Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2011 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Kids Excel El Paso Inc

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Arts & Culture, Arts Education, Dance, Education, Primary & Elementary Schools

Mission: The Arts have a unique ability to engage and motivate children. The mission of Kids Excel El Paso is to use its distinctive dance programs to help children develop discipline, a standard or excellence, and self-confidence that will positively impact their education and all aspects of their lives - one dance step at a time!

Direct beneficiaries per year: Over 2200 children are participating in the 10-11 school year in 30 weekly classes for the entire 4th grade.

Geographic areas served: El Paso County

Programs: In-School classes for the entire 4th grade. Kids Excel is not a pull out program.

Community Stories

15 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

Kids Excel works with my Special Needs students. I like the positivity of the program they offer. Watching the students smile and knowing they are feeling good about themselves.

3 Olga2

Client Served

Rating: 5

For 4 years I was fortunate enough to have worked with Kids EXCEL at a school in El Paso. I remember bugging the new principal to bring them back because we were rated non acceptable at one point and she thought that it was just something taking from instructional time. School has never been rated like that again and they were even exemplary. I moved to Houston and I can tell I really miss having something like that despite my kids having art and music on a regular schedule. I wish they had Kids EXCEL here and really think is one of the best things that can happen to any school. Keep it up!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 10/10/2012

We miss you too, Olga!!! I wish we could work with your students! xxoo

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

All students served by Kid Excel thrive. This is one program where you see an immediate result in the students' self esteem. When it comes time for Kids Excel the students' faces light up because they have the opportunity to "shine". This program teaches students to listen and respond to commands with great respect for the instructors and each other. They are completely captivated by the energy of their music and dance. Through the creative talents of the instructors they plan an instructional objective which is taught through dance and music. Students are taught the discipline of following directions, respect for each other and working together as a team.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 03/02/2012

prm1, I am happy to hear that you can see the results in the form of improved self esteem and respect.

Client Served

Rating: 5

KIDS EXCEL is in a category of their own. They work with every 4th grade student striving for each student's personal's best. We have had the privilege of having the program for the past few years and it is evident that our students self- esteem, and self-confidence have increased tremendously. Through the integration of music and movement which is encompassed with in our Educational environment has clearly increased student academic performance as well as their health. EQM

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 03/02/2012

Elvia, we are so happy to be working with your students!

Nancy37

Client Served

Rating: 5

Kids Excel provides weekly instruction for every 4th grader at my school. Not only do our students learn to love dance and creative movement, they learn to work hard, give their personal best in everything they do, and never give up. The instructors truly care about each student. The program musicians play live for every class so no one can resist dancing their hearts out!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 03/02/2012

Nancy, We love working with your students!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have seen a change in my students since we started the program in September. One student stands out the most, a resource student. It began slowly, but his memory, coordination, confidence, maturity and attention span in the classroom is showing such giant leaps. Even his handwriting is improving. All the students love the program and they are all showing inprove skills int the classroom. It should be in all schools. Our students do not have the opportunity to participate in many outside school activities because of costs, this program gives them the chance. It is definately a confidence builder and they love the presenters! It is such a pleasure to watch the kids and how they respond to live music. We need the grant to keep this program alive in our schools!

Client Served

Rating: 5

What a wonderful program! I can't say enough about it. I am a teacher at Putnam Elementary. Kids EXCEL started last year (2009-2010), and our school was fortunate enough to get to go to The Plaza Theater to perform. The majority of these students had never even seen the theater before, but to get to actually be on the stage with an audience was an experience they will never forget.
My students look forward to Kids EXCEL every week. It teaches them discipline, listening skills, the ability to follow directions, and gives them much needed exercise in a very fun way. Our weeks consist of testing, testing, and more testing. This is a program that gives them a break from that monotonous routine. These students are missing out on the arts because of TAKS, benchmarks, and weekly assessments. This is their one reprieve.


Kim Jimerson
4th Grade Teacher
Putnam

Client Served

Rating: 5

There are few organizations that are of the same caliber as KIDS EXCEL. Going above and beyond does not portray an accurate picture of the hard work and dedication that the staff at Kids Excel provides for the children they serve.. The reputation of Kids Excel precedes them, parents, custodians and teachers are quick to point out that the staff is not only compassionate but dependable and reliable as well. The Kids Excel team posses a wealth of knowledge and wisdom, that is shared with all never expecting anything in return. They exhibit’s nothing other than a total commitment to any endeavor they are a part of. The team works hard to ensure students always perform in a commendable fashion and their work is nothing but high quality. The Kids Excel mantra is never give up and always do your personal best. They have made a lasting impact on all of our students and now even students who face many tough challenges never give up and always ensure to do their personal best! Kids Excels enthusiasm and passion for children has left a lasting impact on not only the staff, students, teachers but the parents as well. Kids Excel is a top notch organization! .

