Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Pearl S. Buck International, Inc.

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Arts & Culture, Cultural & Ethnic Awareness, International, International Development, International Relief

Mission: Pearl S. Buck International provides opportunities to explore and appreciate other cultures, builds better lives for children around the globe and promotes the legacy of our founder by preserving and interpreting her National Historic Landmark home.

Target demographics: Build a global community

Direct beneficiaries per year: 66,000 international families and 21,000 local program participants and visitors

Geographic areas served: Philippines, Vietnam, Thailand, Korea, China, Taiwan, United States

Programs: International programs for children, educational and multicultural programs at the Pearl S. Buck House Museum and National Historic Landmark Site

Community Stories

16 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

4 DBallai

Board Member

Rating: 5

I've been closely involved with PSBI for more than a decade, and have watched this fine organization serve the needs of disadvantaged children/families abroad for many years. In 2012, I traveled to Vietnam/Cambodia with members of PSBI. During our trip, we visited several schools/orphanages, with one in particular serving handicapped children literally discarded by the people of Vietnam. As we toured the facility where the youngest infants were crammed into cribs, we saw a volunteer aid worker bandaging the hands and feet of several babies. When asked about this, the reply; "at night, large rats come in through the open windows and chew on their fleshy fingers and toes." What did PSBI do when they learned about this? They marshaled their high school leadership students who then worked in collaboration with PSBI to fund screens for the doors and windows protecting the children from further injury. This is just one small example of the myriad services PSBI provides in caring for the needs of the disadvantaged, while promoting the vision of Pearl Buck in teaching culture sensitivity to those who have. This organization deserves recognition and support in order to continue to help those in need, and I'm proud to play a very small part in their aide to others. The attached photo doesn't begin to demonstrate the standard of living of children in so many parts of the world, including those we visited in Cambodia. PSBI is making a difference.

Comments ( 1 )

pearlsbuck Thank you, Dave. Your testimonial is powerful and important. We are so appreciative of you putting your experiences into words and sharing it on GreatNonprofits. We’re even more appreciative of all you have contributed and continue to contribute to Pearl S. Buck International and the needs of disadvantaged children abroad.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

30 plus years ago my husband and I were trying to decide how to change our Christmas giving to each other .. we had everything we wanted and instead of trying to "just come up with a gift" for each other we wanted to do something for someone else that would really impact their life. We started researching and my husband recalled his time in the service in Korea and the terrible plight of the Amerasian children there when we came across the Pearl S. Buck Foundation as it was called then. So we decided to make sponsoring a child our Christmas gift to each other. We did that for 12 years or so and then after he died I continued as a Champion of Children and made annual donations in his memory. I still do carry on and know what a difference it has made through the years for the children recipients.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

pearlsbuck 09/28/2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share details of your 30 plus years of compassionate donations to children in need through Pearl S. Buck International. You and your late husband have made an enormous difference. We appreciate you.

3

Donor

Rating: 5

I've been giving monthly support to 1-3 children since 1965 Christmas. Letters back and forth are wonderful. The few dollars each month can totally change the child's life and help the entire family! Administration fees are very low. I am now donating to general emergency area so no letters but we get emails telling how our money influenced who and how many. Wonderful organization. Only organization I've never stopped supporting! Donna Dawson, 404 West Day Street, Paullina, Iowa 51046

Comments ( 1 )

profile

pearlsbuck 08/16/2017

Thank you for your review. Thank you also for your compassionate generosity in sponsoring children through the Sponsor a Child program since 1965 ... and now donating as a Champion for Children to the vital emergency humanitarian work we do. You have made a difference. We appreciate you.

4

Donor

Rating: 5

I have been sponsoring two children through Pearl S. Buck International and contributing to some of its life-saving projects for many years. I have the greatest admiration for the outstanding work of Pearl S. Buck and her legacy, and I congratulate her Foundation for carrying on her ideals to perfection.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

pearlsbuck 08/10/2017

Thank you for your review ... and for your compassionate generosity in sponsoring two children through the Sponsor a Child program at Pearl S. Buck International. You have made a difference. We appreciate you.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

Becoming a sponsor of children through Pearl S buck opened my eyes to the wonderful children of the Philippines. This last February we traveled as a group there and we not only able to meet them, but also visited their homes and families. Today I sponsor three children and look forward to my next trip.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

pearlsbuck 08/08/2017

Thank you for your review, your touching picture, and for sharing the story of your involvement with Pearl S. Buck International as a child sponsor of multiple children. You have made a difference. We appreciate you.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

We have been sponsoring children through Pearl Buck International, Inc since 1988, one year after adopting our first child from South Korea. We believe in the mission and success and commitment of the organization to children and their families all over the world. Our part has been small but we know that Pearl Buck is making a huge difference in the lives of so many children. Thank you, Pearl Buck International!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

pearlsbuck 08/08/2017

Thank you for your endorsement ... and for sharing the story of your involvement as a child sponsor for so many years. You have made a difference. We appreciate you.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

This charity goes the extra step to allow sponsors to help their child (or children). That personal touch makes a difference to the child and sponsor. It is hugely important to me that I can go above and beyond sponsorship and provide extra help to my child, along with frequent communication.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

pearlsbuck 08/08/2017

Thank you for your endorsement ... and for sharing the story of your involvement as a child sponsor. You have made an important difference. We appreciate you.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

