Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2016 Top-Rated Nonprofit

One Love 4 Kids

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Children & Youth, Education, Human Services

Mission: Our Mission: One Love 4 Kids's mission is to improve educational, economic, and health outcomes for impoverished children and families. The organization supports parents and caregivers so that they can empower their children and support community-wide enhancements in education, health, and development. Our Vision: One Love 4 Kids's vision is to create a fully educated and empowered society by: supporting children, parents, and communities and by removing barriers to education in Jamaica and the Caribbean.

Results: CURRENT INFO 2016 - Launched Children's Charity Shop 2016 Resumed FREE weekend tutoring for 40 children 2015 UPDATE 2015 - Served more than 350 children and families in MD and Jamaica 2015- Provided Free tutoring services to and average of 30 children on a weekly basis _____ HISTORY 2010 - Served 400 children 2012 - Founded Summer Literacy Program in Jamaica 2013 - Serve 200 children through summer literacy program and One Love 4 Kids Give Back 2013 - Launched STEM based tutoring program in MD 2013-2015 provide tutoring and resources to more than 200 children in MS 2014 - Hosted holiday giving program for 74 children 2015 - Supply 200 children in Jamaica with school supply

Target demographics: Under-resourced at risk youth and families affected by poverty, abuse, and disabilities

Direct beneficiaries per year: 350 children

Geographic areas served: DC Metro Area & Jamaica

Programs: Clothing distributions, Free tutoring, academic support and resources, scholarships and more.

Community Stories

31 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

3 Camille10

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have the honor and blessing of knowing Shernet James and she is what makes One Love 4 Kids a successful and amazing nonprofit. Her hard work and determination result in putting smiles on the faces of children. Members of my church, Seneca Creek, joined with Shernet to have a day of service for children. We gave out stuffed animals, clothes and treats. We had a children's author read to the children. We had a crafts table where the kids could make their own bookmarks. It was a wonderful day of love and fun. What could be more important than making a difference in the life of a child. Hats off to Shernet!!!

Comments ( 1 )

info207 Thank you Cami for the support. Please continue to spread the word about us and our work. Tutoring, scholarships, supply (clothing, education, food, medical…) distributions, literacy programs, and community outreach programs are just some ways in which One Love 4 Kids has been changing lives (US, Jamaica, Africa...) and impacting the world. It’s an honor to be the founder of an organization that has been changing lives for more than 6 years. One Love 4 Kids is a 100% lead volunteer organization that aims to meet the needs of children and families affected by poverty and abuse. Programs are carried out with limited recourses and financial support. Nevertheless, One Love 4 Kids strives to set a high standard of leadership as it continues to focus on the needs of the people and the positive impact being made in the lives of others and the world. One Love 4 Kids is about changing lives for the better. And the organizations’ education development programs, community outreach programs, and health programs have been doing so for over 6 years. Don’t believe me? Just our donors and recipients who have all benefited from being a part of a true Grassroots organization that works tirelessly to fulfill its mission on a daily basis What makes One Love 4 Kids special is that the organization considers it an honor to serve the people. As a result, One Love 4 Kids is always grateful for the hundreds of women, children and men who make it possible for us to be a small organization that is making a huge impact. Our donors and volunteers are the backbone of this organization and we could not have gotten this far without all of you. But there is still much more that One Love 4 Kids need in org to be successful. So please take the time to learn about our work and us. And as always, your support is appreciated and needed. As donations have continued to decrease, the need of the goods and services that we provide has remained high. As a result, we are always looking for additional ways to increase our funding as we continue to meet the needs of those who need our love and assistance. Join me in supporting One Love 4 Kids. We can change lives for the better. Shernet Dixon-James

Anne148

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This non-profit organization goes far beyond its' expectations for the children of the community. The volunteers are amazing and so are the organizers...... They really care about the needs of the children including their educational, material and basic fundamental needs. All of the requirements to grow healthy and happy, well-balanced children are strived for and are lovingly met with the help of internal and outside donations. I love helping in any way I can.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I had the pleasure of volunteering during a community literacy event organized by One Love 4 Kids. Families had the opportunity to meet an author and hear him read his books. Children made bookmarks, were given a book to take home, and participated in other fun activities designed to get them excited about reading. We were also excited to partner with our local community center, which hosted the afternoon. Job well done!

