Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Together In Hope

7,530 pageviews

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: International, International Relief

Mission: Together in Hope works with marginalized communities in El Salvador, the Philippines, and works in partnership with Irish organization Youth Release in Ethiopia. Our goal is to help these communities move with dignity towards sufficiency and abundance. Together in Hope’s goal is to empower the poor to improve their lives through relational partnering that is just and that honors their dignity.

Results: We spent a lot of time this year fundraising for our medical mission to El Salvador. This was the first medical mission ever to take place in this community. With only one doctor and one dentist, we were able to see and treat approximately 500 patients. Our Jessica's Table program has expanded to three new areas increasing the number of children benefiting from this program to 700 children. We are currently fundraising to purchase a piece of property in El Salvador to build a new school, medical clinic and community health center.

Target demographics: Marginalized squatter communities in the Philippines, El Salvador and Ethiopia.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Approximately 700 children

Geographic areas served: The Philippines, El Salvador, Ethiopia.

Programs: Jessica's Table- A feeding and educational support program serving over 700 children worldwide. Medical Programs-We bring medical teams from the United States throughout the year, to provide free health care to the communities we work in. Livelihood programs- Many livelihood programs are run throughout the year to help families provide an economic base for their families.

Community Stories

39 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

2 beth.tatum

Donor

Rating: 5

This organization is led by a dedicated visionary who is answering the call to empower people to rise above the oppression of poverty. My dear friend, Rev. Diane McGehee, knows that we are always stronger as a team. I have had the honor of supporting her effort as a prayer partner from the beginning. Under her guidance children in the Philippines, El Salvador and Ethiopia are able to learn with full bellies and necessary nutrition. Young adults achieve their dream of college through micro-loans assisting in small business start-ups. Most importantly, people reclaim their self-worth and dignity by knowing someone cares about them and believes they are a valued child of God.

Previous Stories
2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

TOGETHER IN HOPE is extending care to needy in the Philippines, El Salvador and Ethiopia through many ways. My church is collecting used eye glasses and personal dental & hygiene supplies to help with the medical mission in El Salvador. Founder Rev. Diane McGee is an amazing woman of God who has a passion for responding to those in poverty by building relationships and teaching them to be self-sufficient. Focusing on food programs, education and self-care, Together in Hope is making a difference by building co-operative efforts.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/24/2012

Beth, thank you so much for all your support!

Danny4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

When thinking of a charity i think of an organization that goes out of its way to help others in dire need. Together in Hope is a prime example of a charity. I personally have been on two mission trips to the Philippines and El Salvador with the Together in Hope organization. During my time in these places we helped countless individuals by re building schools and houses in the community, along with setting up food stations so that even after we left there would still be a place for the hungry to go and get food. Thats called leaving a positive effect on a society, and thats exactly what Together in hope is all about. When the people at Together in Hope enter a place of need, and they don't leave until the job is done. They genuinely care about the people they help, and they places they go.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Together in Hope is an organization that I have 100% confidence in. Both the founder and the executive director are hands-on and involved with the volunteers and and communities served on an individual basis. The organization understands the physical, medical, educational and spiritual needs of the communities and dedicated to serving these needs. I have twice been on a trip to El Salvador with Together in Hope. The trip was very well organization and I felt that 100% of my time in two weeks was spent on the needs of those served from hands-on help to a deeper understanding of their cultures and challenges. Without reservation I continue to support Together in Hope with my time and money.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 10/16/2012

Jean, Thank you so much for such an honest review. You have been such a great supporter of Together in Hope since our beginning and we are so grateful to you!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

After having taken two mission trips with Together in Hope, I can honestly say that this group is making an amazing contribution, specifically to El Salvador and the Philippines. I saw first-hand how lives were changed by this group and the people who volunteer with it. When I went with them to El Salvador, we worked with La Rosa Blanca, a small school in San Salvador. All the people there were so loving and accepting, it felt like leaving home when we finally had to come back to the States. While there, we built a kitchen, repainted the interior of the facility (outdoors) and drew in a brand new mural showing life in El Salvador. On my mission trip with Together in Hope to the Philippines, we contributed to that countries' well-being by creating relationships between local Filipino churches and their "outreach neighborhoods." Economically disadvantaged doesn't begin to paint an appropriate picture of how the families we served are living. In any case, it was an absolute pleasure to be there with the families and children and help to make a difference. Together in Hope is now in more than 3 local towns, feeding children on a weekly basis and sharing the hope and love of Christ with them all.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 10/16/2012

