Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.924535
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

I am writing this review as a Vermont native, an avid fisherman of Lake Champlain and the tributaries, a local business man, and friend of Lake Champlain. The LCI is my favorite advocate group. Its all about fishing and water quality in Lake Champlain.
March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

I was a member of The Burlington Board of Health for two terms, and during that time we worked on trying to educate the general public on the use of non pesticide products for their lawns and gardens, the P.O.P.E project. Last year my property was certified by LCI and I installed there logo sign on my front lawn..As a result many new family neighbors have inquired about the plaque and have initiated prevention of storm water runoff in their own yards. How cool is that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I have been an avid stream fisherman for most of my life. A couple of years ago I was fishing the Willoughby River in the spring and looked up and down the river and there was only 7 or 8 people fishing. Even more disturbing to me was that I was the youngest person on the river that day @ 66 years old. When I had an opportunity to work with 'LETS GO FISHING" - which teaches young kids the aspects and joys of fishing, I jumped at it. It's so rewarding to see the smiles on children's faces when you teach them how to properly tie knots or casting and catching with the back yard bass program. I am so glad that I am having an opportunity to give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

This is my third year as a Let's Go Fishing Instuctor, being the outdoor loving, environmentalist that I am. It makes me happy to be able to teach kids, why we have law's, and what it takes to keep our water's clean, and usable for year's to come, is so viatal to our life's . This program help's me to teach kids what a great place the outdoor's can be and how important it is to be an Ethical person, and respect the law's that are put in place, for the purpose of preserving the right to fish for the next generations. This program is vital for our children, and should be kept alive. LCI does a great job with the watershed's and continued support should be given.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I have been volunteering with LCI's Let's Go Fishing! program for 2 years now. I took their training program because of my love of fishing and because I believe that our beautiful natural resources should be preserved and protected for future generations. This program does so much more than that. Let's Go Fishing ! encourages families to get into the outdoors and enjoy the sport of fishing together. It also teaches about ecology,habitat, ethics and all methods of legal fishing and the different types of gear.
All of the volunteers I have been fortunate to work with were knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
The Lake Champlain watershed is a special place and this program promotes the use and care and protection of it , while promoting the idea of families doing things together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a change. I would promote the idea of habitat protection, ethics and ecology more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I have witnessed the support that the LCI has provided to the Lake Champlain watershed for the past 20 years. I have been a participant in their derbies and have witnessed their outreach and and education efforts. It is truly remarkable the time and effort they put into developing and sustaining our region. We are very luck to have such a dedicated non-profit group looking out for our environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

We recently moved to Vermont and I was lucky enough to get connected with LCI very quickly. They work tirelessly on the various & complex issues which impact the health of Lake Champlain. Lake health affects everyone in the Champlain basin but so many people remain uneducated about the impacts of their actions on the lake. LCI does a great job both in education and advocacy. I have been impressed with the frequency of their media coverage to help keep lake health in the forefront of everyone's minds. Keep up the good work! There's still much to do but you're making progress.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I have been volunteering with the LCI for the last 10 years. Over this time I have filled many roles from being a runner from station to station to organizing the Little anglers derby. I also volunteer as an instructor for The Lets Go Fishing kids program.It is through organizations like LCI that make a difference in bringing people and the environment together. I found over the years the the one organization to go to is the LCI. It has the organization to promote enviornmental issues and help solve the problems.
T. Karl Hubbard

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

The Alchemist Brewery has relied on Lake Champlain International for technical advice in regards to water usage and wastewater treatment. The highly professional and competent group of people who work at LCI have always shared accurate and up to date information with us. LCI has been an incredible resource for our business as we grow. With water being the main ingredient in our beer, it is critical that we understand how to best protect our water sources. Moreover, it is important for us to understand how our water sources and our wastewater are interconnected. James and his crew have done an incredible job educating us and helping to move us in the right direction as we work to minimize our impact on the environment.
In addition to helping our business, LCI has been a great resource for us personally as we navigate the issues surrounding Class A and B sludge application. Our home town recently applied for a permit to produce and spread Class B sludge which will be spread on recreation fields adjacent to the Little River. Although sadly the permit has been granted, Russ and other staff from LCI attended many public hearings in our town. Russ asked all of the pertinent questions and supported opposing citizens 100%.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

I have known of the Lake Champlain International (LCI) Fishing Derby for some time now. However, I was unaware of what LCI was really all about until earlier this year when I had the opportunity to speak with Eric LaMontagne, Outreach Coordinator. After several meetings, we decided that the Vermont Beef Industry Council (VBIC) and LCI should partner up to grow a new marketing and promotional opportunity to leverage limited financial resources while promoting two great proteins...fish and beef, a surf and turf theme. The VBIC jumped on board to sponsor the LCI Fishing Derby that occurs on Father’s Day weekend. I am glad that we did!
The three-day event was organized, fueled by volunteers, great family fun, and I believe, successful.

As executive director, I challenged our board of directors to invest producer Check-Off dollars in the LCI Fishing Derby for the great exposure to an audience who already were hearty beef consumers. There was another reason to leverage Check-Off dollars. With time and education, we are able to demonstrate “cause and effect.” The VT Cattle Industry has, for well over a decade, made huge gains in collaborating with other industry partners like LCI to change management practices in an effort to restore our largest body of water, Lake Champlain to a pristine and livable lake for all to enjoy.

Vermont farmers are excellent stewards of the land and are working very hard to be responsible stewards of Lake Champlain and other lakes, ponds and streams because they recognize that water is non-renewable. We know today that there are many other sources of pollution to our water systems including towns, municipalities, the private sector and industries.


More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at one of our fishing-related fundraising events with the weighing of fish, assist in the office with data entry, assist at one of our children's outreach events, organize a letter-writing campaign to public officials Volunteer