Rochelle8

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am proud to be associated with One Love 4 Kids. I have seen this organization help so many people all year round. They have changed lives and empowered individuals. They have provided more than material items to those that come in contact with them. They have provided advice, security, self help skills for persons and overall just positive reinforcement. It is also awesome to see kids of all ages involved in giving back. Continue to do what you do best One Love 4 Kids organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info207 10/31/2016

Thanks and continue to spread the word about us and our work. Tutoring, scholarships, supply (clothing, education, food, medical…) distributions, literacy programs, and community outreach programs are just some ways in which One Love 4 Kids has been changing lives (US, Jamaica, Africa...) and impacting the world. It’s an honor to be the founder of an organization that has been changing lives for more than 6 years. One Love 4 Kids is a 100% lead volunteer organization that aims to meet the needs of children and families affected by poverty and abuse. Programs are carried out with limited recourses and financial support. Nevertheless, One Love 4 Kids strives to set a high standard of leadership as it continues to focus on the needs of the people and the positive impact being made in the lives of others and the world. One Love 4 Kids is about changing lives for the better. And the organizations’ education development programs, community outreach programs, and health programs have been doing so for over 6 years. Don’t believe me? Just our donors and recipients who have all benefited from being a part of a true Grassroots organization that works tirelessly to fulfill its mission on a daily basis What makes One Love 4 Kids special is that the organization considers it an honor to serve the people. As a result, One Love 4 Kids is always grateful for the hundreds of women, children and men who make it possible for us to be a small organization that is making a huge impact. Our donors and volunteers are the backbone of this organization and we could not have gotten this far without all of you. But there is still much more that One Love 4 Kids need in org to be successful. So please take the time to learn about our work and us. And as always, your support is appreciated and needed. As donations have continued to decrease, the need of the goods and services that we provide has remained high. As a result, we are always looking for additional ways to increase our funding as we continue to meet the needs of those who need our love and assistance. Join me in supporting One Love 4 Kids. We can change lives for the better. Shernet Dixon-James

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I volunteer with One Love 4 Kids through their tutoring program. The students I tutor range from age 6 to 6th grade. What I like most is the joy that appears on a student's face when there is that 'aha' moment when a math concept finally makes sense. The frustration turns to joy. It warms the heart.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info207 10/31/2016

Such an honor to have you on our team. Thank you!!! Please continue to spread the word about us and our work. Tutoring, scholarships, supply (clothing, education, food, medical…) distributions, literacy programs, and community outreach programs are just some ways in which One Love 4 Kids has been changing lives (US, Jamaica, Africa...) and impacting the world. It’s an honor to be the founder of an organization that has been changing lives for more than 6 years. One Love 4 Kids is a 100% lead volunteer organization that aims to meet the needs of children and families affected by poverty and abuse. Programs are carried out with limited recourses and financial support. Nevertheless, One Love 4 Kids strives to set a high standard of leadership as it continues to focus on the needs of the people and the positive impact being made in the lives of others and the world. One Love 4 Kids is about changing lives for the better. And the organizations’ education development programs, community outreach programs, and health programs have been doing so for over 6 years. Don’t believe me? Just our donors and recipients who have all benefited from being a part of a true Grassroots organization that works tirelessly to fulfill its mission on a daily basis What makes One Love 4 Kids special is that the organization considers it an honor to serve the people. As a result, One Love 4 Kids is always grateful for the hundreds of women, children and men who make it possible for us to be a small organization that is making a huge impact. Our donors and volunteers are the backbone of this organization and we could not have gotten this far without all of you. But there is still much more that One Love 4 Kids need in org to be successful. So please take the time to learn about our work and us. And as always, your support is appreciated and needed. As donations have continued to decrease, the need of the goods and services that we provide has remained high. As a result, we are always looking for additional ways to increase our funding as we continue to meet the needs of those who need our love and assistance. Join me in supporting One Love 4 Kids. We can change lives for the better. Shernet Dixon-James

Lula T.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

A great non profit organization for helping kids learn different things; open their eyes to different possibilities for them. It's a great non profit organization for the kids!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info207 10/31/2016

