Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2018 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Operation Paws for Homes

7,153 pageviews

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animal-Related, Animals, Dogs

Mission: Operation Paws for Homes, Inc. rescues dogs of all breeds and ages from high-kill shelters reducing the numbers being euthanized. Most of our dogs come from rural shelters in South and North Carolina. With limited resources, the shelters are forced to put down anywhere between 50% and 90% of the animals that come in the front door. We also partner with shelters located in Virginia and Maryland. Our organization provides pet adoption services to families located in Virginia, Washington DC, Maryland, Southern Pennsylvania and neighboring states. OPH does not operate a shelter or have a physical location. We rely on foster families who open their homes to give love and attention to each dog before finding a forever home. Through the foster care program, we are able to learn about each dog and their needs and we provide their potential and future adopters with this information. We believe in responsible adoptions and strive to work with each adopter to find a good match for their home and lifestyle. Operation Paws for Homes, a volunteer powered 501(c)(3) organization, is 100% donor funded. We receive no funding from federal, state, or county governments. As a result, we rely on donations and our adoption fees in order to save the dogs in need that join our rescue organization. Our goal is to fulfill the dreams of dogs who find themselves abandoned in shelters. Sadly, without our help, all of these adoptable animals would face almost certain euthanasia - usually within days or hours of arriving at the shelter. Each year we take in hundreds of wonderful animals who were left at shelters by no fault of their own. We work hard to unite them with forever families who will give them the life and love they deserve. Without the dedication of our incredible adopters, fosters, donors, and volunteers, we would be unable to fulfill this dream.

Target demographics: abandoned and unwanted dogs who find themselves alone in shelters

Direct beneficiaries per year: approximately 1,000 dogs find forever homes!

Geographic areas served: animal rescue to assist shelters located in rural areas throughout South and North Carolina, southern Virginia, amazing Potcakes from T&C islands, and some wonderful Desi Dogs from India.

Programs: adoption, fostering and outreach. With limited resources, the shelters are forced to put down anywhere between 50% and 90% of the animals that come in the front door. We also partner with shelters located in Virginia and Maryland. Our organization provides pet adoption services to families located in Virginia, Washington DC, Maryland, Southern Pennsylvania and neighboring states.

Community Stories

189 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

I adopted an 8 week okd puppy and then 10 weeks later adopted a 16 week old puppy. Both adoption experiences were great, easy and thorough. Both fosters, Sheila Cole and Livia McCartney, are amazing women and gave Scout (aka Mustang Sally) and Willow (aka Parthenia) the best head start possible. This rescue agency is managed by my we'll and I have complete trust with them.
I am moving to West Virginia in the summer to a home with 20 acres of land. My dream is to offer a home to dogs in need. I'm excited about this and will work with OPH.

Client Served

Rating: 5

We had been looking for a dog to adopt for several months. This was our final effort when we came upon OPH's post of a Black Lab/Feist mix. What drew us to her was her sweet face. We applied, and the staff and the foster care giver were very helpful and supportive. Fate apparently played a hand, because there was a couple interested before us. However, they changed their minds and on my birthday, we received the email that we could adopt in their place. Two days later we pick her up and using the name we had already picked, Addie, we brought her home. She immediately became a loving member of the family. She's smart, loving, cute, playful and just the best. Her becoming a member of our family is due to the excellent management and assistance of all those at OPH.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

OPH has been amazing in every single way. After processing my application quickly, we talked on the phone for an hour talking about my past experiences, my current living situation, aspirations as a dog owner, and which dogs would be a good fit. They steered me towards Bilbo, and he was the perfect fit. They treat dogs with medical issues which is rare among rescues, and they helped me understand how to take care of a dog after heartworm treatment. They worked incredibly hard to help me find my dream dog and I couldn't be happier!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 09/25/2018

We are beyond thrilled that Bilbo is the perfect addition to your family. We wish you nothing but years of happiness.

