Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2015 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: The mission of Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan is to assist abandoned, homeless or unwanted animals by placing them in qualified, suitable, and approved foster or permanent homes; to rescue abandoned, homeless or unwanted animals by removing them through legal means from unsuitable environments or shelters. To improve conditions of any animal in need, and help to facilitate their adoption to qualified, permanent homes; to educate the general public about rescue programs, responsible dog ownership, and the prevention of pet overpopulation and to consider the adoption of animals from their local shelters or rescue; to work with governmental agencies to implement positive changes in all aspects of animal reform at local and state levels.

Target demographics: dogs in shelters that would otherwise be euthanized.

Direct beneficiaries per year: 57 dogs

Geographic areas served: Rescue

Programs: Founded in 2007 RPSM has made a serious effort to effectively aid in the reduction of euthanasia rates at many animal shelters. In 2008, the RPSM Correctional Companion Program began. In a partnership with the Coldwater Prison Complex, RPSM endeavors to find homes for dogs in shelters that would otherwise be euthanized. Dogs selected for the Companion Program are carefully screened for temperament, trainability, and adoptability. They are fully vaccinated, spayed or neutered prior to enrollment in the program. Once they arrive at the complex, they are assigned to specially trained inmates who are responsible for their training and day to day care. Upon completion of the program, the dogs are ready to receive a canine good citizen certificate (CGC) and available for adoption into an approved home.

Community Stories

49 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

We became members of the RPSM family in 2014 when we adopted Annie, a white pit mix. This is a unique program in that it takes someone else's throw away canine, a dog that most likely was abandoned or neglected, and offers the opportunity of new hope, a new life. Because these dogs are put into the prison for 10 weeks of training, the healing takes place not only for the dog, but also the prisoners - who take such good care to love on these tender souls, who many times need to learn to trust again. Although our journey started in 2014 with Annie, it continued in 2016 with our second adoption of Star, a re-nosed pit. Both these girls have been an absolute joy to have as a part of our family. What you get when dealing with RPSM is a group of people whose #1 goal is to match the perfect dog to the perfect family. They spend countless hours going through applications, calling references, making on-site visits to potential adopters, all to ensure the best fit for everyone. We are so proud to be affiliated with RPSM and highly recommend them to anyone looking to rescue dog. You won't regret it!

Comments ( 1 )

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan Thanks you so much for adopting from RPSM and writing this wonderful review.

Client Served

Rating: 5

When our family was looking for a dog to adopt, we searched all over the internet, as well as our local shelter. We had very specific requests: medium to large size, short hair, good with kids, good with dogs, and capable of running long distances (I am a runner and was looking for a running companion). When we came across the website for RPSM, we immediately saw a few dogs that interested us. After filling out an application and speaking with a representative, we were able to narrow down our choices to one dog. Since she had just entered her training phase, we were able to give the trainer input on what the dog's life would be like with us. We received weekly updates on her training progress, so when we finally met her, we knew what to expect. However, she surpassed all of our expectations! Our girl, Mya, is so smart and sweet! She loves everyone she meets, she loves to go for runs, and she is well behaved. This organization truly wants what is best for the animals and we could not be happier with the results.

Danita K.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My dog, Baxter, has been the best addition to our family. I fostered him before he went off to prison and am extremely grateful for the love and energy that was put into training him. We can't imagine our live without him.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I will be forever grateful for the hard work and loving care provided to my Rescue Dog Gia! Gia was found running free in January of 2017 in Indiana. She was taken to the local pound where they made a call to Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan. RPSM sent out some wonderful volunteers to pick her up and take her to the Training Program in Coldwater. She was taken into the Prison Program where some amazing inmates spent 10 weeks working with her night and day to prepare her to become an awesome member of our family. The time, love, and dedication that goes into this program is remarkable. Every aspect of this program has one goal and that is to rehome a precious pet who otherwise may never have been adopted. Thank you so much RPSM for all you do and for saving all of these homeless furbabies.

