Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Wolf Haven International

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals, Environment, Natural Resources Conservation & Protection, Protection of Endangered Species

Mission: To conserve and protect wolves and their habitat.

Results: Since 1982, 200 displaced, captive-born wolves have been rescued & given lifetime sanctuary. Earned Global Federation of Animal Sanctuary (GFAS) accreditation in 2015 - the only wolf sanctuary in the world to have GFAS accreditation. Received American Sanctuary Association accreditation in 2013 (one of only two wolf sanctuaries in country to do so). Launched Skype for Educators courses that have increased science literacy for students around the world. Hosted training workshops at Wolf Haven and in Arizona for wildlife professionals, students, tribal members and state and federal employees. Have participated in the Washington Advisory Group (WAG) since its inception. WAG makes recommendations about the implementation of the state's wolf management plan. Member of Washington Wolf Working Group that met for five years to negotiate a wolf recovery & management plan. Result: WA state passed its first Wolf Management Plan in November 2011. Wolf Haven is one of only three pre-release facilities for the Mexican gray wolf in the entire U.S. Hosted the annual Mexican gray Species Survival Plan (SSP) conference in 2012, with participants from participating facilities in Mexico and the U.S. Wolf Haven's Sanctuary Director is on the management team. Eight litters of Mexican gray pups have been born here. Three litters were born at Wolf Haven in 2015. Some of the first Mexican wolves released back into the wild (after a 70-year absence) were born at Wolf Haven International. We transferred six of our Mexican gray wolves to Mexico to support that country's SSP program. A family of 11 Mexican wolves that originated at Wolf Haven was released into the wild in Mexico in 2016. Rare, endangered red wolf pups have been born here. Host annual Wildlife Handling and Chemical Immobilization courses led by Dr. Mark Johnson. This includes hands-on labs with wolves.

Target demographics: Animal loversWildlife enthusiastsConservationists

Direct beneficiaries per year: 50+ animals

Geographic areas served: Physical wolf sanctuary located in Tenino, WA. Our resident wolves are rescued from throughout the U.S.

Programs: Wildlife Handling course; Guided visits in wolf sanctuary; Prairie walks; Educational programs; Wolf Photography Visits; Midsummer Night camping; Mexican gray wolf Species Survival Plan program; Red wolf Species Survival Plan program

Community Stories

21 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

2

Donor

Rating: 5

With very humble beginnings--and on a shoestring--several years ago, Wolf Haven has given innumerable wolves great permanent homes in the intervening years. Just think of the fate of some of them had Wolf Haven not come forward to welcome them. Short of living free in the wilderness, Wolf Haven is the next best think for its residents, where they get the best in nutrition, healthcare and stimulation, all of which keep them as "happy" and "content" as I would think captive wolves can be. Wolf Haven has also opened its doors and is a vital partner in the Mexican wolf rehabilitation breeding program. I have been a member (and visitor) for years. We in Western Washington are honored to have such a facility in our area!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/10/2014

Wow! Such kind and loving words. Thank you for being such an strong supporter of Wolf Haven, wolves and the Mexican wolf captive breeding program. We are humbled by our great supporters, volunteers and donors.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

I love Wolf Haven and traveled from Texas to visit twice. I have also introduced friends and family to Wolf Haven and many also support their work. The staff and wolves seem like good matches. The animals on view look comfortable, interested and in good health. Wolf Haven also does a great job of keeping supporters informed and excited about helping.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/13/2014

Appreciate your visits (all the way from Texas!), your support and your recommendations to others.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Our family has been supporting organizations that help wolf conservation and protection for over 30 years, and Wolf Haven is the best out there. We no longer donate to any others. This organization has the right stuff, the right staff, and the right direction. We have adopted many wolves over the years, and have had the pleasure of sharing adoptions with many family and friends. We are from Pennsylvania so have never visited, but if we ever get to the west coast, Wolf Haven will on our list of definite places to tour.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

Please be sure and let us know if you & your family is in the area, because we definitely want to meet you! Thank you very much for your support of both Wolf Haven and wolves.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

I lost my wolf, Spirit, after 14 wonderful years. And on my birthday, my loving brother gifted me with a new one, from Wolf Haven, Ukiah. I thought that was a great way to help out our wolves, so I sponsored one for my brother for his birthday. Thanks to Wolf Haven these wonderful creatures have a great forever home.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

At only seven years of age, Ukiah is one of the younger wolves here. May you and she celebrate many more years together.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

I love Wolf Haven! I have visited, had a great tour seeing some of the wolves, and have "adopted" wolves and given "adoptions" as gifts to others who adore them. As an organization, Wolf Haven is made up of amazing leaders and volunteers who see to it that their wolves are cared for extremely well while advocating for the health of wolves everywhere. They seem to do it with a spirit of fun too with the wolves even getting special holiday treats such as pumpkins at Halloween, turkey at Thanksgiving, etc. They clearly give their time and their love to the cause of these wondrous creatures!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

Thank you for the review and your ongoing adoptions. Your contributions are critical to helping us continue providing high quality care for our wolves (including enrichment items like the holiday treats you mentioned).

