Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Operation Homefront, Inc

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Community & Neighborhood Development, Economic Development, Nonprofit Management, Philanthropy, Philanthropy, Charity & Voluntarism Promotion

Mission: Operation Homefront (OH) mission is to build strong, stable, and secure military families so they can thrive in the communities that they have worked so hard to protect.

Operation Homefront provides direct services to alleviate a military family’s or individual’s actual/complete emergency financial burden, as well as counseling and/or recovery support. Emergency financial assistance is in the form of checks paid directly to mortgage lenders, auto mechanics, contractors, hospitals, doctors, dentists and other providers. Other emergency funding assistance, which an applicant receives within 24 to 72 hours, includes the following:

  • Relief
    • Critical Financial Assistance
    • Rent/mortgage assistance
    • Utilities
    • Food assistance
    • Major home repair
    • Car repair
    • Rent-free transitional housing
    • And more...
  • Resilience
    • Mortgage-free homes
    • Hearts of Valor caregiver program
    Recurring Family Support
    • Free backpacks and school supplies
    • Holiday Meals for Military
    • Homefront Celebrations for military spouses
    • Star-Spangled Baby Showers

Results: Since its inception, Operation Homefront has provided more than $20 million in Critical Financial Assistance, fulfilling over 35,000 requests from more than 14,000 military families across the U.S. We have housed nearly 500 families in transitional housing, providing 4,300 months of rent-free housing, saving them $4.7 million in rent and utilities. We have placed nearly 600 families in mortgage-free homes and provided over $48 million in deeded value to military families. We have helped more than 3,200 caregivers through 60 support groups across the country. We have distributed 250,000 backpacks, 70,000 holiday meals, served nearly 8,000 military spouses at Homefront Celebrations and support nearly 16,000 new and expectant military parents.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Operation Homefront is a national 501(c)(3) nonprofit whose mission is to build strong, stable, and secure military families so they can thrive — not simply struggle to get by — in the communities they have worked so hard to protect. For over fifteen years, we have provided programs that offer: RELIEF (through Critical Financial Assistance and transitional housing programs), RESILIENCY (through permanent housing and caregiver support services) and RECURRING FAMILY SUPPORT programs and services throughout the year that help military families overcome the short-term bumps in the road so they don’t become long-term chronic problems. Operation Homefront has consistently earned high ratings from leading charity rating services, including Charity Navigator, which gave OH 4 Stars for 10 consecutive years for superior service and accountability. At Operation Homefront, 92 percent of expenditures goes directly toward delivering programs and services to the military families who need it most.

Programs: Operation homefront assists military families coping with deployment and injury recovery as they struggle with unforeseen budget challenges. The most common types of need are for rent/mortgage assistance, home repair, food and utilities. Transitional housing and permanent mortgage-free home programs help military families reduce debt and achieve greater stability for the future. Family support activities address the inherent challenges of military life through programs designed to sustain, uplift and transform.

Community Stories

54 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Tammie A.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My car broke down and the repair bill was far beyond what we could afford. However it was our only vehicle and we have two special needs kids not to mention my Active Duty Husband. I had exhausted every option that I could think of, even tried to get loans to help. I was at my wits end and thought that the world was going to end. I knew about Operation Home Front and some of the ways that they help. I went to their web site with the intention on seeing what kind of assistance they offer. The application was so easy to understand and fill out, my 4 year old could have done it for me. I was quickly contacted by a representative. We went over the basics and why this was an emergency. It was a fast process and we were able to get our car repaired. To top it off, they went above my expectations, my registration and insurance expired while my car was in the shop. Operation Home Front knowing that I needed the car road ready) went ahead and got me insurance started, paid the registration but that was no biggie. Thank you Operation Home Front for being our Family's "Knight" in shining armour when we thought all hope was lost.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 01/28/2013

So glad the process went smoothly for you and that you are back on track! We are grateful for donors who allow us to help patriotic families like yours!

