Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.338465
Write A Review
December 19, 2014

more

December 19, 2014

My name is Andy and I am currently as a local volunteer at the center of the IHF in Aceh . I have something new experience when I joined the organization, such as learning about the culture and language with all my directors and this is an opportunity for me to improve my English skills . As a nurse, focusing on studying nursing, but in this time, I had to teach math to students of elementary school. I had to learn again and anyway, this is a rare opportunity. When seeing them enjoy learning , laughing , I found happiness, can be very close to the childrens.
December 8, 2014

more

December 8, 2014

My name is Shylie and I am currently a work-study volunteer at the IHF center in Bali. In signing up to be a Work-Study volunteer at the International Humanity Foundation, I was unsure as to what I should expect from the experience. On arrival, the first thing I noticed was how beautiful the center is. Beautiful flowers and trees surround both the main house and the smaller house where we sleep. Everything is made from bamboo and wood and the garden is so well maintained.

However, after meeting the children, I was no longer so pre-occupied with my surroundings. Getting to know the kids and the ways in which they learn and study has been the most difficult yet challenging part of this whole experience. The kids here don’t learn the way I learnt at school in Australia and getting used to that is a big part of this whole experience. The most rewarding aspect of my time at IHF is knowing that these kids leave the center every day having learnt something new that you have taught them.

In my time off I have also seen some amazing places in Bali with the other volunteers that are here and it’s been great having our own little family. It’s truly been a home away from home.

I’ve been here for two weeks now and have two weeks left of my time volunteering. Sadly, I wish I had more time but it’s great to know that I will be welcomed back whenever with open arms.
December 2, 2014

more

December 2, 2014

I'm a graduate student from China, I wanna a break after I finished the research report this term, that's the why I decide to be an international volunteer. I can say that IHF(International Humanity Foundation) is not hard to find on DOUBAN website, which is very famous website in Chinese youth people.

My classmates, friends, professors are jealous of the international volunteer stuff, especially the place is Bali. When you talking about Bali, everyone will think of honey moon, swimming pool, wonderful beach, blue ocean... We know it's beautiful~

But please understand that IHF Bali Center is not the land of dream, we are volunteers here and the weather is really hot. Talk about those Balinese children, they really need a lot of help with education, some kids are smart, cute and shy, I really adore them~ We have classes every afternoon expect for Sunday, English classes on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, Wednesday is computer class and Saturday is special class (painting, cooking, dancing, yoga and so on).

Some little kids can’t understand Eglish a lot, and we learned a little Indonesian which is fun. Apa kabar? (How are you today?)

When the work-study volunteers finish their teaching and online job, we have time to enjoy the local life, like I just said before, swimming pool, wonderful beach, blue ocean(LOL). All of the local people I met are really hospitable and sweet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 30, 2014

more

November 30, 2014

I have always wanted to volunteer but I was studying and I could not do it in summers because I had to work to pay for my studies. So when I completed my Master’s degree in law last September in France, I had two choices: finding a job straight away or applying to be a volunteer. I am 23 years old, I love travelling and sharing cultural experiences, and I knew that I could not take this opportunity when I will have more important obligations such as a permanent job or children (or at least it would be much more difficult to leave for 8 months). That is the reason why I chose the second option.

IHF Bali center is located in a small village, Buitan, in East Bali. The good thing is that it is very easy to meet locals and share a part of their daily life, to talk to them and to learn from them.
Of course it is quite isolated but it is always possible to reach other places with a motorbike. Anyway, the week is quite busy with class preparations, the international tasks on the internet for IHF and games and special projects with the children before classes or on Saturdays. It is only my third week here but I already feel very comfortable with my work as it is exactly what I wanted to do: sharing a little bit of my knowledge and positive energies with the children, sharing a daily life with the other volunteers and directors, being part of a local community (of course not like a Balinese person but what I like is that I am not considered as a tourist which is much more different from my other experiences as a traveler). I like working a lot at the beginning of the week and having more time to spend with the children and the local community at the end of the week.

Our center provides free math, computer and English classes for Indonesian children. They go to the public school in the morning and are free to come to the center in the afternoon from 1pm to 5pm according to the schedule. Our classes are relevant because of the absence of a good educational system in Indonesia. Children often come before their classes to play and speak together and with the volunteers. It is not always the best time for us because it is lunch time but I think it shows that they feel good in this place and that is the most important thing. Moreover, they convey such a nice and positive energy that it is impossible not to appreciate their presence. They are always eager to learn a few words in another language, to dance or to show us the most popular Balinese songs. I think I will try to follow the same students during my stay here as a teacher so that I would know exactly what they have learnt and what the specific difficulties are for some children. I used to be youth leader in summers and it helps me a lot to teach the younger children with playful educational tools.

