Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Mission Haiti Inc

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: International, International Relief

Mission: Believing in the dignity of all people, we support education and share blessings, food, medicine, and shelter with our Haitian brothers and sisters.

Results: We have been able to build back better and stronger from the 2010 earthquake. Our elder care program has a new dormatory and new bathroom building. We are working now to raise money for better farm equipment. Also, we support and are looking for partners to support a new secondary school to replace one lost in the earthquake.

Target demographics: Children and the elderly.

Geographic areas served: Leogane, Haiti

Programs: Education, elder care, sustainable farming.

Community Stories

49 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti is passionate about its mission and doing wonderful things to empower the people of Haiti. I have seen first hand the impact the organization has had on elder care, education, farming, and the care of malnourished babies and children. It is a life-changing privilege to travel to Haiti with this organization. The Haitian people are resilient and kind and need all of the help we can provide.

Comments ( 2 )

ShelleyB Thank you! Your support means so much to us and to our Haitian sisters and brothers.

ShelleyB Thank you! Your support means so much to us and to our Haitian sisters and brothers.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I went to Haiti this past summer and served through Mission Haiti. I had the opportunity to work with children in need and was able to see the variety of necessity in this country. This was an unforgettable experience. Mission Haiti is clearly passionate about sharing love and giving the people of Haiti a place to live and learn.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 11/12/2017

Thank you!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I'm incredibly thankful to have been apart of the work Mission Haiti does. Their work with the farm, elementary schools, and their care for babies and the elderly is truly making an impact. I was lucky enough to go on an immersion trip with Mission Haiti in the January of 2017, and the experience was life-changing. Witnessing firsthand the devastating conditions the people of Haiti live in was at times very hard to see, but being able to see the work Mission Haiti is doing to help the Haitians gave me hope. The people of Haiti need our help, and Mission Haiti is a great organization continuously leaving a positive impact there.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 11/12/2017

We're thankful you made the trip with us, and thank you for your kind words.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Going on the Mission Haiti trip was absolutely amazing. In Haiti we stayed with the Missionaries of Charity and helped out with the babies and children living there. It was humbling to meet some of the strong inspiring caring sisters that work so hard to better the lives of others. On this trip you will definitely see poverty and everything that comes with it but you will also see the joy, optimism, and resilience of the Haitian people. Most days we were with the sisters in their compound taking care of sick children, but we also did a trip where we traveled to the sister's farm and got to see the schools that Mission Haiti supports. This trip was filled with memories that I will never forget and I am so glad I had the opportunity to go.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This past June I went on a mission trip to Port-au-Prince, Haiti. This was by far the most meaningful thing I have ever done. Helping these children has inspired me to go to college and use my degree to try and lift Haiti out of poverty. Mission Haiti has given me a desire to be my best self so I can in turn help the people of Haiti be their best selves too.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 11/12/2017

This is so beautiful--thank you.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Four of my five family members have been to Haiti with Mission Haiti. I have been there once, my wife and daughter have been there twice and my son has been there three times.

My experience gave me a greater understanding of my place in the world. So many of the things we daily take for granted are simply not available to the people of Haiti. And yet they go on. Children go to school and play, adults work, care for their children and gather with friends and neighbors, just as we do. They appear to be happy and I have seen them be generous and yet by our standards they have next to nothing. We have much we can and should share with them. They remind me that it's not things that matter.

The experiences my wife and children have had are also very memorable for me. All three of them returned from Haiti each time as different people than they were before they went. In sharing their experiences they got to re-live them. It was pure joy for me to see my wife so excited to tell me what she saw and did. And as a parent there is nothing more rewarding than seeing your children grow in their knowledge and understanding of the world, their place in it and what their responsibilities are.

Mission Haiti is doing wonderful things in Haiti by supporting two schools, the sisters who teach there, a farm where the sisters live, and a home for abandoned women. It is also doing a great service here in the US, to those of us who have been lucky enough to travel to Haiti by enlightening us both mentally and spiritually.