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation Homefront was amazing in helping me and my family. After the paper work was submitted, I had a call the very next day rep Rebecca of the DC chapter who went through my application with me and asked for additional documents. The next day I submitted the requested docs and that same day my application was approved and my rent was paid. The next month, since I had not started working, and although I thought I would be denied, I applied anyway. To my amazement, I was approved the day after all documents were submitted. We are able to keep our home today thanks to operation Homefront. My family and I will forever remain grateful. Thank you for what you do to us.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 01/28/2013

Thanks for sharing your experience. We are glad the process went smoothly for you.

Review from CharityNavigator

hmanyoma

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation Homefront was able to take care of the needs of my 2 children and I. I am a single father with 2 kids that was in need of a blessing to get through the last couple of months. I am not a prideful man and I was blessed to have Operation Homefront and Mrs. Nancy Scull go far and beyond what I knew of an organization to do. They completely took care of the needs and were able to provide the help that I needed in order to make sure that my children were taken care of. From the first email to the last phone call, Operation Homefront did exactly what they said they would and Mrs. Nancy Scull was truly an Angel because she made sure to let me know all that was going on. Thank you so much to Operation Homefront for taking care of my children and I in this great time of need. God bless Operation Homefront and all those that serve within the Organization that make these blessings possible. Thank you Jesus for their hearts and for the donors that help in giving.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 01/08/2013

Thank you for your nice comments. It's our honor to help deserving military families like yours in times of need.

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 1

WWP Alumni and they did not assist me do to the nature of my disability and it makes me sick , they are not what they say they are and only worry about themselves. Help one veteran with same issues but did not assist me and this blew the mind of the WWP because they have a partnership with them and made this has made me highly disappointed.

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation Homefront has very helped us in our time of need, because of what they do we were able to buy gift for our kids for Christmas. They were really helpful and made this very easy for us. It makes me proud to know there are people donating money and time for our military.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 12/28/2012

We are honored to be able to bring some cheer and relief to your home. We hope your had an extra special holiday with your family!

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

We want to thank Operation Homefront for their assistance with our situation. They helped us help ourselves and that means a lot. We have been in the process of trying to improve our situation and when my husband (who is in the US Army Reserves recently returned from overseas) was able to get a great job 1600 miles away they assisted us in taking care of some immediate needs so that we could put our own money towards this very important move. Operation Homefront helped us improve our situation and that was very much needed. Thank you so very much!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 12/21/2012

It means a lot to us to be able to help people like you get back on their feet. Thank you for serving our country! Our best to you for a very happy holiday and rewarding 2013!

Review from CharityNavigator

1 Jorge G.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation home front is awesome. If it wasn't for them me and my family would be homeless. Not only did they pay 2 months of our rent but they paid every bill we were behind on and they also gave us 300$ in aid for groceries. It took 5 days from the time we applied for aid for them to resolve all our problems. Thank you operation home front sincerely from a wounded warrior

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 12/20/2012

Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts, Jorge. We are honored to provide a little relief after the sacrifices you have made on behalf of our country! We wish you and your family a very happy holiday!

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

This organization is wonderful in sooooo many ways. It helped my family out in a time of need where we were very low on groceries. I honestly don't know how we would have made it through the month of November without the help of this organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 12/07/2012

It's our honor to help those who sacrifice so much in service to our country! We are glad we were able to make a difference for your family!

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation Homefront is an amazing organization. Due to medical bills, I fell behind on my car payments. Not only did they assist me with that, they also helped me with groceries and baby care items just as something extra to help me out.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 12/05/2012

So glad we were able to make a difference. Our thanks to our many supporters who make it possible to help families like you! And very special thanks to you for your service to our country!

Review from CharityNavigator

Dorothea P.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Every time I am having a hard time and struggling Operation Homefront has stepped up and helped whether it was food or a crib for my son all I had to do was ask. Thank you Operation Homefront for being there and understanding.

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

Every time I need anything Operation Homefront has done their best to help me and my family. I am eternally gratefull for the generousity and overwhelmed. God Bless you all at Operation Homefront.