I started to learn Bahasa Indonesia from the first day I arrived in Bali. I think there are lots and lots of advantages to be able to express yourself and understand the local language (actually, they speak Balinese but everybody understands the national language which is much easier to learn and which you can speak in all of the 18,000 Indonesian islands). First of all, it is really useful to teach the younger children. Of course it is not good for them to translate every sentence they hear in their own language but using Indonesian when they do not understand what you are expecting from them is really interesting. Moreover, when they start being too naughty (even if they are always respectful), they listen much better Indonesian warnings than English ones. Of course I repeat them in English as they should know the class instruction in this language.
Speaking a little bit of Bahasa Indonesia also enables me to be in contact with the local population. I often go to the beach, sharing a few words with the fishermen for instance. It is also part of the culture to ask a lot of questions about how old you are, if you are married, what you did during the day… so they are not offended and they even like it when you are interested, and even more when they see that you are making the effort to learn their language (they actually know how hard it is since a lot of Balinese people had to adapt to the arrival of tourist flows and learn English).

I do not want to try to think of what I gained from this experience yet since I am staying 5 months in IHF Bali Center and this is just the beginning for me. I can just say for now that this experience is even richer than what I expected, culturally speaking and in terms of sharing with the population, the volunteers and the children. Hopefully, I will take the best of this opportunity for a deeper immersion in the Balinese culture in the next few months.

=> www.ihfonline.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2014

more

November 3, 2014

My name is Kerri. I am currently a volunteer at the Bali IHF center. To an outsider, the center provides supplemental English, Math and Computer classes to children who live in the area. To anyone who knows a bit about IHF or who comes here, knows that it offers so much more than that. The center is a place for the kids. On any given day there are children running around, playing cards, talking with the teachers or just hanging out. The center gives them a safe place to go and provides them with opportunities and resources that most of them would have never had without the IHF. At the IHF – the children are the number one priority. I’ve learned that you can do a whole lot with a little and that sometimes it’s the smallest things – like taking the time to have a conversation about the latest Indonesian pop song – that mean the most. So far, my experience has been extremely fulfilling. It’s great volunteering with an organization where you actually feel like you are making a difference.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

My name is Jing from Beijing and I’ve been working here at IHF Bali center for 3 weeks now. Before coming here, I had worked as an English teacher at a secondary school for 3 years, and the experience helped me quickly blend into the work vibe at IHF Bali, especially when it comes to working with the young.
Here at IHF Bali, we offer supplementary classes to underprivileged students from primary to senior high school. Almost all the courses are taught by helpful volunteers from all over the world. Apart from the knowledge we try to share, it’s also the abundant care, love and joy we bring that the kids cherish dearly.
One would be naïve to think that we are here only to give and teach. The fact, however, is we ourselves are undergoing a process of self-reflection and transformation. By spending time with the local, getting to know the culture and trying to see things both through their lenses and ours, we are learning, day by day, and gaining understandings about a once unfamiliar land, which we now feel connected with. Isn’t it one of the marvels of life?
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My name is Esther Manzanera and I am a Work-Study Volunteer in IHF Bali. I have been here for already two months and I could say that this experience has changed my life so I would recommend it to anyone! Since the day that I left my hometown in Spain and I arrived at the center I could see how easy was to help the children most in need. I have enjoyed the happiness of the kids, which is the most grateful thing that you could have. They do not worry about material things, about having the best PlayStation or iPhone, they don´t need those things to be happy, they will be smiling every day even living on the most basic conditions. The life in IHF shows you a different way to understand the world where you learn to value the most simple things.

In the Bali Center we have around 200 children registered so there is always a lot of work to do here, so I would like to encorauge everybody to come here to see the life through our balinese children's eyes. Living with their culture, learning about their families, traditions, religions, costumes, and appreciate a different way to live.
October 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 10, 2014

I come here for 3 weeks, I have been used to the local food , climate, temperature, the Indonesians enthusiasm and shy. The most important of all, I adapted to English accent of the volunteer from dif... more

October 1, 2014

This is the second time I come to Bali center, I never thought about that I will come back. But now I’m here.
I’ll stay Bali center for 5 months at this time. I’m very glad that many children know me by name. I also remember these children: Icha, Goga, Putu, Meri, Melinda……I miss them very
much. And I also happy I can see Hanna and Gregor again, I adapted to the center’s life soon in Hanna’s help.
Everything of center gets in order. The children have some change happening, Some kids are very quiet, some kids are very lively, but they are not shy any more.
Now I’d taken the class for four weeks. I really hope that my time don’t walk so fast.

