Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.987955
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 11, 2012

Be The Star You Are! is an incredible organization that has been helping the national community for many years. The founder, Cynthia Brian, has done amazing work encouraging and educating a wide demog... more

April 16, 2014

Be the star your are is an amazing program that helps youth all over the country, even the world, gain knowledge, perspective, and guidance through many of life's challenges. The radio show has impacted so many lives through education and discussion of a variety of important topics. On a more personal level, the director, Cynthia Brian, has been a mentor to countless teens and young adults through her interaction with the charity. This organization is second to none!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2012

Be The Star You Are! is an incredible organization that has been helping the national community for many years. The founder, Cynthia Brian, has done amazing work encouraging and educating a wide demographic of a global audience since the inception of the internet-based radio show. Personally, I have tried to bring her messages to my own community in an attempt to spread Cynthia's good word. I encourage everybody to pass along Cynthia's charity work and radio show to anyone and everyone who might benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011

The "Be The Star You Are" charity and radio program have been amazing for underprivileged youth and families since their beginning. The radio show has been wonderful in bringing to light important issues, as well as striving to educate the public and youth. Cynthia Brian, founder, continues to do great things through these programs and deserves more credit than we could ever give her. Thank you.

I work as a firefighter in the area of Los Angeles known as Watts. For those of you who aren't familiar with the area, it is one of the most underprivileged and gang-ridden areas of the entire country. So many of Cynthia's ideas and topics have helped me to talk with the people, especially the youth, of Watts during my encounters in various situations at work. I only wish people in my area could listen to Cynthia, as I will never be able to relay her message with any justice to her ability and passion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sharing Cynthia's message and ideas with the families and youth in my area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Share it directly with the families and youth in Watts.

April 15, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 25, 2013

If, at the start of 2012, someone asked me if about BTSYA, I would've replied that I had no idea what this nonprofit organization provides. However, just a few months later I would learn how BTSYA he... more

April 15, 2014

BTYSA never fails to succeed and amaze with their accomplished goals and efforts. This organization has provided me an opportunity to reach out and give back to my community. It also opened doors for me to write with the local newspaper. Whenever I submit my submissions, BTSYA doesn't just glance over them. Cynthia, the founder of BTSYA, edits them once, twice, or even multiple times to make sure that they are published with the best quality. BTSYA brings irreplaceable benefits and contributions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013

If, at the start of 2012, someone asked me if about BTSYA, I would've replied that I had no idea what this nonprofit organization provides. However, just a few months later I would learn how BTSYA helps teenagers and other people (e.g. the volunteers themselves) launch themselves into a media-and-literacy-oriented world. I can't believe that it's already been a year since I've been with BTSYA, and mentor Cynthia Brian never fails to impress and improve everyone, including me. She provides great feedback when it comes to articles, and has helped me publish my work in The Lamorinda Weekly. Without BTSYA, I wouldn't have been able to do any of this, so thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

Cynthia still aims to put BTSYA and its volunteers first, and this organization is so influential there are even high school clubs regarding BTSYA. BTSYA always thinks of others too, especially since there is a fundraiser to ship books and supplies over to the victims of Hurricane Sandy. All in all, BTSYA and Cynthia never fail to put others first -- a vital trait that exists in great volunteer organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

I first met Cynthia when she was describing how she grew up, managing to make her dreams come true with her own two hands. She then offered the same opportunity to the rest of the audience -- the opportunity to reach their dreams with their own hard work -- and that's how I came to work with Be the Star You Are. BTSYA is a great organization that helps teens voice their thoughts and ideas to the world, and gives teens the chance to aspire to be star. Not only does BTSYA have a great mentor, Cynthia, to help all of her teens wholeheartedly, BTSYA also gives amazing opportunities to teens to work on the radio or newspaper, or even model. BTSYA is a truly helpful organization that impacts so many teens' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

Signing up as a volunteer with Be the Star You Are this past summer was my first step to an active commitment in my community, an involvement that has helped me grow beyond my shell and take a leadership role directing concert fundraisers and a writer for the local newspaper. I have organized street performances for BTSYA outreach and fundraising, which I think are a great example of taking the best of one's individual talents and combining them with others' to make a direct and positive impact on the local community, especially using that connection to promote the important cause of literacy. I am extremely thankful for these opportunities and hope to continue exploring my abilities and the possibilities of contributing positively to my community with Be the Star You Are.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I've been volunteering with Be the Star You Are! for more than 3 years now, and the charity has been life-changing in the opportunities it has provided for me. It has given me the chance to reach out to audiences through radio, given me the confidence to share my opinions when meeting strangers, allowed me to connect with others I would never have had the opportunity to be a part of, and helped me to develop a more confident voice in writing. I'm about to enter my first year of college next year, and the life-skills and lessons this charity has connected me with will allow me to pursue a concentration in neurobiology and English because through the radio, I met individuals studying similar interests and I found that I could really make a contribution to these subjects if I used the lessons I had learned from writing, volunteering, and getting to know other members of this team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more people be involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