1 Amy N.5

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted our furbaby, Selma Mae (formerly Nancy) from OPH four years ago and she has been the absolute best dog for us. She has the sweetest disposition and just naturally goes with the flow. We love her to pieces. From start to finish, the application and adoption process was easy and smooth with clear communication from OPH staff and her foster mom. When Selma tested positive for heartworms a year after adopting her, OPH was right there to aid in getting her treatment and taking care of the costs as we had her on preventatives the whole time. We now live in Kosovo and Selma is here with us too! When we rescued some abandoned puppies from our street, OPH stepped up and found fosters in the states for them. Now, these two Kosovo street pups have forever homes in the US with adoring owners thanks to OPH! I am inspired by the amazing work and dedication of the staff and volunteers at OPH and am considering fostering here in Kosovo to do my part to help the many, many homeless and needy dogs that deserve a chance for a better life. Thank you OPH for all you do!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 09/25/2018

Nothing better than a happy ending!

2 Anne Hall G.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am forever grateful to Debbie Ryder Tindal and OPH for bringing Kaylee in to my life.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

Yes, Debbie is an amazing adoption coordinator!

2 Grace A R.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Because of this amazing organization we added two beautiful, loving, dogs and at least one would have never added to our family without the intervention of OPH getting her the lifesaving medicine for her heartworm.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

Heart worm positive dogs hold a special place with OPH as many rescues will not pull them from the shelters. OPH treats approximately 100 each year! Thank YOU for adding these two adorable dogs to your family!

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have adopted two wonderful dogs from OPH. The volunteer staff is very responsive and is dedicated to finding the right match for you. Not only do they rescue dogs, they support dog shelters with limited means by donating food and other supplies. I could not recommend OPH enough!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

Thank you! We are proud of our community that helps collect donations for our shelter partners. Donations are always welcome - from food to bedding, cleaning supplies, toys and treats.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

My family wanted a rescue dog and we found one we liked on the OPH website. We filled out an application. This nice respectful volunteer contacted me -- She listened to my background, my experience with dogs, asked me some key questions, and helped me to get approved to be a rescuer. I then contacted my dog's foster parent. She drove over an hour to meet me and show me the dog. I fell in love. After the adoption we had some issues introducing my new dog to our cat, and the foster parent was so patient while we worked through it. Finally, I joined the Facebook closed group. It is amazing how many great dog owners there from this organization. The volunteers are so dedicated and genuine. This organization goes to north carolina every 2 weeks and clears out the kill shelters. What a great organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

We are happy that things are going well with your pup and cat. We now have a training initiative for all new adopters to support them during the transition time.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

We love OPH because they helped us find our sweet lab mix Eevee! Everything from the application, to meeting her with her foster family, and completing the adoption process was so easy and they communicated every step in a clear and timely manner. It took us a while to find Eevee, cause puppies get adopted quick, but here we are 4 years later and couldn't be happier. I have recommended OPH to my friends that have expressed interest in adopting in the northern VA area.

3 Randi M.1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was very impressed with the comprehensive adoption process offered by Operation Paws for Homes when I applied to adopt my boy Trevor. The staff was thorough, compassionate, well-informed and extremely professional. The personal commitment these people have to pulling animals from high-intake shelters in order to foster them in their own homes to ensure they get the chance to have a fantastic life is unbelievable (and inspirational). I honestly can't say enough wonderful things about Operation Paws for Homes. Top Notch, these people have great hearts.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

Without loving homes like yours, we couldn't do our job! Thank YOU for adopting!

4 Lauren H.4

Client Served

Rating: 5

Adopting through Operation Paws for Homes was a great experience for us! Our adoption application was processed very quickly, and everyone that we dealt with along the way was very pleasant and helpful. We were able to visit our pup, Thor before adopting him and it was obvious that his foster family was very loving and took great care of him. They gave us a lot of helpful advice and information, and even sent us home with some food, a collar, and some of Thor's favorite toys! Since the adoption, we have kept in touch with some members of the OPH community who are always very eager to receive updates and photos of Thor enjoying his new home. It is very obvious that all of the volunteers are passionate about what they do, and that they will do everything they can to keep these pups healthy and place them in safe homes. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a new dog to adopt through Operation Paws for Homes.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

Not only do our volunteers and fosters love the updates, but so do our shelter partners. They are encouraged by your stories to keep getting the dogs out of the shelter.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