Thank you Lula. Please continue to spread the word about us and our work. Tutoring, scholarships, supply (clothing, education, food, medical…) distributions, literacy programs, and community outreach programs are just some ways in which One Love 4 Kids has been changing lives (US, Jamaica, Africa...) and impacting the world. It’s an honor to be the founder of an organization that has been changing lives for more than 6 years. One Love 4 Kids is a 100% lead volunteer organization that aims to meet the needs of children and families affected by poverty and abuse. Programs are carried out with limited recourses and financial support. Nevertheless, One Love 4 Kids strives to set a high standard of leadership as it continues to focus on the needs of the people and the positive impact being made in the lives of others and the world. One Love 4 Kids is about changing lives for the better. And the organizations’ education development programs, community outreach programs, and health programs have been doing so for over 6 years. Don’t believe me? Just our donors and recipients who have all benefited from being a part of a true Grassroots organization that works tirelessly to fulfill its mission on a daily basis What makes One Love 4 Kids special is that the organization considers it an honor to serve the people. As a result, One Love 4 Kids is always grateful for the hundreds of women, children and men who make it possible for us to be a small organization that is making a huge impact. Our donors and volunteers are the backbone of this organization and we could not have gotten this far without all of you. But there is still much more that One Love 4 Kids need in org to be successful. So please take the time to learn about our work and us. And as always, your support is appreciated and needed. As donations have continued to decrease, the need of the goods and services that we provide has remained high. As a result, we are always looking for additional ways to increase our funding as we continue to meet the needs of those who need our love and assistance. Join me in supporting One Love 4 Kids. We can change lives for the better. Shernet Dixon-James

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have seen first hand how this organization, ONE Love 4 Kids have help the children and families in Jamaica. I have traveled with them as a volunteer, seeing how happy many of these children was to receive a cooked meal, new books , clothes and shoes make it all worth while. Keep up the good work you are doing and I will continue to do my part and hope that others will join in to help these people.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info207 10/31/2016

Gwen - I know it's been awhile. But thank you for the support. Please continue to spread the word about us and our work. Tutoring, scholarships, supply (clothing, education, food, medical…) distributions, literacy programs, and community outreach programs are just some ways in which One Love 4 Kids has been changing lives (US, Jamaica, Africa...) and impacting the world. It’s an honor to be the founder of an organization that has been changing lives for more than 6 years. One Love 4 Kids is a 100% lead volunteer organization that aims to meet the needs of children and families affected by poverty and abuse. Programs are carried out with limited recourses and financial support. Nevertheless, One Love 4 Kids strives to set a high standard of leadership as it continues to focus on the needs of the people and the positive impact being made in the lives of others and the world. One Love 4 Kids is about changing lives for the better. And the organizations’ education development programs, community outreach programs, and health programs have been doing so for over 6 years. Don’t believe me? Just our donors and recipients who have all benefited from being a part of a true Grassroots organization that works tirelessly to fulfill its mission on a daily basis What makes One Love 4 Kids special is that the organization considers it an honor to serve the people. As a result, One Love 4 Kids is always grateful for the hundreds of women, children and men who make it possible for us to be a small organization that is making a huge impact. Our donors and volunteers are the backbone of this organization and we could not have gotten this far without all of you. But there is still much more that One Love 4 Kids need in org to be successful. So please take the time to learn about our work and us. And as always, your support is appreciated and needed. As donations have continued to decrease, the need of the goods and services that we provide has remained high. As a result, we are always looking for additional ways to increase our funding as we continue to meet the needs of those who need our love and assistance. Join me in supporting One Love 4 Kids. We can change lives for the better. Shernet Dixon-James

Previous Stories

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I was able to see and experience first hand what the CASACO foundation did, I had volunteer with them at their annual Christmas treat in December 2010. The organizers and funders make sure that that every single child was fed and got their bag with goodies, which include book bags, pencils, crayons and other things that they were happy to have. Without this organization many of these children would not be able to have a clean pair of socks to put on Christmas day. I was happy to take some time out of my vacation to give a helping hand, if there were more organization like this one, that try to make a difference in the lives of those who are less fortunate this world would be a better place to live in, I have seen the shine in the children eyes and the smile on their faces. A job well done on that day.

Review from Guidestar

Tamra L.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have seen the positive impact from what this organization has done for the kids in the community of Top Range. The children are so grateful for the gift of books and clothes and toys. As a volunteer i am proud to be apart of such a wonderful organization that brings such happiness to kids.

TopRange D.

