Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Special Horses

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animal Services, Animals

Mission: Our goal with www.specialhorses.org is to provide fundraising opportunities, marketing assistance, educational opportunities, and community outreach for registered 501(c)3 not-for-profit groups involved with equine rescue, rehabilitation, and retirement.

Results: Since 2009, Special Horses has raised several thousand dollars each year to help gold standard, in-the-trenches equine welfare organizations carry out their missions.

Target demographics: gold-standard 501(c)3 equine welfare organizations with their rescue, rehabilitation and rehoming efforts.

Direct beneficiaries per year: 11 rescues by raising over $13,000 to help with their rescue efforts.

Geographic areas served: the United States

Programs: on line fundraisers (auctions, Secret Santas), promotion and marketing, creating brochures and flyers, and assistance with grant applications.

Community Stories

9 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Special Horses began with one woman and one special horse who recognized the need to help other, less fortunate animals. They support all facets of, and many varied, equine rescue. There is always another idea and goal to meet. Plus, they put the FUN in fundraising using social media, with zany and unusual auctions that are eye-catching and attractive, even to non-horse people. I love supporting Special Horses!

Comments ( 1 )

Special Horses Thank you so much for all your support!

1 Julia S.1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Wonderful people doing amazing work to responsibly help horses in need.
They shine a warm light in a too often cold and dark World.
Bravo to Special Horses!
I'm a long time supporter and urge you to join us.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 10/03/2017

Thank you so much for all your support and generosity!

1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Special Horses is a fantastic organization that does so much for the equine community. There advocacy and work on behalf of horses makes them one of the more worthy nonprofits.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 10/03/2017

Thank you so much for your support!

1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Special Horses was very helpful for the non-profit equine rescue that I used to run. They were a god-send with giving much needed donations. So many smaller rescues are over-looked when it comes to donations. Special Horses provides a much needed service to them.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 10/03/2017

We do our best to the in-the-trenches rescues! Thank you!

1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

They are a wonderful equine advocate that does so much for other equine charities and rescues.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

Special Horses 07/01/2017

Thank you so much for your support!

profile

Special Horses 10/03/2017

We are so grateful for your support!

Jimmy Pam W.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

i have a rescue myself , these people are the "REAL DEAL"

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 10/06/2016

Thank you so much! We appreciate your support!

2 Laura M.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I have a dear friend that runs a 501(c)(3) horse rescue in Pennsylvania, and Special Horses nonprofit has tirelessly raised funds to help her save horses. They hold online fundraisers and auctions on social media, and the money they've raised helps pay for the rescued horse's care, veterinary expenses, dental, and farrier. This is an excellent nonprofit!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 05/06/2016

Laura, we are also appreciative of your efforts to help Bright Futures Farm! Thank you!

2

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Special Horses is dedicated to raising funds to help horse rescues help horses in need. Horses who have been starved, abused, abandoned.
They also do a tremendous job of helping to raise awareness about the issues of horse abuse and slaughter.
A wonderful organization that does so much good!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

Thank you! We strive to continue this work!

6 Gail T.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

TIER-True Innocents Equine Rescue is one of the organizations assisted by Special Horses, Inc. Their fundraisers to assist horse welfare organizations have helped make a difference for the horses of TIER. Their fundraisers are beneficial to our volunteer staff as well because Special Horses does ALL the fundraising work.

The performance of this charity in helping rescues across the nation is commendable. Thank you for being there for so many!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

We are proud to include TIER as one of the rescue organizations we support!

7 Jennifer W.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I run Bluebonnet Equine Humane Society, one of the organizations served by Special Horses, Inc. I've had nothing but good experiences with the organization. They conduct fundraisers to benefit horse welfare organizations, and in my experience the events are well-run and we receive donations/proceeds from them in a timely manner. They've always been great at communicating with us promptly and assisting us whenever needed.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

We are honored to be able to help Bluebonnet!