Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation, Inc.

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Health, Pediatrics Research, Philanthropy

Mission: The Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation was established by a child with cancer with one purpose in mind: to fund pediatric cancer research. To that end, the foundation serves as a vehicle to secure private funding to distribute to research facilities and promote awareness through its fund raising activities. The designation of funds to various research facilities is cancer specific and based on the foundation's annual evaluation of the latest research.

Results: Through the generosity of donors like you, we have funded research at several of the 120 different research facilities for childhood cancer around the country, including: Baylor/Texas Children’s Cancer Canter, (Baylor/TCCC) Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, (CHOP) Children’s Medical Center Dallas Colorado Children's Cornell-Weill Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Georgetown/Lombardi Seattle Children’s Some Media Links: The Quilter Magazine, Feature Article, June/July 2013: http://www.thequiltermag.com/issues/2013/161/makesomenoise_article.pdf Chicago – Aug 2014: ABC7: http://abc7chicago.com/society/national-angel-quilt-visits-chicago-area/228269/ Harrisburg July 2014: FOX 43: http://fox43.com/2014/07/10/national-angel-quilt-for-childhood-cancer/#axzz374UBaYKG Denver - March 2012: ABC 7 Denver: http://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/30708778/detail.html NBC 9 Denver: http://www.9news.com/news/article/256496/222/Make-some-noise-and-cure-cancer Seattle – April 2012: King 5 Seattle: “New Day NW” talk show in Seattle, April 2012: http://www.king5.com/new-day-northwest/Make-Some-Noise-Cure-Kids-Cancer-147796085.html NBC/King 5 “Making a Difference” interview: http://www.king5.com/video/featured-videos/Teenage-boy-travels-148188495.html Rochester NY - Aug 2012: YNN News: http://rochester.twcnews.com/content/search/594815/national-angel-quilt-begins-coast-to-coast-tour/ Troy Times, July 16, 2013: http://www.candgnews.com/news/quilt-honoring-kids-lost-cancer-stops-oakland-mall Charlotte, NC: ABC WSOC, Aug 2013: http://m.wsoctv.com/news/news/local/national-angel-quilt-honors-charlotte-area-who-die/nZPBK/ Tulsa: NBC Channel 2 Live, July 2013 http://www.kjrh.com/dpp/news/local_news/15-year-old-begins-national-angel-quilt-raises-awareness-and-money-for-kids-cancer-research Kansas City: NBC KSHB Channel 41: Action News with reporter, Fernando Ochoa July 2013 http://www.kshb.com/dpp/news/local_news/angel-quilt-makes-stop-at-union-station-raises-money-for-pediatric-cancer-research

Target demographics: fund vital cure research for childhood cancers.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Research Investigators in the field of Pediatric Oncology.

Geographic areas served: Nation wide

Programs: The National Angel Quilt features images, names and ages of children who have lost their battles with cancer; These beautiful children may have lost the cancer battle, but all are the most inspiring heroes and have earned their angel wings. The National Angel Quilt honors these angles of pediatric cancer, and we are very excited to bring Pediatric Cancer Awareness to the country in such a beautiful and meaningful way; The National tour began during pediatric cancer awareness month in September 2011, and will continue to grow and tour until the cures are found and there are no more angels to add to the quilt.

Community Stories

6 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daughter Alexis is on the National Angel Quilt. From the very beginning of submitting her picture to seeing the quilt make its rounds across the US, it has been instrumental in my grief process. I had the honor of meeting Malcolm and Julie when the quilt made a stop in my hometown. Their courage, strength and perseverance are beautiful qualites on their own and that makes them heroes in my book. Add selflessness, the desire to help others and freely giving their time in spreading awareness of Childhood Cancer...well that just makes them Super Heroes. I am forever grateful to Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation.

Robynne S.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My son is on the National Angel Quilt when he lost his fight with childhood cancer. I think this organization is doing such a great job with making others aware of childhood cancer & how it affects so many families such as my own. We need to find a cure for these helpless children so that they can lead wonderful, full lives in order to make a difference in this world. Malcomb is a strong, inspirational young man & I adore/admire his courage to make a difference in the lives of so many children. I hold him & his family close to my heart!! God bless them!!!

1 Linda321

Client Served

Rating: 5

Make Some Noise : Cure Kids Cancer Foundation Inc is an awesome organization. I learned of them through a friend of a friend when she suggested I send my angel Granddaughters photo in for the angel quilt. Julie was wonderful to deal with and you can tell she truly cares about the families affected by this horrible disease. I cant wait to see the quilt in person. I am so glad I found them. Earning money to help cure this dreadful illness is so very important. Thank you for all you do.

Lance T.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation, Inc. is an amazing organization. I found out about this organization after losing my 4 year old daughter and 15 year old son to cancer. I saw the National Angel Quilt online and was pleased to see that there was an organization bringing awareness to childhood cancer. Needless to say this cause is dear to our hearts. My wife and I established a nonprofit called Have Faith Be Strong to continue the work that our son Jalen started shortly after being diagnosed with cancer at age 13. We contacted Julie and she informed us that our daughter Breanna and our son Jalen could be added to the quilt. We were thrilled and honored. We have since seen their pictures on the quilt online, but not in person. We look forward to their scheduled West Coast tour next summer. They provide this all free of charge. God bless all of the Angels, families, and this wonderful organization.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

Make Some Noise, under Malcolm's leadership, has made a real and tangible impact on accelerating our research towards learing how to cure cancer using the immune system. Every dollar you have given us has gone towards this goal. Keep up the great work Malcolm and thank you!!! --Dr. Michael Jensen, Director of Ben Towne Center for Childhood Cancer Research, Seattle Children's Research Institute

1 Amy_4

Client Served

Rating: 5

Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer is a fabulous organization started by an amazing young man. My daughter was diagnosed with cancer 3 years ago at age 4. I had no idea until it happened to us how little funding there is for pediatric cancer research and how many kids there are out there fighting for their lives. Make Some Noise has brought so much needed awareness and funding to help to try to save these amazing children.

Review from Guidestar