1

Donor

Rating: 5

When we were kids, my grandmother gave us wolf adoption certificates from Wolf Haven for Christmas. When we visited Washington, since I lived in California, we were able to visit Wolf Haven, and it was one of the best experiences of the vacation. Years later, I was fortunate enough to visit Washington again, but this time bring my wife (girlfriend at the time) to Wolf Haven and experience the magical awe of the wolf howl.

Wolf Haven has been one of my top choices to donate too, even having donations to Wolf Haven as an option on our Wedding Registry. They seem to deeply care about wolves and fight for them at events all over the US. Their work spreads information about wolves and leads to the protection of one of the most majestic animals that exists.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

We love being included on your Wedding Registry - how thoughtful of you both. Honestly, Wolf Haven (and wolves) depends upon people like you & your wife in order to continue our education, outreach and advocacy work. Thank YOU.

1 wolf9653

Donor

Rating: 5

My husband and I have been engaged with Wolf Haven since the mid-late 1980's. When each of our three Siberian Huskies passed, we donated funds to Wolf Haven to have stones with their names on them placed in a courtyard at the sanctuary. Our Sibe kids now run free with their wolf family. We have been adopting a wolf for each other for years; now my husband adopts for me only and we share that wolf. We have visited the sanctuary twice and are excited to be going to their annual Wine and Wolves fund raiser this Fall. This organization is one of the greatest friends the wolf population can possibly have.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

Thank you very much for your ongoing adoptions of wolves, and honoring your beloved Huskies with pavers in our wolf cemetery. We will see you soon at Wolves & Wine.

1 Peter51

Donor

Rating: 5

I began adopting a wolf for my wife on an annual basis in the early 1980s after reading about Wolf Haven in our local paper. We have also made periodic donations to the organization at Christmas and other times. We strongly support the work that Wolf Haven does, have great admiration for its staff and volunteers, and will return after many years in September to attend Wine and Wolves. Through Wolf Haven we have become very interested in the campaigns to reintroduce wolves into what was once their natural habitat in the Western United States as well as throughout the Southwest and Mexico. We can think of no more worthy organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

Wow - you have been adopting since the 1980s! That is remarkable. We look forward to seeing you at Wolves & Wine on September 27. It's really gratifying to hear you refer to reintroduction of wolves to their natural habitat and the Mexican wolf program.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

I became familiar with Wolf Haven after reading about their work on their Web site, and I took the time to visit their center while on a trip from California to Washington. Seeing some of the center's wolves, coyotes and wolf-dogs up close was a wonderful experience, and it was gratifying to see the volunteer guides' dedication to these animals. Wolf Haven's setting is lovely, with greenery all around, the perfect place for animals that need space and places to which they can retreat. I so appreciate the work that Wolf Haven does in providing sanctuary to animals that in many cases have not been treated well, and I am impressed by the work they do with red wolf and Mexican gray wolf recovery.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 11/11/2013

Thank you very much for both your review and your visit to our sanctuary. We really appreciate the support.

1 Barbara150

Donor

Rating: 5

Was first introduced to Wolf Haven in 1990 with a gift of an adoption. Incredible organization with dedicated and knowledgeable staff. It is Wolf Haven who keeps the public aware of the plight of the wolves.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Thank you so much for your adoption, donation and message!

2 Stacey27

Donor

Rating: 5

I have been with Wolf haven for over 17 years now and I am always amazed on everything they do. They helped get wolves into Yellowstone, help breed red wolves, and also contribute to building habitat at their facility for a myriad of other species. Keep up the great work!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

17 years! Wow - that's more than half of Wolf Haven's 31 year history! Thank you so very much for your ongoing support of our work.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

Before our cruise to Alaska in August we visited Wolf Haven to see the two wolves we had adopted earlier this year. What an unbelievable place!! The grounds were very well kept and the wolf enclosures were done so that the wolves lived in as natural a setting as possible. The wolves are very well taken care of by the Wolf Haven staff, led by Wendy. Our visit could not have been more enjoyable. The gift shop had wonderful items to purchase ( which we did). 5 stars from Martha and I for a great adventure.give

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Thank you so much, Wayne and Martha! Please visit again, whether you take a cruise or not!