Anne D.2

Client Served

Rating: 5

I adopted Harley, an 8 year old standard poodle from Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan and every day I say "who rescued who?" I still send photos to his amazing foster mom Lynn.

Mickey E.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Five years ago we lost our beloved dog. We found Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan and saw a profile of a young dog who looked like he'd be a perfect fit for our family. We submitted an application and were approved to adopt him. He has been a great addition to our family and is the best friend to our other dog. They do everything together. Working with RPSM was a wonderful experience. All of their volunteers are great people. We tell everyone about RPSM and the great work they do. When we are ready to adopt again, we will certainly return to RPSM.

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

Like many other adopters, we had lost a beloved pet. Our beagle seemed to grieve the loss like we did, and we decided to adopt another dog to keep him company. That was when we found RPSM. We were very impressed with their prison training program. We found Gus and filled out an application for him. We had a great visit with his foster mom when she came for our home visit. The adoption process went quickly and smoothly. We had to wait a few weeks for Gus to complete his training, but it went by quickly as we received regular updates on his progress. We knew his favorite toys before he came home. The day we picked him up, Gus was a bit stressed because of all the changes that he had gone through that day - leaving the prison, going back to his foster home, and then meeting us and his new brother. But he soon settled in with the family routine and everyone in the family loves him. Even our four year old nephew can play with him like he's his own dog. We love being able to see updates of the other adopted dogs and seeing the new dogs as they come into the RPSM program. The RPSM volunteers do a wonderful job and were a pleasure to work with through the adoption process. We speak highly of RPSM and recommend them to everyone.

1 Lori J.2

Client Served

Rating: 5

I adopted a two year old boxer hound mix dog from REfurbished Pets of Southern Michigan in July. I needed a dog to be my constant companion and assist me with mobility issues. When I read my dogs description I knew I had found a perfect match for me. Once I committed to adopting Scotty I received weekly emails on his progress. Any questions or concerns I had were quickly addressed.
Once I got Scotty home I needed help with training him not to be so rough in playing with my smaller dog. I called RPSM and within one day had the advice I needed to fix this situation as well as names of trainers close to where I live. RPSM truelly care about each and every dog in their program. RPSM staff are there to help make make your adoption successful!
Scotty is everything RPSM said he was and I couldn't be happier! If ever I am in need of another dog I will be adopting from RPSM.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan 10/22/2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience of adopting Scotty. We are always happy to help our adopters in any way we can.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Rpsm helped me find my forever friend Riley Louise

1 Alison Melby R.

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted our wonderful boxer/bulldog mix Olive from Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan in January 2001. I cannot say enough about the amazing work of this organization. Olive came to us beautifully trained by inmates working in the prison program that RPSM works with. She is a wonderfully derpy perfect dog for our family - and if we're honest, she's spoiled enough by us now that she's not quite as well trained as when she came home with us!

Since our adoption through RPSM, I have volunteered with the organization completing home visits for applicants who live in the same area that we do. It's my great pleasure to continue supporting this organization in this way. If & when we add a second dog to our family, we will consider adopting from RPSM before any other organizations.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan 10/22/2017

Allison, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with RPSM. Thank you so much for helping out with home visits in your area when you can.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I met Koda through RPSM in June of 2015. She had learned the basics for becoming a service dog to help out with my dysautonomia. She came along with letters and advice from the trainers she had been working with, which were incredibly helpful in helping her have a smooth transition. In addition, volunteers and new friends from RPSM have kept in contact to check in with us and answer and any questions that come up. Koda is so much more incredible than I ever could have asked for. She is patient, good with people and other animals, gentle, obedient, a great companion, and incredibly intelligent. Her first alert was within our first 24 hours of working together, and she hasn't let me down since. She loves riding the trains, will"place" under tables in restaurants patiently, and is an essential part of what has been dubbed "Team KJ." Thank you, RPSM, for my best friend and guardian angel! She is a champ!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Go to www.ilovesogs.com and search, "Penny" and you will see our RPSM story on video. RPSM is the best rescue!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I adopted a beautiful red golden retriever named Sky . If it was not for Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan this adorable and loving golden would not have had a chance to experience a good life as all animals should. Sky became a therapy dog and touched so many lives from young to old. She was well mannered and trained when I received her. Unfortunately, she has passed from cancer but lives always in my heart and others. Thank you RPSM for allowing me to adopt this gentle golden.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

