Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

OwieBowWowie and Friends Foundation

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Philanthropy, Public Foundations

Mission: To Comfort the hurts and hearts of children who are hospitalized and alone.

Results: Since 2010 we have donated over 2,000 Owie BowWowie to hospitalized children all over the United States, but to continue giving... we need your help. Comfort is love in action, and it will take many of us to ensure that not one of the 20 million hospitalized children (per year) are forgotten.

Target demographics: Children who are hospitalized with a life-threatening illness.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Northridge Hospital

Geographic areas served: Northridge Hospital, Loma Linda Medical Center, Childrens Hospital Los Angeles, and many others!

Programs: We have many programs designed for specific needs. Please contact us if you would like to know more about ways in which we can help you to give.

Community Stories

17 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Angie79

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Gina and I have been friends for twenty years. She was there for me when my 13 year old son died from cancer. Part of owie comes from kyle's story. Gina has more than a heart of gold, she is gold!! What she has developed for hospitalized children is amazing. She has sacrificed so much and given her all to make Owie a loving lasting reminder of good in this world.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

It was my honor to meet Gina Gippner Woods just over 9 years ago at an event which helped to showcase our Snowball Express mission for the children of our fallen. She is one of the warmest most sincere individuals I have ever met. She took it upon herself to hand make 5 quilts showcasing handprints of some of our heroes children which we were able to present to our major sponsors including Oakley Corporation. Her efforts to bring joy and comfort to sick and ailing children through her work with OwieBowWowie is priceless and speaks volumes to her character and passion. I am proud to call her friend. ONWARD! Trisha Marshall, National Gold Star Family Director for American Fallen Warrior Memorial Foundation. AFWMF.org

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 11/03/2014

THANK YOU for all that you do also!

1 Gina66

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

We all know a stay in the hospital can be frightening. As a grandmother of a toddler who needed an extended stay in the hospital, we found it extremely important to try to create an atmosphere that was friendly and non-intimidating for our precious guy. OwieBowWowie helps to do just that. Not every child has the joy of a family standing by his or her side during a hospitalization. Smiles can be far and few between. Imagine the joy of a cuddly stuffed animal waiting just for you when you least expect it! The tenacious love and dedicated efforts behind OwieBowWowie create magical moments for children in pain. Kudos to this foundation!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/31/2014

Thank you!

1 Lorri M.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

My name is Lorri Ann McKinney and I am writing to you today in regard to OwieBowWowie and Gina Gippner-Woods... simply amazing..not only to myself personally but to all the children helped by her totally selfless acts of kindness and generosity. Gina and I have become acquainted through our Pomeranian adoption agency ( The 4legged showgirl society) and hope to do a project together in the future that benefits both the children and dogs..thank you for your time.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

Thank you! Looking forward to working with you!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Several years ago I crossed paths with Gina. Her personal story and her tenacity both in her own life and her life helping others was nothing short of humbling. It was obvious that her own personal experiences had a profound affect on her life and her future.

To think that something as simple as a stuffed doggie could lift the spirits of a cancer patient in such a profound way. Her faith and her ambition have changed lives......saved lives, and offered happiness in this simple stuffed animal. To realize that loneliness can be eliminated or at least lessened with a new companion, a 'OwieBowWowie' was all it took to set Gina on a path to reach as many children as she could, and she has done just that. She has touched a myriad of lives, the children and their families. She is a blessing to all who know her and come in contact with her. May God continue to bless her in this godly endeavor.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2 Cherie M.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Gina is it ambitious and tireless worker for Owie Bow Wowie. Having been a former employee in the medical field I can tell you what a gift she provides. When a child is suffering in the hospital and someone gives them a puppy who has owies like they do, you can't comprehend the good that does. It gives them a reason to smile, a companion and a connection. Anyone looking to donate to a cause this is it. Gina is a woman of Faith and trust worthy your donations go directly to the children. All her energy goes to this cause. Thank you for being such a bright light in a dark world

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1 Richard59

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

OwieBowWowie is on a mission of love and compassion. As a former veterinarian I am aware of the beneficial effects of pets for kids development, for health and well-being. Owie is the next best thing to owning a pet - always faithful, loyal, loving, caring, non-judgmental, always there.

My prayer is that more would capture the vision and mission of Owie that he will be an ambassador and healer for kids around the world.

