Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Meals on Wheels of Lehigh County, Inc.

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Food, Meals on Wheels

Mission: To promote the independence and well being of homebound individuals by providing nutritious meals delivered by caring volunteers.

Results: Since 1971 we have delivered more than six million meals and helped thousands of people stay in their own homes--where they want to be--surrounded by the neighbors they know and the things they cherish.

Target demographics: Seniors and adults with disabilities

Direct beneficiaries per year: 926 unduplicated clients served in 2016.

Geographic areas served: Lehigh County, PA

Programs: Home-delivered meals, grocery shopping, delivery of free pet food for clients' pets, link to other social services, home visit and well-being check

Community Stories

42 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I recently began volunteering as a shopper for Meals On Wheels and had no idea just how wonderful this service is. They provide meals and shopping for those unable to provide for themselves. The people who work there truly caring individuals and the people the agency helps are so kind & grateful for the assistance.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I work full time but wanted to become involved in a volunteer program that would fit within the confines of my busy work schedule. The Call for Volunteers section in the local newspaper caught my attention and made me aware of the personal shopper program existing within the larger MOW nonprofit organization. I signed up for the introductory tutorial and knew it was a perfect personal "fit". Meeting the clients, continues to be a life altering experience for me. Their personal circumstances might differ greatly, while their needs remain the same. They need help in order to remain independent, and the MOW network helps them to do so. They are all proud and they are grateful. They help me as much as I help them. It continues to be a joy to learn a bit more about each of my clients as our friendships grow.
I have been inspired by their stories and intelligence and determination.




Volunteer

Rating: 5

Meals on Wheels runs a great program called Market on Wheels where volunteers grocery shop for individuals who are not able to do so themselves. It is a great help to those individuals to allow them to continue to obtain groceries and cook as they wish in their homes, even when not able to get to the grocery store.

Previous Stories
2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Meals on Wheels not only provides meals to those individuals who can't provide a nutritious meal for themselves, but they also provide a friendly faces and conversations to individuals who may not have the opportunity to be out and about interacting with others. They get to know their clients and interact with them as a friend. They area also there to notify someone in the event there is an issue or the client is just not acting or feeling as they always do. These volunteers have a big heart and provide a great service and interaction to their clients.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I enjoy volunteering for Market on Wheels. You meet , talk and form a bond with seniors that need some extra help.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My husband Jim and I started with Meals on Wheels as delivery people on an as needed basis. We enjoyed that a lot but when the home shopping program started we felt we were better suited to do that and have been with the same person since we started. We find it to be most rewarding to assist someone in need and have taken a family feel to our client. She is a most appreciative person.

Lavona Baatz and JimMiddendorf

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 05/22/2017

Thank you for volunteering with our grocery shopping program. We are thrilled that you found a volunteer opportunity that you find rewarding. And, we are sure our client so values your work and your friendship.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am a Meals On Wheels grocery shopper. My clients are really nice people who just need some help because they can't get out to shop for themselves. They are so appreciative that I can help them. We have become really close and I count them as friends. This is a very valuable service to both the clients, as well as their families, who can't always be there when needed.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 05/22/2017

We truly appreciate your volunteering with us. And, how wonderful that you...and our clients...have made new friends!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Lehigh County Medical Society Alliance has been providing two volunteers (one to drive and one to carry the meals in) to cover "Route 14" every Thursday since the mid-seventies. Personally, I have been doing this, as an Alliance member, since 1977. I have seen first-hand what a difference this service makes for the recipients. So many on the route welcome the mini-visit as well as the well prepared food.
For some Meals on Wheels clients, the volunteer who brings in their meal is the only visitor they will have all day. This provides a check-in for those who don't have family or friends stopping by. We volunteers call the office to report anyone who appears in distress or does not answer the door. MOW then follows up immediately.
Meals on Wheels of Lehigh County is a well run organization, providing a much needed service. The results of their work can be seen and measured every day. It is my pleasure to be one of their volunteers. Judith Arangio

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 04/11/2017

Thanks so much for all you do for our clients and our agency.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have volunteered for this organization everyday for last several years. it is a very fine organization helping feed disable and hungry. It brings such a joy to me and those who are being served. It is managed very well by a group of dedicated staff.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 04/11/2017

