations, because they could not feed their families. Obviously, this guy can feed his family, but if he is worth the pay in the private sector, and the job is worth the pay in the private sector, then it is not too much. What he will not likely get, by working in the non-profit world, is large bonuses and similar perks.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am not discounting the concerns that many have over the salary of the CEO. Just wanted to provide food for thought. Given how much money this charity has to manage, you may want the best leader you can find and you usually have to pay more to get the best. It could be that this organization is run well because they inveseted more for a top leader. However, the comment about the inhumane practices to deal with non native species sounds horrific to me. If they endorse those practices, that would be a deal breaker for me. Now I wonder if they are not animal sensitive but really more about fighting urban sprawl into wilderness areas. I am a strong animal advocate and maybe this is not the charity for me. Not sure about them now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am very aware of TNC's mission and some of the activities, as I have been a donor for many years and follow progress. I am very disappointed to see an excessive salary for the CEO, and while it takes good money to keep good people in such roles, this is a bit over the top. Also, I tire of the wasted $ I donate in going to more and more fund raising mailings. I have noted that this organization, as most all of the non-profits soliciting money, hit you with a mailing for support immediately following receipt of your donation. This is a good trick....that is why I keep spreadsheets now. Bottom line: I will give less to TNC and put $'s elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Count me in as someone who was ready to contribute, until I saw the Director's annual compensation. Are they kidding? I am glad this website reveals this information, it is very informative. Paying someone more than 200K to head a CHARITY is unconsionable.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

A good cause but I don't support them any more because they allow hunting on their land and kill
non-native species in very cruel ways like slow strangulation by snare.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

December 31, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 31, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Like others who have commented, I was going to donate to Nature Conservancy until I saw the CEO's salary. He likely gets expenses like dinners at fine restaurants to lobby Congress, etc. paid for. I'll donate elsewhere this year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I support the work of the Nature Conservancy but cannot support an organization that pays its director almost half a million dollars every year (plus who knows what else). This is way above salaries for the Washington DC area and way way above salaries for non-profit organizations. Surely he could manage on half that salary and use the remaining money for land preservation and conservation!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

They never sent the 'Adopt an Acre' gift pack that was supposed to come with the donation. A phone call every few weeks got nowhere. If they can't efficiently and accurately handle a simple mail out, how can I expect them to help with the real issues they are supposed to address? I'm also sick of the mail outs asking for donations. It's a waste of paper and adding to the carbon footprint.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers