Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: To rescue, rehabilitate and rehome discarded breeding dogs and to educate the general public about the cruel realities of the commercial dog breeding industry. National Mill Dog Rescue was established in February 2007, in honor of a forgiving little Italian Greyhound named Lily. Theresa Strader, NMDR’s Founder, rescued Lily from a dog auction in Missouri. Prior to that day, Lily had spent the first seven years of her life as a commercial breeding dog, a puppy mill mom. Determined that her years of living in misery would not be in vain, Strader started NMDR, giving a voice to mill dogs across the country.

Results: As of May 2016 National Mill Dog Rescue has saved 10,727 puppy mill survivors.

Target demographics: the puppy mill dogs and to educate the public about the cruel reality of the puppy mill industry.

Geographic areas served: We work to rescue, rehabilitate and rehome discarded commercial breeding dogs

Programs: Rescue Program Veterinary Care Program Animal Care & Rehabilitation Program Adoptions Program Education & Outreach Program

Community Stories

75 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Lynne36

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been volunteering at National Mill Dog Rescue since 2014. I love my time there, working with the dogs and other volunteers. It is amazing to see how resilient the dogs are. Many come in horrific condition. They are frightened , but under the care of the people at NMDR they blossom and become loving pets. I only get to volunteer once a week because it is a 150 mile round trip for me, but I wish I could far more often. I truly love my time with the dogs. It makes my week to spend the day there and if I have to miss a week I feel deprived. I have seen nothing but love and care from everyone at this organization.

Previous Stories
17

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I volunteer at National Mill Dog Rescue. I drive 150 miles round trip to volunteer once a week. I would go more if I lived closer. I have seen the dogs when they arrive some are in terrible condition, and through the hard work of the staff and volunteers these dogs know love and care, many for the first time. It is wonderful to see them learn to trust and love and to watch the progress they make each week. Many are scared and shut down when they arrive, but they learn to be dogs as they were meant to be. The people at Mill Dog Rescue find homes for these dogs, many are old and have health problems, but they are loved and cared for. I love the time I spend volunteering,and when I don't get to go some weeks I feel deprived. I love spending my time with the dogs and seeing their personalities blossom.I am amazed at the resilience of these dogs after the hardship many of them have suffered for years. Theresa, the staff, and her volunteers are beyond compare.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We were looking for a new furiend to add to our family and found National Mill Dog Rescue. We found that new furiend plus another and also decided that it would be a great way to volunteer our time. Everyone at National Mill Dog Rescue from Theresa to the kennel staff are amazing with the dogs!

2

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I have volunteered with National Mill Dog Rescue for the past five and a half years and can speak to what a wonderful organization this is. The motto of “It’s about the dogs” is lived out daily as scores of volunteers show up every single day throughout the year to clean the kennels and feed and water the dogs each morning. The rehab team works with the fearful dogs so that they have a chance at adoption. The rescue team travels throughout the Midwest rescuing dogs from puppy mills, and everyone in the organization and its rescue partners works to find them good homes. The people here give their all for the dogs without concern for personal recognition. Jackson, in the pictures, is just one representative of the dogs who come to NMDR in awful physical and psychological condition and transform into beautiful dogs.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I started volunteering here in December 2015. The first thing that struck me when I walked in was I didn't smell anything. This place is so clean. The dogs are kept so clean and the kennels are unbelievably clean. The people, most are volunteers are AMAZING. It is like one gigantic Dog loving family. I wanted to take so many dogs home. I loved them all. By March 2016, I finally did it. I took Crystal home for a "visit" with no intention of bringing her back. She is such a love. She is now 8 yr old and very well adjusted in my home. She gets along great with my other dog and loves all the humans. She is now known as Lucy and has come so far since her intake. Check out her picture. Thank you NMDR for all you do.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

In December 2014 we lost out Black Lab Sammy. We knew we wanted another dog soon. We were looking for a shih tzu, and Windy's face came up as available for adoption. We knew that there was a puppy mill rescue just down the street from whefe we lived. We spoke with Julia and got approved to go see Windy at the kennel. When we walked into National Mill Dog Rescue, we could not believe how CLEAN it was. Windy was jumping around in her kennel like she knew we were there for her. She came home with us and I signed up for the next Volunteer Orientation in 2 weeks.

I love volunteering there. They are like family. In December, 2015, we brought homme a golden retriever named Jersey. I love how well these dogs are taken care of. No matter what, they are handled with so much love. Theresa Strader is an amazing founder and remembers all the dogs like they are her own. She amazes me everytime I see her. NMDR doesn't just rescue dogs, I truly believe that NMDR rescued me!! Thank you.

