Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2016 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Variety - The Children's Charity of Wisconsin

6,205 pageviews

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Developmentally Disabled Centers, Disabilities, Education, Human Services, Philanthropy, Philanthropy, Charity & Voluntarism Promotion

Mission: Providing life-enriching assistance to Wisconsin children challenged by physical disabilities.

Target demographics: Variety serves Wisconsin children who are challenged by physical disabilities, 21 years of age and younger and whose needs are not met by other sources, including family, school, insurance and service program resources.

Direct beneficiaries per year: In 2016, Variety provided funding for 53 requests of life-changing equipment, therapy, adaptive bicycles, and other items with a retail value of $68,000 through our Freedom Program. We hosted 66 events through the Future Program with more than 2,500 participants. We hosted 20 families for Chatter Matters! Communication Camp.

Geographic areas served: Wisconsin

Programs:

The Variety Freedom Program encompasses mobility, communications and experiences. The Freedom Program exists to help children with physical challenges obtain confidence, freedom and independence by funding durable medical equipment, such as wheelchairs, walkers, van lifts, house ramps, adaptive car seats and strollers, specially-equipped bicycles and tricycles, bath equipment and stair lifts, for those with the greatest financial need.

The Variety Future Kids Program provides memorable educational and play experiences that would likely be inaccessible to children with physical challenges due to mobility or financial restrictions. The program takes children and their immediate family members on fun, free outings.

Chatter Matters! Communication Camp is a residential camp for children who use speech generating devices and their entire family to become better communicators in a fun, traditional camp setting.

Community Stories

55 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Lisa461

Client Served

Rating: 5

My name is Elizabeth perez my daughter Yessenia has C.P. We heard about Variety about 1 year ago and since then we have enjoyed their program. We have gone to a bucks game thanks to them. We really apreciate everything that they have to offer. We are from Madison and sometimes is hard for us to be able to enjoy all they can offer but when we do we are very greatful. Variety has tought me that we are not alone and that there is many families that I can relate to. Thank again Variety.

Beth139

Client Served

Rating: 5

We have been extremely impressed with the variety of services and support available through Variety. My son has right sided hemiplegia due to an in-utero stroke. We first heard about Variety's adaptive bicycle program, and while we've never pursued a bike, we've participated in Madison's movie with Santa event for the past two years and really appreciate the thoughtful staff who consistently are thrilled to see my child and always make sure we have everything we need. We've been unable to attend other events, but have been extremely impressed with the organization's dedication and breadth of services.

Client Served

Rating: 5

We have 3 boys who all love to have fun. Our oldest two are twins born conjoined at their lower backs and have spina bifida. Both use wheelchairs. The Variety Club allows our family to attend events we normally would not be able to afford to take all our boys to. It also allows them to meet others with disabilities. The variety club is an amazing program that we feel very fortunate to be a part of.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Both my wife and I wanted to extend a word of thanks regarding the Chatter Matters Camp our family was able to enjoy this week. The brief opportunities to share our gratitude kind of took us by surprise - as I'm sure it did for other families as well. It was tough to process the amount we have to be thankful for during that short amount of time. Here are a few thoughts...

Life as a special needs parent, by necessity, can be quite regimented. Daily rituals get us through each day, and work and sleep deprivation take their toll. Even a vacation isn't a vacation, as they are often largely the same regimen in a new location - plus a degree of uncertainty with regard to new locations, new hospitals, new stares, etc. The opportunities to really sit back and reflect, plan, and course-correct rarely come, and is often done with 'the ball in motion', and some degree of fatigue.

The Chatter Matters Camp was beneficial to us in many incalculable ways. The opportunity to have our son's needs given a fresh review by so many speech professionals was priceless for him, and reassuring for us. Our eight year old son's speech began with his first word nearly two years ago to the day. The long plateaus between any progress in speech always make us concerned about committing extended lengths of time to try anything new. We see the benefit that this technology can provide Brandon, and I'm not confident that would have happened without this camp.

The opportunity to be with other special needs parents also helped us out of our years-long sense of isolation. What made this camp particularly helpful was the shared experience of specifically being with the parents of children with extreme communication disabilities. We don't feel as isolated as our children who can't talk, but we share that sense of isolation the same. It was a tremendous experience to be among those who 'get it' - both professionally and in their daily home life as well - and to have that opportunity have some community.

