Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 5, 2014

more

July 5, 2014

Sarah was diagnosed at 14 months old with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. She spent 26 months in treatment only to relapse 11 days later with a rare leukemic infiltrate in the iris of her eye. Sarah would go through another rigorous 28 months of chemo and radiation therapy. With painful treatments and days on end spent in the hospital, Sarah looked forward to Wednesdays knowing that Discovery Arts would be there welcoming her with a costume an fun things to do.
When Sarah was at her lowest Discovery Arts would nurture her spirit and encourage the artist within her. She would sing and dance enjoying each moment with the incredible loving members of Discovery Arts.
Sarah had less than a 40% chance of survival and we believe that the positive energy and healing properties of the arts helped Sarah to win her battle with cancer. The joy they brought her and us is priceless. They were integral in Sarah's recovery and because of their love and encouragement 9 years later Sarah is cancer free and continues to perform as both a ballerina with Southland Ballet Academy / Festival Ballet Theater and as a singer. Thank you Marilyn and friends for loving us and caring enough to help children like Sarah, your legacy lives on through these incredible children.
Wendy, Howard, & Sarah Grant

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

Our daughter was diagnosed with an adult-form of leukemia when she was 22 mos old. We had a 3 yr old daughter at the time to care for as well. The volunteers at Discovery Arts brought a lot of joy into our month-long hospital stays (for over 6 months!)...coming every Thursday with costumes, face paint, craft projects, music and big, bright smiles!! Jillian would dance and sing and play her little heart out, making everyone forget about her cancer for a little while. My other daughter was treated so special each time she would enter the playroom with Jillian. One day, Both if the girls were given brand new tap shoes because they showed an interest in them...they still have them (5 years later)! Jillian's closet was FULL of dress up outfits from the time she spent with Discovery Arts...so many projects and photos adorn my house--reminders of the positives of living in the hospital. The love Discovery Arts volunteers give freely and enthusiastically to children with cancer and their families is beyond measure!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Come to the hospital more days or maybe morning hours (for little ones who need to nap in the afternoon).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Spent December of 2003 in Miller Children's hospital when my son had his 1st brain tumor surgery. Every day was physical therapy and occupational therapy and speech therapy, mandatory school work, nasty medications, needle pokes and IV woes - and most days Yay! a fun Discovery Arts project appropriate to a 5 year old with limited fine motor skills. Ten years out we still put on the Christmas hats he made, his art decorates our tree and we are reminded that we often had a ball in the middle of all that trauma. For a few years Miller Children's was almost a second home. Discovery Arts was a vital part of making hospital stays positive, happy experiences. One of my most precious possessions is tiny sculpture of our family made by another patient in for his chemo. My son is well and happy now - thanks to the great care he got at Miller Children's hospital and thanks to the wonderful art therapy of Discovery Arts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

I was exposed to Discovery Arts for the first time in April of 2012, when I visited their program at Miller Children's Hospital in Long Beach, CA. My first impression was of how passionate and involved the Executive Director and Program Director were with the Discovery Arts mission. They both are hands on, they know the hospital staff, the patients who participate and even their families! It's amazing to see the children who are able to join the Discovery Arts team in the playroom be filled with joy and full of heart in the middle of such a scary and serious time in their lives. The difference Discovery Arts makes in these children's lives and their families lives is forever life changing and deserves to be highly commended.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I have been a volunteer for Discovery Arts for a few years now, and I can't say enough about them. I help out in the office where they organize costumes, plan hospital activities and projects, and put together art bedside boxes for the children. So much thought, caring, and heart goes into everything they do. Not one detail is missed when preparing to bring light to an otherwise dismal situation for the children. They make sure each child gets a unique and artful experience at Discovery Arts.
I also volunteer at the hospital with Discovery Arts where I facilitate art projects and help create an open and friendly environment where the children's creativity and happiness can flourish. Each week, patients are giddy with excitement as we help them find their very own costume from the rack of costumes. Next comes an art project (with everyone typically in costume) accompanied with music and dancing and sometimes even singing! By the end of each program session, the kids (and parents) are already asking when we are coming back again. Volunteering for this organization has truly made me realize my purpose in life. Their compassion is endless and they are always looking for new ways to make each child's life better. Discovery Arts has positively affected so many children and their families and it inspires me to strive for the same greatness in my goal of becoming an art therapist. This organization is extraordinary and brings so much joy to children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

This therapy WORKS! Discovery Arts uses the arts as a form of therapeutic expression for children who are sick in the hospital. This incredible charity is well-run and has become such a passion of mine! Keep bringing smiles to those sweet kids, DA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

Discovery Arts is an amazing organization! They give children with life threatening illness opportunity to have normalcy in their lives! When a child is diagnosed with cancer, their life stops. School, sports, outside activity and sometimes friends go away. Discovery Arts brings fun, creativity, and imagination to these children, so they can just be a "child." Music, Art, Dance, and Drama bring healing powers! I am truly blessed to be part of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

Discovery Arts touched our lives about 15 years ago and since then we have become part of their family ... We lost our daughter, Cherese Mari Laulhere when she was 21 years old while on a trip in India. We started a foundation in her memory because she always said she wanted to help children and make a difference in this world. We were contacted by Marilyn Clements to see if we were interested in their program. It was amazing, we were so impressed with everything they did for the kids and with them. From dancing to face painting, singing, making crafts, it really touched our hearts and knew Cherese would love to be involved in Discovery Arts. Cherese was a dancer and loved crafts ! Discovery Arts definitely deserves to have an award from " Great Nonprofits " ! They all work so hard and have proven what a difference their program makes for all the sick children's lives they have touched. We have seen it in person and have watched the kids smile and laugh ..... it's amazing ! And our daughter, Cherese, will always be involved with Discovery Arts !!! If you have a moment, please look at our daughter's website at www.cherese.org Thank you for letting us share our thoughts about Discovery Arts, we couldn't be happier to have said what we did, we could go on and on .... Most Sincerely, Chris and Larry Laulhere

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I volunteered and worked for Disovery Arts for about 6 years. It was one of the most enlightening experiences of my life. I met and worked with so many caring and dedicated people...all working toward one cause..to see a smile on a child who was suffering and looking for a chance to just be a kid with no worries. I was able to make such a difference in so many young lives because I spent time here and it has changed me forever. I will always remember certain little girls and boys grabbing the microphone and blasting out the latest Britteny Spears or Justin Beiber song...dressed in the latest dragon or princess costume...in full make-up of course! ....The children's adventures are truly the only focus when you are talking to anyone in the organization....you will always hear.."what else can we do to make their experience with us more memorable"?? Everyone involved has dedicated their lives to making this organization work and grow into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Discovery Arts produces results!

I've seen kids who are literally on their last months of life, bedridden and very sick. It hurts. When Discovery Arts arrives, the energy starts to pump in those little veins and those beautiful children magically sit up, get fully inspired, get out of bed,
and become kids............once again.

There is a saying that miracles are an act of God. I agree. Discovery Arts has proven that God winks at their kids, then plays with them too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us prepare supplies, art projects, costumes and Bedside Adventure Kits for Arts Adventures! Volunteer