We've had the most wonderful experience with Operation Paws for Homes! I would highly recommend OPH to anyone in the mid-atlantic region looking for a fur-baby. We found them through petfinder and haven't looked back. Once we were approved through OPH we easily chose a pet online from https://ophrescue.org/dogs (a detailed listing of each dog currently fostered or in the process of being rescued, updated daily+) that matched what we were hoping for. We met our pup, Cosmo, who was being fostered less than an hour away. He had gotten sick after being rescued and the foster parents took amazing care of him. We had to wait a week before we could take him home due to his illness, but that gave us plenty of time to prepare our home for our new addition. Cosmo is a wonderful 8 month old black lab (mix?). He must have been owned before he became a stray (he was brought to a shelter in South Carolina at around 7 months old) because he is the most well behaved and easily trained puppy! We are so thankful that OPH saved him from harm and brought him home to us (with a quick stop at a wonderful foster home!).

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

Our Medical Coordinator, Tracy, is amazing and so helpful and patient with our fosters. We're thrilled that Cosmo is doing well and in such a loving home!

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted our little minnie from this organization two years ago. It was a challenge because our little had come from a puppy mill
She is afraid but now has learned to trust us. We love her so much!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

From sad stories come happy endings - so happy for all of you!

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

We found our new little girl trough OPH, and couldn't be happier! I've worked with and adopted from quite a few rescues in the past, and never have I been so impressed! They truly work as a team, making sure the pup is the right fit for the family, making sure you have all of the health and training information you need before bringing the pup home, and the followup support afterwards is wonderful. Annette and Randy did a phenomenal job acclimating our girl to home life with kids, cats and dogs while they fostered her, and her manners are wonderful thanks to them! Our girl has made herself at home and claimed us as hers, and her 4-legged siblings are really doing well with her, too! I can't say enough wonderful things about this team of amazing animal-loving rescuers! The next time we're looking for a new family member, OPH is the first place we'll look!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

Thank you for the kind words! Annette and Randy are truly special people with huge hearts!

2 Jennifer B.7

Client Served

Rating: 5

I grew up in a family with Irish Wolfhounds(4 of them were rescues from national breed organization) & my husband grew up with German Shepherds.... however, we were both open to adoption and I began searching and applying to different rescue organizations in May of 2017! We had a few “standards”, had to be good with kids and other animals as we live on a farm, and we wanted a larger breed dog! Unbeknownst to us the struggle to adopt was harder than we anticipated ... we found our family rejected 5 times ( 2 because we have a young child, 1 because we live on a farm, 1 because I work out of the home ONE day a week, & the final one was when our Barn cat didn’t show up on our vet reference as being spayed.... she’s tipped=visibly spayed!) None of the other rescues took into account that I had trained/handled large breed dogs my whole life or that I am a certified vet assistant... I have more animal experience than your average pet owner, yet We were deemed unfit. I had all but given up on adopting our perfect companion until I found OPH.... not all rescues are as awesome as them! & my veterinarian actually turned me off of a 6th rescue that I was considering going through, as he described them as basically a million dollar puppy mill Operation that abandoned the mom’s.... I love that OPH always tries to get the moms and place them too! As far as my adopted guy, my vet described him as “as close to puppy perfect you can get”... that’s a testament to the amazing care he received once he arrived at Laurie’s since his whole litter came in infested with parasites and had heart murmurs because of them-most of them outgrew them! OPH also worked with us to find a good fit for our farm life and understood my desire to adopt a certain pup that came in from an Irish Wolfhound mom (Dad unknown!). I am forever grateful for OPH!! Our Saxby isn’t as big as we thought he was going to be, but he is sooo wonderful and my son tells him every day that he is his best friend!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

OPHRescue1 08/08/2018

Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to report that your pup's momma is now living at Laurie's full time. She's feral and not adoptable at this time, but we didn't give up on her! On the plus side - no more pups for her!

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

We lost our lab to cancer almost one year ago. It took us that long to realize that we still had a lot of love to give a dog. I found OPH from their website. At first we were interested in another lab, but were not far enough into the adoption process to get her. We looked for two nights at the adoptable dogs and kept coming back to Treeter (who has since be renamed to Trudy Scrumptious). They say things happen for a reason. Well, I can tell you that Trudy was meant to be with us. She is a very sweet girl who loves to give kisses. The volunteers and foster at OPH could not have been more helpful. They were honest about the dog's disposition, knowledgeable about her needs, gave us helpful tips and website resources and checked in with us that first week. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I would do it again through OPH.

