Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.920635
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

My husband and I live on Lake Champlain in the summer at Long Point in N. Ferrisburgh where I held a Board position 14 years and served as President of the Board for 8 yrs. Lake Champlain and agriculture define Long Point. The health of the Lake is critical to all of us who live beside, recreate in, and, drink waters from (as with the Champlain Water District) Lake Champlain. It defines our ecosystem on the west coast of Vermont! We have donated to some of, and listened to all of the major organizations in Vermont working toward the health of Lake Champlain. I believe that LCI has moved beyond studies and rhetoric to public education and outreach. I have seen LCI get into the hearts and heads of Vermonters, as no other single organization has, to help each one of us understand what we can each do to make a difference in the long term health of Lake Champlain and it's tributaries. BRAVO, LCI!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to help it raise more funds for educational outreach to get the word out on the Blue program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

After not fishing for 32 years I got hooked on Lake Champlain fishing last year. Ever since then I bought my boat last July after the LCI tournament. My goal this year was to fish the LCI for the first time. What a huge success , we caught a lot of Lake Trout and one beautiful Brown Trout. The quality of the fish was excellent with all the fish very fat and obviously well fed from all the baitfish in the lake.we also had very few lamprey marks on the fish we caught. Great organization doing an outstanding job to help preserve the fishery and environment of Lake Champlain. Submitted by Dale S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I am writing this note from the perspective of a volunteer because that is how I came to be involved with this organization. I've been working with their Executive Director, James Ehlers, in collaboration with another non-profit and in the process I have found myself rapidly engaged with the mission and action of LCI. The staff at LCI are tireless in their advocacy of Swimmable, Fishable, Drinkable water and are incredibly creative in reaching out to "non-traditional stake holders" (that would be me). Any organization that can convince this non-fishing mom to volunteer for 10 hours at their Father's Day Derby has got to be pretty darn dynamic! Hats off to LCI - I look forward to working with you for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 27, 2014

more

April 27, 2014

A few months ago I became an LCI volunteer. I can say that everyone I have worked with so far has been fantastic. They are an enthusiastic and passionate at what they do. Every time I get a chance to help out they make sure I know my time spent helping is appreciated. I truly enjoy my time volunteering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I have been an LGF instructor for several years and since the LCI took the lead on the program it has become a very energetic and richly rewarding program. The LCI support and organization is second to none. Setting up clinics have become much simpler, comprehensive and more organized. I now have a network of contacts as well as numerous opportunities to jump in and help at other events. I find myself truly able to reach out to families and introduce them to the outdoors and fishing ensuring opportunities for future generations. Keep up the good work, LCI.
April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I have been an instructor with The Let's Go Fishing Program for many, many years now and it's one of the most rewarding programs I've ever been associated with. The educational efforts by this program and the LCI in general are second to none. As an angler and Vermont resident, I feel very fortunate to have the LCI as a teacher, protector and advocate for Lake Champlain and I look forward being involved with them for a long time.

Jimmy Kennedy
April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I became a LCI volunteer last year. I decided to become a LCI volunteer because my parents both fished and showed me the thrill and joy of fishing at a very young age. They have both passed away, however, I wanted to pass on the knowledge and joy of fishing to our younger generation. It is a way to teach others how our natural resources can be and should be preserved and protected for future generations. Let's Go Fishing does this and then some. It teaches those who participate about the ecology,habitat, ethics and all methods of legal fishing. And most importantly it encourages families to get into the outdoors and enjoy the sport of fishing together.
April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

As a professional fisherman, The Lake Champlain Basin is critical to my career and success. LCI has been the most influential and the best advocate to promote clean water and our environment. I am a huge fan and support their endeavors to improve this great resource. The LCI has also partnered with the "Let's Go Fishing" program. The "Let's Go Fishing" program is instrumental in educating our next generation to appreciate our fishing resources. I work closely with the "Let's go Fishing" program because I firmly believe in their mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

Lake Champlain International has taken the lead in advocating for issues that are dear to my heart. They run a first class fishing derby as well. Lake Champlain has a voice through this essential non profit. As a Charter Captain and writer, I am also an advocate for Lake Champlain. LCI and their dedicated staff are champions in my book!
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

For anyone who loves the lake, this is an excellent resource.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at one of our fishing-related fundraising events with the weighing of fish, assist in the office with data entry, assist at one of our children's outreach events, organize a letter-writing campaign to public officials Volunteer