Be Pawsome!
Dr Richard Norris

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

It all started with an invitation to an online home business party to raise money for a Marine family stationed in Hawaii. The wife was expecting their third baby. The ordeals, scares, anxiousness, and fears were mounting daily. Due to some unexpected difficulty with the developing baby, Mom was sent to San Diego's Naval Hospital. She was alone, separated from her husband and sons as well as extended family. I thought, how can we help her? We sent care packages, love notes... and then along came Owie! He and his blanket became a source of comfort to the entire family! I will let Mom tell her story should she choose to do so. But!! If you know Gina, my friend and my Cali Sis, not only did Owie come into the picture, but all the love that Owie could hold in his heart! God bless you, Gina and our wonderful Owie! MamaLinda

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2 Felicia5

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I have known Gina the CEO of OwieBowWowie for a very long time. Gina is a very special person with a huge caring & loving heart. She not only sends Owie to children to help with their illnesses but adults as well. Gina has created an amazing & healing thing by sharing Owie with others.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

OwieBowWowie & Friends Foundation is a wonderful. It help children who are sick. Owie comforts them. It is a very compassionate foundation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I have known Gina for years and I know how much she cares for children. She has made bringing sick children comfort her life mission.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1 Debi D.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Gina reached out to me to write about our son marine Lcpl Nick Daniels KIA 11/5/11. It seems like whole country has forgotten him and she hasn't.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU! ALWAYS PRAYING FOR YOU!

2 Shae G.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

If you have ever seen an OwieBowWowie, or saw what this little dog did for children you would understand how amazing this foundation is. I have seen how this little dog has warmed peoples hearts, and has put a smile on each child's face that has been given this gift of a friend. If you have ever been sick a day in your life you know it's not something you want to go through alone, and this foundation supports just that. The simplicity of comfort is not something we all have, but when you can give a child the comfort of knowing they are not alone how do you not support that? They say a picture is worth a thousand words, but when you see a photo of a child being given the gift of this toy the image itself is speechless. The gift is giving a child something so much more than just a toy. This is such an amazing foundation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1 Lynden B.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing to encourage support for a wonderful Non-profit Organization, ‘Owie BowWowie and Friends,’ created and run by Gina Woods. Gina is a Dear Friend of mine and has worked tirelessly for many years to bring Comfort – through Owie and Friends – to children and adults with life-threatening illnesses. Gina knows first-hand, because of health issues of her own through the years, that just a ‘Touch of Comfort’ makes such a difference to one going through such difficult times. Her creation of Owie and her persistence in working to be able to have ‘him’ available to any and all who need him are truly inspirational! She has continued with her dream through incredibly difficult circumstances of her own, yet I have never known a more positive, caring, loving, giving and dedicated person than Gina.

I would highly recommend your support of this great organization and its continuing efforts to tangibly comfort those who are gravely ill. ‘Owie BowWowie and Friends’ should be able to do what they do best!

Lynden Blossom
An Elegant Touch…

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

When I met Gina Gippner-Woods, the founder of OwieBowWowie, nearly a decade ago, she told me about this idea of helping children in hospitals by giving them a comfort toy that she had designed and named OwieBowWowie. For a financially strapped mom caring for two children at home and worrying about a son in Iraq, OwieBowWowie seemed like a lofty and overly ambitious goal to me. But Gina persevered, buoyed by her faith and her endless compassion for others. She tirelessly pursued her dream even while making comfort quilts for the wives and mothers of fallen soldiers and struggling to provide a home for her children. What most people don't know is that all the while she has been dealing with her own fragile health, threatened by a disease that could shorten her own life. Gina is the driving force that has made OwieBowWowie one of the most generous charitable programs I've seen. Through the generosity of others, OwieBowWowie has become a reality and passes on to children in need the care and compassion required to heal hearts, minds and bodies.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Who doesn't feel compassion for a child in the hospital? Of all the things in life that break our heart, the thought of children suffering is right at the top. OwieBowWowie brings comfort and a smile to a child in pain. When our son was in the hospital for minor surgery we weren't able to sit with him the whole time. A friend brought him a stuffed animal and we watched as he snuggled up and loved it. It was so much easier to leave him with his new "friend" and know he was comforted by the love that came with it. Owie is that friend to so many children. Gina has been gifted with an abundance of love and she leaves a ton of it with every Owie given. Each child who receives an Owie not only has a plush friend, they have a reminder of love. Few things in this world are more important than a reminder of love to a child. That's what Owie and Gina do - they simply love. And we've all heard it before - what the world needs now is LOVE! It's the only thing that there's just too little of.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2 Laura80

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

It is a great work and calling Owie has done and will continue to do. Seeing first hand the smile put on the face of a child left with little hope brought joy to my heart in what was in every other way a sad situation. My prayer is every child who is ill would have an Owie to bring them comfort.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!