Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Lucky Dog Animal Rescue

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: Lucky Dog Animal Rescue is a non-profit organization dedicated to rescuing homeless and abandoned animals, primarily dogs from high-kill shelters and owners who can no longer care for them. By working with committed volunteers, foster homes, local veterinarians, trainers, and boarding facilities, we are able to rescue hundreds of animals every year, provide them with loving temporary care, and find them well-matched, carefully screened forever homes. We also serve as a resource to our community and all pet owners by providing education and information on responsible pet ownership, including the importance of spay/neuter, positive behavior training, and good nutrition.

Results: From our founding in May, 2009 through August, 2011, we have rescued 3,100 dogs!

Community Stories

90 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I've had an awesome experience with lucky dog! I foster with them and you can tell that everyone involved with the organization genuinely wants to find these dogs and cats a forever home. They work with people to make sure the dogs and the humans find a perfect match.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ejagdmann 09/14/2017

Thank you for your support and helping us make a difference for dogs and cats in need.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This organization is completely committed to saving dogs and cats. I volunteer as a foster and from what I see, the level of organization and communication around saving these animals is extraordinary. They steward their resources - wasting nothing. This is what a true 501(c)(3) looks like.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ejagdmann 09/14/2017

Thank you so much for helping us save lives!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It's all about the welfare of the animals and a great group of volunteers!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ejagdmann 08/02/2017

Thank you for your support! It means the world to our volunteers and our animals.

1 Ali_3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I'm a longterm Lucky Dog Volunteer and Adopter! I love Lucky Dog because they are a caring organization that works so hard to ensure that each shelter pup is matched with a wonderful home and those adopters are fully prepared for life with doggy! Lucky Dog has such dedicated volunteers and wonderful puppies - they are an incredible organization with which to rescue a pet. My Paisley is a Lucky Dog and I couldn't be happier!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ejagdmann 08/02/2017

Hi Ali. Thank you for everything you do for our rescue and for leaving us this thoughtful review. Our rescue is only able to save the lives we do because of dedicated volunteers like yourself!

Previous Stories
1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been volunteering and fostering with Lucky Dog for just over a year now and it has been an amazing experience! This organization is made up of such dedicated, caring people that truly want to make a difference for animals in this world. Each puppy I foster, each dog I handle at an adoption event has touched my heart and I am honored to have been a small part of their journey to finding a wonderful and loving forever home!

Read more

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Lucky Dog has a role for everyone; full time fostering? Absolutely. Short term fostering? That too. Only have a donation? Yup, they still want your help. With such diverse ways to contribute, anyone and everyone has the opportunity to make a difference. The organization and quick feedback helps sustain a team of supporters for each dog and cat to help them find the perfect home. They pay so much attention to keeping the animal's profiles updated and full of helpful information for any adopter. You can tell the staff truly care and work relentlessly for a happy ever after for all animals that come into their care.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ejagdmann 08/02/2017

Hi Kristen. Your review was incredibly moving to our team and we are so grateful to have such supportive volunteers. Thank you from all the Lucky Dogs and Cats in our care.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Love is watching your lucky dog get dirty at the dog park.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ejagdmann 08/02/2017

Hi JLHulier. Thank you for adopting a Lucky Dog and taking the time to leave us this review. Our Lucky Dogs and Cats really appreciate it.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I've volunteered for Lucky Dog for almost 2 years as an adoption coordinator. It is well run and organized. I'm a huge fan!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

ejagdmann 08/02/2017

We appreciate your support and our Lucky Dogs and Cats are so grateful for your time and dedication to finding them wonderful forever homes. Thank you for everything you do for Lucky Dog Animal Rescue.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Lucky Dog has been a lifesaver for our small, rural shelter in an economically depressed region of eastern North Carolina. We are entirely staffed by volunteers and handle a large number of homeless, neglected and abused animals. We operate on donations only and are not in the county budget. Our focus is education, providing low cost spay and neuter services, and adoptions, but we still are faced with many unwanted and homeless puppies and dogs. Lucky Dog continually assists us in placing our dogs and we are so grateful for their involvement and assistance.