I WAS FORTUNATE TO HAVE LIVED AND WORKED IN THE PHILIPPINES FOR ELEVEN YEARS, AND AS SUCH, SAW FIRST HAND THE FABULOUS JOB PEARL BUCK WAS DOING TO HELP EDUCATE AND FURTHER SUPPORT(CLOTHING, FOOD) THE CHILDREN, MOSTLY AMERASIAN, OF THE AREA I LIVED. IT WAS DIFFICULT FOR THESE LIGHT-SKINNED CHILDREN TO LIVE A NORMAL CHILDHOOD DUE TO THEM BEING HARASSED AND ABUSED BY THEIR FELLOW PILIPINO PLAYMATES. IN THE ENVIRONMENT OF PEARL BUCK THEY WERE TREATED AS EQUALS, AND THE OTHER CHILDREN LEARNED TO ACCEPT THEM. THESE CHILDREN WOULD HAVE A VERY DIFFICULT TIME GROWING UP HAD IT NOT BEEN FOR PEARL BUCK'S ORGANIZATION.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

pearlsbuck 08/08/2017

Thank you for your endorsement ... and for sharing this touching story of the difference Pearl S. Buck International has made in the lives of Filipino children. We appreciate you.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

We loving being able to help our sponsor child. Pearl S Buck International gives us a safe and trusted way to help others. Thanks

Comments ( 1 )

profile

pearlsbuck 08/08/2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide an endorsement ... and to share what sponsoring a child means to you. We appreciate you.

4

Donor

Rating: 5

I have nothing but good things to say about Pearl S. Buck International. I have visited several times, and I am always impressed by the organization's dedication to the memory of Pearl S. Buck, to keeping her words and values alive. In continuing Pearl's mission of helping the underprivileged children of the world, they are truly doing their part to make this world a better and more humane place for all of us. I am sponsoring a child in a Vietnamese orphanage, and it brings me joy to see her flourish under the program.

4

Donor

Rating: 5

Can you go wrong by helping an organization which benefits children? The story of Pearl Buck lives on in her ongoing legacy of building bridges across oceans.

6 Joan48

Donor

Rating: 5

Pearl S. Buck International literally saved my life! Fifty years ago I was living in an orphanage in Seoul, Korea - abandoned at birth on a doorstep, I was fortunate to be taken to a Christian orphanage that cared for me my first 4 years of life. And then through the Pearl S. Buck adoption program, I became a "chosen child"! Yes, that is how my American family of 6 referred to my adoption - they chose me because they really wanted another child. Today, with the love of my adopted family, I have the privilege of being a wife, mother, and professional nurse. None of this would have been possible without Pearl S. Buck International. They are literally saving the lives of children like me every day, every year. My only wish is that I had millions of dollars to donate to the organization. The mission and work of PSBI is amazing!

5

Donor

Rating: 5

My involvement PSBI is all because of the volunteers. Because of their enthusiasm, I have willing donated my art and ideas to help in their ongoing efforts to raise money to benefit the organization's mission. The professionalism of the volunteers is truly inspiring as they work in concert with a dedicated staff.

4 Rick40

Donor

Rating: 5

My wife, Norma, and I have been involved with PSBI since our organization, the Filipino American Association of Bucks County, Inc. started sponsoring children from the Philippines in 1988. However, Pearl 's legacy gave us even a new meaning and profound impact when we started visiting the children and witnessed firsthand the difference it made . Not only did the children's lives change tremendously but the whole family too. For a small amount of money, a whole new world was open to them . Norma has been on the board for 10 years now and is honored and proud to be part of this wonderful organization with the best staff under the leadership of Janet Mintzer, CEO.

4 Shirley20

Donor

Rating: 5

I am honored to be involved with this wonderful non-profit organization. I have volunteered, sponsor a child from Thailand, have an ongoing commitment to financially contribute, and attend many functions throughout each year. The staff and volunteers under the outstanding leadership of Janet Mintzer, are extremely dedicated, professional and promote the mission and legacy of Pearl S. Buck to the fullest. One of the best non-profit organizations!

2

Donor

Rating: 5

PSBI is an incredible foundation. Janet Mintzer (CEO/President) has dedicated her time and energy to help continue Peal Buck's Legacy. Her leadership and her staff are terrific all around. We sponsor a child from Thailand, have a nephew that will be participating in the Korean Culture Camp next week, we are Corporate Sponsors, and have helped with the Legacy Tour promotions. I have attended and helped with many events at PSBI and find the attendees have nothing but praise to say about the grounds and the employees at PSBI. This organization is run like a real non-profit should be run...responsibly...Congrads to all the employees and the volunteers at this organization...your work is incredible

3

Donor

Rating: 5

I will admit bias, I worked for Pearl for a year in '04-05. Aside from all the good work the organization does in this world, there is one greater good here: This is an organization dedicated to an amazing woman. How many organizations are there out there dedicated to the legacy of a woman? Not many. This is one of them. She was not only globally recognized - she was globally focused. If they had more money, the good that PSBI could do in this world is without bounds. The worth of an organization is in its ability to touch the lives of specific individuals. Research them and discover.