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

OPH was absolutely amazing during my process of adopting Amelia! Amelia had a health issue where part of her toe had to be amputated, so the adoption process took longer than expected. Her foster mom, Mikaela, and OPH kept me updated the entire time and I felt very comfortable knowing she was in the best hands possible. We have had Amelia for one week now and we can't imagine our lives without her. She is such a sweet girl and has brought so much joy to our home. Thank you OPH!!!!!

2 Teddy Lesley H.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation Paws for Homes is an outstanding rescue. From beginning my search and coming across some of their rescues, to my final decision to take one as my own, the process was simple but diligent, and their volunteer network is great. I cannot say enough good things about Zander's Foster Mother, who took on 8 puppies and raised happy healthy pups for adoption. She even gave me a bag of goodies to take home with him, which was both extremely generous and helpful because it clued me in to his likes as far as toys and treats went - and everything was thoughtfully high quality. OPH did a very good vetting process to assure I was a responsible human who would love and raise a well-adjusted happy dog, and their commitment to maintain lifelong responsibility of a pet if the owner give the animal up is a real testimony to living up to their mission. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone. Zander would too!

4 Hope V.

Client Served

Rating: 5

We had lost one of our our beloved dogs of many years and had thought for a long time of bringing another dog into our home and that's where OPH came in. We had never adopted before. Lisa Wolff Taylor, a Coordinator for OPH, helped us along this journey to find our wonderful adoption Gilmore. Lisa helped us with the meet and greets between our current dog Max both times, and also helped bring her from VA to MD because Max doesn't travel well. She did our interviews and helped us with all our paperwork. We honestly wouldn't have been able to do this adoption without her hard work and support and help. We had to wait for our adoption for a while because Gilmore had to go through heartworm treatment. She was cared for by two wonderful fosters Mikaela and Leah and when she finally came home she was a true joy. She is a delight to our family and is a wonderful companion to our dog Max who was so sad when he lost his brother. We couldn't be happier with the process of adoption with OPH and highly recommend them to anyone looking to bring a dog into their homes.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

OPHRescue1 01/19/2018

Hope, we are beyond thrilled that you have found another family member with OPH. Lisa is one of our valued volunteers and we greatly appreciate all that she does for the dogs!

profile

OPHRescue1 01/19/2018

Hope, we are beyond thrilled that you have found another family member with OPH. Lisa is one of our valued volunteers and we greatly appreciate all that she does for the dogs!

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

OPH helped me find my families' perfect dog. We had met a couple of OPH's dogs via my co-worker and OPH volunteer, Shannon Albert. It was great that since we're neighbors, my kids could meet a lot of her dogs and get the opportunity to play with a lot of puppies!!! But it was never the right time for us...

Once I knew my kids were old enough, and after about 1,000,000 promises and begging, I new this latest group of holiday puppies would be my Christmas miracle.

I love the way OPH has foster homes for these dogs, and they're not in cold shelters, where they could be euthanized. I love the warmth and companionship they get to share with their foster owners, who take great care of them while in their family.

I love that when we adopted our dog, he already had most of his shots, was microchipped, and had a whole file dedicated to what to expect next, and how to be successful raising a new puppy.

The pre-adoption dedication OPH has to its clients as well as their follow up and care is amazing. I would recommend this organization to anyone and everyone who is looking for a new pet.

Rescued IS my favorite breed, and they made is such and amazing experience!!!!

Comments ( 2 )

profile

OPHRescue1 01/19/2018

Lauren, We are grateful to your and your dedication to not only finding the right dog for your family, but for ensuring that your family was ready for a puppy. Shannon is a wonderful foster mom and we will miss her when she moves away!

profile

OPHRescue1 01/19/2018

Lauren, We are grateful to your and your dedication to not only finding the right dog for your family, but for ensuring that your family was ready for a puppy. Shannon is a wonderful foster mom and we will miss her when she moves away!