Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.975815
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I personally attended Aim High for all three years, and later returned as a teaching intern for 8th grade science this past summer. I can confidently that if it were not for Aim High, I would have never even heard about all the different high schools, let alone colleges, that were available for me to apply to and possibly attend. Aim High really opened up a myriad of doors on how I could possibly go about my life, and therefore allowed me to really explore my passions and interests.

As a student, I remember myself quite literally changing from a very apathetic person into an extremely positive and enthusiastic person. Aim High teachers were always very enthusiastic and very kind to me. Honestly, it felt like the "student-teacher" hierarchy got blurred because the teachers were also people I could confide in. They weren't simply superiors; they learned just as much from and about the students as the students learned from them.

As a teaching intern, teaching at Aim High has been one of the most rewarding jobs I've ever had. I finally got to implement and exude enthusiasm and positivity to students who might have been like me as a middle schooler--and hopefully affect their lives in a positive way. As an intern, I taught alongside an experienced lead teacher who allows me to lead some classes daily. Later into the summer, I also formulated my own lesson plan which I implemented in class on my own--my first time fully teaching a class by myself. Outside of the classroom, I found students sometimes talking to me about what was going on in their lives--making me realize the importance of having interms (typically college students) and TAs (high schoolers), who would be closer in age to the Aim High students.

The design of Aim High, from it's part-academic and part-elective portion, to the staff that is hired, is well thought-out to provide the best experience for middle school students. Aim High not only enhances the educational and academic experience into a fun one while preparing students for the upcoming school year, but also discusses real topics and issues that people face in their daily lives.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I attended Aim High as a student and I can honestly say that the experience shapes who I am as an adult today. The supportive academic and social community that Aim High provides to youth is invaluable. The guidance and opportunities the program provides year round to its students is indispensable. As a 29 year old I still consider myself an Aim High Student, and will forever be a part of the Aim High community.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Aim High has been an amazing experience for my son. The young men and women that taught there were excellent mentors and eventually encouraged my son to volunteer as a TA..something he never saw himself doing. After a summer of full time volunteer work, my son returned the following year as a paid TA and was thrilled to have the opportunity for a meaningful summer job and some income.

The staff is very devoted and challenges and encourages the students to expand their vision of what they are capable of.

The program was also a life saver for me when I was a single mom and didn't want my middle schooler unsupervised during the summer. To know that he had guidance and academic support set my mind at ease while i was at work. The tutoring offered by high schoolers during the school year was also extremely helpful.

This is an outstanding program! Thank you!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

From student to volunteer to Teachers Aid. I've seen my daughter grow every summer. Aim High has been the foundation of the confidence my daughter has been able to tap into. I celebrate Aim High everyday for the confident college bound student she is today.
Thank you for the work you do .
I could not have done it without you.

Elvira Gomez-Murillo
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I had two of my children attend AIm High. It is a great summer program that allowed each of my children to explore themselves, their community while being exposed to wonderful summer academics. It gave my son and daughter confidence during those middle school and early teen years. One of my children worked in the summer program many years and Is now a 4th grade public school teacher in a school with students of high needs. She often describes how she has used many tools that she learned at Aim High. It has changed my children's lives and mine. I should add that after I saw the change in my children's attitude toward school I became an Aim High board member. Thank you Aim High!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I was with Aim High for seven years, three as a student. My favorite part was the trail running activity. I enjoyed marking trails, hunting for trail marks and calling them out, and racing my fellow classmates and teachers. It was a sweaty way to explore the neighborhood. But no matter how many times we succeeded in finding the end of the trail, it was always rewarding to know we succeeded as a team.

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I am a graduate of Aim High and I had so much fun and I learned a lot. I became a more confident person and gained so much experience that I even went back to Aim High to become a staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have been a part of Aim High for over half my life and I couldn't imagine growing up without this program. I started out as a student in the summer program. After completing my three summers as a student with Aim High I decided I didn't want to leave. I volunteered the summer after and absolutely loved being in the classroom. I taught as a Teaching Assistant, Teaching Intern and finally a Lead Teacher coming back every summer throughout high school and college. Even though I went out of state to attend college, I knew I didn't want to give up teaching at Aim High. Even though it was hard work I wouldn't have traded coming back to Aim High for anything.

I now work in the Aim High Central Office and can't believe how lucky I am to still be involved with this great organization. Aim High has been there for me through EVERY educational transition in my life and I feel so honored to be able to give back to the program that has given me so much!

To any parent looking for an amazing summer experience for their middle school child, Aim High is the best of the best!
October 8, 2011

more

October 8, 2011

My name is Suzanne & I was 1 of the 1st 50 students when Aim High first started, graduated in 1988. My 2 younger siblings attended Aim High also. For me Aim High was a great experience. Aim High, Mr. Lee, Mrs. Mc Bride & Mr. Matthews just to name of few of my teachers helped me grow as a person, build my self esteem, confidence & brought me out of my shell. I was afraid to speak in public at first, but with the help Aim High, I have no problems, still anxious & nervous in the beginning, but once I got started it was a breeze. The program is a great asset & experience for children to receive. I honestly preferred going to school at Aim High, than regular school. I have children now, 2 teens. Unfortunately, I don't live in the Bay Area, but if I did, or if they had Aim High where I live, I'd put my children in in a heartbeat. SUPPORT AIM HIGH & THE EXPERIENCES & EDUCATION THAT CHILDREN DESERVE TO HAVE.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the Lick Wilmerding H.S. campus in San Francisco, CA from 1985 to 1988.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. Just keep doing the great job that they're doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

How did you find this group?

Mr. Alec Lee and Mrs. Eleanor Mc Bride came to my school to introduce the program.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Aim High helped me with my self esteem and confidence.

September 30, 2009

more

September 30, 2009

Since joining Aim High, I can honestly say that i have seen a positive change in my son who is transitioning into the 7th grade this year. He is showing me that he can be responsible and account for the things he has or hasn't done. They have taught him how to love himself and others and to always be respectful. There were many instructors that impacted my son, but one in particular is Mr. Ise from the Bishop O'Dowd campus...my son really looks up to him and really appreciates the time, energy and teaching methods of Mr. Ise..he is very engaging and enlightening.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Extremely positive and reassuring to the kids. They engaged them in learning through their creativity and that played a great part in the children wanting to go to Aim High every day and do their best.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers