Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2015 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Making Headway Foundation Inc

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Brain Disorders Research, Cancer, Cancer Research, Health, Pediatrics Research

Mission: Making Headway Foundation provides care, comfort and a cure for children with brain and spinal cord tumors while funding medical research geared toward better treatments and a cure.”

Results: Care: At the New York University Langone Medical Center we make the hospital stay more comfortable by enhancing the excellent medical care provided by the doctors, nurses and staff. At the Hassenfeld Children's Cancer Center, the day hospital where children come for treatments, Making Headway provides funding for a psychologist, massage and yoga services and nutritional snacks in the playroom. Comfort: Once the hospital stay has ended, and families are left to cope by themselves, trying to return to a more “normal" life, Making Headway continues its high level of support. Our Ongoing Care Program provides a diverse variety of free-of-charge support services, including support groups, individual psychological counseling and educational advocacy. For parents who have lost children, periodic bereavement groups and assistance with funeral expenses are offered. Family Fun Day, a yacht cruise and a New York City show are free of charge to the families. Cure: Making Headway's mission also encompasses the search for better treatments and a cure. We fund basic medical research, a Clinical Trials Manager to oversee all ongoing and new trials, training fellowships and a Biorepository Center that provides brain tumor tissue samples to researchers around the world.

Target demographics: Children with Pediatric Brain or Spinal Cord Tumor

Direct beneficiaries per year: 1000+ Children diagnosed with cancer

Geographic areas served: NY, NJ, CT

Programs: Support services for during treatment, ongoing care post treatment and funding for medical research.

Community Stories

28 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

3 justamom17

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor when she was 7 in 1998. She is now 23 and recently graduated college. I don't know how we would have made this journey without the help and support of the Making Headway Foundation. They give you hope and vision for better days, and when days are bleak they are there to hold your hand and help you bear that weight. They also support research looking to the future for better treatments and cures.

Comments ( 1 )

Catherine Lepone Thank you so much. Your family re-pays us in many ways and we are grateful to have you as part of the Foundation.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our 3 year old daughter was diagnosed with Leukemia in 2012. Over the course of her 2 years and 6 months treatment I'm not sure how we would have made it thru without the love and support of Maya and everyone at Making Headway. This outstanding organization puts children first, reminds us that children heal through love and laughter and not just by chemotherapy alone. My daughter looked forward to her weekly treatment visits because of all the activities that Making Headway supports at her oncology clinic. Their arms stretch out not only to the patient but the entire family...knowing that cancer affects the patient, siblings and family as a whole.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Making Headway is a wonderful foundation that has done so much to help my son giving him the support and advocating for him to receive the best services he needs in school. The fun activities they have for the kids, my son is so much looks forward to attend.

3 justamom17

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor when she was 7 in 1998. She is now 23 and recently graduated college. I don't know how we would have made this journey without the help and support of the Making Headway Foundation. They give you hope and vision for better days, and when days are bleak they are there to hold your hand and help you bear that weight. They also support research looking to the future for better treatments and cures.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 07/27/2015

Thank you so much. Your family re-pays us in many ways and we are grateful to have you as part of the Foundation.

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

It seems impossible to believe, my family was introduced to Making Headway almost 15 years ago. This was when our then 7 year old daughter was diagnosed with a life threatening brain tumor. The combination of the medical expertise of the specialists at NYU/Langone and the kindness and caring of all the wonderful Making Headway people made a frightening journey a journey of growth and compassion. Making Headways was there from the beginning making sure our daughter could still be a kid in the midst of all our worry. The various services Making Headway provides families, sustained us through all the difficult days with the compassion and humanity they provide. Making Headway more than fills the gap that sometimes exists because hospitals and doctors just do not engage in. We are so grateful.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 06/17/2014

We are the ones who are grateful...to have families such as yours as part of our organization.

Read more

Client Served

Rating: 5

We can't say enough positive things about this amazing organization that has helped our entire family since our son's brain tumor diagnosis in 2005. Educational support, counseling, sibling programs, fun activities and healthy snacks are just some of the ways we have directly benefited from this program. We love Making Headway!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Making Headway supported not only my 2 year old when he was diagnosed with a brain tumor in 2003 but my other 2 children as well. Without them I honestly don't know how I would have survived the worst year of my life. Their work and dedication has made a difference in my family's life and the lives of countless others.

Client Served

Rating: 5

An amazing organization that has helped my family immensely. They provide us with an advocate that helps work with my daughter's school. Don't know how I would have come this far without them. Thank you Maya & Edward and your wonderful staff for all you do for families like ours.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

It's nice to know people who understand what it's like to have a child with a disease. Making headway helps us enjoy all the good days!

Client Served

Rating: 5

The Making Headway foundation has done more for me and my family then i can ever thank them for. ever since i was diagnosed with my brain tumor. The Making Headway Foundation has Been there for me and my family. from support in the hospital during treatment and doctors visits, or just various events that we are invited to. when we are around people who are so caring it makes things so much easier to deal with The Making Headway Foundation is such a great foundation Words cant even explain.

Client Served

Rating: 5

When my 8 week old daughter, Minty, began her battle with brain cancer, we were drowning in a sea of help. But it wasn't always good help. 2 organizations stood out in this din of misguided inefficiency: "Friends Of Karen", and MAKING HEADWAY. It is not enough to simply "want" to help. If the help is un-researched, un-thought out, badly managed, ignorant - the help will make no impact. In fact, quite the opposite. It is no easy feat to really truly help people, when they need it most. Making Headway truly enriched my daughter's life and for this I will forever be indebted. Thank you Maya and Ed. Mei Lai.

Client Served

Rating: 5

The Making Headway Foundation has been an incredible source of inspiration and strength for me over the past ten years as a cancer survivor. With an amazing staff, and vast amounts of programming, they have given my life meaning and value - something I thought I had lost after being diagnosed in 2003. I can't thank them enough for all they have done, and wouldn't know where I'd be today without them... Thank you!
-Steven Hazlett

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 06/17/2014

Thank you, Steven. We'd love to hear your ideas about what young adults would like!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Making Headway continues to assist our son
& us after he was diagnosed & treated for brain
cancer 10 years ago. They are an amazing
organization. They take care of the WHOLE
patient & family prior to, during & after treatment.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 06/17/2014

Thank you, Eileen!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor 7 years ago, at ten years of age. The Making Headway Foundation has stood by us every step of the way since then, providing our daughter and our whole family with an amazing array of supportive services. Their kindness, compassion, empathic understanding of the stresses we live with and their generous and thoughtful determination to ease our burden is beyond measure. They consistently and creatively find ways to help children and families cope with the impact of this serious medical diagnosis, providing help during treatment as well as continuing their assistance, addressing the child's ongoing educational and emotinal needs. There is no organization I hold in higher esteem.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 06/17/2014

We appreciate your review!

Client Served

Rating: 5

This foundation has worked tirelessly to advocate and fund research for children with bran tumors. As a parent of such a child who was diagnosed over 20 years ago , it is remarkable and quite selfless to me how the members and health professionals work together to help those afflicted as well as their families. It would be even more of a challenge to face the stress of a child facing surgery and treatments and Making Headway brings a wealth of information and support for the victims of brain and spinal diseases.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 06/17/2014

It's our pleasure to assist you.

Gregory10

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our daughter Allison was diagnosed with a PNET. THEY WERE THERE FOR A FAMILY FROM THE BEGINNING TO THE END. They offered so many services and helpful information it was amazing!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 06/17/2014

We like your idea of more Pastors, Gregory. Good suggestion.

Allison34

Client Served

Rating: 5

The Making Headway Foundation changes lives every day. The volunteers and professionals involved with this non-profit are caring, committed, and tops in their respective fields - seeking constantly to improve the quality of life for children with brain tumors and their families and caregivers. From the research they support to the hugs they offer a parent in a waiting room and from the vast knowledge they put at parents' fingertips to the fun social activities they offer for the kids, the people at Making Headway are on mission to improve lives, one minute and one day at a time. This great organization provided such incredible comfort and support during the very difficult years for our son and family - just knowing there was a team of very qualified people to answer our questions and there was a friendly place where our then five-year-old son could comfortably wait for appointments. And even as our 19-year-old son becomes an adult, we know that Making Headway is still "there" for us and more importantly, for him!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 07/11/2013

It's an honor to help all of our families. Thank you.

Patrick I.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My then 16 year old daughter was diasgnosed with an hermangioma on her brain. Dr. Fred Epstein performed the successful operation. Maya and Ed Manley, co-creators of the Making Headway foundation were there every step of the way, prior to and after the operation as well as yeas later inviting us to the picnic that Making Headway has every year at the Manley residence.
Maya and Ed are extremely warm, caring and affectionate to all who come in contact with them. Be it , the patirent, doctor, parents, etc. All of them are given extreme care, understanding, and love by the Manleys' and the rest of this wonderful organization. I can't imagine what that time of our lives would have been like if it wasn't for the Making Headway Foundation.
My daughter is now 32 years old, I have a wonderful 21/2 year old grandaughter, and every year we don't forget the Making Headway Foundation. Especially Ed and Maya Manley whose slow , low manners lulls you into their submission and generosity, love, caring and affection.
Thank God for the Making Headway Foundation

Patrick and Linda Imbriale

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 07/11/2013

Thank you for your kind words. All of us at Making Headway appreciate the trust you place in us.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daugter was diagnosed in 1998. Her DR hooked us up with Making Headway and they have been part of our lives ever since. They do a wonderful job making the kids feel comfortable while waiting for treatment and helping parents get the support they need. We look forward to seeing them at their wonderful events for the kids and reconnecting with parents who have similar stories. It breaks me up when I see all of these wonderful kids together who have thrived despite horrendous odds. Thank God for Ed and Maya.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 07/11/2013

We are so happy we can be of help to families such as yours.

Vivian R.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Making Headway is a wonderful Nonprofit organization that helps children and their families deal with brain and spinal tumors. They also support cancer research and fun activities. My son was diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor in July 2001. Maya Manley and Making Headway Foundation helped make the long hospital stays bearable. To this day, my son still looks forward to the Making Headway activities! One time, I was able to get a massage in the doctor's waiting area after my son got a MRI scan! The volunteers work tirelessly and are truly caring. Making Headway is GREAT!!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Catherine Lepone 07/11/2013

Thank you, Vivian!

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

Making Headway was wonderful to my son and my family when he was hospitalized for a brain tumor. They also gave us support after we went home. They still continue to provide great activities for our son - 11 years later! They also donate money for cancer research.

matthewzachary

Client Served

Rating: 5

As one of the original beneficiaries of this amazing organization (when I was diagnosed with brain cancer in 1996 at the age of 21), Making Headway was there for me. The support they offered by way of free psychotherapy and peer support were invaluable to helping me back on my feet and ready to address the "what's next" and how to get busy living. I will forever be indebted to their services.

Client Served

Rating: 5

their help for 60 weeks while my daughter was getting chemotherapy was incredible. that was in 1996. my daughter has been cancer free now for over 10 years!