Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2015 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Jewish Family Services

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Human Service Organizations, Human Services

Mission: Jewish Family Services helps individuals and families facing lifes challenges.

Results: In FY 2012, 538 people obtained employment, 220 families in crisis are rebuilding their lives and 260 Holocaust Survivors are living in dignity.

Target demographics: anyone who walks through our doors

Direct beneficiaries per year: 546 people obtain employment, 377 older adults maintained their independence and ove 25,000 teen girls, moms, educators and mentors hear healthy relationship and empowering messages.

Geographic areas served: Central Ohio

Programs: Career and Workforce Development Programs to assist entry level through professionals to obtain and retain employment. Counseling, Case Management and Community Support to our local community and focusing on the emerging needs of teens, young professionals, refugees and older adults and their caregivers.

Community Stories

101 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 4

This was my second stint with JFS. Both times, they were a tremendous help dealing with job loss. They offer workshops to improve and/or work on resume writing, interview skills, networking, and psychological help during your transition. All workshops are professionally done and very informative. The weekly get-togethers on Wed. mornings are a good reason to get out of the house, share your challenges and listen to success stories. It is a great way to network, also.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I received services from Jewish Family Services as part of their SUCCESS program. The SUCCESS program helps professionals who have lost their jobs through no fault of their own. They assist with resumes, cover letters, networking and interviewing skills.

This is an extremely valuable service. If you are a blue collar worker, the state will bend over backwards to find you a job, but if you are a professional, you are on your own.

The weekly group meetings are invaluable. Unemployment can be a very isolated experience. The group lets you know you are not alone. JFS will do everything to give you the support you need to find employment.

My education really worked against me in this job search (overeducated), but with the help of JFS, I have landed my "dream job". I am with a very stable company making a great salary, great benefits and doing the work I want.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I AM A SINGLE WOMAN OVER 50 . I LOST MY HUSBUN TO CANCER IN 2012 AND MY JOB OF 15 YEARS IN SEP OF 2013. ALONE AND FEELING A GREAT ABANDONMENT IN TEARS AND TRULY UPSENT IN BEING FORCED TO CHANGE AND TREATED LIKE I WAS WORTLESS BY A FORTUNE 500 COMPANY THAT CARES NOTHING ABOUT LOYALTY AND ABOLISHED JOBS AND PEOPLE TO SAVE SHORT TERM MONEY. A FRIEND TOLD ME ABOT JFC SO I WANT STRAIT THERE GOOD THING. THE ADVICE AND INFORMATION AND SUPORT THAT I RECEIVED HELPED ME COPE AND FOCUS. YOU WILL GET A CAREER CONSULTANT YOU WILL MEET PEOPLE IN YOUR SAME BOAT IN THE MORE PROGRAM, YOU CAN GET YOUR GROVE BACK AND FIND YOUR SELF. YOU WILL FIND OPPORTUNITIES AND INPROVE YOUR JOB SEARCH SKILLS AND BE READY FOR THAT NEW CHAPTER IN YOUR LIFE.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was referred to Jewish Family Service's SUCCESS program by a coworker of my wife after my position was eliminated in the defense sector. They do a phenomenal job offering classes in resume writing, networking, and interview skills. The mock interviews provided by the staff made the difference in obtaining an internship and then full time job. I cannot thank Justin Keaton and the rest of the staff enough.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was recommended to the Jewish Family Services SUCCESS program when I became unemployed. I found their help to be comprehensive including classes, group support, individual counseling, access to job openings, and referrals. At the time of my job loss, I was still adjusting to life after the death of my spouse the previous year, I found my adviser Justin and others at JFS SUCCESS to be understanding, caring, and helpful to me as a whole person. It was so helpful to have support and direction.

Client Served

Rating: 5

After being wrongfully terminated Sheila gave me back my hope. I had gone through four interviews without getting a call back. I called her up to get registered and also explained that I had a phone interview that evening. She spent an hour on the phone explaining interview tips and her suggestions got me a face to face interview.
I have three college degrees. I did not think I needed their help. Plus, I did not want to tell one more person my nightmare. I could not have been more wrong. Talking to Sheila gave me back my power. She empowered me with the tools necessary to get the job done. She also explained that my resume was "old-fashioned"! She gave me more tools to modernize my resume. Her compassion and professionalism was amazing coming from a complete stranger!
I also loved the signs on the wall that read "we do not help everyone...oh wait yes we do help everyone!"

