My Nonprofit Reviews

berthamd - charity reviews, charity ratings, best charities, best nonprofits, search nonprofits

berthamd

256 profile views
2 reviews

Review for In Our Hands Rescue, Bronx, NY, USA

Rating: 1 stars  

Do not adopt from these people. Jennifer is a liar and will say anything to get a dog adopted. I asked for a beagle mix no more than 30 pounds and ended up with an 85 pound hound mix,. Despite paying 400 dollars the dog was very sick, not microchipped or neutered and had not been vetted in foster care. More importantly she let me walk away with the puppy at 7 weeks knowing nothing av
Bout me. No home visit, no references. I have spent thousands of dollars bringing this dog back to health and training a huge dog to live in Manhattan.
This organization needs to be shut down!!! There are so many good, honest rescue groups and In Our Hands are just a bunch of lying, fanatics hellbent on getting dogs out of kill shelters but into God knows where as an alternative

Role:  Client Served

Hi Berthamd, Thank you for your review. I would like to point out that in rescue, we never know breeds for sure. If you would like to have a "beagle mix no more than 30 pounds," then you need to go to a breeder. If you want to rescue an animal, you understand that there is some push and pull and you need to leave wiggle room. We very clearly state in our contract that we do not guarantee breed or size. If you are unhappy with your pup, we do take our dogs back as we like to ensure that they are always placed into good homes. I don't appreciate the lies you are spreading - we reference check EVERY application that comes in. We deny something like 2-3 applications for each one we accept. We are very careful about where the dogs go. I would be happy to have a conversation with you anytime and prove to you that I am not a lying fanatic. Rescue is a very hard world to work in, and I wish you would consider just how hard it is for us before you write review like this that are only going to hurt the animals in the end. Rachael Rescue Coordinator

 

Review for In Our Hands Rescue, Bronx, NY, USA

Rating: 1 stars  

My story is similar to the others. I had just put my 16 year old pug to sleep and went to a Petco adoption event where In Our Hands Rescue had a litter of puppies and some baby pits. Again, I had emailed Jennifer the day before to see what dogs she was bringing. When I got there, grief-struck and irrational from having had to put my dog to sleep 5 days prior, I expressed concern about adopting so soon. I also asked why there was no home visit or references taken. I was told"You wrote you're a doctor so you must be OK."
I could have been using dogs for vivesection for all Jennifer cared. I paid 400 dollars and was told the 7 week puppy was a beagle-lab mix, no more than 30-40lbs as they had seen the mother.He is currently 10 months old and 70 pounds and a German shepherd-coonhound mix
I was told he had his first set of shots and was dewormed. No sooner had I gotten him home he started scratching furiously and had horrible diarrhea. Long story short-2000 dollars later he was diagnosed hookworm, giardia, scabies which went undiagnosed by two vets and then severe behaviour issues. He bit me very badly repeatedly and when I called her she said I could return him but no refund, no other dog. I had to pay for microchip, neutering, animal behaviourists, etc. Puck is a wonderful dog now because he hit the Jackpot. I could afford to hire people for him, pay huge vet bills. DO NOT ADOPT FROM THESE PEOPLE!She does not check the dogs out and as someone wrote she is the equivalent of a puppy mill rescuer. She took advantage of my grief and unstable condition, lied to me about how "easy" raising a puppy would be and basically was unscrupulous and unethical. With so many reputable rescue groups around, this one needs to be closed. I assumed that Petco had vetted her which is why I even adopted from her.Shame on Petco and shame on you Jennifer! She should be shut down and I am filing a complaint with the city.

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut it down

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Role:  Client Served

Readers please note that this review is from a woman who adopted in February. We have made many changes to our organization since then, including never adopting an animal out without a reference check or multiple checks. We do vet our animals thoroughly, although if they come from the south as many of our animals do, sometimes they have other issues that arise after they are adopted (particularly if they are adopted right away as this 7 week old must have been), and we always tell people that health is not guaranteed because there is just no way to know of other issues that might come up. In terms of the breed, again we always tell adopters that the breed is a guess, unless we knew the mother. The puppies we adopt out are usually puppies that were abandoned down south, and we know very little about their history (they do see a vet and are given all of the medical treatment they need and all of the shots they can have for their ages). If anyone is concerned about our ethics, please feel free to contact us through our website - www.inourhandsrescue.org. We welcome your thoughts and suggestions, and are more than happy to answer any questions you might have about the adoption process.

Readers please note that this review is from a woman who adopted in February. We have made many changes to our organization since then, including never adopting an animal out without a reference check or multiple checks. We do vet our animals thoroughly, although if they come from the south as many of our animals do, sometimes they have other issues that arise after they are adopted (particularly if they are adopted right away as this 7 week old must have been), and we always tell people that health is not guaranteed because there is just no way to know of other issues that might come up. In terms of the breed, again we always tell adopters that the breed is a guess, unless we knew the mother. The puppies we adopt out are usually puppies that were abandoned down south, and we know very little about their history (they do see a vet and are given all of the medical treatment they need and all of the shots they can have for their ages). If anyone is concerned about our ethics, please feel free to contact us through our website - www.inourhandsrescue.org. We welcome your thoughts and suggestions, and are more than happy to answer any questions you might have about the adoption process.