Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Wolf Haven International

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals, Environment, Natural Resources Conservation & Protection, Protection of Endangered Species

Mission: To conserve and protect wolves and their habitat.

Results: Since 1982, 200 displaced, captive-born wolves have been rescued & given lifetime sanctuary. Earned Global Federation of Animal Sanctuary (GFAS) accreditation in 2015 - the only wolf sanctuary in the world to have GFAS accreditation. Received American Sanctuary Association accreditation in 2013 (one of only two wolf sanctuaries in country to do so). Launched Skype for Educators courses that have increased science literacy for students around the world. Hosted training workshops at Wolf Haven and in Arizona for wildlife professionals, students, tribal members and state and federal employees. Have participated in the Washington Advisory Group (WAG) since its inception. WAG makes recommendations about the implementation of the state's wolf management plan. Member of Washington Wolf Working Group that met for five years to negotiate a wolf recovery & management plan. Result: WA state passed its first Wolf Management Plan in November 2011. Wolf Haven is one of only three pre-release facilities for the Mexican gray wolf in the entire U.S. Hosted the annual Mexican gray Species Survival Plan (SSP) conference in 2012, with participants from participating facilities in Mexico and the U.S. Wolf Haven's Sanctuary Director is on the management team. Eight litters of Mexican gray pups have been born here. Three litters were born at Wolf Haven in 2015. Some of the first Mexican wolves released back into the wild (after a 70-year absence) were born at Wolf Haven International. We transferred six of our Mexican gray wolves to Mexico to support that country's SSP program. A family of 11 Mexican wolves that originated at Wolf Haven was released into the wild in Mexico in 2016. Rare, endangered red wolf pups have been born here. Host annual Wildlife Handling and Chemical Immobilization courses led by Dr. Mark Johnson. This includes hands-on labs with wolves.

Target demographics: Animal loversWildlife enthusiastsConservationists

Direct beneficiaries per year: 50+ animals

Geographic areas served: Physical wolf sanctuary located in Tenino, WA. Our resident wolves are rescued from throughout the U.S.

Programs: Wildlife Handling course; Guided visits in wolf sanctuary; Prairie walks; Educational programs; Wolf Photography Visits; Midsummer Night camping; Mexican gray wolf Species Survival Plan program; Red wolf Species Survival Plan program

Community Stories

17 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I was surprised when I visited Wolf Haven - it is a sanctuary first and foremost for wolves. I didn't view them as being exploited for human viewing. Also, Wolf Haven has been in the forefront of advocating for wolf recovery in WA state.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/13/2014

We appreciate both your feedback and your visit to the sanctuary. Thank you for your support.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I toured Wolf Haven for the first time about three years ago, and it was one of the most educational experiences of wildlife I've ever had. Wolf Haven works closely with Dept.s of Fish and Wildlife in several states to protect several species of wolves and their habitat, and Wolf Haven has been instrumental in both protecting and reintroducing wolves into their natural territories. Wolf Haven also raises awareness around the issues of breeding wolves with domestic dogs. The tour of Wolf Haven is very respectful, educational, and so beautiful :) Their work is so valuable, and they have saved so many wolf lives!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

Thank you so much for your support and positive feedback. It's really gratifying to hear from people about their experience visiting our sanctuary. It also is helpful to know how some of our outreach and educational messages are being received.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I have felt deeply connected to wolves since I was a child. I actually believed I was part wolf and that one of my Ukrainian grandmothers had 'biblical knowledge' of a wolf in the Carpathian Mountains. As I grew older, I came to honor wolves as something distinct yet related to humans. It was with this history that I first was exposed to Wolf Haven during a group event that I attended at a nearby State Park. I was initially hesitant to visit the Haven, somehow certain that I would abhor seeing wolves in captivity. However, my experience was far different. I was so impressed at how well the wolves were cared for, with the respect that they were offered, and the great measures taken to continue their 'wolfness'. I made a commitment to support the wolves at Wolf Haven and expose as many other people to the sanctuary as possible. Wolves are our link to our own wild past and they are our bridge to civilization, culture, and family values. We learned much from the wolf in our early history and it behooves to continue to honor our debt.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

We wish you lived closer to us too Laura! What a great volunteer you would be; however, you sound like an ideal advocate for wolves and other wildlife.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

My sister and I ahve supported WolfHaven for years after reading about it in the newspapers. We had the oportunity to visit the site several years ago and were very impressed with the care and condtions provided. It seems that every effort is made to give these beautiful creatures privacy and as much space as possible to make them comfortable and safe. I am also impressed about the sensitivity the staff and volunteers have to the feelings and needs of their residents. When one of the wolves loses a mate or partner they make every effort to console and find companionship for the grieving wolf. This organization is a wonderful source of protection, education, and refuge for a majestic animal that has been much maligned by man.
Dorothy Maurer Blue Bell, Pa.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 08/06/2014

Thank you very much for your support Dorothy(please thank your sister too!) It's very hard on staff, volunteers and visitors when a wolf passes away, but the most difficult part is seeing the remaining wolf mourn the loss of his or her companion.