Client Served

Rating: 5

JFS is a remarkable place. No matter what your religion is, you are welcome here to work on your career development, take classes, and hone interviewing skills. The JFS specialists are enthusiastic, smart and compassionate. Cannot speak highly enough of this nonprofit. Hurray, JFS!

2 Jennifer311

Client Served

Rating: 5

The day after I lost my job, in November 2013, I made a call to Jewish Family Services; I had always heard wonderful things about their programming to help those who were unemployed. What I'd heard didn't even come close to explain the amazing support, training, and resources I would receive in the coming weeks! Those working at JFS truly care about their clients and are always eager to answer questions, provide assistance, and recommend further resources. During my time in JFS' S.U.C.C.E.S.S. program I attended weekly support meetings with speakers; trainings to learn about LinkedIn, resume writing, interview techniques, and more; a MicroSoft computer class; and I got networking like I've never networked before. The S.U.C.C.E.S.S. program and its coaches are what got me through a sometimes very tumultuous time of my life. I would never hesitate to return, should the need arise, and I strongly encourage others to avail themselves of their services!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I joined Jewish Family Services (JFS) SUCCESS program back in the late spring of 2009. I first started taking career-related workshops where I learned a great deal about networking, writing cover letters, using LinkedIn and other effective strategies for professional job hunting.

Then in June (2009) I won the lottery when Mindy Agin, a Career Strategist with JFS, started working with me one-on-one. Immediately, I was fully engaged in the process from Mindy's vast knowledge and expertise. She helped me with a host of invaluable strategies to land a professional job. First she helped me completely overhaul my resume, bringing it into the 21st Century, then we worked on communication skills, like the infamous "one-minute elevator speech," and doing phone interviews. Through Mindy's -- and the entire team's -- dedicated efforts, I gained confidence and ease in an area that I never felt confident and ease. And, within a very short time, I had two job offers: one in Washington, DC and one in Montgomery, AL. I chose the later and started work on August 9, 2009.

After spending four rewarding years with Southern Poverty Law Center in Alabama, I found myself moving to Houston, Texas, for my partner's promotion. What is remarkable and shows JFS's and Mindy's sincerity and dedication is she said to me back in 2009 to feel free to keep in touch and continue to seek her advice and support throughout the years, even after landing a job. I did exactly that, and Mindy, without a second hesitation, helped me once again prepare for job hunting again. I start today, Feb. 18, with Houston Community College.

Without JFS's SUCCESS program, and its amazing team, I would not be where I am today. I am extremely grateful and appreciative of this organization and the awesome team I've grown to admire and respect wholly. THANK YOU!

Client Served

Rating: 5

JFS to me, was truly a lifesaver. For 15 years I remained in an abusive marriage. Though I knew I did not deserve the abuse, I always figured I could handle it. I didn't want to break apart a family. Finally, in Dec. of 2009, I decided I had enough. The turning point for me was that I saw the effect it was having on my children. Though yes, I was tough enough to handle the abuse, I saw my children being verbally, emotionally and mentally abused as well. These were my young children in their developing years, forming their personalities and identities. I felt as a Mother, it was my job to protect them. I wasn't doing my job, because I could not protect them from their father.

Within 1 hour of calling JFS, I received a call back from Lisa Carroll. Lisa is the "goddess" of domestic violence. She listened to everything I said, and really understood my situation. She could understand that even though I was being abused, how hard it is to leave the relationship. She explained to me that the average woman leaves 6 to 7 times before they leave for good. She immediately made an appointment for me to see Jan Napier, a licensed clinical social worker at JFS. Within 45 minutes, Jan was able to complete my sentences. She knew exactly of my husbands personality disorder. It meant the world to me that somebody actually understood the hell that I lived in. She counseled me weekly giving me tips how to live in my current situation. ALL the counseling sessions I received were covered by JFS.