Previous Stories
3

Client Served

Rating: 5

After a long battle of diabetes and blindness, our Black Lab Sam passed away on December 29, 2014. We started looking for a new dog but wasn't in any rush. We didn't know what breed of dog, just new we didn't want a young dog. We happened to find a ShihTzu on a website. We decided that we were going to try and adopt her. She came from a puppy mill in Kansas and was rescued by National Mill Dog Rescue. This was not our first puppy mill dog. We had another ShihTzu for 3 years prior to his passing in August of 2014. The pictures of Windy just pierced our hearts with love. She looked very similar to Quincy. My family filled out all of the paperwork online, sent pictures of our backyard in Colorado and were given the OK to head out to the NMDR kennel in Peyton. As we walked into the kennel, we were shocked..it smelled clean. Most kennels that we have been to in the past, reaked of urine and feces but not NMDR. We were giving a tour of the facility and it was so nice. So many dogs. Our Windy was so excited to see us. She was jumping up and dancing in the kennel like she KNEW we were there for her. The paperwork was finalized and Windy was coming home with us!! Dawn, the volunteer that helped us out mentioned that there was a volunteer orientation in 2 weeks. I showed up for that orientation and haven't looked back since. I just want to learn so much. I want to help these dogs. I have told Theresa Strader and a few other volunteers that NMDR does not only rescue dogs, they rescue people too. My life has been horrible the last few years. NMDR gives me hope that I am going to be fine. I try to go to the kennel a few times a week for my "dog therapy." NMDR is such a great organization. I can not thank Theresa enough. Windy is doing great in our family and I am doing wonderful in NMDR family.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I've volunteered with many non-profits over the years. I continue to be amazed by the dedication of the volunteers and how quickly Theresa Strader and everyone involved have built up this fantastic organization. So many tireless passionate people have provided new beginnings for dogs who otherwise would have perished never knowing how wonderful life can be as part of a loving, devoted family. The transformation of these dogs after they are rescued is nothing short of miraculous. Countless times I've seen shy, scared, mistreated, ungroomed creatures wracked with all kinds of medical issues blossom into beautiful, proud, happy tail wagging dogs, just as they were meant to be. This is a 5 star non-profit to be sure.

1 Janet148

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My daughter and I began volunteering with NMDR a year ago after we watched the heart-wrenching video "I Breathe-Lily's Legacy" on NMDR's website. Theresa Strader, the founder, is such a kind, compassionate, loving and humble woman who works tirelessly to educate the public about the horrors of the puppy mill industry. "Determined that her (Lily) years of living in misery would not be in vain, Strader started NMDR, giving a voice to mill dogs across the country." We feel honored and blessed to be a part of this wonderful organization and mission and to work alongside an incredible group of compassionate, dedicated, kind and loving people who freely and generously give of their time, talents and resources to help these precious pups and to educate the public about the cruel realities of the commercial dog breeding industry.

Amy_304

Volunteer

Rating: 5

What a wonderful organization, rescuing, rehabilitating and rehoming unwanted commercial breeding facility dogs. Such a wonderful group of people to volunteer with. It is more of a non-related family that supports each other and the mission.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We have adopted 2 puppy mill momma's from National Mill Dog Rescue. Not only are their kennels top notch, run by volunteers, but the process was so thorough and complete. We now volunteer for this great organization!

2 Clare11

Volunteer

Rating: 5

National Mill Dog Rescue is a wonderful organization that is leading the fight to end puppy mills.
As well as having rescued more than 11,000 dogs from life in a cage, NMDR has educated hundreds of thousands if not millions of people and turned them into advocates for puppy mill dogs. NMDR's message of awareness has an ongoing ripple effect across the US and the world, leading to more and more people choosing to "Adopt not Shop".
My admiration for this organization and love of dogs led me to become a volunteer for NMDR myself. The kennel itself is an uplifting, positive place and a shining example of what a shelter/rescue should be like.
NMDR is devoted to giving every dog they rescue whatever they need to recover from their past, to become happy and healthy and to find their forever home. Every dog that comes to NMDR receives the love, care, individual attention and rehabilitation they need to recover from their past and find a loving forever home.
I have recently adopted a dog from NMDR and it makes me proud to support, work with and be associated with this amazing rescue.
I wish there were no need for shelters and rescues, but as long as there is a need, I wish they were all like National Mill Dog Rescue.
(Attached photo is my dog London, who spent approximately 9 years in a cage in a puppy mill before being rescued in June 2016).