My Nonprofit Reviews

Chameleon720 - charity reviews, charity ratings, best charities, best nonprofits, search nonprofits

Chameleon720

378 profile views
1 reviews

Review for Animal Rescue New Orleans Inc, New Orleans, LA, USA

Rating: 1 stars  

I have donated annually to the SPCA since 2000. I noticed that this was a no kill shelter and thought I would do some research. In doing my research, I came across a beautiful cat that I wanted to adopt. I filled out the application and the person reviewing the application said that I was denied because they could not locate records to the animals that I recently inherited this year (May and August) due to loss of my mother AND my brother. I have no idea where these records would be, but I have taken responsibility for their animals and given them a loving home. I wanted to adopt a cat and had to call back to find out the status because nobody called me. The woman I contacted was incredibly rude telling me that they sent me an email because she was copied on it. I asked what it said and she didn't want to tell me. I asked if she could resend it or tell me about it since I was supposed to have received it anyway. She then told me that I was denied. I asked why and she told me that she was at work and would not discuss it. So I asked her to call me back when she had a chance when she was not at work. She said ok, and about a month later, I'm still waiting on my phone call... I'm not holding my breath on that. Her name was Cathy...

(Ginny in the shelter was very kind and seemed to genuinely love animals and treated people kindly as well. She was the only person that wasn't unpleasant in my experience. )

It breaks my heart to see animals sharing a cage with other animals for MONTHS and this organization begging for money to fund their building and care for these animals when they won't allow these pets to go into a loving home and won't take the time to understand each individual case before deciding whether it not someone is worthy of a pet.

I do not recommend doing business with this organization because my application for a pet was handled poorly. The employee/volunteer that I spoke with was very disrespectful and condescending. She had also never heard of pet armor (same active ingredient as frontline), and she said that I needed records of using frontline on the pets that I inherited. Frontline and pet armor are two over the counter treatments that I would have to keep receipts for in order to adopt a pet... Ridiculous!

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Teach the people dealing with the public how to speak to people and handle each application on a case by case basis.

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Role:  Client Served
table25 (Nonprofit Staff) wrote:

I am so sorry you had a bad experience with anyone at ARNO. It is unfortunate when we have to turn down people who are applying for a pet, and I think that is where the hesitation came from on our part. No one likes to tell anyone bad news. I assure you you were not turned down because of flea medicine. We require a recommendation from a vet if you have pets of any kind. Also, unlike other shelters, we are volunteers so we all have jobs, whether during the day or night, and most cannot take calls when at work. Again, we are sorry you had a bad experience, and hope you went ahead and adopted a cat from another shelter. They all need a home. Charlotte ARNO