1 Sandie K.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

We learned so much about the wolves. How their numbers are decreasing in the general population and what Wolf Haven is doing to keep them alive and well in their reserve. We found the location beautiful and well cared for. The wolves appeared happy and comfortable being in the pen with their mate. The volunteers appear dedicated to make the environment a special place. We will go back often, although it's a 4 hour drive, but it is well worth it.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Thank you for your positive review Sandie.

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

WHI is the epitome of a non-profit organization which exists solely for the welfare of its wolves, most (if not all) of them rescued from abusive situations. The wolves are all housed with plenty of natural space in which to roam, play, hide, dig…to do what wolves do.

The entire staff is devoted to the care and well being of the wolves. The staff and the Board of Directors’ public outreach, education about the issues and plight of wolves, and their fundraising efforts are phenomenal (they found us in Virginia). And, I’m totally impressed with the volume of volunteers who are attracted from all over (the community, college kids and alumni, service groups, young people) to pursue and complete projects to enhance the WH sanctuary.

My husband and I “adopted” two wolves a year ago. This past August, we stopped to visit WHI on our way to an Alaskan cruise. We were delighted to see the wolves happy and well cared for, and meet some of the staff who care for the wolves as a passion, not just a job. Our visit to WH was the highlight of our Alaska trip!! If we lived in the area, we would both be full time volunteers!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Hello to you in the wonderful state of Virginia! Thank you very much for your personal message, your visit and "adopting" two wolves.We are so appreciative of your support!

1 Lazaro S.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Thank you Wolf Haven International for educating me and making me aware of the plight of the Wolves. Fight the good fight continue to educate the public and be a loud voice for Wolves.You are highly appreciated.You have a deep love for these animals.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

and thank YOU for joining us in the good fight to conserve wolves and their habitat!

2 Phyllis18

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

This is an extremely valuable nonprofit organization -- valuable to the wolves and hybrid wolves, but also valuable to our local area (near Olympia , WA), to the entire nation as a resource for wolves and valuable to the world as a source of education and rescuer of this precious and endangered animal. I have visited the facility, experienced their educational tour of their grounds, and have made purchases from their gift shop. I shall definitely return and take visiting guests with me. I was extremely impressed by their work and deeply moved by their caring and love for the animals they serve.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Wolf Haven has been active for 31 years with the help and support of people like you Phyllis.

1 Melissa161

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Wolf Haven is a wonderful establishment with genuine love for these wolves that they have rescued or adopted. It is a great place for families and to learn about these wonderful creatures. They emphasize the importance of the wolf populations and have a helping hand in breeding the red wolf to keep the population alive. It is a remarkable place.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Isn't it amazing that the red wolf is only indigenous to the United States? Although nearly exterminated, through the Endangered Species Act and the Red Wolf Species Survival Plan (SSP) program, wild red wolves now live in the Alligator River National Wildlife Refuge and Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife Refuge in N. Carolina. Thank you, Melissa, for your support of our work.

2 Princess R.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Over the past 31 years, Wolf Haven International has rescued 170+ captive-born wolves and provided them with lifetime sanctuary. They are doing the work of angels, in a world that is so cruel and inhumane that wolves are being targeted for torture and slaughter to extermination-again.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Thank you for your kind words.

2 Jess5

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I first visited Wolf Haven in 1992 with my parents and my cousin. I do not remember much of that visit, but have always looked forward to returning. In 2011 that opportunity came when my family gathered in Olympia. Unfortunately, we visited Wolf Haven on the day they are closed to the public. Not to be deterred, we enjoyed our picnic lunch, and wandered around looking from afar to see what we could see. Well, nature called and one of my dad's cousins went to the office to see if we could use the facilities. As we wandered through one by one, the staff must have become curious, especially when we told them where we were from [some from Florida, some from Illinois, some from Montana] and that we had stopped by to visit the sanctuary. Lo and behold, we were given a tour by someone even though the facility was closed. That day is very memorable for my family, and it endears Wolf Haven to me even more because they made the time to take us around even though I am quite sure they had plenty to do. Next time I am out there I will make sure to check their schedule, though, so that we visit on a day that they are open!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Your message made us smile! Although we would love for everyone to have the Wolf Haven experience, with such a small staff, it's just not possible to make special accommodations when people drop in and we're closed. But it's wonderful that it just happened to work out for you & your family to get that special tour.

1 Sherry35

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

I admire Wolf Haven for giving the public a look at wolves thru education of the species. It is one of my favorite facebook pages.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Thank you Sherry.