I have worked with BTSYA for about six years now. What started as casual charity work I was required to do, turned into MANY amazing experiences that I am so thankful for. I have done book reviews and... more

April 15, 2014

This is my seventh year being involved with Be The Star You Are. It has been the BEST experience of my life. I plan on continuing to be a part of this amazing charity, even from the college I attend in Oregon. BTSYA has opened so many doors for me, as well as has given me the opportunity to make a difference in my community. I can honestly say I would not be where I am today without BTSYA and its amazing founder, Cynthia Brian. I urge anyone who wants to get involved in a local charity or support one, to CHOOSE BTSYA.
April 24, 2013

I have worked with BTSYA for about six years now. What started as casual charity work I was required to do, turned into MANY amazing experiences that I am so thankful for. I have done book reviews and event planning for BTSYA. I even got the opportunity to be published in Cynthia Brian's book, Be The Star You Are For Teens and to be interviewed about it on a local station. As a Journalism major now in college, I am so grateful I got to do those things. While in college I work with BTSYA by contributing to its radio station, Express Yourself.
BTSYA has given me some great opportunities, but also created my love for public speaking, writing, organizing events, and helping others. I would not be where I am today without it.
Best non-profit ever!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2012

I have worked for BTSYA since I was 13. Now, I am 19 and am still completely involved. BTSYA has given me so many opportunities, including becoming a published author and co-host of a local radio show. I am so grateful for Cynthia Brian, the founder of BTSYA, and BTSYA itself for all the opportunities and experiences that have shaped me into the all around leveled person I am today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

As a professional Public Relations person, I am dazzled by the high quality radio/TV shows BTSYA provides, and the total incorporation of social media into their work. I am currently the PR person for the Bethesda, Maryland chapter of the National Active and Retired Federal Employees (NARFE). Like many organizations, we're still expanding into the social media area, Cynthia Brian's work is an example for us!
Given the type of messages teenagers receive from traditional media ("The Hangover, Part II," "Knocked Up," etc.) it is so refreshing to see how BTSYA involves and excites teenagers in a positive way!

Suzanne Ackerman
Chevy Chase, Maryland
April 15, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 23, 2013

As I write this 5 star review, Be the Star You Are!® is in the middle of its 14th year as a 501c3. Throughout these years, the charity has exhibited a stellar record of growing leaders, beginning wi... more

April 15, 2014

Looking back over the last fifteen years at what has been accomplished by Be the Star You Are!®, I am awed by the creativity and commitment of the talented volunteers from around the world. When I founded the charity in 1999, I had lofty ideas of “If I build it, they will come”. Perhaps I had watched the film, Field of Dreams, one too many times. Yet, despite the heart felt intentions and the hard work, the contributions and donations did not materialize. Be the Star You Are!® has remained a 100% all volunteer charity, which is no easy feat. We have operated numerous programs on a shoe-string budget (that’s less than a beer budget) and I am eternally grateful to our global volunteers and supporters who have kept our small and mighty non profit alive and serving those in need.

A few accomplishments: In March 2014, we celebrated our 10th year collaborating with The Reading Tub to have young people read books then write reviews. Check out http://thereadingtub.com/pdfs/btsya_catalog.pdf.  We have published two award winning books, Be the Star You Are!® 99 Gifts and Be the Star You Are!® for Teens. We have broadcast over 120 teen radio shows on Express Yourself!™ Teen Radio, 798 Starstyle®-Be the Star You Are!® programs, orchestrated ten years of national essay competitions, participated in numerous community events, published 310 articles, and thousands of blog posts. Our youth offer a creative space for the young at heart to Express Yourself at www.BTSYA.org and volunteers from Dell are working with our web mistress, Kim Carlson to design a brand new web site for Be the Star You Are!®.  And best of all we’ve donated more than $1.7 million in resources to 84 organizations serving over 400,800 families and our volunteers have contributed over 354,900 hours. Check out our twenty outreach programs at http://www.btsya.com/programs.html.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

win the lottery and fund this great non profit 100%. Until that happens, please consider donating to BTSYA. No matter how much you can spare as a donation, every dollar will be appreciated. With your dollars plus the immense talent and dedication of our teens and volunteers, there will be no limit to what we can achieve.   Will you please open your wallet and donate today? http://www.bethestaryouare.org/donate.htm Checks to PO Box 376. Moraga, Ca. 94556. With applause to all supporters!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2013