We so appreciate your volunteerism and kindness. Thanks for all you do!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Best Clients, Volunteers and Staff to work with. Well organized "machine".
Happy to be two of the "cogs " that keep it running smoothly.
Great people who really care about the job they are doing,
Lehigh County is blessed to have these people representing them

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 04/11/2017

Thanks so much for all that you do for our clients and for helping everything run smoothly.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My husband and I have been volunteering with Meals on Wheels for two years now and love every minute of it. This is such a wonderful organization filled with caring workers and volunteers and we're so proud to be a part of it. The healthy food delivered to the elderly and needy is just part of the experience. Sharing our time and love with all the clients is more rewarding than you can imagine. From the caring staff to the lovely clients, Meals on Wheels is the best organization to be part of!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I enjoy being part of this terrific organization as it is a great nonprofit with an amazing purpose

Audrey28

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I deliver meals two days a week and also do grocery shopping for 2 shut-ins several times a month. I find it very gratifying to do this type of hands-on assistance to people in need of food and a friendly visit. Meals On Wheels is very efficient, well-organized and takes great care of the clients and the volunteers.
Many elderly cannot afford their meals and receive a subsidy through the agency and community contributions. These elderly people would go without warm meals if it weren't for Meals On Wheels. Great to help.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you so much for all you do as a volunteer--delivering meals as well as grocery shopping. Your care and kindness mean the world to our clients.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

There are so many people involved with Meals on Wheels. This organization really cares about people in out community & does not receive enough reconzation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for your kind words and your volunteering to ensure that our homebound are well nourished in their own homes.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We volunteer for Market on Wheels. Such a satisfying experience for us as volunteers to aid a client who can still do their own cooking or some meal preparation but is unable to get out routinely for grocery shopping. This satisfaction is not only one sided. Our client is always happy to see us as we are to see and help her. She brings us joy as we bring a sense that someone cares for her and her well being.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

We know that our clients so enjoy the volunteer visit as well as the service you provide. Thank you.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Meals on Wheels of the Lehigh Valley is a fabulous organization! They provide meals, grocery delivery service and perhaps most importantly, a friendly smile to many who are unable to leave their homes and don't have family that are able to visit. I am honored to volunteer with this organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for volunteering and bringing joy to our clients.

Previous Stories
3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am also fortunate to be a Market on Meals volunteer with Meals on Wheels. All the staff at Meals on Wheels go above and beyond to make sure the people they serve are treated with dignity and respect. The personal connection is such an important part of their mission. Grocery shopping for my client is always a highlight of my week. I love doing this and am so happy to be a small part of a great organization!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for your kinds words and all that you do for "your" client. You are an everyday hero.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It makes me feel good seeing the smiles on the faces of our clients who require assistance shopping. I wish I had more time to shop for others. Meals on Wheels is a blessing for their clients.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for the time you are able to give....it means the world to our clients. We truly appreciate your service.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It's a great nonprofit with an amazing purpose, I love being part of this wonderful organization! My client values the services MoW-LV provide immensely!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for sharing your kindness and caring with our Agency. Volunteers are the heart and soul of Meals on Wheels.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Meals & Market on Wheels are rewarding volunteer experiences & help so many people in need.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you so much for volunteering and making sure that our clients get the groceries they need.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Meals on Wheels is a wonderful organization. I love volunteering and getting to know the clients.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Our volunteers are the heart and soul of our Agency. Thank you for being one of, as one clients said, a "special angel."

3 jaguar

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Being a volunteer shopper for the "Grocery on Wheels"program all I can say is in the last 40 plus years that I had been employed in the corporate world this job paid the least financially BUT paid the most emotionally and fully satisfies the soul with the true meaning of giving back....There has been no finer "Meaning of Life"experience for me....Thank you..

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for your sweet words and for all you do for our homebound clients. Your care means the world.

Previous Stories
3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have volunteered in the Carbon county area MOW program for a while and recently moved into Allentown-Lehigh County..I was intriqued by the new program called "Market on Wheels"a thinking out of the box food delivery concept very needed by many in the area...I am happy to report not only am I enjoying volunteering and the clients we serve, BUT the staff and coordinator of the program have nothing BUT the best interests of our clients at heart regarding all decisions....A true joy for me getting back WAY MORE than I give...Thank you MOW....Jeffrey L. Minnich Sr.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for all you do for our homebound. You are definitely and everyday hero!