2 Kendall W.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

A couple of years ago, we took our then 8 year old son, who loves animals but especially wolves, to an August howl in and camped over night. It was a magical experience, one that we will never forget. There was a lightening and thunder storm which caused the wolves to howl all night long, my son loved it! Then we spent the day with a tour of the wolves. We can't wait to go back again!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Thank you for your message and suggestion, Kendall. Wolf Haven also offers Wolf Photography Tours 3-4 times a year, during which a small group of people (12) spend an entire morning in the sanctuary with a professional photographer. It's a unique experience to spend more time near the wolves, regardless of your photography skills.

2 Bane I.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I decided one day, out of the blue, to go camping i the Olympia area, and to take along a good friend of mine. I had always wanted to go to Wolf Haven, and had talked about it for many, many years but had never "found the time" and had always "put it off until later."

Well, "later" became "now."

I camped at the Olympia Campground, and was pleasantly surprised when the lady running the place gave me detailed directions on how to get to Wolf Haven. Following the directions, I was led right to the front gates, where I immediately began snapping picture after picture of the beautiful late summer flora as my friend and I waited for the tour to begin.

Once on the tour, I was fascinated by the amount of information given by the knowledgeable guides, as well as by the way they engaged the group when it came to trivia and random bits of knowledge about each wolf and coyote on the grounds.

While on the tour, we were treated to a moment where the wolves were given enrichment tools (turkey necks), and more tales of antics came forth (mostly featuring Caedus and Ladyhawke). As we neared the end, we were stopped in our tracks by the entire canine cadre (wolf, wolf-dog, and coyote alike) letting loose in a group sing, sending chills down my spine in a delightful manner. I had hoped to hear something like this when I was there, but I didn't think to be in the middle of it! As an added bonus, we were privy to another sing as we left the tour area! Two in one visit! Woot!

I love wolves, needless to say, so I made a side trip to the gift shop and picked up a beautiful t-shirt, while my friend bought me a small stuffed wolf to commemorate the adventure. With goodies purchased, we set off to explore the Cemetery/Memorial and the Prairie, which were amazing and moving, each in their own rights.

The entire place wiggled itself into a place in my heart that will always remain. I look forward to planning future trips to Wolf Haven with my family and friends.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Your story brought tears! Thank you for taking the time to share it in such moving detail. So glad that you took the time to walk along the mounded prairie and visit the wolf cemetery also.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

My family and I flew out to WA last year from NC and this was a must see on our list of things to do. We LOVED it!! We learned a lot of information about wolves that we had not known. Our most memorable thing about this place was at the very end of the tour, as we were getting ready to leave, all of the wolves started howling. We will be going back to Wolf Haven next time we go to WA!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Since you went on a sanctuary tour here, you already know that you are living in the only state in the U.S. with a population of wild red wolves. There are five of them here, and two can be seen (sometimes) on the sanctuary tour. Tala is definitely more visible than Ruby, who hangs in the back.

4

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

The Pacific NW is a great place to observe wildlife in nature, but many of the most interesting are shy, endangered, or hang out in remote places. Wolves qualify on all counts, which makes visiting Wolf Haven, just south of Olympia (Washington's state capital), a fascinating experience. The volunteers and staff are knowledgeable and passionate about preserving wolves in the wild and helping the rescues who have ended up at this wooded sanctuary. The compound is large, but the enterprise has maximized the number of animals visitors can observe as they walk the loop trail with a guide who describes the creatures, their place in nature, and how they came to Wolf Haven. Don't miss the gift shop that helps support the mission, or the beautiful tiled walkway commemorating past inhabitants of the sanctuary. If you bring young kids, give them some background about wolves before you arrive: they need to keep pretty quiet and not run about if they want the best experience.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

WolfHavenInternational 10/21/2013

Thanks for sharing your great tips on ways to enjoy a visit to Wolf Haven. We very much appreciate your support - and obvious caring for wolves.

2 m353

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Located just south of Tumwater WA. from Old Highway 99, Wolf Haven International is a goal oriented, working for wolf conservation organization, with hard working, dedicated staff and volunteers. Founded in 1982 as a non profit organization, Wolf Haven is supported entirley from private contributions, memberships, wolf adoptions and donations. Serving first and formost as a sanctuary for captive displaced wolves, Wolf haven also paricipates in the Red Wolf and Mexican Gray Wolf Recovery programs. We are one of only three pre release facilities in the US for the Mexican Gray Wolf. Essentially what this means is that these wolves come to us for conditioning before being released into the wild. Wolf haven also works to protect the remaining wild wolves and their habitats, as well as educate the public to the importance of all wildlife, including predetors. We offer age specific educational programs, walking guided tours in the sancuary, summer events and we also provide outreach programs thru out the Northwest.I would have to say that this organization is outstanding in the work they do and I encourage any one who has not seen our wolves to make the journey as it is an unforgettable adventure.