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation homefront helped us tremendously with are groceries.We just pcs and the navy cut my BAH and operation home front it made my day to get that mail and have commissary gift cards in it. Will the representative was really nice I never expected to get help like that especially now a days but they definitely went above and beyond my expectations. Thank operation homefront you helped us tremendously I could never be thankful enough

Review from CharityNavigator

Amanda56

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation Homefront is amazing. My husband just deployed and all my children and I needed new glasses. They helped us out tremendously!!! You rock!!!!

Review from CharityNavigator

Erin35

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation Homefront amazed me. My husband just came back from deployment and immediately PCS'd. I did my best to balance the checkbook but as I expected the grocery budget took the biggest hit. Thanksgiving is around the corner and all I could think about was how many ways I could be grateful for the Turkey Sandwiches that we would be having. I was asking many places but because this was a temporary problem not many organizations do one time help. I applied for operation homefront's help with little expectations and that very day a represenative called me back and 2 days later gift cards for the commissary came in. I am so Thankful for Operation Homefront, you helped my family back on their feet and my children will get to have a wonderful fulfilling Thanksgiving. I vow that if I could ever give back that I would immediately give back to Operation Homefront because they have proven above and beyond their true dedication to military families. Thank you

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation homefront helped us tremendously with groceries. It made my day to get that mail and have commissary gift cards in it. Will the representative was really nice I never expected to get help like that especially now a days but they definitely went above and beyond my expectations. Thank operation homefront you helped us tremendously I could never be thankful enough

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 4

I am a disabled vet and at a time of great need Operation Home Front where there to help me and my family through a very tough time. I am so thankful, that they were there and willing to do what they could.

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 4

I am a wounded vet and while I have employment my injuries have limited my earning ability. This summer my truck broke down and it ended up costing me $4,500 to get it fixed which left me with no money for food or rent. While the process is a bit long and redundant, the people who worked there were finally able to help and paid for my rent and got me $250 in groceries . Just when I needed it the most

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

During a deployment transition, we found ourselves strapped financially. All of our utilities were with in days of being shut off, we had no food, and no income for the month. OH was a tremendous blessing to our family! In a matter of 2 days, they paid our utilities, auto insurance, and gave us commissary gift cards for food. There is absolutely no way we could have survived through this time had they not helped us. Operation Homefront is amazing. We are so grateful for all they do to help military families!!

Review from CharityNavigator

1

Client Served

Rating: 1

i really feel that OHF is a scam that someone is pocketing the money somewhere. We applied for assistance through them and met all the requirements but were denied for the reason that they give food donations to ACS and we should go there and get ONE bag of food to feed a family of five for two weeks. Our pay was messed up when my husband transitioned from a regular unit to a WTB . After speaking with workers at WTB and ACS they informed me that OHF was a scam for soldiers and that they have helped MANY soldiers apply and have NEVER gotten help from them. I will do what i can to get this information out and let people know NOT to donate to a company that only takes the money to cover overhead instead of helping soldiers that need the help. My husbands life is changed forever due to injuries recieved during deployment and then he comes home to another scammer claiming to help those in the military. BLAH !

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

There was a time where we had a family emergency and had to drive out of state to pick up my step-children. Because of the added expense we found ourselves in a financial bind and praying for the Lord to show us a way to receive the necessary help and viola, Operation Homefront was mentioned. I contacted them and they responded in less than 24 hours and we received the necessary assistance shortly there after. I could not believe how friendly, knowledgeable and efficiently they moved. It was a total blessing and I am so thankful that they were there to help us in our time of need!!! God bless them!

Review from CharityNavigator

Cassie W.

Client Served

Rating: 5

We were screwed financially after a bunch of random expenses threw our budget for a loop. After the bills came out of my husbands check we only had about $28 to buy food for our family of 4 for 2 weeks. Mary Scott from operation homefront worked with us and we ended up getting approved for $200 in commissary vouchers. It literally saved our lives, as operation homefront has done for many of the military families in our area.

Review from CharityNavigator