Volunteer

Rating: 4

The Top Range Community Development Committee (TRCDC) is please to say that One Love 4 Kids is a very helpful organization that have helped several communities in Jamaica. The TRCDC will be working with the One Love 4 Kids to treat the kids of the community of Top Range, this will take place a few days before Christmas 2012. Keep up the good work One Love 4 Kids, we all appreciate it.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Its always a pleasure to find time to give back, to anyone or anything,when then oppertunity came to be a voluteer for one love for kids i felt , blessed, honered and garteful to have returned to my community to give back. To give is to receive and thats what we do at one love for kids, we put a smile on a child face by just being present in these inner cities, we put a shoe on someones feet ,who might have been trodding the roads bare feet for decades, we allow all kids to go to school with supplies.These inner cities mark the dates to welcome us knowing full well , that they will be blessed somehow.Deuteronomy 15 vs 10 says give generously to him and do so without a grudging heart; then because of this the lord you god will bless you in all your work and everything you put your hand to.So here we an organization started by family funded by family giving in love and beleiving in faith for in to become bigger better and brighter. And receiving an abundant amount of gods blessing. I am HONOURED TO BE A volunteer.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am tremendously pleased with the work that One Love 4 Kids foundation is doing for the children in Jamaica. OL4K provide children with the basic necessity they need to thrive and grow, such as school supplies, uniforms, meals, medical and monetary aide. One Love 4 Kids is an inspiring Non-Profit foundation that children in Jamaica depends on, and look forward to especially during the holidays and back to school. But what I am especially proud of is the compassion the Co-founder of OL4K has toward the children of Jamaica. Giving back to our community / country should always be an important part of our lives, but she has made it her life mission and that is inspiring. Thanks for all you do.

Mike Y.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

One Love 4 Kids has been a wonderful and very helpful nonprofit foundation that has helped many less fortunate children in Jamaica. It has given the children a better chance of having a well developed education and livelihood. For the period of time that One Love 4 Kids has been in action, it has left a good impression.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been working with One Love 4 Kids for 4 years and the organization has done an excellent job in organizating and putting of small to medium programs in poor volunerable communites, scholls and childrens homes. While doing the nonprofit work they do so well, the organization manage to keep close ties with the communites, schools and childrens homes that the organizstion help. As I see the future misssion of this organization, incontinueing to bulid on the foudation that it has established. By doing so, One Love 4 Kids will continue to serve the under served, poor and disenfranchised that so desperately need the help the organization provides.

Previous Stories

Board Member

Rating: 3

I have been working with CASACO Foundation for over 3 years. The foundation provides clothing, school supplies, toiletries, wheel chairs and other goods services to impoverished communities, schools, and children homes. Each years the foundation hold christmas charity events in Jamaica, that brighten lives and make children and adults christmas enjoyable. Casaco also provide literacy services to under served communities such as the Top Range and Hampstead Park communites in Kingston Jamaica. These are services that the communities lack. Casaco does a wounderfull job with providing services to the needed and impoverished with supplies and services that are lacking and needed in the mentioned communities.

Review from Guidestar

Suzette R.

Volunteer

Rating: 3

One love 4 Kids is doing a tremendous job, children are the future and an investment in them is invaluable. Keep it up Shernet Dixon!

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I was truly amazed and delighted at the great level of professionalism and dedication that drove One Love 4 Kids. The back to school drive was successful because of the leadership and motivation of Shernet Dixon. Under her leadership and the others involve in the organization, I expect the children will be the greatest benefactors.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

One Love 4 Kids works tirelessly to provide books, clothing, and other resources to impoverished children in Jamaica. I particularly like that I know where my donations go! One Love 4 Kids is to be commended.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I really love the goal and mission of this organization. I feel as though the organization is well needed in order to help students strive to become what they dream. As a student myself I know what it feels like to want something so bad but is hindered because of the lack of financial support within the family and community. Giving back to the community is the best way to directly evoke an effect among the youth. I am truly glad that the Carribean Student and Community Outreach Program has decided to take on this tremendous task in hopes of self betterment and higher education for those who seek it.

Review from Guidestar

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I was very happy to learn about the Caribbean Student and Community Outreach Program from my brother Michael and sister-in - law Shernet who are very active with with program. They have both traveled to the Caribbean to distribute school supplies to needy students. I feel this is a very worth while organization that is doing a great service to our brothers and sisters who are less fortunate than us. Keep up the good work.

Sincerely, Nicolas G. James

Review from Guidestar

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am very pleased for all the work this charity has been doing for the past years. I am particular happy that disabled children are their number one priority. This has shown me that we should never lose hope in whatever we are doing. The love and support that this organisation has given to the less fortunate can only come from God.
May God continue to bless and strengthen the founders, volunteers, donors and anyone that has contributed to this cause.
Continue the excellent work you are doing, I am assured it is well received...

Review from Guidestar

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am a volunteer of the casaco foundation and watching these ladies work is a marvel. They are so enthused and energetic towards helping people. The top Range event was a huge success as persons of all ages came out and supported the event held for children. The police , education minister and others were among those who supported the cause and the children benefitted greatly. I am proud to say i played apart in the event and that this foundation is one of its kind and should continue the great work of helping and changing peoples lives. CASACO foundation is the only foundation that should be given the honour and be graced with the prize of $5000.

Review from Guidestar