We got our crazy, fun-loving Max (Boomer) a year ago from Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan. He has brought so much joy and laughter into our family; we hadn't realized that we were missing it so much. RPSM was one of the best organizations that I've ever had contact with. The weekly updates were fun to read, we felt that Max was a part of our family from the very beginning. The contact for pick-up/meet and greet was very helpful working around our schedule and hers. The ability to keep Max's handlers updated on his life since "parole" has been fun (I write them as though Max is writing the letter about his life). Max had learned so many tricks and commands while in the prison program and he still continues to perform them for people he meets. We truly love our Max and can't imagine a life without him. Thanks so much RPSM for rescuing him, training him and allowing us to adopt him!!!! I hope your mission continues and many more dogs get rescued and adopted!!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan 05/16/2015

Thanks so much for your review!! So happy you enjoyed the adoption process with RPSM!!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

In January 2009, we lost our beloved geriatric Dobergirl, Jessie. I began looking in Canada, where we live, for a rescue Doberman. There were none available for adoption at that time (weird I know, because there are plenty now). That led me to Petfinder where I saw a picture of a Dobe that I knew was perfect and he was at RPSM. Shortly after submitting my request for adoption, I got a phone call telling me that I could possibly have Lance once a home inspection was done. We live 5 hours away! RPSM did not immediately say no, but worked with us to get the local Humane Society in to do the home inspection and within days we were on our way to adopt Lance. The foster home was loving and caring and we could sense that he had improved a lot emotionally from his trauma before his rescue. Lance's adoption fee was the total of all his vet services (which included neutering and immunizations) and since we were from Canada we also received info and paperwork for taking Lance back across the border. For 6 years now I have been telling everyone who will listen how fabulous RPSM is and I would not hesitate to go back to them where Lance's days are done.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan 05/16/2015

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! We try to help our adopters in any way we can to get their dog home safely as well after the adoption of their new family member.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

We had lost our best buddy Yukon, he went through cancer treatment as I did, only I faied better. He died in my arms, and after him being the 5th SIberian Husky (and the closest to me) it was very hard to get over. I happened to see Apollo, and it was perfect from the get go. Even though he does not look a lot like Yukon, his mannerisma are so identical to both Yukon and Sasha, our Husky previous to Yukon. RPSM had such a great idea of training the pets, as well as giving the inmates in their program something to care for, strive for, as well as to give back to the community, I just had to put my bid in, not just for APollo but for the inmastes as well. I just think the program is awesome, and APollo has such good trainaing, he listens and obeys 90% of the time, and the other 10% is his sassyness. But we love him to death, and it has been a perfect fit with our other Dog, and 2 cats (one of which as passed on since after 18 years) I would hihly recommend everyone to go to them, and their volunteers are such great caring people to work with, and I truly beleive all is in the best interest of the animals, as much as it is the imates. Thank you very much for such a great cause and super job!!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted Buddy (formerly Bear) from RPSM after seeing a video of him going through his commands. We were searching for a lab mix to adopt and were so excited when we saw this video. We contacted RPSM and had a fantastic experience working with them to be able to adopt Buddy. Buddy is the most loving, sweet, playful, smart and obedient dog I have ever had. People who meet Buddy for the first time fall in love with him -even my sister who is not necessarily a "dog person".
I'm so grateful for the work that RPSM do to help dogs like ours find a home and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a new addition to their family. The process was great and the people were top-notch.