We appreciate that they are working with a much larger population and have the skills and resources to find the best homes for the animals we want to help. We know that when a dog is scheduled for the Lucky Dog run that they are lucky indeed. It is about a four hour trip to transport the dogs from our location. It was my pleasure to drive on a certain Saturday and it was such a pleasure to be met by welcoming, pleasant and very efficient staff and volunteers. And meeting the adoptive parents was just a joy. They were so happy about receiving their new friend and you just knew that they would love completely and take the very best care of the animals that we had grown to love too. It was evident that Lucky Dog done its due diligence in screening and educating prospective adopters. At PAWS, we never worry about placement of our charges with Lucky Dog

Lucky Dog is caring, professional, and great people to work with on behalf of the animals we all love and want to protect. We highly recommend Lucky Dog as a wonderful Animal Rescue.

Thank you Lucky Dog!

PAWS of Hertford County, North Carolina




























Comments ( 1 )

profile

ejagdmann 07/11/2017

Thank you to our PAWS partners for leaving such a wonderful review. It is truly a privilege to work with such a dedicated and compassionate organization, and we look forward to continuing our partnership for many years to come.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Unlike many non-profits that are dog or cat related, Lucky Dog Animal Rescue never takes shortcuts in its processes. Even though over a hundred dogs and cats find their forever homes every month through Lucky Dog Animal Rescue, the process is followed each and every time. Every home is checked, every veterinarian is called, every potential adopter is screened, and every dog is health and behavior tested.
Not only do the Lucky Dog Animal Rescues staff and volunteers have the biggest hearts, they have the best work ethics and processes that I have ever seen.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am a volunteer with Lucky Dog. This organization is the best in nonprofits. They literally snatch dogs from certain death and bring them here. From that point on they are dedicated to each dog and very carefully screen adopters. They say a lucky dog is lucky for life because if the adopters ever have to move for example out of the country, they will take the dog and be sure it has a forever home. This is a pure good nonprofit run out of the goodness of each and every volunteer who give of their time and resources for these precious souls. If you meet one Lucky Dog you will see they are beyond precious and totally deserving of the love and care that Lucky Dog gives them. Lucky Dog is the most wonderful organization and they bring people and deserving innocent animals together. They make miracles for both.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

LDAR makes it so easy to volunteer! You are able to quickly jump in where you can, and see the results of your efforts. I always look forward to our Sunday night email distro about the dogs that have been adopted!

Sajd2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Wonderful organization finding loving homes for homeless dogs and cats. Warm and compassionate staff and volunteers. So glad I found Lucky Dog.

Previous Stories
1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We have been fostering LDAR puppies for 2 1/2 years. It has been an incredibly rewarding experience. When they first arrive, the puppies are usually frightened and timid. In a day or two when they get used to their new surroundings, they are full of love and joy. Nothing is more wonderful than coming home to an enthusiastic greeting from a litter of pudgy balls of fur. No day is a bad (or quiet) day with puppies in the house.
LDAR is extremely well organized and the volunteers dedicated to making sure that the dogs in their care find the loving homes they deserve.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We adopted our dog from Lucky Dog less than 2 years ago. The process was clear and easy and quick! The foster family gave us great insight into the liter in which we were interested in adopting and helped us to select the perfect dog for us. Camden (originally "Caramel") is the perfect dog for our family and we have thoroughly enjoyed him! Since then, we have signed up to foster puppies through Lucky Dog. The organization has exceptional and thorough communication and is very easy to work with to make sure numerous dogs and cats are placed in safe and loving homes!