1 Daniel57

Donor

Rating: 5

Wolf Haven has been my favorite resource for captive wolves it is quite unique in itself as it serves as a wildlife refuge as well as educational center for all age groups and offers a wide variety of stimulating programs and work shops to learn about our fury brothers as well as a captive Mexican gray wolf population to release into the wilds without this Internationally famous leader in canius lupis studies we would all be lesser beings, I thank the creator for bringing this organization into my orbit of existence it has enrichened my life beyond mere words. I myself currently sponsor 3 wolves, Diablo, Riley, Lorenzo, and is the best money I have ever spent and will continue to do so for the remainder of my life

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Appreciate your ongoing support, Daniel. The wolves were all out there howling just a few minutes ago, and it was simply beautiful. BTW, Diablo, Riley and Lorenzo are all doing great.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

I live in northern Idaho were the wolves are hunted down, stalked, slaughtered and it is heartbreaking and sad! Being native American I have always loved wolves and they are near and dear to my heart, as I do all wildlife. There are other wolf advocates and wolf organizations in this area and I am a member of two, but they do nothing to rescue, save or intervene if a wolf is in distress. It is for this reason I took such an interest in Wolf Haven. It is the one place that offers refuge to the wolves in addition to educating the public on the true nature of this wonderful creature. I wish there were more places like Wolf Haven. Then the wolf might stand a chance and not become extinct.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

What a somber but beautiful message! Thank you for your support, but more than that, for your compassion for wildlife.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

For decades, Wolf Haven has served as an international educator to increase public knowledge of wolves. I have seen firsthand how this non-profit stretches ever dollar.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Thank you for your message. Visitors are often surprised to find out that Wolf Haven International doesn't receive any federal or state funds for our work with wolves. As a nonprofit, we depend on donations, adoptions, memberships, visitors and gift shop purchases to raise the funds needed to provide quality care for our resident wolves - and continue advocating for wolves in the wild.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

I first became aware of Wolf Haven sometime in the early 80's when they had a booth at the Washington State Fair in Puyallup. At the time they had an ambassador wolf, I believe it was Little John, whom the public was able to meet. Having been a wolf lover for most of my life, it was something I'll never forget, the first time I had contact with a live wolf!! I visited Wolf Haven not long after that meeting, & was awed by the place & their dedication to these misunderstood beings!! They no longer have an ambassador wolf, but the knowledge & dedication has not waned. If anything, with the years, it's even better!!! I don't get to visit as often as I'd like, but I go when I can & I am NEVER disappointed in the place or the people!! The volunteers are all there because they care & are there to take care of these animals & to educate those that come to visit. If there has to be places like this for wolves to be safe, then Wolf Haven is one of the best.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Wolf Haven International was founded as a nonprofit in 1982, so you definitely encountered us during our early years. As we've matured as an organization over the last 31 years, our philosophy of a sanctuary has also evolved (hence discontinuing the ambassador wolf program). So glad that you continue to find visits here to see some of the resident wolves enriching!

1

Donor

Rating: 5

I have been going to wolfhaven and donor for well over ten years.. this is one of the very few places that I have come across that is really out for the best intrest of these amazing animals, always very friendly people that have a great knowlage of these animals,,

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

We are so proud to have loyal, long-term supporters like you. Thank you.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

I have been a member of Wolf Haven for more than 20 years. In that time I have seen the sanctuary grow and prosper. The wolves they save have better lives and we all get a chance to see and interact with them.

The support staff does an excellent job and take great care to teach, answer questions and show us about wolf behavior. Most people don't realize that wolves are not "The big bad wolf" we were all raised with. Many of the staff and volunteers go over and above to help the wolves and give of their time. They also work with national and local wildlife groups to educate and help wolves in the wild.

I have been privileged to be a member and share Wolf Haven with other people who are now members as well.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Twenty years is an exceptionally long time to be a Member of Wolf Haven International! We feel lucky to have long-term supporters such as you, who help us fulfill our mission to conserve wolves and their habitat. Thank you Kaye!

2

Donor

Rating: 5

Wolf Haven International 'walks the talk'. They not only rescue and care for wolves they are actively involved in preserving the genetics and promoting the preservation of wolves in the wild.

Wolf Haven International has been instrumental in the education of the public and legislature as to the benefits and importance wolves provide in our ecosystems and wilderness areas.

Wolf Haven is a well organized and documented charity organization whose volunteers and leadership share a passion for the animals they are working to save. They work hard to see that that the funds donated are utilized to the best advantage possible for both the wolves, education and preservation of these majestic animals.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Appreciate your support and message, Cindy. You obviously have made it a point to be well-informed about the many facets of our work for wolf conservation. Thank you.

1 Susan264

Donor

Rating: 5

As a lover of wolves, but one with a limited income, I'm very selective of the organizations I support. I've visited Wolf Haven several times and each time I'm pleased with the knowledge of the tour guides, the selection of the wolves they share with the public and the interaction the guides have with the public. The grounds are well kept and the gift shop has a wide variety of items that appeal to every taste. I love visiting Wolf Haven and encourage all my family and friends to visit as often as they can to help support this wonderful organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

We are honored that you choose to support Wolf Haven.