Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

RedRover

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals, Children & Youth, International, International Relief, Scouting

Mission: RedRover, formerly United Animal Nations (UAN), focuses on bringing animals out of crisis and strengthening the bond between people and animals through a variety of programs, including emergency sheltering, disaster relief services, financial assistance and education.

Target demographics: animals in crisis

Direct beneficiaries per year: nearly 2,000 animals in crisis. In 2013, we deployed RedRover Responders volunteers to help more than 1,300 animals, including those affected by the tornadoes in Moore, Oklahoma. In 2013, we also helped save the lives of more than 650 animals by awarding financial grants to help Good Samaritans, pet owners, animal rescuers and victims of domestic violence care for animals in life-threatening situations

Geographic areas served: U.S. and Canada

Programs: Through RedRover Responders, we shelter and care for animals displaced by natural disasters and other crises, such as criminal seizures and hoarding cases. The RedRover Relief program provides funding to Good Samaritans, animal rescuers, pet owners and victims of domestic violence to help them care for animals in life-threatening situations. The RedRover Readers program helps children explore the bond between people and animals through stories and discussion. Volunteers visit elementary school classrooms, after-school programs, animal shelters and other venues to read to children and lead discussions -- helping children develop critical thinking skills and empathy.

Community Stories

68 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have volunteered with UAN Emergency Animal Rescue Service since 2005. I have deployed three times. Each time I have been impressed byt the professionalism and organizational capabilities of UAN EARS as well as the professionalism and capabilities of my fellow volunteers. Animals are taken care of, volunteers are provided for--I can't ask for much more in a disaster situation. I've never worked harder in my life and been happier about it. We make a difference--a HUGE difference.

6

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Volunteering for UAN's EARS (Emergency Animal Rescue Service) gives me a sense of purpose and hopefulness. With all the inhumanity in the world (towards people as well as animals) it's good to know organizations like UAN exist and that they are working hard to bring kindness and second chances to animals in need.

6 farley123

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have only been able to volunteer one time with UAN so far, but I have to tell you I was greatly impressed with the professionalism, dedication, love and care given to the dogs! This is a great organization that I am proud to be a part of. I was impressed with all of the volunteers and leaders on my deployment. What a great group of people!!

8

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been a volunteer with United Animal Nations since 2007. UAN provides training and resources to ensure that we are well-prepared to respond to emergencies involving animals. Communication is excellent, and all emergency deployments are well-planned, organized and very efficient. I always feel safe and supported while volunteering. Emotions can run very high when working with animals in distress or witnessing scenes of animal cruelty and neglect, and UAN ensures that volunteers are provided with debriefing opportunities as needed. This is an excellent organization that has developed an effective system for helping animals in crisis.

8

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am so honored to be a part of this team of volunteers that removes animals from crises, and moves them into an environment of care, both physically and mentally. These volunteers literally work through the filth and the elements, whether caused by mother nature or by humans. They bring about the care to tend wounds and illness and give hope that these creatures (any species) will be able to live out a natural life with their needs being met. This group melds into all areas, and works with any legitimate animal charity or law enforcement agency that requests their help. It is comprised of volunteers from all walks of life, who pay their own way to be able to make a difference. These people do not turn up their noses when they see unfathomable circumstances. They respond without hesitation to get the job done. Their willingness to work in harmony is a true tribute to mankind's abilities to adapt. If this attitude were to spread, this world would be such a better place. Imagine........ Please help spread this attitude and expand this group's abilities.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/26/2010

Thanks for the wonderful review and great summary of what our Emergency Animal Rescue Service (EARS) volunteers do!

6

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Without a doubt I can say that UAN is the best non-profit, nearly all volunteer organizagtion which which I have ever worked. I am one of only two EARS volunteers in the state of Delaware, and I believe that I am the only HEAR volunteer from my state. It's a little tough, but I travel over an hour to continue to train with PA EARS, as I aspire to become a first responder. I've had trouble implementing a HEAR program in my state, but will continue to persevere because I believe so strongly in the enormous value of UAN. I am presently using the HEAR recommended books in a pet therapy READ program, and have been astounded at the response of inner city children to humane education. It seems like such a simple concept, combining humane education with reading, but if it were not for the HEAR program of UAN, this wouldn't be happening. I live in an area with a high amount of puppy mills and Michael Vick is a hero to many of the children that I serve. To be able to affect a change in the way these children understand animal and human relationships is astounding and I wouldn't be ablem to do this without UAN. I have not yet been deployed as an EARS volunteer, but have heard the wonderful stories and seen incredible pictures and video. I will continue to train and spread the word about EARS. Each January, I decide which organization to which I should monetarily donate. Not only because I am a volunteer, but also because UAN accomplishes so much with such a small paid staff, it is an easy decision. The dedication of the UAN staff and all the volunteers, as well as the phenomenal number of animals (and people) that it helps, makes UAN the winner of both my money and my time. Thank you.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/26/2010

Thanks for writing a review and for being so involved with our EARS and HEAR programs as a volunteer -- we couldn't do it without you!

7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I just recently completed a deployment to Kern County with UAN/EARS. The experience from beginning to end was a good one. As a volunteer in animal rescue situations, the key is to have an excellent support system, whether it be advanced training, on-site communication about changing conditions or dealing with difficult emotional situations. Throughout, I found the UAN/EARS volunteers and staff both were highly trained and provided the support I needed.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/19/2010

Thanks for your kind words and for helping the animals in Kern County, Heidi!

6

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I first became of aware of UAN/EARS after Hurricane Katrina. They played a vital role in the wellfare of displaced animals by sheltering until permanent arrangements could be made. I attended a training class with UAN/EARS the following year so that I could assist when needed and available. The services that they offer are vital to the safety and well being of our animals. With UAN/EARS being able to step in and shelter large numbers of animals on short notice legal authorities are able to step up and take action against animal cruelty, hoarding and puppy mills in their areas. Without UAN/EARS many of these legal authorities would not act because they do not have the persnonnel or services to care for the animals post seizure. UAN/EARS also protects people and animals after natural disasters by sheltering and keeping the animals off the streets and out of danger.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/19/2010

Thanks for taking the time to write this detailed, review, Connie! We appreciate you being part of UAN's Emergency Animal Rescue Service (EARS) volunteer team and helping animal victims of natural disasters and neglect.

6

Volunteer

Rating: 5

United Animal Nations is a terrific nonprofit. With a small and very dedicated and efficient staff, and thousands of volunteers, they deploy personnel to create and manage emergency animals shelters during natural disasters or for animals rescued in connection with criminal proceedings. They typically partner with another larger nonprofit, such as Humane Society of the United States, which retains EARS to create and run the emergency shelter. The work is very rewarding, and UAN is great to its volunteers.

8

Volunteer

Rating: 5

UAN first came to my attention after they sheltered over hundred dogs rescued from a puppy mill. I was interested immediately and looked for them online to learn more. Their website showed me all the ways UAN works to help animals and the people who love them. They reach out to youngsters through reading programs such as HEAR (Humane Education Ambassador Readers). UAN offers money for emergency veterinary services through Lifeline grants. I liked that they serve a broad range of animals in need. They work for livestock as well as pets. It was their emergency animal rescue service (EARS) that really piqued my interest, so much so that I took their training to be part of a sheltering team. From what I learned that weekend, it appears that UAN is a highly organized group that performs at a moment's notice to help any animals in need. Be it a storm, earthquake, fire or the neglect of human keepers UAN is ready to step in and comfort the creatures with whom we share our lives. I am happy to support UAN's multiple missions - and - I hope that I never need to use my EARS training in the field.

7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This group is a wonderful, under appreciated group of volunteers who spend their own money to help care for and shelter animals in not only disasters but also rescues and seizures from law enforcement groups. I am proud to be a member of EARS!

7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I was only a volunteer a few years, but was unable to deploy due to my job obligations. However, I was always kept up-to-date and enjoyed seeing where everyone needed to go. Absolutely a great organization!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/17/2010

Thanks for the review, Darlene. We are sorry you were never able to deploy as an EARS volunteer, but we're glad you are still following our work and supporting UAN!

7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

UAN staff and other volunteers are selfless, caring individuals who work quietly and for the most part, out of the limelight to save helpless animals out of cruel and dangerous situations. They work at their own expense, asking nothing more than the opportunity to pave the way to a safer, happier life for animals, one pet at the time.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/16/2010

Thanks for your positive feedback, Pat. Volunteers like you are truly the heart and soul of the Emergency Animal Rescue Service (EARS) program!

7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This completely changed my outlook on rescue and made me feel like I was making a huge difference in many lives at once. I've learned skills that have made me more adaptable, hardy, smart, and determined. I've pulled those skills into running the local rescue I volunteer with. I've expanded my horizons far beyond where I was before I started this endeavor.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/16/2010

Thanks for the review, Brian. We sure appreciate the expertise and compassion you have brought to our EARS deployments!

7

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I attended their training in 2007 and had several opportunities to deploy. Finally all was alligned to allow me to deploy last week. From the moment you respond you are available, you have someone you may reach out to with questions. They direct you to an area on their website with helpful information about deployments. They have a manual to review. Once you arrive at the designated location, there is someone to direct you. Considering the circumstances, they are very organized. They also make decisions that are best for the animals, which is important. This orgnaization really appears to have the drill down to perfection and works well with other organizations. I was proud to be affiliated with them. I also learned about the other areas they help such as their H.E.A.R.S. PROGRAM, and their Lifeline program. Lifeline not only helps to pay for emergency vet bills, but I learned they help victims of domestic violence that need help with their pets.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/16/2010

Thanks for your kind words, Brenda. We’re glad you were able to deploy recently and that it was a good experience for you! We noticed that you rated us 4/5 stars. Is there anything we can do to improve and receive 5 stars? We would love to hear suggestions!

7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It was my first deployment for United Animal Nations. I did not know what to expect. What I found was an extremely well organized, well run temporary animal shelter housing over 300 small breed dogs rescued from a puppy mill in North Carolina. All the volunteers were friendly, informative, helpful, and busy! Not too busy, though, to take a break from whatever they were doing to visit with, walk, cuddle, or play with dogs throughout the work day. The hours were long and it is challenging, but everyone was upbeat and excited about the good work that was going on. United Animal Nations is comprised of people who are passionate about what they do and it is contagious! Great organization! Great cause!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/16/2010

Wow, thanks for posting such a positive review, Lisa! We are grateful to have you on our amazing EARS volunteer team. If anyone wants to read more about the puppy mill rescue Lisa described and see photos, check out our Web site and Emergency Response Blog

7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

UAN is by far one of the most important animal welfare organizations out there! UAN has trained some of the most hardworking and caring volunteers I have ever had the pleasure working with. They know exactly what to do and how to do it. After just one day in the care of the volunteers, the animals have gone from scared and hopeless to happy and waggy. UAN has their stuff together!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/16/2010

We are proud to have you as part of our EARS volunteer team -- thanks for posting a review!

7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

UAN does a fantastic job of preparing their volunteers for deployment and in communicating with their volunteers. After attending a workshop, I knew what to expect upon deployment. When opportunities to deploy come up, the emails are clear and accurate. As the situations change, volunteers are informed. In the field, there's always the potential for things to become overwhelming and emotional. To help avoid this, volunteers receive briefings every morning before work begins and are debriefed at the end of the day. Team leaders are sensitive to the volunteers' physical and emotional needs. After we all go home there's always a post-deployment conference call where check in with each other and discuss how things went, how we are feeling, and how we might do better next time. As an EARS volunteer since December of 2007 (first deployed in February 2008) I have met some amazing people. I believe I'm a better advocate for animals than I was 3 years ago, thanks to my experiences with UAN.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/16/2010

Thanks for being part of our EARS volunteer team and being there for the animals when they need you most, Caryn! If anyone wants to read about the Arkansas puppy mill response Caryn posted photos of, please visit our Web site and Emergency Response Blog here: http://www.uan.org/index.cfm?navid=639

5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

UAN (the redshirts!) is both an animal-welfare and human welfare organization. This was especially evident on a deployment to Cedar Rapids, Iowa to shelter animals displaced by the floods, or temporarily relinquished to UAN because of flooded homes. Stranded pets were rescued, injured pets treated, and homeless pets were housed, fed, groomed. And, pet owners were able to stop in, see their pets, and play with them in UAN-built fenced areas until they were able to get back into their homes. While no one wants to ever be separated from their pets, they were eternally grateful they had a group of UAN volunteers who provided round the clock care for them, and helped get displaced pets back to their loving homes.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

RedRover 07/16/2010

Thanks for writing this review and for volunteering to help the animal and human victims of the Cedar Rapids flood!

8

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Just under one year ago, I began volunteering with United Animal Nations as a Humane Education Ambassador Reader (H.E.A.R.). The experiences I have had reading to school children, and discussing compassion and empathy has been invaluable and tremendously rewarding. Not only has volunteering with United Animal Nations helped me transform from a person wanting to help animals to someone who IS helping animals.