Sophie W.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I foster a dog with Lucky Dog and from the day I discovered this wonderful organization, I was very impressed with their professionalism, organization, patience of staff and most importantly, their common love for animals! I was initially added to their Listserv and was in the loop about all their activities (adoption events, list of dogs to foster, fundraising events) and was impressed by the extent of their network and the coordination on behalf of the Lucky Dog staff. Whether it's to transport a foster dog from one home to an adoption event, set up a home visit, share photos, etc., they were always there to help. And their compulsory foster training was excellent. As a new foster dog parent, this information was invaluable to me and they really prepare anyone who's new at this to thrive at helping disadvantaged pups and getting them into their Furever homes. Thanks Lucky Dog, keep doing what you're doing!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Lucky Dog rescues 1000+ dogs per year from near certain death by harnessing the power of an ARMY of dedicated and passionate volunteers. That's their special sauce: giving people like me and hundreds of others a platform where we can roll up our sleeves and save pets. It can't be easy coordinating everything from transporting dogs from high kill shelters, arranging fosters and boarding, and then hosting adoptions events (every weekend!), but they do it with military precision and, truly, at the lowest cost possible, meaning every dime contributed produces real results. Having spent a lot of time of non-profits, I can say that Lucky Dog is making a real difference - the large and growing number of pups they save speak for itself. I feel proud to be associated with the group as a volunteer.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I started out as a dog handler and was so impressed with the passion and organization of Lucky Dog that I decided to expand my role to being an adoption coordinator. Lucky Dog appreciates its volunteers and has very strong organization that supports every step of the adoption process from rescuing dogs from shelters to providing guidance to adopters. Great place to volunteer because there are lots of options to participate, depending on your available time and interest.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I've volunteered with Lucky Dog and even adopted our dog from Lucky Dog. They are a dedicated organization that works to find forever homes and rescue as many dogs and cats even, as possible. And they do this all by working with a network of volunteers dedicating their time. Everyone at Lucky Dog truly cares about this mission and they do wonderful heartfelt work.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been involved with Lucky Dog Animal Rescue since 2011 when I adopted my dog. After my great experience adopting, I knew I wanted to stay involved with such a wonderful organization. I became a handler for dogs at the events and then later a foster. Lucky Dog has always been great at preparing you for your role whether it be as an adopter or volunteer. They want the best for their dogs and want to make sure that the dog will be a good fit for the family. Lucky Dog is excellent at communicating and I know that I can contact them with any question. The people involved with Lucky Dog are some of the hardest working, passionate individuals I have ever met. I am proud to be part of this organization.

Previous Stories
2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog Animal Rescue 4 years ago. After going through the adoption process, I realized what a wonderful, caring organization Lucky Dog was and knew I wanted to get involved as a volunteer. At first I volunteered as a handler at the adoption events and walked and played with the dogs while they met potential adopters. Not a bad way to volunteer! Later I moved into the foster role. Lucky Dog is excellent at communicating and always expresses their appreciation of their volunteers. I have never felt pressured to participate in any event, but their passion for helping dogs (and sometimes cats!) makes it hard to not want to volunteer! Lucky Dog goes to great lengths to help pups in need. Volunteers will go as far as Puerto Rico to bring dogs safely to DC. Adoption Coordinators will meet potential adopters at all hours to do home visits and complete final paperwork. They are always looking for new ways to best help their dogs. I cannot thank Lucky Dog enough for bringing my pup and me together and for helping me to open my home to so many amazing foster dogs. Lucky Dog has become an important part of my life and I love seeing them grow and succeed, because in the long run that means even more lives are being saved.

Read more
Kate101

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This is my favorite organization to volunteer with because you get to immediately interact with animals and make a difference in saving their lives. You can basically just show up to help handle dogs at an adoption event and get to be their advocate for a few hours to find them a forever home. The organization also does a great job vetting applicants and I have done a number of home visits of potential adopters to ensure that it will be a safe environment and good match. My absolute favorite thing to do is foster, and once you are approved with Lucky dog as a foster you get to choose which dogs you are interested in taking home each week (you send a few choices and are then assigned). All the dogs I have fostered so far are absolute sweeties and cuddle bugs. I am very impressed by the dedication of the few staff members at Lucky Dog and the amazing commitment of the volunteer leadership. I feel the passion of the volunteers and it is very inspiring.

Kim_228

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Really great organization with amazing underlying philosophy. Run by dedicated volunteers who a passionate and committed to what they do which is helping dogs and cats.