Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

When I was five, I had undergone stomach surgery. I was held in the hospital for four days in order to recover. During that time, Discovery Arts came to my hospital and held an event, which included games and projects for us to enjoy. I am now 18, and I still remember the joy I had when they visited my hospital. I volunteered for Discovery Arts this past summer, and my experience there exceeded my expectations greatly. The amount of care and dedication the staff have towards their clients is heartwarming and inspiring. Discovery Arts support children who are in the hospital by providing art and entertainment. I hope they can continue to grow and spread happiness wherever they go.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Discovery Arts could also be called Discovery Hearts because of the love, dedication, and energy founders Marilyn Clements and Nancy Marshall and their families, friends, board members and volunteers have devoted to this wonderful organization. It was created when Marilyn, a very talented dancer and choreographer, and her equally talented family members, saw seriously ill children at the Jonathan Jacques Cancer Center; the children were in their rooms going through unimaginable treatments and pain. Wouldn't it be great if those children had the opportunity to express themselves through the arts and spend time being creative and having fun when they had time during their hospital stay? So they started Discovery Arts to provide that escape and opportunity to express themselves. I have seen many of these children come back to thank Marilyn and the team, expressing how important Discovery Arts was to their healing process. Some have even returned to volunteer in the hospitals. All patients get a costume and face painting. Sometimes guests come in and sing with the children. Crafts are also an important part of Discovery Arts. If patients are unable to get out of bed, they receive bedside kits that they can use in bed. Discovery Arts is so valuable to the children and it wlll always be in their and their families' hearts.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a board member, I am especially honored to be serving alongside the most dedicated volunteers and staff for such an incredible non-profit organization as Discovery Arts. This organization has made a laudable impact in the lives of innumerable children and their families. I simply feel blessed to partner with an organization that passionately and creatively works to give every child they encounter a sense of joy, comfort, and hope.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My youngest daughter was a patient in a children's hospital when I first saw Discovery Arts. I walked past the playroom and thought how fun, making arts and crafts with sick children in the hospital. It's 12 years later, from when I first saw Discovery Arts, and to this day I continue my volunteer efforts with Discovery Arts. As a volunteer with Discovery Arts, I have seen the program grow from 2 Arts Adventure programs to 6 Arts Adventure programs in Orange & LA county hospitals as well as an out of state Arts Adventure program at a children's hospital in Missouri. Seeing a sick child smile when they create a craft or put on a princess costume or superhero costume is priceless. Receiving a hug from a child's parent in gratitude, is humbling. Discovery Arts has made an impact on a child's ability to get well with their weekly visits, bringing with them art & craft activities, costumes, music and guest artist. Parents plan their child's chemotherapy sessions to coincide with Discovery Arts visits to the hospital. Discovery Arts has made an impact in my life as well: Working with children in the hospital as a volunteer with Discovery Arts, gave me the experience needed to work in special education. In addition, I meet my life-long companion, who is also a volunteer with Discovery Arts. He and I have enjoyed participating in fundraising events, special events and activities for Discovery Arts. I've had the pleasure of a parent or adult child stop by a booth at an event and say Thank you for being at the hospital with arts and crafts activities or a bedside kit and for helping to make a terrible hospital experience a more pleasant & happy experience. Teresa Carlisle, Volunteer, Discovery Arts
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I had the great pleasure of being an older adult volunteer for Discovery Arts. This program in its unique way brings the best medicine known to man, love and laughter. Watching these ladies teach these special children the art of song, dance and creative abilities is a blessing in itself. To see these children come to the play room with beaming faces waiting for the special surprises for the day. The beautiful new costumes that are given to each child to keep, the special trophies awarded to each one for participating, hearing their little voices belt out a tune over a kareoke machine, or slip on a tap shoe to make noise on the tile floor. I cannot imagine anyone turning their back on donating to this very special program for children with cancer and other blood disorders. Take a moment to go on-line and meet Marilyn Clements and Nancy Marshall, the backbone of this wonderful program.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Discovery Arts since the beginning of the organization. They are the most compassionate group of people and have an amazing amount of joy and love to share with the children in the hospitals who need it most. They have been praised by doctors, nurses, administrators, parents and of course, the patients who they have served over the years.

There is no better organization doing this work.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Discovery Arts stands side-by-side with pediatric cancer patients on a daily basis, offering them joy & hope in the midst of hopelessness and confusion. Patients and families often acknowledge Discovery Arts as the one thing they looked forward to during the most difficult season of their lives. Some patients have gone so far as to say that Discovery Arts was the reason they won their battle with cancer. That is noteworthy, and that is why my wife & I are long time supporters of Discovery Arts.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Being a volunteer for Discovery Arts has positively impacted my recent move to the west coast. While working under the guidance of Marilyn Clements she has shown me that love, passion, and a thriving heart can uplift so many children and adults who are undergoing an unfortunate time in their lives. Discovery Arts gives children a moment to utilize their creative expression using hands on materials. When a child enters the Discovery Arts room they are embraced with flourishing smiles and lively energy which lets medicine and needles to be forgotten about for a moment in time. Through my time as a volunteer, I have heard parents and children say that they wish they could come to Discovery Arts every day. The founders of Discovery Arts are skilled in understanding the individual needs of each child. It is the continuous fundraising, innovation and a genuine love that has made such a successful program. I am proud to be a Volunteer for Discovery Arts!
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't think of a greater tragedy encountered throughout our life's journey than to discover our child, or one close to us, has encountered cancer or other life threatening disease. To date, I have been spared that horrific circumstance, but have been privileged to become involved in an organization that helps children and their parents when they in fact DO enter that dark world. One aspect of Discovery Arts that is often forgotten in our sole focus on the needs of the afflicted child is the incredible blessing it is to the parents of these children. As parents, they would take on the child's pain and suffering if they could without a moment's hesitation, but instead they are forced to sit back helplessly, and all they can do is wipe their child's tears. When Discover Arts visits, the parents get the opportunity to see their child laughing...playing...without the needles in their arms, and the desperate pain they experience night and day temporarily taken away. The children are greatly helped by this beautiful organization, but we should always remember that their parents suffer with them, and through DA they get the momentary chance to rejoice at seeing their child's smiles and hearing their laughter.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot begin to tell you about the work that this nonprofit organization is doing with and for very sick hospitalized children. What you see with Discovery Arts is very heartwarming and an incredible lift for the patients, as well as the patient families. It adds another dimension to the hospital setting that is very healing and brings some joy and normalcy to a very difficult situation. Discovery Arts has become very important to the children and their families. Having a child diagnosed with cancer is a journey through hell and having Discovery Arts there on a regular basis, to give the children something to look forward to and to rely on, makes a big difference. Bravo to all of you for your fine work!
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us prepare supplies, art projects, costumes and Bedside Adventure Kits for Arts Adventures! Volunteer