Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.258065
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
December 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have sponsored a child with this organization since the early 1970s and have also been to Africa to meet the children I now sponsor with them. I also donate to a Child Survival Program through Compassion in Haiti as well as one in Africa. Having seen first hand the differences this organization makes in the lives of children, their families and communities, and over the years seeing the integrity of this organization financially,walking out their mission statement, I continually recommend them to any and everyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Despite some initial hesitations based on some negative reviews about donors receiving form-type letters from sponsored children, I decided to go ahead with sponsoring a child because of the predominantly positive reviews about Compassion.

Unfortunately, I now understand the
disappointment and frustration felt by various Compassion donors who were receiving form-type letters, as I received one in the name of my sponsored child. The adult-level language, almost exclusively focused on the Bible, and the handwriting were clearly too perfect to have been written by a child.

My complaints to Compassion changed nothing.

I believe that Compassion downplays its very stong religious orientation until the moment that you are actually engaged as a donor. I now understand that this is a very born-again Christian-type of organization.

Compassion may be helping kids and their families, but they should be honest upfront with donors that they are a hard-core religious outfit. Also very importantly, the group lacks a commitment to allowing kids to have their own true communications with their sponsors. Once my sponsored child reaches 18 years, I will stop my involvement with this group.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This organization has a long track record and is truly making a difference in the lives of children. However, there are a couple of major problems: 1. They do not use any QA measures of their customer service representatives; some are excellent, others are not. 2. They don't have a way of quickly connecting with their in-country partners who are serving the children; thus, replies take weeks if not months. 3. They are not transparent about who these in-country partners are; for comparison, go to www.kiva.org and read their information about their partners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See above

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 4, 2014

more

April 4, 2014

I truly love supporting the fine efforts Compassion International is doing in Haiti. My sponsored child, Paul Ando-Paul is thriving under the guidance and support of Compassion International. I would love to work for them. What a blessing they are to the world!

Doug Johnson
Dallas,
Texas
February 1, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 1, 2014

I am a missionary Kid in India, Sponsored by Compassion for my studies. Without compassion I would not been able to have studied.
I am thankful for compassion to have contributed in my life and many more downtrodden and also focusing on Spiritual aspect unlike any-other non-profit organisation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2014

more

January 23, 2014

I have been a sponsor through Compassion since 2003. It has been amazing to see my sponsor child in India grow and learn under the wonderful mission of Compassion. We correspond through letters and I hope to be able to go visit him one day. This is a wonderful mission that has a direct impact on children's lives around the globe. I have recommended Compassion to many people and love how active they are in reaching areas that need so much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 5, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

One visit this organization's large HQ in Colorado Springs and you will see that your money is NOT going to poor children! I also hear that the CEO is making a very large salary, one unheard of in non profits and authentic Christian organizations (although I have not confirmed this).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dismantle it and leave Christian charity work to true Christian charities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I was a Compassion International sponsored child and was released from poverty in Jesus name thanks to their work. I love the ministry and what they stand for, bringing Jesus to the least of them. I love that they are Christ-Centered and most of their programs are aimed at equipping the kids with the gospel of Jesus Christ. I grew up in Kenya, in a family where our source of income was about $10 a month. Poverty was bad but the hopelessness that came from the poverty was even worse. All I needed as a kid growing up in poverty was food, clothes, water, a home with a warm bed and most importantly love and hope. I got none of these things.

1994, Compassion came into my life took a big turn. Food, clean water, shoes, clothes, a warm bed with a mosquito net, and lots of love is what I got from Compassion. they started to speak words of hope and truth into my life. the love I got from my sponsor was like non other, the warmth I got from the Compassion staff was even better. I did not know Jesus before I joined Compassion but everything Compassion did for me made me want know this Jesus they served. I did, come to know Jesus through an alter call by one of the Compassion staff and that was the difference in my life. The best gift I got from Compassion, was Jesus, my life has never been the same again.

In summary, 19 years later here I am today released from poverty and hopelessness in Jesus name. Me and my wife now sponsor 4 beautiful kids (India, Thailand and 2 in Kenya) through Compassion. I am currently a CPA living in America and now in a position to change my family's life and that of a generation. I am blessed to have led people to the lord with my testimony, sponsor one child and bring the good news of Jesus to nations. I can't tell it all what Compassion has done for me and for so many kids around the world, but one thing is for sure : they do what they say they do. I am proof.

P.S. - My Compassion sponsor was the best man in our wedding #powerfulrelationships.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pray that people get it...........

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 23, 2013

I have been a sponsor with Compassion International since January 2012. It has been a wonderful experience getting to know our sponsored children and seeing them grow. I love this organization and volunteer whenever I can with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Many Blessings I am so blessed by sponsoring children through Compassion! I am excited to be able to write to my children and receive their warm and touching letters. Also, being able to make their Christmas, birthday and family life special and blessed brings great joy to my heart. I truly believe that being Christ centered and involving the local church makes this sponsorship program so successful and unique. Being a sponsor is the best Christmas present I have ever received.

The one-to-one relationship with your sponsored child is truly a blessing from God. This relationship is further enhanced and developed through prayers and regular correspondence between you (either the sponsor or the correspondent sponsor) and the child. I have fond memories of receiving my first child letter, being able to pray for my child and respond back to the child letter. I have grown to appreciate the well-controlled and high-quality driven process that Compassion has implemented to ensure that all letters are translated and delivered. Although at times it seems like the process is slow and cumbersome, the end result is very rewarding; the delivery of the child letter to the sponsor. Not exactly knowing when a letter is going to be delivered is like a special holiday gift from God. So remember to be patient and pray for and write to your child on a regular basis. Prayers and Letters have a huge impact!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers