Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Mission4Maureen

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Cancer, Emergency Assistance, Human Services

Mission: Our mission is to provide financial assistance to families who are burdened with the staggering cost of brain cancer treatment.

Results: More than $1,000,000 has been distributed on behalf of patients over the past 11 years!

Geographic areas served: All 50 states

Programs: Mission4Maureen provides financial assistance to qualified patients and their families by directly paying household and medical bills submitted. We also have a Christmas in July program where each year we send new donated toys to the pediatric patients helped during the past 12 months.

Community Stories

144 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Lorretta S.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My son was diagnosed with an inoperatable brain tumor when he was 6 years old, almost 10 years ago. I have struggled under the financial strains since becoming a single parent. Mission4Maureen was able to help me with making my car payments for 6 months. What a huge blessing to my family, since I needed the car to take my son back and forth to his appointments.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our son, Luke, was diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor at the age of 18 months old. Our family was devasted by the news and life as a we know it changed. We spent many our traveling to chemo appointments and doctors for the last few years. It has taken a toll on us emotionally and financially. Fortunately for mission 4 maureen, they assisted us with the financial burden. The staff was friendly and helpful. The are sincere to families situations and truly kind at heart. We will forever be grateful.

Lisa140

Client Served

Rating: 5

Mission 4 Maureen came through for me and my family in our time of need. They were quick, friendly and understanding.

Client Served

Rating: 5

From the mission statement, to their fulfillment of it, M4M is a fantastic organization. Two years ago, I was diagnosed with brain cancer at the age of 31, and this group paid my bills for a month when all other help and resources had run out. They quite literally kept the lights and heat on, and overall decreased my stress level 100% (if even for a short while, the respite was appreciated.) Thanks impart to the I am still I in the game!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our 12 year old daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor 5 years ago and underwent brain surgery for treatment...all of the tumor could not be removed because of its location. Mission4Maureen was gracious enough to provide financial assistance for our utility bills as we had to travel weekly for her year-long chemotherapy treatments that followed. This was truly a blessing to experience that people are still compassionate enough to help others and ease their hardship. Many thanks and God bless!!!

Client Served

Rating: 5

We are so grateful for the assistance Mission4Maureen provided when my 10 year old battled brain cancer for the second time in her young life. It was wonderful having the much needed help in our time of difficulty. Thank you so much!

Client Served

Rating: 5

When diagnosed with brain cancer at 25, this organization swooped in to save me and my family in endless ways. We faced an insurance company dropping me for pre-existing conditions and no information on how to navigate financial support like them or collect funds from donations. They got us out alive. They were kind, patient, knowledgeable, thorough, and patient again, Always grateful.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was helped by this wonderful charity when my husband was suffering from brain cancer. They made the mortgage payment for one month as we struggled to get medical disability set up. Sadly I lost my husband to the brain cancer but my gratitude to this charity remains and I contibute to them so they may help others.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our son, Nathan, is 5 years old and has been battling brain cancer since Jan 2009 and spinal cord cancer since Oct 2011. We have three other children ages 9,6, and 2. My husband is working two part time jobs. Mission4Maureen has been a huge support emotionally and financially in relieving some of the financial stress so we can focus on what is really important! Thank you so much! May the Lord bless this AWESOME organization!

LaGayla M.

Client Served

Rating: 4

My daughter, Nadia, was feeling sick for about 4 random days in a two week period...sick one day...better three days. It was weird...we had her birthday party 2 days after her 7th birthday, on July 9, 2011, and even that morning, she woke up ill, but was better by noon and showed no sighns of slowing down all day...but July 10th, that morning she was ill again, and it's not normal to puke or have headaches...so we went to the ER that morning and by the afternoon, she was flying to Children's Hospital. I tell you, I have remained calm, probably calmer than my friends and the doctors, even, and I'm glad they have found me to be inspiring and all of that, but there are times when you are home alone just wondering what's next. This thing has been a whirlwind or emotions and decisions and nerves. Everything has been moving very fast in the past 4 months.
And trust me, Jesus has been keeping me. And I have been blessed to meet some great social workers, nurses, and helpers who have lined me up with excellent resources, such as Mission4Muareen. My home was broken into 2 weeks before Nadia's diagnosis of medulloblastoma (brain cancer) and a few things were stolen, and with the holidays coming up, I could have easily started to feel terribly uncomfortable, but when I received notice that your organization was helping pay my mortgage, it was...right on time. I thank you very much! Nadia thanks you!! I made sure she read the letter and we thank God for you, for having the resources and the willing heart to help us!!

1 Katrina J.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daughter Carrie was diagnosed with an Ependymoma brain tumor in April 2005. She was 14 months old. She has been though many tumor resections and various chemo.'s and two times of radiation therapy. In Sept. 2009, my husband moved out while I was out of town with Carrie getting her second radiation treatment. In Sept. 2010, her tumor began to grow again. In Jan. 2011, her tumor hemmoraged. She was hospitalized for 5 months. During this time, my husband whom I am still trying to divorce, fired me from our family business and contested my unemployment. I had no income for 3 months. I also have a 12 year old son. Mission4Maureen has been instrumental in helping me pay some of my bills that I would have never been able to cover on my own. They were there when I really needed someone. I can't begin to thank them enough for taking some of the burden off of me during this very difficult year.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My son was diagnosed with a brain tumor. Through this journey we have had so many finanical burdens, but yet so many blessings. This foundation truely cares & are there for emotional & financial support. Its very heartwarming to know that so many care & want to help.

Client Served

Rating: 5

my name is Lourie and this is my beautiful daughter Alyse. We would like to thank Mission4Maureen for their help when we needed it the most. This is such a wonderful organization to reach out to folks like myself with such an awful medical condition. May God continue to bless each of you and all those who are involved. My prayers are with you all. Thank you again from the bottom of our hearts.

Lisa B.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our daughter, Grace, has a terminal meningioma. As she is terminal, medical procedures/treatments are no longer occuring. The financial burden on a family however continues; unpaid leave from work, etc. Mission4Maureen provided a mortagage payment on our behalf. This finanical assistance eased our burden and allowed us to focus more on Grace, and less on finances.

Client Served

Rating: 3

Dear Folks, when I was 44 I was diagnosed with anaplastic olododendroglioma (WHO grade 3) in March 2005, the same month that dear Mareen Lowis died. She had a g. 4 tumor. I had a recurrence in Feb. 2009 and they did the same thing by resecting it and I went back to work in June 2009. But I was only able to work for 5 months. I am a heavy equipment operator but I had to go on disability. We are now uninsured and need help with all of our cancer related bills and they are more than you think! My disability pays all the 'normal' bills but I am so grateful for the for the help in relieving our cancer bills! Thankyou so much for your availability and your willingness to help. And thanks to Maureen as well.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

WOW, what a blessing Mission4Maureen was to our family! The MSW at Duke had just found out about this foundation and shared the information with me. My 10yr old daughter was receiving treatment at Duke for an Optic Glioma with chemo every 12 days. We had to travel 4hrs each way to get chemo and then turn around and go again. Needless to say, it drained us of everything; emotional, physical and financial! This foundation not only gave kind words of support but also paid 2 mortgage payments for me, so as a single mother, I was able to catch up on some bills. What a blessing. I truly feel God had His hand in this and lead Mission4maureen to help us. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I'm not sure how Mission4Maureen heard about us, but they were a Godsend. My son was diagnosed with glioblastoma last November and I was unable to work for 6 months. I am self employed, so my business suffered greatly. We were driving from North Idaho to Seattle every week for radiation and now drive 2 1/2 hours biweekly to Spokane,WA to get chemo. I have my son on additional supplemements and the cost is great. Thank you so much for taking a dent out of some of my bills. Sincerely, Cheryl

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Mission4Maureen provided financial assistance to my husband who was striken with brain cancer -glioblastoma. They helped him cover some of his medical expenses. This was such a wonderful help to us. Made a significant dent in our financial burdens. The suddenness of the illness put him in financial straits in that he is privately employed and had been experiencing lapses in memory, etc., prior to this - thus putting a dent in his income. The staff at Mission 4 Maureen are so persoanable, kind, and helpful. And I do agree that they come to ones aid so quickly and efficiently. Just impresses on me the importance of giving to such organizations. They fill such a gap in our system. We cannot thank them enough. Heard about them through UCSF Medical Center Brain Cancer Center. They publish a list of organizations that help brain cancer victims. This one was the most accessible. We must give, give, and give some more.

7

Client Served

Rating: 5

I became to know Mission4Maureen through a referral agency. My son was diagnoised with his second brain tumor, we were having a real hard time dealing with his diagnosis and the financial hardship was enourmous,I submitted an application and this nonprofit was Great, they helped with our rent and several other financial burdens that we were dealing with. Not only did they help, but the turn around was unbelievable, I just don't know where we would be without their help, they understood our need, they cared and you don't see that in a lot of nonprofits. Our family is truely blessed to have been referred to them.

9

Client Served

Rating: 5

Mission4Maureen is a life saving organization. There are very few organizations (if any?) that assist those struggling with brain cancer, and Mission4Maureen is exemplary. Without their assistance, my medical bills would have completely overwhelmed myself and my young family.