I would recommend traveling with Mission Haiti to anyone who would like to broaden your horizons and expand your knowledge of your social and spiritual place in the world.

Ken Heer

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 11/12/2017

Thank you!

1 Beth C.3

Volunteer

Rating: 4

My son and I had the opportunity to go on a Mission trip through Mission Haiti June 2016. It was a life changing event for both of us. Mission Haiti takes care of infants, toddlers and children whom are ill until they are healthy enough to go back home. They build schools, educate children and continue to educate children while they grow into young adults going into college with the anticipation of giving back to the community as an adult. Mission Haiti also takes care of elderly adults. We witnessed the sisters taking care of the people of Haiti from birth to the very elderly with respect, dignity and love.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/25/2017

Thank you so much!

1 Lisa Smith S.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I had the good fortune to go with a volunteer group to Haiti in January 2016, and witnessed first hand the work of Mission Haiti. Mission Haiti builds schools, offers the opportunity for a good education to the young; feeds the hungry by helping maintain a bountiful farm; and cares for the elderly. Most importantly, Mission Haiti treats our Haitian sisters and brothers with dignity. A truly wonderful organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/25/2017

Thank you!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I went with my mom twice to Haiti with Mission Haiti. I have loved the connections that I have made with the students in Haiti and I loved volunteering at the feeding clinic with the babies in PAP. The people there don't have very much, but they are very good people who need a lot of help. It is fun and inspiring to see all of the good that Mission Haiti is doing for the people in Haiti.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/25/2017

Beautiful photos of beautiful girls00thanks for posting.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

On my mission trip to Haiti in the summer of 2016, I witnessed first-hand the hardships that people in third world countries face on a daily basis. I worked with young children at a wellness center, grown adults at a street clinic, and senior citizens in a nursing home. Each new place I went I had a new eye-opening experience. From everything that happened on that trip, all the poverty and depression within the country, the thing that I took away most was hope. I found hope in the future through every smiling face that I encountered. I believe that there is a lot of good to be done in this world, and I can contribute to that good in a major way when I grow up. Mission Haiti has had an incredible influence on my life and I am eternally grateful for the opportunities that the program has given me time and time again.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/25/2017

Mission Haiti is so grateful for you!

1 Emily K.2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Really love the work that Mission Haiti does for Haiti. They help to bring awareness to the plight of the Haitian people and make a real difference by helping to build schools, helping with local farming, and working alongside the Missionaries of Charity sisters. So grateful for Mission Haiti.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/25/2017

You're the best--thanks!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti Inc is a wonderful organization dedicated to lifting Haitians up through education, farming, and self empowerment. They support several schools in and around the community of Leogane, Haiti. They believe that the most successful method to improve the conditions of Haiti is by educating it's children so that they may build a nation that is self sustaining in the future. This organization also supports a home for abandoned women. And a farm that supplies food to the schools and home. I have had the great fortune to travel to Haiti to see this work first hand. The beautiful smiling faces of the children and the women in the home was a blesssing to witness! I have been a supporter and volunteer with this organization for over seven years and each year I feel blessed to see all that they have helped the citizens of Leogane accomplish.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/25/2017

Thanks for all you do to help Mission Haiti!

1 Laura S.1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am another quintessential white privileged American wanting to “give back” to the world. I am also one of those lame volunteer tourists who say that working in Haiti was “life changing”. However- all that is completely true for me.
It was a radical experience unlike nothing else. I thought my previous life experiences would have prepared me for Haiti. They did not.
The things I saw and lived were nearly unbelievable. I don’t think you can fully appreciate Haiti until you have been there.

That said, I believe that Mission Haiti is an excellent charitable organization. They have been committed to the people of Leogane since the ‘90’s. The have minimal overhead and organizational fees- I cannot quite you exact numbers, but I have seen first hand the running of the organization and promise that it is not rife with corruption.
I was able to meet the nuns who actually run the school/gardens/home for women, and come to understand their mission and compassion. I was able to visualize projects completed and those Stil in The works. We were able to see first hand the damage still apparent from the earthquake in 2010. And come to understand a people continually betrayed by a corrupt and no effectual government.