As I write this 5 star review, Be the Star You Are!® is in the middle of its 14th year as a 501c3. Throughout these years, the charity has exhibited a stellar record of growing leaders, beginning with youth. This past year has seen tremendous growth in our radio outreach programs. On our teen program, Express Yourself!™, http://www.ExpressYourselfTeenRadio.com, more than 18 young people from around the US participate as hosts and reporters interviewing guests from around the world. On our author/book program, Starstyle® Be the Star You Are!®, http://www.StarStyleRadio.com, we continue to inspire listeners in more than 219 countries with segments on health, lifestyle, gardening, and of course, books with interviews of the pioneers on the planet. Thousands of books were donated to the families affected by Hurricane Sandy this past winter and more books were donated to shelters, hospitals, and schools. Volunteers herald from countries around the globe as we continue our mission of "read, lead, succeed." Thank you to everyone who continues to support Be the Star You Are!® with your time, money, and expertise. Make sure to check our http://www.BetheStarYouAre.org, http://www.BTSYA.org.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

Thanks to all the supporters and volunteers of Be the Star You Are!® who have done so much to make this grassroots charity a TOP NON PROFIT for the past three years. As you read this, Be the Star You Are!® has launched Operation Hurricane Sandy Disaster Relief to supply books and resources to families adversely affected by the super storms on the East Coast. We hope you'll join the campaign and help as much as possible so that kids have a gift for the holidays. EVERYONE COUNTS. More info here: http://www.btsya.com/hurricane_sandy_relief.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

2011-2012 has been an amazing year of growth for Be the Star You Are!® charity with several new programs launched including the creative community website for writing, arts, music, videoes, etc at www.BTSYA.com, Operation Tornado Relief which sent thousands of books valued at $49,000 to the Joplin, Mo schools and hospitals, and the new teen radio program, Express Yourself!™ broadcasting on the Voice America Kids Network, hosted by youth around the country ages 13-18. I am very proud to be a volunteer with Be the Star You Are!™ and delighted that it is a top rated non profit. Visit www.ExpressYourselfTeenRadio.com for the newest outreach program, where teens talk and the world listens.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 26, 2011

I've been working with Be the Star You Are! for the past three years, and I have truly enjoyed every minute of it. As a volunteer, I read and review books of all different genres and help out at vario... more

April 28, 2013

It's been about five years since I first started volunteering with Be the Star You Are! Charity, and I'm very happy to say that I am still a part of the charity, even as a college student. Joining Be the Star You Are! has given me many opportunities to work with adults on a business level and to broadcast on a radio show. Thanks to these experiences, I have gained more confidence in both my communication skills and in myself. I look forward to continuing my work with Be the Star You Are! and highly suggest anyone interested in communications and media to check this charity out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2011

I've been working with Be the Star You Are! for the past three years, and I have truly enjoyed every minute of it. As a volunteer, I read and review books of all different genres and help out at various events. Volunteering with Be the Star You Are! has introduced me to many new people, all of whom are very kind, dedicated people. It is because of my work with Be the Star You Are! that I have met so many teenagers with the same interests as me: reading, writing, and helping others.
Cynthia Brian, the founder of Be the Star You Are!, is inspirational, optimistic, and extremely dedicated to her work. Through her positive influence as a role model, I feel like I have grown as a writer and learned more about interacting with others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal life, writing, reading, and growth as a person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to attend more events rather than only review books.

April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

Joining BTSYA this year has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. As a volunteer, I write for my local newspaper, which is a truly rewarding and educational experience. It has been an integral part in having me develop as a better writer and journalist. Through writing articles, I can express my thoughts and opinions in a professional manner, while also learning more about others by interviewing them. BTSYA has provided me with wonderful opportunities that will have a tremendous impact on me for the rest of my life. I really appreciate all I have gained--life lessons, writing tips, confidence, and much more--by being part of BTSYA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Be the Star You Are is a great non profit organization that has given me amazing opportunities. Since I was a child I was interested in media and communications. This organization gave me the chance to really experience what radio and writing for a local newspaper was like. I never thought I'd be able to host an internationally recognized teen radio program. My love for radio and journalism has solidified because of Be the Star You Are. I am forever thankful for the opportunities and doors BTSYA has opened for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:
1. our Letters for Literacy program
2. our Book Review Team
3. our Social Networking Team
4. a community event
5. deliver books to those in need
6. become a reporter on our teen radio program
7. finding beneficiaries who need our support
8. fundraising
9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer