Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Project Medishare for Haiti Inc

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Community Health Systems, Health, International, International Development

Mission: Driven by our belief that healthcare is a fundamental human right, Project Medishare empowers Haitians to provide and receive access to quality healthcare. We share our knowledge and resources with local partners to improve health infrastructure and strengthen the skills of medical professionals. Our programs are community-based and Haitian led.

Target demographics: Empower Haitians to provide and receive access to quality healthcare

Direct beneficiaries per year: More than 80,000 people

Geographic areas served: Port-au-Prince and the Central Plateau in Haiti

Programs: Community Health, Maternal Health, Child Health and Nutrition, and Medical Training and Education.

Community Stories

15 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1 Margie Gerena L.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am Dr. Margie Gerena Lewis or Dr. Margie. The people of Haiti are warm and caring. In many ways, they remind me of Puerto Rico my home. I immediately felt at home and welcome when I arrived to Haiti. I had the privilege to participate as a volunteer physician with Project Medishare this past July, 2017 and I know I will be back. The needs are great. However, their contagious passion to continue to improve, to grow, and to build up a much needed health care system are definitely present in the daily actions of all the staff members at Bernards Mevs Hospital and Medishare. I learned through them that perseverance, grit, and hope for a better future are intertwined and needed to build dreams. Nothing worth fighting for comes easily. I hope I never forget those words again. Keep moving forward. Pa'lante! Never give up. I am eternally grateful to all of them my new friends and colleagues. Hasta pronto! à bientôt!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/23/2017

Dr. Margie: Thank you for taking the time to leave this well thought out review. Positive comments like yours are what keep us motivated to continue doing or work. We would not have accomplished so much without the help of volunteers like you!

1 Summer B.1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I’ve been a volunteer twice now with Project Medishare and within the two years I’ve worked with them they have done amazing work for Bernard Mevs and has grown exponentially. My first trip I was only able to stay one week and of course it was life changing in which I needed to return. This recent trip I was able to stay for two weeks and of course I feel that when I return I need to stay longer. I am so happy to have found Project Medishare as they are doing wonderful work in Haiti.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/24/2017

Summer, you have made such an impact. Thank you for donating your time and skills to the people of Haiti!

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

When I was a medical student I worked with Project Medishare and lived at Bernard Mevs Hospital for several months. It was one of the greatest learning experiences I've ever had. Haiti is a truly fascinating country. It's people are interesting and loving, the history is deep and moving, and the medical care Bernard Mevs delivers is so incredibly needed. It was such an amazing experience to start to understand the strides the country is making and to directly work with people who need and cherish the care Bernard Mevs provides. During my five months there, I saw many volunteers come to Haiti and have their minds opened. In a world that needs a little change, this was what my heart needed -- a call to challenge myself to make it better. Cherie Haiti. -- Dr. M, Atlanta, GA, USA

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/20/2017

Dr. M, We are thrilled to read about your experience in Haiti - indeed it is a very special place. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it!

2

Volunteer

Rating: 4

Project Medishare at Hospital Benard Mevs is incredible. I have volunteered there twice, and each experience is more wonderful. The Haitian staff is very welcoming and helpful. The Medishare staff on site is amazing, and makes the trip so easy. They truly care about each volunteer. The work done to help the people of Haiti by both staff and the volunteers is beyond words. I highly recommend volunteering at this hospital through Project Medishare.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 4

The first time I went to Project Medishare in Haiti I went with a co-worker that had never been on a humanitarian trip before. The experience was amazing. The value that volunteers bring with their experience in their respective fields from R.R.T.'s , R.N., P.T., M.D. to help in the education of skill sets for the Hatian staff was amazing. Though I must admit every time I go on these trips I always leave with so much more than I came with. I know I will be returning. Hopefully with another co-worker that wants to experience the amazing feeling of sharing knowledge. My rolling duffel is always filled with donated supplies that are difficult to come by in other countries, yet so basic such as tape to enable one to do their job. The hospital has staff that coordinates the volunteers and are on site at all times, they are amazing at what they do. I would encourage everyone to think about going to Project Medishare to share your skill sets in your field, you will in, return receive more than you could ever expect. Fritz Perry R.R.T., N.P.S.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/20/2017

Fritz, We are so happy to read about the wonderful experience you had volunteering with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review so that others may also learn of the work we are doing. Volunteers like you are helping us save lives. Thank you!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Project Medishare provides significant healthcare and health infrastructure in rural and urban communities in Haiti. What drew me to this organization is their focus on capacity building. One of their goals is to help locals become truly self sufficient. The staff, whether it is the administrators or medical professionals genuinely care and put their all into the work they perform. Volunteers come wanting to make a difference, and the fact that they come back time and time again is evidence that they feel their contributions are valued and needed. Some of the most vulnerable patient populations receive what is sometimes the life-saving care that they need. As this organization continues to grow, I could only imagine what continued tremendous long-lasting impact it will have in Haiti for years to come.

I love this organization! I believe in everything they stand for and I cannot wait to come back as a volunteer in the future!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/20/2017

Rose, It's so uplifting when we read reviews like these! Thank you for believing in our mission and donating your time and skills to us. We can't wait to have you volunteer with us again.