Safety - a long forgotten sense of safety. Our son never responds when he wanders off, which always leaves us anxious wherever we go. The speech professionals, the speech students, the community of families (both the siblings and parents), the predictable and easily searchable facility layout - all made us feel safe for the first time outside of our home in a long time. The two times our son did wander off this week, it turned out he was simply escorted to the washroom by the volunteer psychologist, and another time he went back into our room, where an SLP was just patiently waiting outside the room with the door open, keeping a watchful I on him until we figured out he was missing. That was really ‘above and beyond’ the call of duty and greatly appreciated that.

The opportunity to be able to speak with a psychologist was beneficial as well. A fresh perspective that is experienced, objective, and insightful can be immensely helpful when parents and kids are caught in a regimented daily routine. We received some great, practical takeaways that we will use to help our son to cope more appropriately in new environments and new social situations that are over-stimulating to him.

The siblings were amazing as well. Our son easily gets overwhelmed in social situations and shuts down around regular kids playing at their own pace. We saw the face-hiding and withdrawal again with an opening soccer game. It only took a couple of words with these kids and they readily throttled down their intensity. Within the hour, we saw our son play soccer with kids nearly his own age for the first time ever. Indeed, it was the first time we saw him engage in a "non-parallel play" manner. We feel it was a defining, formative break-through moment for him!

As a parent of a speech-language pathology student who volunteered, the event was priceless as well. A university could not have created a more comprehensive pre-professional experience. Not only was the exposure to top-shelf SLPs a great opportunity, but they also received the experience of being able to dine and listen to parents, work with our kiddos, and interact with their siblings. Our daughter has already has this experience, but it is not the same until you can break out of your own family dynamic - so this benefitted her as well. The key difference between being a health care provider, and being a health care provider of excellence, begins a foundation of mercy. We feel that this comprehensive experience fosters the heart of a true caregiver enormously. For certain, the perspective made possible to these students during a formative period in their careers will pay dividends to the children and families they will serve in the future.

Oh, we could tell that our service dog, Sienna, enjoyed the week too. Our family routine has kept us from seeing the benefits of all her people-skills and training, so that was an unexpected discovery and bonus as well.

Finally, I have to mention the staff and environment of Inspiration Ministries. The meal planning, food preparation, the easy cleanup, the child-friendly environment; having all of these concerns and activities taken out of our routine for a few days provided us with opportunities to think, and regain some sense of adult community. There were moments where my wife and I actually spoke in complete, uninterrupted sentences. We already can't remember what we said, but it happened there!

So again, we have a lot to be grateful for and extend a sincere word of thanks to Variety for making the Chatter Matters Camp happen. As always, there are just too many individuals for us to thank. If forwarding this message is possible, we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you to all who made this past week, both possible and memorable.
Sincerely,

Jim, Anne, Victoria (Tori), Brandon, and Sienna Behan

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am the father of a teenage girl that Variety has helped. I am so grateful for Variety because they have given my daughter the chance to become more independent. They also provide her with the chance to meet other children with disabilities.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have been involved with Variety for about 5 years. I have received an adaptive bike that I enjoy riding with my little sister. Riding the bike helps me strengthen my muscles while having a good time. Other than receiving a bike, Variety has provided me with many opportunities to participate in amazing events such as my favorite outing: baseball games. Variety gives me the chance to meet other children with physical disabilities, like me.

Mary308

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daughter Dafne and our family had the opportunity to be part of the first Chatter Matters Camp as well as the second year. It was such and incredible experience not only for Dafne but for all the family as well , and we are very thankful for the opportunity. In addition to attend to the camp, Dafne was able to receive a communication device, and IPad and now she is able to communicate and express her needs and wants everywhere she goes to. My family and I am very grateful with al the people that is involved with the organization; Variety, from staff to volunteers and donors.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Duavang 10/23/2014

Thank you for writing a review about Variety! We were so glad to have you and your family attend camp.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daughter, who has cerebral palsy, has been fortunate enough to attend Variety's Chatter Matters! communication camp during its first and second years. What an amazing experience at a facility that is so welcoming to people with disabilities. Variety staff, volunteer therapists, and therapy students give generously and tirelessly to plan and run this event. A highlight this year was the addition of Jon and Sarah Feucht, role models as well as volunteers, who reminded us all about what our children are capable of accomplishing.

With much gratitude to all Variety staff, volunteers, and donors who made this camp possible.