I teach SD1 to SD5, although the course is easy, but also it’s not lightly in class. I will ask students to repeat the word after me. Especially for the sd1
SD1’s kids can’t speak any English I teach them simple word, and teach them to read again and again. Sometimes I pointed to a book, table, desk or eye, nose, hair, let them to speak out the English word.
Sd3’s kids are most naughty. They always like jumping and yelling at the class. It’s not easy to let them listen carefully.
In Sd4, every children’s English level are different, every time I will to teach based on their level., some kids can recite a essay in half hour, but some kids have reading problem. I need to teach them from simply phrase.
There are all girl were came to class in sd5, they are sensible clever girl. It’s easy to teach them.
Sometimes I will give them sticker when they have good performance, they will super happy for this.

February 10, 2014

I come here for 3 weeks, I have been used to the local food , climate, temperature, the Indonesians enthusiasm and shy. The most important of all, I adapted to English accent of the volunteer from different countries. It is the biggest challenge for me.
If you come here as a tourist, you will
find it is very quiet village. Compared to other tourist attractions, There is no visitors, no store. Only the rolling sea, rice paddies of the frog, and local people . Every morning, you can see the men to push the boat out to sea to fish, the women took out a paving stone, the children played football on the beach, In the evening, every child become warriors, each wave up, they will face up. The sea, is the paradise for them.
It is a indispensable experience for me to live here, I teach English and computer for the local children, live and work together with volunteers from different countries .Every day, you can hear Chinese, English and Indonesia. Life is very simple, just preparing class, having class, do online work, eat, walk and go to sleep.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I think I was 4 or 5 when I went to a very poor part of Mexico called Oaxaca and my parents took a picture of me with many rural kids in the jungle. It was definitely my favorite picture in the world. I used to take it to school and tell the other kids I had been in Africa and I had made new good friends. 

It was not true, but I loved the idea of traveling far away to another continent and meeting different kids to play with them and make new friends. As time passed, together with many different life experiences, I developed a very intense interest in different cultures and societies, especially in the ones that were suffering or struggling with poverty or war. 

When I graduated from high school I took a sabbatical semester to figure out what I really wanted to study for my university. My options were narrowed to learning something I was sure I could be able to use after to help people have better lives, as well as choosing a career that would allow me to learn things from all around the world. So I decided to study International Relations. 

I really enjoyed university, I was one of those nerds that would make all the reading, participate in the classes, get involved with the assignments, and always trying to get the best from what the teachers were trying to teach us. I always enjoyed more the social subjects, especially things that had to do with conflict resolution and human rights. 

Since my first semester I decided to orient my studies to the Middle East and African region. I have always been drawn to this area and I find it very fascinating, contradictory, ironic and sometimes sad. Most of my essays and research projects were orientated in studying the conflicts and the main problems in the area. 

When I finished university this May 2014, I was sure, and had been thinking about it for 4 years that I was ready to go to Africa and find an organization in which I could volunteer with. The original plan was to do it for 1 year, but then I decided that 6 months were enough. Now that I am here, I want to stay for a long long time.  

It was difficult to find an organization in which I felt comfortable with the way they do things. Most of the NGO's working in Africa today have all these different projects and programs that I consider are not really helping anyone. It's more like a "voloun-tourist" thing where you pay great amounts of money and you travel and "help" at the same time. But at the end, they only make short visits to each community, and I am sure that 1 week or less in a new place is not going to make any difference. That was definitely not what I wanted, but was the only easy thing to find everywhere.

After many months of researching, asking people that had done similar things in Africa, I found IHF. I felt comfortable with the organization for many reasons; the first one is that they were not asking me to pay a lot of money when I was going to be doing volunteer work. It’s ironic to think that you have to pay for working. The second one is that the name of the program was called “work-study volunteer”, and I found interesting that while working in the center I could also learn all the administrative functions of an NGO by doing my “International Tasks”. This was an important reason, because as I have graduated from university, the fact of doing some volunteering that could also give me an administrative experience sounded like a good decision.

It’s been one month since I came to Kenya. The center is located in the neighborhood of Githima in the city of Nakuru. One month has passed so fast and so slow at the same time. The center is overwhelming, there is always something to do, there are always kids around, and there is always something happening. I have learned many things from the children at the center. They all come from a tribe called Pokot, which is in a very dry area of Kenya. The situation in Pokot is not very promising; they face continuous drought problems, not enough food, lack of education, and violent conflicts with other tribes caused by robbery of cows and goats to pay for the wives they would like to have (it is usually more than two).