Micheal, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are so grateful for the support you have given us.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I was a volunteer physician for Together In Hope's first medical mission to El Salvador in January 2012. I went to El Salvador with a medical team and dental team. Overall, we saw hundreds of eager patients in 5 days. I've been on medical missions before, but this mission with Together in Hope was head and shoulders above the rest. I was so impressed with the eagerness and sacrifice of the entire team, from the administrative (Diane and Laura), to the laypersons who went along to translate, plan for a future medical clinic, and provide physical, emotional, and spiritual support. Together in Hope was simply the best all around group of people I've been involved with regarding medical missions, and this was their very first mission! The people of El Salvador are an unknown treasure. They have suffered from genocide and political oppression in the past, but today they are for the most part poor yet proud. They deserve to be proud. The family structure of the patients that we saw was incredibly cohesive: grandparents, parents, and children all came together to our makeshift clinic. These families reflected love for their children, their husbands and wives, and respect for their elders. The gratitude that these people expressed to our team was unmeasurable. All of us at Together in Hope were brought to tears of joy during this trip. If you are a physician, dentist, nurse, have any background in healthcare, or are simply a giving person, then I highly recommend that you volunteer with Together in Hope for future missions. You will not be disappointed. In fact, you will return a better and more grounded person.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 09/14/2012

Steve, thank you so much for such an honest and inspiring piece. We were so lucky to have you as part of this medical mission, thank you for patience and your hard work.You were such an essential part of the team and we are so grateful to have you on board.

osulld27

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My relationship with Together in Hope's sister organization Youth Release has been and continues to be one of the most rewarding experience's of my life. I spent a Summer in Ethiopia helping them with their work and I realised that, even in my short time there I had the opportunity to make a difference to their education and give them lasting memories of a happy childhood. While that Summer was a great experience, at the same time I know that my fundraising is being invested in the children's futures and the future generations of the community in Dire Dawa. What I love about the work that Youth Release does is that it is ongoing and they make such huge commitments to ensure that their work and investments benefit the children and the community on a long term basis. No one knows Dire Dawa as well as they do, their vision for the region is inspiring and they were brilliant in helping us with all aspects of the trip - preparation, fundraising, traveling, volunteering and maintaining lasting relationships. In the last year I have been traveling quite a bit but have felt that I can still keep track of everything that is going on through the emails I receive and the brilliant updates on the Together in Hope and Youth Release websites and newsletters. I can also continue to encourage family and friends to support Youth Release's efforts through the Christmas and Sponsor a Child campaigns. I'm proud to be a supporter of the Together in Hope nonprofit and it will always be a part of my life. From first hand experience I can say with confidence that the work that they do is tireless and very greatly needed and I will continue to support them in the future. DOS

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 08/01/2012

Dei, Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are so excited about this partnership with such a great organization. THank you for your continued support and dedication!

ate becks

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The joy of serving the Lord inspired me to work as volunteer at Together in Hope, many years ago at has been my mothers' desire to serve the Lord and opened our home for all church workers; All assigned deaconess in our local church stayed with us and considered them as member of our family, i'm sure it also contributed that I too, together with my two (2) younger sisters become a deaconess too. We found a tremendous joy and happiness in serving the Lord. When our parents' went home to God's arms, we thought that the mission ended. One day, Together in Hope mission came. The Lord is so amazing that many lives were touched by the Word of God. Together in Hope, does not only focus on children's ministry, its mission is growing bigger and wider because of different activities like: Bible study classfor adult, Literacy program for children, livelihood program for parents and out of school youth and feeding program (physical and spiritual) for all ages. The said activities are done from Monday to Saturday. Serving the Lord has no end.
"As for me and my house we will serve the Lord" - Joshua 24:15

To God be the Glory!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 08/01/2012

Ate becks, Thank you so much for all your hard work and dedication in Bicol, without this project wouldn't exist and we are so grateful for all you have done to make our work possible!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Together in Hope Foundation made me realized that I have 'time' when I thought I don't have the time.... "And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called acording to His purpose." Romans 8:28
We went back to our home church, Bethany UMC, in 2007 after my father’s retirement from 50 years of glorious servanthood in God’s Kingdom. Around that time, the partnership between Bethany UMC and Together in Hope’s feeding ministry and Bible study class in Malis is so overwhelming with more than 300 children to feed physically and spiritually. My brother Nory and his wife, Abigail and my husband Jojo, together with Pastor Jordan and his family and a lot of other church members (except me!) are so heavily involved with the ministry; waking up as early as 4AM on Saturday mornings to go to the market, cook nutritious food for the children, and then go to Malis to teach the Bible and feed the children. I am only able to support occasionally due to my heavy workloads. It wasn’t until Pastor Jordan’s reassignment to a new church in June last year that God has called me to take over the supervision and management of the Malis Outreach Program and the Jessica’s table fund from Ate Malu. I was hesitant to accept the responsibility at first, because my job is too taxing and I am currently taking up advanced studies to further my craft – and I don’t think I have time for any more activities. I am glad I did (super thanks to Ate Malu’s powerful prayers!) because working with Pastor Diane and Together in Hope blessed me and my family by being part of the wonderful works of God in Malis.

