Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.955225
Write A Review
November 12, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2013

Handreach is one of the few truly dedicated non-profit organizations that both tries to help underserved populations by bringing modern medical equipment and techniques (trauma survivors, especially t... more

November 12, 2014

I met the Director, Dr. Brecken Swartz, in 2011 and started working with Handreach shortly thereafter. Their work in foreign countries is truly admirable and their idealism and optimism is difficult to beat. Handreach raised the funds to create a Pediatric burn ward in China, which is still one of the top burn wards in that country. The work they do reaching out to some of the world's most in need individuals amazes me and makes me proud to have been able to help out. In fact, I was able to visit the China General Air Force hospital's burn ward in 2012 and see many of the patients that they treated. And though it is a place of suffering (as hospitals tend to be), it was also a place of hope, where the children (and some adults as well) were able to receive help and assistance that they never though would be possible. Burns are a terrible trauma to have to suffer - the short term physical pain leads to long term emotional, social, and economic pain - but these individuals might have otherwise not been treated at all. Being able to use a new technique to give an individual the use of his arms back was the pride of my trip, which would not have been possible without Handreach's help and support.

I only wish I could help more.
October 28, 2013

Handreach is one of the few truly dedicated non-profit organizations that both tries to help underserved populations by bringing modern medical equipment and techniques (trauma survivors, especially those who have been burned) while also trying to improve the lives of those affected individuals and their families through continued support and service. The organization is largely based in Jamaica Plains and was in a position to help survivors of the Boston bombing this past year, but that was only one of the many things that the organization has managed to accomplish. It has also sent doctors, clinicians, and even an epidemiologist in training to a burn ward in the China General Air Force hospital in Beijing, China. Likewise, Handreach also holds regular drumming sessions for burn survivors and other trauma survivors to help with the physical, mental, and social healing processes. There are other organizations that are equally as dedicated to helping others as Handreach has done, but they are quite rare. And I might dare say none deals with the pain and suffering in quite the same way as Handreach has managed to do. It it my honor and privilege to be able to volunteer for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it with greater funding and more networking capabilities in other countries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

This past summer (2012) I went to Beijing to conduct some research in the burn ward at the China General Air Force Hospital. Handreach (and especially the Director Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz) helped to set up the study by introducing me to the head of the burn ward, assisting me financially by hiring translators, and offering background support for navigating the political aspects of the social waters of China (Visa's etc.). While the research is specifically intended to help burn survivors in China, without Handreach's support none of it would have been possible. I was able to use the staff that was hired for me to effectively reach out to every one of the patients who was in the hospital's burn ward (at least those who still had some means of contact available) in order to gather information for my study and hopefully be able to organize a burn survivor society of some sort. In my experience, there are two ways to see China: the first is to just go and spend money. This is the typical "tourist" experience and tends to lead to a number of consequences usually devolving into people who don't ever wish to go back because they've been thoroughly routed by the local scam artists (of which there are quite a few). However, I had the second experience: a professional journey into Beijing where I was able to work with actual professionals in the field of medicine and see the typical life lived daily by China's citizens. The second was much more pleasant and there was a lot more to be gained during the process. I hope my study will be able to help those burn survivors in need, but I can definitely say that it wouldn't have been possible without the work and efforts put forth by Handreach.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

I have known about HandReach for only a few months, but those few months have made a huge difference in my life! I am a volunteer with HandReach, working with both the BeatBrigade and community outreach. I know the Executive Director, Brecken Chinn, personally. I have met all of the board members and Jolene Swartz, the first burn survivor helped by HandReach. Every person involved has incredible dedication, passion, and compassion! They make excellent use of the small amount of resources they have to work with, including donor funds, volunteers, and medical technology. Their mission is truly inspiring because they know any person can become a burn survivor. They know that getting burned should not mean one stops being treated with compassion, no matter where you live! They match people's good intentions with resources that help every burn survivor, medically, psychologically, and socially. The BeatBrigade lifts the spirits of every person involved, because no matter how badly you have been burned, no matter where you have been burned, you can still experience the joy of drumming within a supportive community. The medical teams at Shriner's hospitals restore a burn survivor's face and body while the BeatBrigade and countless volunteers restore a burn survivor's hope. The strength of spirit demonstrated by burn survivors is truly astonishing!
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2013

Keep making maricles happen with very limited budget. Thanks to all volunteers! more