After 6 months of counseling, I realized it was time to make my move, I wanted to file for divorce. I knew that my husband would NEVER change, and I didn't want to live the rest of my life like this, nor have him continue to torment my children. Lisa was there for me every step of the way. With no family here in Columbus, her support meant the world to me. She helped me find an attorney, and a place to live. She came with me to every meeting with my attorney and to every court appearance. She obtained funding for me from an anonymous donor to help with my tremendous legal expenses. From the day I first spoke to her in Dec 2009 until I got divorced in 2012, she was at my side. Even when you are being abused, it is so hard to divorce. Had I not had her support, and the financial support of JFS, I would have gone back to my abusive husband. I know it may sound crazy to some, but when you have little money, and no one to at your side you are drawn to go back to your "normal," even abuse.

Life for me today is so much better. I got myself back. I can make my own decisions without having to ask permission. I have gotten in touch with and seen friends of mine that I hadn't seen in 15 years. I no longer have to live in my home in constant fear for me and my children. Are things perfect? No, but I know they will continue to get better. JFS is still at my side helping me. I have gone through some of their job training programs, and I know when I am ready to find a better job, they will be there to help me, For the past 3 years for Chanukah, my children have been blessed with beautiful gifts from anonymous families. Lisa continues to call me to make sure I am doing okay. I still see Jan for counseling and continued support. I know JFS will always be an important part of my life, and I can't thank everyone at the Columbus, OH office enough for all their support and help.

Client Served

Rating: 5

There are thousands of organizations all across America that use some version of the word "commitment" to define themselves. Yet, there are only a few organizations that have mastered the skill to move "commitment" from words into demonstrated and authentic action. Jewish Family Services (JFS) is one of those scarce gems.

From April 2013 to June 2013, I had the opportunity to interact with several workforce development programs throughout the city--ones used by Fortune 500 companies for employment transition services as well as those funded by governmental agencies. In June 2013, I chose the guidance and strategies of the JFS's Success Program to execute my strategic job search. What was the result? By September 2013 I had landed a new job. So here's what sets JFS's Success Program apart from other workforce development programs across the city:

1. The team does their homework and shares their results with the client, so that you know that the strategies and information they are giving you is current, relevant, and proven. And their research is not boilerplate.

2. They are clear about what is needed for reemployment success and they repeat the message often to keep you focused.

3. They are not afraid to have crucial conversations that get a client unstuck from myths, outdated ways of thinking, or other self imposed barriers to landing a job.

4. They work organically as a team in real time and are change agents. They are constantly observing client responses, feedback and reactions and exploring among each other what it means and then quickly adjusting how they deliver their services. They are client-centric.

5. They have a wholistic and innovative approach. They have dissected and analyzed the common reasons that people do not land jobs and they provide tools that effectively prepare clients to overcome those hurdles. Their Gavel Club is one such tool--and if you want to be able to think on your feet in an interview, then that is the place to go.

6. They exercise complete thought and depth in each interaction with you. They are responsive. Therefore, you know that your success is important to them and that they want to be a part of making that happen.

So in summary, if you want to be more than a number, if you want to be coached by people where your reemployment matters the most, and if you want to put your full faith in a process and know that you will be okay, then you must experience JFS.

Client Served

Rating: 5

The JFS SUCCESS team supported me through the three years it took me to get another job after a layoff. They truly are a team. I had a wonderful counselor, who acted as my adviser/coach/cheerleader and all-round go-to person. He was always accessible, available and ready to listen and help. Resources included job and resume counseling/coaching, workshops and training. The program is a tremendous service for the community. You could not ask for better people to work work.

Client Served

Rating: 5

The amazing SUCCESS team helped me through the three years it took me to get another job after a layoff. They truly are a team. I was assigned to a wonderful counselor, who acted as my adviser/coach/cheerleader/mother confessor/all-round go-to person, but if she wasn't available there was always someone else to help. Resources included job and resume counseling, workshops, peer support, and business assistance--all spectacular. This is a terrific community service.

Client Served

Rating: 5

What an AMAZING experience!! The people, the services, the willingness to help – I have never experienced anything that even resembled such a service!

My husband and I came to Columbus OH, from a foreign country a month ago, without a job, and without knowing anyone. We were overwhelmed by the amount of information we were lacking.