Elise G

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Duavang 10/22/2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are all so glad that you and your familiy attended Chatter Matters and had a great time.

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daughter, who has cerebral palsy, was lucky enough to be a participant in Variety's first-ever Chatter Matters camp in June 2013 for her first-ever camp experience, which represented one of only two times she's been away from home aside for hospital stays.

With extraordinary vision and planning, the Variety staff and volunteer therapists and therapy students worked with tireless and infinite patience, compassion, energy, and imagination to ensure that children with disabilities could have the chance to enjoy a meaningful summer camp experience with others who face similar challenges as they and their parents became familiar with communication devices and networked with each other. From the special location Variety chose, which provided accommodations for those with all kinds of special needs to the range of activities tailored to enable these children to participate--the nature walk and lecture, the arts and crafts projects, the water games, the creative cooking, the camp fire and sing-along, the group talent show--to the Variety staff and volunteers' generosity with their time and their willingness to give of themselves, their expertise, their kindness--what a wonderful program!

Client Served

Rating: 5

My family has been part of the Variety family since 2011 and I am proud to say that my daughter is a Variety Kid! She has spinal cord injury and uses crutches to walk. Due to her physical disability, she is limited to the physical activities that she can participate in. Variety helped change that when they gave her a specially adapted bike. I'll never forget the day that she got the bike and rode off so fast that I couldn't keep up with her. She actually had me running after her for once. She was shrieking with pure joy the entire ride. It's an experience that I'll never forget. I am so grateful that Variety gave my daughter the chance to just be a kid and experience the joy of riding a bike.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am the father of a nonverbal autistic son. This past summer we attended variety's Chatter Matters camp. What an awesome experience. From the moment we arrived it seemed like everyone knew us already and were very welcoming. The volunteers were incredible! My son had a great time with all the activities that were carefully planned. There was also time for parents to learn about the communication device, including programming it! This was something was used to be very intimidating. But they went through it very slowly and made it easy. This wonderful camp experience was something that we could not thank Variety enough for. They truly are an extraordinary charity.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Duavang 10/13/2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad that you had an awesome experience at Chatter Matters! Communication Camp. The Variety staff and volunteers had a wonderful time working with the children and families. We can't wait until next year's camp!

Client Served

Rating: 5

We were having difficulty transporting my son to doctor's appointments. He cannot walk and we were unable to fit his specialty chair in our car. Variety purchased a large specialty sized stroller. It was around $700! We have used it so much and it has made our life so much easier.

Thank you variety!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Duavang 10/06/2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that we were able to help making transporting your son easier!

Kim_152

Client Served

Rating: 5

My 5 year old daughter who is diagnosed with Down Syndrome has enjoyed many of the activities sponsored by Variety. We are thankful that agencies such as Variety exist to support our family.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Duavang 10/06/2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you participate in the Future Kids Events!

Client Served

Rating: 5

My family and I just found out about this program threw another family with a special needs child and when they told me the fun outing, the ticket's to basketball games,and water parks and soo much more. plus they have this wonderful program where you can swap equipment omg who does that no execpt, Variety!!!! They can help you get equipment for your child this is the best program ever! I'm just sad it took me till last 2 weeks ago to find out about them so Thank you guys again for the ticket's to the Bucks game my daughter loved it and so did the whole family. Let me touch on that real quick too how great that they included everyone in the house! That's great I'm super excited to see what's next on the agenda for the summer:) Thank you so much we are very thankful because without this we would never have been able to do this on our own. My mother just passed away in November and the children and I have been really depressed lately so maybe God sent you guys to us to help fill our lifes back with joy! Thank you From the Wade and Robbins family

Client Served

Rating: 4

My family enjoys the Variety family events. Even though my daughter has a mental disorder instead of a physical disorder, we have been included in some of the events. We just went to the Christmas party at the Majestic Cinema to see "Monsters Inc." We hardly ever go to the movies because of the cost for 5 people. These events bring our family together and are very enjoyable.

Client Served

Rating: 5












We are writing to share our experience at the recent Christmas party at Majestic Theatre. Our family was treated with courtesy and the staff present was particularly gracious. A few of the staff actually paid attention to our son and it was very touching. The world as a whole does not recognize the value of special needs children. Given the attention and care of this program was encouraging and an application of the meaning of Christmas. We have also been recepients of a custom-made bicycle for our son. We truly have been treated well by Variety Club.



Should this review be counted for a specific campaign?