Thank you so much Pastor D! It has been so wonderful and fulfilling to work with you. We may be serving God in another vineyard now, but it is our prayer that your ministry in Malis and throughout the Philippines will continue to expand for the glory of God.

May God bless you more so you may continue to be a blessing to others!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/26/2012

Lei, Thank you so making time to volunteer with Together in Hope. We are so so grateful for all you and your family have given to the Jessica's Table program. We are very lucky to have you guys as part of our team!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

it was a great experience for me to worked with TOGETHER in Hope during their Medical,Dental Mission in Upper Javier way back in 2011. As one of the school nurse of Harris Memorial College it was a great opportunity to me to be one of those volunteers who helped our brothers and sisters who are in need especially with their health. I am so happy that i am with those people that made realized the needy people that God's love is just around them. Thanks for the ministry of the Together in Hope.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/26/2012

Thank you so much for volunteering with us and for making our medical/dental outreach possible.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above.” – James 5:17. I consider TOGETHER IN HOPE as a wonderful gift from God and an answer to my prayers when I was still in Bethany UMC. The Bethany UMC is blessed to be the first of the now 4 mission areas of TOGETHER IN HOPE in the Philippines and in other parts of the world. Pastor Diane first went to the Philippines in 2007 to help in the construction of the Christian Education multipurpose room. Since then, the partnership between Bethany UMC & the TOGETHER IN HOPE continues. It started from building construction now to feeding nutritious food & conducting Bible Class to around 300 children every Saturday in Malis, a community of people relocated from living beside the railroad. It has impacted the lives of the community, the children & their family because through Bethany UMC & TOGETHER IN HOPE, they know that loves them & cares for them physically & spiritually.

My family & I are so blessed even now that we are in our new appointment because the relationship with Pastor Diane remained. She considered us as her family here in the Philippines & that’s one of the most amazing things that God has done in our lives. They’d been here in the Philippines for 5 times now. More than the health & education TOGETHER IN HOPE is offering to many people through Pastor Diane, it’s the sense of family relationship that matters the most. More than highlighting the events & mission outreach & ministry conducted from health to education & livelihood & trainings & seminars, the life-changing love of God extended through TOGETHER IN HOPE that transformed the lives of people being served is the most noteworthy of all!

Thank you TOGETHER IN HOPE and Pastor Diane for making us a part of your family & ministry! We love you dearly!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/25/2012

Pastor Jordan, Thank you for allowing us to be part of your community and part of your family! If it wasn't for you and Malu, our work in Bethany would not be possible. We are so grateful to you!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Last summer 2011, month of April i joined one of the outreach program of our school Harris Memorial College in partnership with Together in Hope. they conducted medical and dental mission, also health seminar, extension classes for the children, feeding and distribution of clothes and slippers for children in Upper Javier. i volunteered myself in teaching children particularly about being good steward of our health/body. after that class, together with the volunteers of Together in Hope we had our house to house visit distribute slippers and clothes for the needy children. through this project, many people were blessed and open their minds that they were not alone. that there are organizations like Together in Hope whose hands and heart is open to help them.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/25/2012

Thank you so much for dedicating your time to volunteer with us, we are so grateful to have you as part of our team in Upper Javier!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It is both a joy and a privilege for me to be a volunteer in Together in Hope. I became a volunteer of this organization while we were in our previous church appointment in Bethany UMC when Ptr. Diane and the Bellaire UMC went to the Home Church of Ptr. Renato Santos in Bulacan, Philippines to help in building the Church's Multi-purpose Christian Education Room. Since then, the relationship & the ministry in the Philippines which started in Bulacan has grown & is now serving 4 communities in the country.
When I became a Pastor’s wife I thought that my ministry is just going to be to support my husband. Joining the Together in Hope team is a life-changing and spiritually transforming experience. It helped me realized that loving God would mean loving people.
We were all excited to wake up very early in the morning to go to the market to buy ingredients we need for cooking and preparing nutritious & delicious porridge for 300 children in Malis. We’re even more excited in teaching the children the transforming Words of the Bible & the Love of God that feeds them spiritually. Together in Hope is holistically reaching out to both the physical & spiritual needs of the children & also their parents. I was so happy leading the cell group or life group of the mothers of those children.
We are in our new Church appointment but still so much involved in educating, training & equipping the women through the G12 Vision: to Win the Lost & Make them Disciples; Purpose of Loving God & Loving People and the Goal of Making Every Believer a Leader of leaders. I will always carry in me the very thing I learned from Together in Hope: Being Passionate with/for God and Compassionate in reaching people for Him. All for the Glory of God