We got in touch with the JFS and from that moment on we were no longer alone. The JFS helped us settle in, helped us get furniture into our then empty apartment, called us in for consultations and gave us important advice on where and how to get around Columbus. For this I must thank Danielle Rubin for her amazing work and effort!

It did not end there… To help me find a job (I was an out of work attorney) I initially met with Sheila Camden from the career center of the JFS. Sheila – an incredibly nice person, that always greeted me with a sincere smile, referred me to Mindy Agin, a career strategist from the JFS. Mindy, together with Lynn Aspey worked with me on finding me a job to my satisfaction. Mindy met with me several times, revised my resume according to the job description and sent me job applications she thought suitable. Lynn worked hard in the background, finding me the right position, contacting potential future employers, recommending me and stating in touch. All their hard work resulted in me getting the job of my dreams!

I want to take this opportunity to thank them all at the JFS for just being who they are – wonderful people with a true mission and intention to help!!

Thank You! When I will have the opportunity I will definitely try and pay in forward.

Shira


Client Served

Rating: 5

If it wasn't for Jewish Family Services, I might still be unemployed. In spite of a great work history - or maybe because of it - my resume was stale and unfocused. My interviewing skills were nonexistent, and I had no idea how to find a job that suited my skills and preferences. Looking for work after 15 years with the same company was overwhelming. The wonderful workshops JFS staff offered cut the task into manageable slices, tackling first the focus, then the resume, then the interview. After these sessions, my resume started getting hits, my interviews went from none to several, and I landed a contract assignment within 3 months of working with them. Special kudos to my counselor, Tim McNish, who really earned a gold medal for putting up with an eclectic and slightly recalcitrant client.

My only regret about finding a job is that I no longer get to learn from this team - they are the best!

Client Served

Rating: 5

This is a fantastic organization! I have worked with a couple other companies providing the same services and I can say that Jewish Family Services are simply the best at what they do. The high quality of service that comes from this group, which is not for profit, is simply amazing.

The staff is extremely knowledgeable, approachable and they are all experts in their field. They individually contributed their own personal knowledge and experience to my job search, which I found to be of great benefit. My Client Coach, Karen Hughes, and the Director of Business Development, Lynn Aspey, worked tirelessly on my behalf. They were always available for questions or advice and made me feel like I was their only client. They were very enthusiastic, optimistic and encouraging throughout the entire process.

I can’t say enough about this organization and its mission. It was such a great pleasure working with Jewish Family Services.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have been a member of the SUCCESS program for about a year. I can not say enough about the warm welcome, hard work and dedication from the staff lead by my advisor Karen Hughes. No matter how busy she is she has always found time to stop what she is doing and address my issues and concerns. Karen is a valuable asset to the program, very knowledgeable about todays trends in employment search and is doing an outstanding job with continuing to develop the program.

Through the program I am able to write an effective resume, thanks to Karen and Mindy, send out an effective "e-blast", thanks to April, prepare for an effective interview, thanks to Jim, get connected to employers around the city, thanks to Lynn, and effectively speak in front of others, thanks to Adam.

The speakers have been very helpful adding that experience that was helpful to me as well. I am proud to say that through the hard work and dedication offered by the SUCCESS team, I have landed the management job I've been seeking with the Columbus School Board.

SUCCESS staff members should be commended for their professionalism, hard work and dedication.

Best regards to all of the staff

Glenn

Client Served

Rating: 5

Jewish Family Services staff are very friendly. The staff have the knowledge to provide valuable experience and help clients with all needs. The workshops help me with networking. JFS helped with the job hunt, resumes, cover letters and many other things as well. Also, the staff are very organized. Special thanks to Laura, Harriet, Danielle, and Mary! Thanks for all of your hard effort and help. Written by Eugene.

Client Served

Rating: 5

After many years of employment, I was hoping my resume was good. It wasn't. Jewish Family Services helped me polish my resume and I started getting calls...and interviews! The seminars and support have been incredibly informative and uplifting. I only have rare "down" days now. Mary is just a Email away.

I don't have employment yet, but JFS helped patch up my raggedy spirit and I am pushing on in the belief that "this is temporary". Thank you from my heart. K. Hutchison

Client Served

Rating: 4

Thank you Jewish Family Services for always being kind to your clients and helpful with our job searches. Your information about how to search for a job is great is so valuable.