Client Served

Rating: 5

Kids Excel of El Paso has positively impacted more than two hundred of our students in just two years. Our fourth graders have benefited physically, emotionally, and academically from dance. The learn that progress and acquiring a new skill takes discipline, effort, and a good attitude. The staff is highly professional and reliable. We are blessed to have them in El Paso!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 01/07/2011

Principal Mendoza, It is a pleasure to work with your team of 4th grade teachers and students. Our experience of your school is always one of joy!

Client Served

Rating: 5

My son participated in the 4th grade program in his school and was one of the schools chosen to showcase at the public show. The entire year was a worthwhile experience that he still talks about today, a year later. He constantly tells his little brother how much "fun" it was and all the things he learned while learning the dances. He was invigorated during the 4th grade year and would always feel more awake after starting the day with Kids Excel. The focus for the year he was in Kids Excel was reading and it compelled him to read even more. He has become a bookworm and truly enjoys it. He (and I) wishes the program could continue into 5th grade. I can see the benefit of having this program expand into all levels. I have seen how enthusiastic the kids were to perform and learn.
The final show-stopping event was just that! I likened it to a near Broadway performance of young school age children. Their effort and hard work showed and the performance was just awe-inspiring amazing. Their energy was amazing. Their discipline at having to learn all the dances and remain focused during the performance was a feat in itself. Several family members who were able to attend were just blown away at how disciplined and "professional" the entire performance was. It is something that none of us will soon forget.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 01/07/2011

Dear Parent, This is wonderful to hear. I am so happy we were able to have an impact on your son. Gemtria

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was first introduced to Kids Excel in 2009. I was not exactly sure what the program was all about but I did know that our school lacked opportunities for our students to be involved in theatre and music. My students have not only been exposed to music, dance, theatre, and performance they have been given life long skills that they will utilize through out their lives. The enthusiasm and positive attitude the Kids Excel staff demostrates is amazing and infectious. Our students look forward to Kids Excel weekly. This program has generated an excitment not only among the 4th graders that participate but amongst the lower grades who look forward to being part of a such a phenomenal program. Having music & physical activity in students lives is a key component to their academic success, I am grateful for all that Kids Excel has brought to our campus and our students lives. During our performances our community is simply in "AWE" of what our 4th graders are able to do. Parents continuously share with me postive comments such as "we love it, our kid loves it", "this is great", "I wish we had this back when I was at school", these are only a few of the comments I have heard from parents.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 01/07/2011

Hi Gina, I wish we could come daily, too! So many 4th graders in El Paso and so little time:D Always my best, Gemtria

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am a principal of a shcool where we have the Kids EXCEL program. I had the program for about 5 years and it has been a great success. Students learn so much from it and apply what they learn in all areas of their lives. It is a great pleasure to have them and will recommend the program to any school or organization that works with kids.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 01/07/2011

Bertha, It is a pleasure to be at your school. We love working with your teachers and students each year.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My introduction to Kids Excel was in the 2009-10 school year when Putnam Elementary was added though a very generous donation. Most of our students are low income and have few experiences with the arts, especially, dance. Kids Excel teaches excellence through dance. The fourth grade students who participate are passionate about the program. This passion is translated into other areas of their lives. Amazingly, some of the students who are "discipline problems" thrive in Kids Excel. Once they experience success is dance, their lives are transformed. The program incorporates value themes into the dance lessons. It contributes to a healthy, stimulating school climate. Thank you Kids Excel!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 01/07/2011

Nancy, We LOVE working at your school with your teachers and students. Thanks for all you do! Gemtria

Client Served

Rating: 4

I first saw Kid's Excel perform at a district wide Principal's meeting. The students were from a campus I was previously a Principal at. I was thrilled at seeing them rise to a high level of performance. They had matured so much since I had seen them the year before, and I credited
their participation in Kid's Excel to a large degree.

Now as a Principal at a different campus where Kid's Excel works, I see the same maturity in our students. I have also observed that our children have so much more confidence in themselves. They present in front of cafeteria size audiences with little problem.

I will continue providing my fourth grade students with these experiences and highly encourage other Principals to allow their students to participate.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 01/07/2011

Alicia, Wouldn't that be nice if we could serve more children at your school. Maybe someday we will find a way to serve all the 4th graders in El Paso, and then we can expand to other grade levels!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am a 4th grade teacher at an elementary school in El Paso, TX. We have had the Kids Excel El Paso program at our school since the 2005-2006 school year. The program is such a high point of every week for our students and teachers. We have no art or music teacher for 4th grade, so KEEP is basically the only fine arts curriculum our students receive other than small things the classroom teachers do. The program stresses the importance of never giving up, doing your personal best, and working hard in KEEP class as well as in all areas of your life. I personally stress these traits in my classroom every day and tell my students that is what I do every day of my life as well. Not only is the class a blast for the kids, it boosts their self esteem and team building skills. I LOVE Kids Excel and all of its staff members!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Kids Excel El Paso 01/07/2011

Dear futurelibrarian, Our staff has enjoyed working with the 4th grade teachers and students at your school very much. (yes, I know who you are). Thanks for all you do to make the program a success for your students. Best, Gemtria