The value of Mission Haiti is immeasurable, especially to the lives it impacts in Leagane. It is a most worthy and trusted organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/25/2017

Thank you for your thoughtful words about your experience. Much appreciated.

1 Sarah J.1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti has provided me and my children not once, but twice, an amazingly intimate and personalized experience. We enjoyed understanding the depth and breadth of the issues, how we can help more back here on the mainland, and where our energy and money will be most effective for the Haitians and their community. From a logistical standpoint, the planning was fantastic, the lodging was comfortable, the food was good, and the travel itself was just fine. The cost was appropriate, the activities and dedicated time spent with various groups of people was enjoyable, and overall, it was a great value. The group leaders were great and the groups themselves were fantastic. I would do this over and over! Thankyou!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 10/25/2017

We're so glad that you had a good experience and hope you are able to travel with us again. Thanks so much for your kind words.

2 Sam_40

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I went on a trip to Haiti to volunteer with Mission Haiti. They are doing amazing things, from giving children education to nursing sick infants back to health. My experience was extremely immersive and I feel priveliged to have been a part of such a great mission.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti is an amazing organization. Mission Haiti partners with Haitians to support sustaining projects. In addition to supporting projects in education, agriculture, and care for the elderly - Mission Haiti supports individual Haitians to accomplish their hopes and dreams.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti is doing some incredible things for the country and is run by some of the most caring and hardworking people I know. They're making significant change for the people of Haiti!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am lucky enough to say I experienced what an incredible nonprofit Mission Haiti Inc is and witnessed what outstanding work that is being done by this group. I travelled with the president Jimmy Dunn, a few board members, and a couple other volunteers who wanted to see what was truly being done in Haiti by our nonprofit. I got to play and talk with kids from three different schools that Mission Haiti donates to and learn more about what they learn in school and how much they enjoy it. I was able to see and learn what more can be done for these kids, and being a college student myself, I was able to see what ideas that Mission Haiti has that can help the kids develop. We were able to see what the farm system project that we are funding looks like, and what improvements are needed to make this a better functioning and useful tool for the Haitians. The president showed us how much improvement has already been made so far and I really could not imagine what they would have to do for food without the improvements that Mission Haiti has funded and helped build. The last big project that I was fortunate enough to experience was the elderly homes that Mission Haiti strives to make as comfortable and helpful as possible. We spent a day giving the elderly women a "spa day" by massaging them, motioning their dry hands and feet, and painting their finger nails. I was able to learn first-hand how important it is to take care of these women who otherwise would be alone and dying on the streets, whereas they are given a much better life here at the home that Mission Haiti supports. Overall, seeing all that Mission Haiti Inc does and pushes to do in the future makes me realize that this is a nonprofit that I want to be involved with for the rest of my life.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Mission Haiti Inc is an organization that incorporates it's community in a truly magical way. The opportunities it allows its volunteers to have is one that allows each volunteer to connect with the charity on a personal level. The trips it organizes, in addition to the stories and passion it brings back to Minnesota has ignited a community to truly give itself to this cause. The relationship this organization allows its volunteers to forge with the Haitians they encounter makes the connections to it even stronger and because of this it is allowing multiple generations to be involved in a worthy cause.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I've had the privilege and opportunity to see the good works of Mission Haiti in action over the past 10 years through volunteering and other benefits. Most recently had the opportunity to take a trip to Haiti and personally witness the good works of Mission Haiti. last month with my parents, son, family members and friends. I witnessed the resources of Mission Haiti put to work building a sustainable model through education, health and wellness, nutrition and agriculture. But most of all, I had the benefit of seeing firsthand the devotion, commitment, love and resources of Mission Haiti and the life changing effect this mission has on the lives of so many.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ShelleyB 03/31/2016

Thank you very much for your review! We're so glad that you and your family has a good trip and got to see first-hand what Mission Haiti Inc. is all about.