No






















How would you describe the help you got from this organization?



How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?



How do you feel you were treated by this organization?



When was your last experience with this nonprofit? Select a year 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997










































































Add this nonprofit to My Favorite Nonprofits


Submit Review


Additional optional questions




































































Photos/Video


























.


About Us
Contacts
Are you a Nonprofit
Best Nonprofits

Community Guidelines
For Volunteers
For Donors
Holiday Giving Guide

Privacy
Terms of Use

© 2006-2011 GreatNonprofits
.





.

































































Sign In
Sign in with Facebook
Register
Tour for Nonprofits
About Us
Contact
Follow us: FacebookTwitter



Find & share your nonprofit experiences
GreatNonprofits is the place to find and review great -- and perhaps not so great ? nonprofits, charities, and volunteer and donation opportunities



Find a nonprofit or charity (e.g. "United Way" or "Food Bank San Francisco") Search

Or browse by:
ISSUE































ZIP CODE


























CITY/STATE


























CAMPAIGNS





Home
> Variety Club Children's Charities, Inc.
> Write A Review










Write A Review of Variety Club Children's Charities, In...







Tell your story


Every review helps. But the most helpful review is the one that speaks from your personal experience.
Click here for more tips on writing your review.













Key Information:
(all fields required)

Overall Rating



12345












Please select a rating.


Your role

Volunteer Client Served Donor Board Member Professional with expertise in this field General Member of the Public Advisor


Tips:•Share your personal experience
•Provide details and specific examples
•Constructive feedback can strengthen the organization
•Be honest and candid


Your Review

We are writing to share our experience at the recent Christmas party at Majestic Theatre. Our family was treated with courtesy and the staff present was particularly gracious. A few of the staff actually paid attention to our son and it was very touching. The world as a whole does not recognize the value of special needs children. Given the attention and care of this program was encouraging and an application of the meaning of Christmas. We have also been recepients of a custom-made bicycle for our son. We truly have been treated well by Variety Club.



Should this review be counted for a specific campaign?

No






















How would you describe the help you got from this organization?



How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?



How do you feel you were treated by this organization?



When was your last experience with this nonprofit? Select a year 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997










































































Add this nonprofit to My Favorite Nonprofits


Submit Review


Additional optional questions




































































Photos/Video


























.


About Us
Contacts
Are you a Nonprofit
Best Nonprofits

Community Guidelines
For Volunteers
For Donors
Holiday Giving Guide

Privacy
Terms of Use

© 2006-2011 GreatNonprofits
.





.

































































X



Please select a rating for your review.

Ok

X



Please select a rating for your review.

Ok

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

Thank you so much Variety Club for the wonderful blessing you have given my son and us; He recently received a beautiful adaptive trike as a gift for Variety and would not have had this opportunity if they didnt help. We could not afford such a bike for him and are so grateful for this organization and what they did for my son and for others, keep up the great work you do!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

we are very thankful for Variety of Wisconsin in our lives. We have gone to two different events - the Harley Davidson Museum and the holiday party at the Majestic. We enjoy these free family events very much. It gives us the opportunity to participate in fun activities that we otherwise wouldn't be able to do and it is so nice to be around others who understand what we are going through.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Variety is new to our family as a resource for assistance for my son with Fragile X. Variety is excellent at making our family feel as a priority on their list at any time. May it be tickets to an event or monetary assistance for an item or service. Variety has helped my son gain his independence and his feeling of inclusion with the children in the neighborhood by helping us purchase a new bike for him to ride with fellow friends. Thank you Vaiety for being there when our family needed help.

1 Sara F.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Wow.. our lives have been so enriched, blessed, made brighter by the love, and hard work of this organization and their volunteers. Every day is such a gift but in this beautiful mess of life sometimes, just getting through a week with multiple therapies, work, IEP goals , school appt's, navigating the grocery story can be a challenge - But at the Variety events, all of that is forgotten, it is about support , joy , accessible fun and friendship interaction with the kids. The easiest way for me to say it is, that this group gives us a place to "belong" and to feel connected. Thank You from our hearts :)

Client Served

Rating: 5

My parents and I started going to the activities since the last December. I am very grateful with your services. Thanks for making a difference in Our Lives.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Variety helped my son receive an adaptive bicycle. With their help we are able to help our son do something "typical" kids do so he can be part of the group. We are very excited to pick up his new red bike!