October 30, 2014

I have been a very committed volunteer for HandReach since 2009. The reason is only one: we help those children with terrible injuries and trauma, and they had no place to go.
The smiles on their faces are priceless!
Please keep up the good work and please continue to support Handreach,
where your love and care is only a tiny hand away!
Dr. Li Li, DPT, PT
October 30, 2013

Keep making maricles happen with very limited budget. Thanks to all volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A professional fund raising manager to support the growth of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I have witnessed the outstanding dedication of the staff and volunteers of HandReach. I have seen them give up vacation time to sit with, carry in their arms, and provide hours of emotional support to young people as they endure skin grafts, re-breaking of bones, and the painful process of adjusting prosthetic limbs. HandReach participants not only raise funds and team with world-class hospitals, but they literally give a hand up to poor children who would be relegated to a life of untold disability if HandReach did not exist. I am a proud contributor to this excellent non-profit organization that puts every penny and ounce of energy into helping burned and limbless children around the world. They give hope to trauma victims and proof that someone cares. I have seen this hope and love empower kids with the will to overcome limitations to become thriving, contributing members of society. God bless HandReach for making such a vital difference in the lives of vulnerable children!
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a burn survisor and serve as a board member. I watched HandReach to grew and develop since of 2006. I was the first burn survisor to be helped by Handreach. After my accident, I did not receive good care and my life was filled with emptiess with no future. At Shriner's Hospital, I recieved the best care and with many people's help along the way, I am able to be who I am and stand where I am. One day, I told my mom, "I wish people could recieve the same care as me." In the last few years, I have involved in shaping HandReach's direction and have been to China few times with the HandReach team. Watch HandReach sponsor every kid, I am so happy and excited for them. Because the bright future awiats for them.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My name is Hang and I am a university student. Last year I took a year off to volunteer in Beijing as part of the HandReach Team! I was able to marvel, FIRST HAND, at the love filled contributions HandReach makes for the children in the Burn Rehabilitation Unit at the Hospital I was placed at (both medical and psychological). It lightens my heart to know that because of HandReach, I had the honor of being a part of those kids' worlds during such a prominent part of their lives. HandReach is based on the solid foundation of selfless love and kindness, and this is why i know HandReach will continue to influence with world with its goals, and why I look forward to being part of the HandReach Team for years and years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I am so moved by the profound heart and dedication of HandReach and it's volunteers. They touch and transform the lives of so many who would otherwise be discarded and disenfranchised. HandReach not only facilitates extensive medical treatment and access to functional prosthetics, but goes much further in the psychological aspects of healing from extensive trauma, inspiring the human spirit through art and music therapy. As a trauma specialist, I am quite impressed with the tenacity and impact of this organization!
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

HandReach is a fabulous organization working to support so many! Their leadership is unsurpassed in that of their Director Brecken Chinn Swartz. I am especially impressed by how a small organization ... more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HandReach is an organization that cares and believes in the fullest level of heart and expectations for people with disabilities. It is an organization that believes in healing for all -- and for fighting for the rights that go with being a person with a disability in this world. I know the Founder of HandReach personally and know her dedication and commitment to this work. I have known some of the other volunteers and those committed to the future of this organization. As a disability rights professional, I look forward to working more with HandReach to continue to move it forward in its mission and expand it's literal reach and impact on so many levels. It is truly a Great Nonprofit.
October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

HandReach is a fabulous organization working to support so many! Their leadership is unsurpassed in that of their Director Brecken Chinn Swartz. I am especially impressed by how a small organization such as HandReach works to both support individuals on the ground but also the more collective vision of disability rights via their support of the disability treaty (aka the Convention on the Rights of Persons with disabilities (CRPD)).

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a burn survivor and profession musician, I have been looking for a way to give back to the community that has inspired and motivated me to keep going and never quit. In Handreach I have found a voice,a support group, an outlet, a chance to play and enjoy the company of like minded people, but even more..... I have found heart. During my stay at hospital and in recovery, long after the PT's, medical staff, friends and family had gone home for the night, I was alone and my worst moments were not the physical pains as much as the negative thoughts that resonated doubt, insecurity and dispair. With Handreach and fhe incredible work they do.... My own critic is silenced and I find love, respect, devotion and heart: tremendous heart!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I volunteered for a Hand Reach drumming event and was moved by the devotion of it's members, Director and everyone associated with the orgranization. The drum circle was well attended and brought such a diverse group together and all you could see were smiles, smiles and more smiles. Important work being done here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold your own "hands-on" or "hands-around" event, join us for therapeutic drumming, work to help kids in developing countries get supplies and needed rehabilitation. Volunteer