3 Sam A.1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been to Haiti multiple times with Project Medishare at Hospital Bernard Mevs in Port au Prince. It has been an amazing experience, and the work done by this organization and the hospital it supports is phenomenal. When I first started there in 2010, there were virtually no Haitian physicians capable of staffing the ER. Over the years, the hospital has grown, and the staff is now simply amazing. Haitian Physicians now staff the ER 24/7, and they are outstanding. the nursing staff in all the departments is fantastic. They too have come a long way in 7 years. There is a pediatric residency there that just graduated their first class of pediatricins. This has been such an amazing contributionto healthcare in Haiti. Overall, Project medishare is an amazing NGO, and has contributed a great deal to improving the life and health of the people of haiti.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/20/2017

Sam, You have been an invaluable asset to us, and we sure have come a long way together! Thank you for your continued support, it means so much to both the team at Project Medishare and the staff at Hospital Bernard Mevs.

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I went an volunteered with Project Medishare at Hospital Bernard Mevs multiple times from 2010 to 2012, and then again in 2015. They have come such a long way ! It is a great organization that is very used to having volunteers filter through. Their core management has been in Haiti for a long time and are used to keeping things flowing smoothly. Will definitely work there again. The longer you stay the better it is !

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/24/2017

Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you've had multiple positive experiences volunteering with us. Comments like yours keep us motivated to continue doing our work.

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I volunteered with this NGO for the first time this past May and it was one of the most eye opening experiences of my life. The passion and genuine work being done here (from local Haitian staff to international volunteers) is evident, and the resourcefulness of everyone to help the patients was amazing to see. It made me want to give more, to do more, to help more. I'll definitely continue to come back and donate. Great organization!

DaLisa Delk, BSN RN OCN

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/24/2017

DaLisa, we are so fortunate to have the support of such talented individuals such as yourself. Thank you for taking the time to volunteer, and to leave this review about your experience. We'd love to have you again!

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have both donated to and volunteered with this organization for years now and I can say without a doubt it is the best non-profit organizations I have ever worked or volunteered for. They truly care about building local capacity and helping Haiti become more sustainable. They are an incredibly ethical organization and you can truly see the impact your donations are making. I would fully recommend this organization to anyone.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/24/2017

Thank you! Your review means a lot to us. We've only been able to accomplish so much thanks to the support of dedicated volunteers like yourself.

4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been a volunteer for years with this outstanding charity. One of the few dedicated to building local capacity, and has demonstrated that ability successfully.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/20/2017

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. Thank you for believing in our mission, we couldn't have accomplished so much without dedicated volunteers like you.

5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I went to Haiti with Project Medishare on an extended volunteer trip to offer my services pro-bono to their medical efforts. They are making an impact on so many levels in Haiti that I left after my trip wondering what more I could do to contribute to their cause. They have Haitian staffed and run trauma programs that, from what I was told, were all run by foreign volunteers after the earthquake, so they have really come a long way and continue to employ hundreds of Haitians in their various programs around the country. I wish more people knew about this incredible organization because it seems like they fly under the radar way too much compared to the impact and the work that they are doing. I would highly recommend going on a volunteer trip with them if you can, and definitely contribute to the cause. It was obvious from being in Haiti that they are making an impact on a large scale with less funding than most other organizations who do half the work that they do.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Team Project Medishare 10/24/2017

We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful words. It means so much to us to read these comments! We are so fortunate to have the amazing support of some many talented individuals. Thank you for being part of our volunteer network - we have not accomplished all of this on our own.

4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I had the great privilege of volunteering last month in Haiti with this organization for the 5th time since the earthquake, and every time I go to Haiti, I am even more impressed than the last time at their incredible operation. They have created a state of the art medical facility on par with trauma hospitals in the US with just a tiny fraction of the resources. Talk about making something out of nothing—Project Medishare has accomplished this with very limited resources, and a lot of times, they rely on us volunteers to pull the weight of helping with fundraising for their lifesaving efforts, which we are always happy to do. I’m so impressed by their ability to train the Haitian staff so that they are now totally running the hospital thanks to trauma care training over the last 4 years, unlike right after the earthquake, when the medical care was given by us US-based medical volunteers. Most of the patients we saw during our volunteer deployment to train the Haitian medical staff would not have survived if not for Project Medishare’s trauma hospital, which I learned this trip is still the only trauma and critical care hospital in the country. It is really amazing what they are doing day in and day out at this place, and I encourage you to visit if given the opportunity because this experienced has changed my life, and opened my eyes up to the work of this grassroots organization that does so much more than any of the major organizations working in Haiti despite having a lot less resources.

Review from Guidestar

7

Volunteer

Rating: 1

This organization is great at hiding the truth about who they truly are and where they really have spent the millions of dollars they raised on behalf of the Haitian people. I volunteered with them several times and the more I went the more it was obvious that University of Miami bigwigs were taking advantage of the poor for their own PR. Funds have been used for salaries of UM doctors when they could hire more local doctors. It is a big scam!!!! Lastly, I personally witnessed the so called founder, Dr. Barth Green, screaming at people one moment then flirting with every young woman he could. Sad !!!

6

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Just returned from a week working at the Project Medishare Hospital in Haiti. I can confirm that they are 100% engaged in providing quality medical care in the most difficult of environments. They are focused on their mission and use their resources appropriately. The need will continue for decades.