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/24/2012

Malu, Thank you for all you have done and for allowing us to be part of your wonderful community. We love you guys and are so proud to work with you.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It's a great opportunity becoming a Together in Hope Volunteer for over 5 years now. I have joined 4 mission trips to the Philippines. The first time was in Dec 2008 where we took at least 21 youth and worked in an impoverished "slum" community called Malis. It was a transforming experience for everyone as we helped in the "Feeding Program" and provided education including proper hygiene and nutrition. Then I went back with an Advance Mission Team in 2010 to conduct an assessment of 4 communities with the goal of expanding the projects and conduct a national conference to recruit/train local partners. These were all materialized, when we took 3 mission teams including medical/dental team and held a national conference in April 2011 and launched the program to 3 additional communities. The projects has expanded from feeding/health & nutrition program to livelihood and early literacy/pre-school programs. Then I joined the return trip to with the team for Bicol community in April 2012 in w/c I was assigned to facilitate and conduct follow-up on the progress. And it's amazing how the projects has grown and have helped many families in the commmunities we serve. It's a real transformation of lives not only to the people we serve but for us volunteers and partners of Together in Hope.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/16/2012

Nida, If it wasn't for you, none of this would be possible, we are so lucky to have you as part of our team. Through your work, we have been able to achieve so much and we are so grateful to you.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I volunteer going to my own country San Salvador with together in hope and it was a wonderful experience. the organization provide the salvadorian community with medical health. Bringing general doctors, and Dentists and provide them not only with the medical check ups, but with medicines, that in a poor country like it is San Salvador, people can not afford to buy Medicines. I am very thankful with together in hope they really bring hope to my country.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/15/2012

Evis, We are so grateful to have you as a volunteer!thank you for all you do!

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I Volunteered and traveled to El Salvador in January of 2012 and found the people very loving, caring and prideful. Through Together in Hope and their people on the ground in San Salvador, our Team was able to Minister to the people with Medical & Dental patient services. I think all of us were Ministered by the people of Altos de Miraflores and my wife and I will continue to support Together in Hope in their Mission to feed children in Third World Countries. Grace and Peace, Dave Harris

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/13/2012

Dave, You were an essential part of our medical mission in El Salvador and we are so grateful that you were part of our team and thank you for your continued support.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am very fortunate to be part of Together In Hope. In January 2012, I had the opportunity to help people that lack medical resources and attention in a small, impoverished community in El Salvador. Every member of our team was responsible for providing quality medical care and ensuring that each patient went home with a smile of satisfaction. I assisted Dr. Barnes, one of the doctors in our team. He used his medical experience to care for each patient and advised on the importance of preventive health care. Many patients called him "the angel of the mission" because he was always willing to help in every need. I remember a family of four that complained about not having money for reading glasses, they told us that they enjoyed reading the bible together, but that because of the inability to purchase eyeglasses they had stopped reading the bible to their kids. Dr. Barnes opened his personal bag and gave them his two pairs of reading glasses. The family was very happy and thankful; Dr. Barnes and I were very satisfied with everything that we did for others. I really hope to be part of many future experiences that emphasize on helping those who are less fortunate in this world. Thank YOU!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/16/2012

Claudia, You were a fantastic asset to this trip and we hope you will continue to be involved with us!Thank you for sharing this beautiful story!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I had an amazing experience in El Salvador helping coach and interact with kids. We donated equipment but they gave us so much more in return! It was extremely humbling to see these kids that don't have a lot to give continue to give gifts and share their food with us. They looked up to us so much from the first day that we met them. The excitement was very apparent from both sides, it is definitely a trip I will never forget. It continues to motivate and effect my life today in a very positive way. This is a great organization that does lots of good for kids in various locations around the world. I only hope to continue contributing in any way that I can!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Together in Hope 07/13/2012

Lyndsey, We were so lucky to have you as part of our team for the community outreach program to El Salvador in March 2011. The children loved you guys and always ask for 'los pirates' now. You guys have made such a difference in the lives of these children and have given them memories that will last forever. We are so grateful to have you as a volunteer.