The children at the center were chosen some years ago by the chiefs of their tribes to be sent to IHF because they were orphans, came from a very poor backgrounds, or had a specific situation going on that was better they lived and got access to education with the organization, than staying in Pokot. Many of them have been living here for more than 7 years, they have grown up here going to school in Nakuru and learning how things are done outside their tribe. It’s not easy for them to live without any close relatives, with different customs and with international directors and volunteers that come and go.

The school system in Kenya is very complex, the problem is not that there is a lack of schools; the problem is the bad quality of the institutions. For example, it is still permitted for teachers to beat the children with a stick; they do things like sending them back home because they are not wearing the exact uniform (which costs a lot of money, and not everyone can afford it); and they let the kids sit in silence without anything to do in a classroom all day long while they are having a teacher’s meeting; amongst many other things. So it is our job to make sure that the kids are getting the best possible education while living here, but the educational system is not really helping.

As a work-study volunteer we are committed to 4 hours of local tasks and 4 hours of international work in the computer. I must say local “tasks” are my favorite. “Tasks” is in semicolons because I don’t see them as such, for me, spending time with the kids, helping the local staff with their chores, or taking them to see a doctor when they are feeling bad is what I came here to do, not work, but a way of living and helping around. I get to learn a lot by doing all these things and getting involved in the lives of the children and community.

We have many talented, intelligent, active, curious, capable, amazing young minds at the center, and I am really hoping they will grow older to become leaders of their community, professionals, doctors, teachers, musicians, engineers, soccer players, and I imagine many more bright futures ahead of them, buy it is not that simple, we already have a few that have graduated from high school, and many that are about to do so, but they haven’t had the opportunity or the funds to go to College or University. We still need to work a lot to find the best way to ensure higher education for the IHF family.

One of the things I have enjoyed doing with many of the children, is coloring mandalas (designs that represent the universe and energy flows). I brought many different styles of them, with different meanings and levels of complexity. The kids love choosing one and knowing it’s going to belong to them until they finish it, their name gets written on the paper, and then they can start coloring. They enjoy it even more when there is music on and they can relax and draw. I have decided to make one of the walls in our room the art wall, so every time they come visit us, they get very happy to see their mandalas making the room warmer.

Learning the names has been one of the most difficult things, there are so many, with very similar sounds and the same letters. Many of the girls start with “Chep” something, and they all have recently shaved their head for school, so the faces were very difficult to distinguish at the beginning. It’s definitely not simple, but after asking some of them more than 10 times, looking carefully to their facial structure, expressions and personality, I think I got almost everyone’s name now. My new plan is to get to know more about them, their lives, their fears, their dreams and their expectations. I have enjoyed very much listening to some of their familiar stories, their current worries, and their plans for their future.

I hope my experience will continue to be as enriching as it has been now. I am sure I am learning much more from them than what I could teach them, but I am also sure that I want to make my time here worth it by contributing positively to the challenges that we are facing in the center and with our IHF family. I believe that the only way to change something is to change ourselves first so we are able to share something of value with the community, and I also believe love is very powerful tool.





September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

In my life and travels I've often experienced and seen how knowing other languages really opens up a world of opportunities in all areas - personal, educational, career etc. So apart from teaching English back in Singapore, I've always hoped to volunteer my skills in other countries.

This
year, I finally managed to arrange a month off work, and so decided to take a month-long stint at the International Humanity Foundation (IHF) Banda Aceh centre. This centre was established to help the disadvantaged in Acehnese society, a mission that became more critical during the 2004 Tsunami. Ten years on, the city and people have made a great recovery, and the centre continues its work providing education and opportunities for the community to interact.

At the centre, I was largely involved in teaching English and Mandarin classes for children and teenagers ranging from 7 to 17 years old. I was also a part of the centre's daily routines - planning lessons, cleaning and sweeping, and looking after the children until their parents picked them up. On top of that, I was given jobs helping out IHF itself through online work. All of this gave me a first-hand insight into the needs, challenges, and possibilities running a centre and working in an NGO.

In the end, what I really liked about the Banda Aceh centre was how both local and international volunteers came together in a family-like atmosphere - we didn't just work together, but also hung out at the centre on weekends, or went out to eat and see the city together. This is an experience that just visiting as a tourist doesn't always give you: a way for everyone to share and understand their culture and also themselves.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be an at home volunteer for IHF and help us online. Volunteer