1 dirogchristie

Client Served

Rating: 5

We had to put our 14 yr old lab down on Christmas Day 2013. A few months passed. Our other small dog Sophie, missed Cocoa terribly. She was unhappy for weeks. She would lay the patio door watching for her to come home. I began searching for a lab or lab mix on Petfinder.com I located Ellie's picture and bio. She was in foster care in Coldwater, MI. So her journey home began! She was a 6 month old stray that was picked up running the streets. RPSM put her in foster care until she was evaluated and accepted into Coldwater Inmate Training Program. We received weekly updates and evaluations from her training team. We were notified when she had graduated and told when and where to pick her up. She was 9 months old the day she was released from the program. I picked her up that same day at her foster mom's home. As I signed the adoption papers, she laid down next to me and fell asleep. It took very little time for her to acclimate to our home. RPSM are very attentive to your questions and concerns post adoption. We were encouraged to call or email with any time. We were amazed at the numerous commands Ellie knew and especially grateful that she was completely housebroken. She's never had an accident. Ellie is a beautiful, energetic one year old, black lab mix. She LOVES to play with Sophie and has brought new energy and happiness back to our household. She runs around the back yard with glee, trying to keep her toys from Sophie. She also loves to play in the hose and bite the water! Her only bad behavior now is barking at dogs that pass by. However, most of her anxiety is provoked by Sophie who is a yappy small dog breed. LOL We are putting her in a program to socialize her more with other dogs and further her leash training. We have been truly blessed by the time and effort the volunteers at RPSM have given, to bring Ellie to our forever home. We just LOVE her! :)

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan 08/13/2014

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, our dog trainer is going to be working on having a video made that shows how the commands are performed so that adopters will have that to reference. Please give Ellie a scratch on the head from all the RPSM volunteers!!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I discovered rpsm when I was searching for my first dog. I was thrilled that they could give me so much information about temperament and personality. When I read about shiloh I knew he was the dog for us. The volunteers for this organization clearly love these animals and make sure that they are a good fit for adopters. Shiloh is the very best dog I've ever known. Everyone falls in love with him. He's just a kind, gentle sole. Our lives were so boring before he joined our family. I will never look anywhere else for a dog again.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan 08/13/2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a positive review, we really appreciate it!! The dog trainers LOVE to receive updates on the dogs they have trained, so please feel free to send updates and pictures to us so that we may pass them on!!

1 Pat_46

Client Served

Rating: 5

We were looking for a dog after we lost our boxer, and we discovered RPSM. We saw the various dogs available through them, and found our cute Ransom... he had the look of a clown, and sure enough, that's just what he is. The trainers said he wasn't the most brilliant dog, but he sure is lovable... and he knows his tricks really well. We laugh at him every day, and I just appreciate so much what RPSM does to help save these animals that might have been euthanized if they'd been left in the shelters. Thank you, and give the trainers our thanks again for training our Handsome Ransom!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan 08/13/2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a positive review, we really appreciate it!! Please give Ransom a pat on the head from all the RPSM volunteers, we are so happy all is going well.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

after we picked the two dogs we wanted. and things were put into motion for adoption , we started getting up dated on the progress they were making with their training at the cold water prison. this was hand written letters from the prisoners that trained the dogs. i was impressed that the dogs and prisoners lived together during this training.
finally we got the dogs. we were very pleased with the condition, and their behavior.
today we have two dogs i would never give up . they are healthy loyal and obey their commands to the letter. we would highly recommend looking at the dogs with in the prison training system.
by the way the two we got were play buddies at the prison and i have never seen two dogs that played ,slept and ate together so well

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan 08/13/2014

We are so happy that your "kids" are doing so well together and thank you so much for giving rpsm a positive review, we really appreciate it!! Please feel free to send us any updates on the boys, the volunteers and trainers love to hear and see updates on all the dogs that have come through the program!