Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

GREY2K USA Education Fund

4,138 pageviews

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animal-Related, Animals

Mission: The GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer 501(c)3 organization dedicated to helping greyhounds. We work to sponsor the release of greyhounds from closing dog tracks and also to educate the public about the history and lives of greyhounds, from their origins as royal companions to their exploitation today at commercial racetracks. Our mission is to spread the word about these gentle dogs and promote adoption efforts worldwide.

Results: The GREY2K USA Education Fund has conducted groundbreaking research into the dog racing industry. This research has helped close 30 dog tracks in the US and helped to prevent the expansion of dog racing to countries such as Jamaica, the Philippines and South Africa. Our work has been reported by mainstream news organizations all over the world. We directly support greyhound adoption groups and promote adoption generally through the international rescue page on our web site.

Target demographics: save greyhounds

Direct beneficiaries per year: to sponsor the rescue of dozens of greyhounds from one dog track alond and by offering free programs to kids all across the United States, focusing in the state of Florida, this nation's biggest dog racing state. 8,000 greyhounds are used for racing there every year, and many discarded once they slow down. Our programs encourage and show kids how to help save these dogs.

Geographic areas served: worldwide

Programs: We sponsor the release of greyhounds from closing dog tracks through our "Second Chance for Greyhounds" Fund. We also offer free presentations on adoption and advocacy to schools through our signature Greyhounds in the Classroom and Greyhounds in the Library programs, and perform ongoing research into the dog racing industry to promote an understanding of the cruelty of dog racing. Participating children are given free age-appropriate materials including a coloring book for younger kids, a hard cover book for older kids to read, "Save the Greyhounds" wristbands, adoption posters to hang, greyhound magnets and more.

Community Stories

24 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Donor

Rating: 5

This organization and their staff are open, honest, accountable, and informational. During two previous military advisor assignments in Iraq and Afghanistan, this organization provided me with information and moral support that greatly assisted my efforts in rescuing eight dogs to forever safe and happy homes in the United States.

Comments ( 1 )

christine It is a pleasure to work with dedicated service people like you! Thanks for your kind words!

1

Donor

Rating: 5

The "fight" to help these sweet and gentle dogs is not just on the front lines (at the tracks and legislation), but also in educating the public. It is imperative that people be informed of the horrifying things that really go on with these breeders, trainers and kennel owners, not to mention what happens to these innocent dogs leading up to and during their races. Breeders and some casino owners are trying desperately to keep this all covered up. Educating the public as to the bad things these dogs go through is SO important, but also "meet & greets" with the dogs and explaining what great pets they make. The two biggest misconceptions are that 1. the dogs are high strung with a lot of nervous energy; and 2. they must have an owner who will run everyday with them... both are just not true. Not even close! And Grey2K is getting the word out, which, in my opinion, is invaluable.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Your words mean so much. On behalf of the board of GREY2K USA Worldwide, I thank you! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President

profile

christine 07/15/2017

Thank you for your informative comment and thank you for being a part of our team, Debbie!

Donor

Rating: 5

So proud of the tireless efforts to put an end to this cruelty and to educate the public about the plight of the greyhounds. They are fortunate to have this voice. Great work!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Go team! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

Lorraine N.

Donor

Rating: 5

They are hard working and relentless! They do great work at stopping a cruel and stupid industry.

Previous Stories
4

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

These guys are relentless in their pursuit to stop the awful "sport" of greyhound racing. I'm glad they are here, otherwise so many other dogs would be doomed to a life of misery.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 08/20/2014

Thanks Lorraine, for being with us from day one! Christine Dorchak, President GREY2K USA Education Fund

Read more

Donor

Rating: 5

Sometimes a story needs a little more explanation and help. The grey2k usa education fund is exactly this...we, in the U.S., are a dog culture, and even though we all love them, there is this one breed that few really know about. And that is the most loving and charming and attention-wanting...the greyhound. This group reaches out in so many ways, and makes sure that whoever they communicate with fully understands the exceptional sensitivities of the greyhound and their want and love of human companionship. And in so doing, they make sure that greyhounds are NEVER overlooked in the Adoptable Dogs listings...and because of this, more greyhound DO find loving homes.

1 Janet96

Donor

Rating: 5

We have been supporting the GREY2K USA team for several years both with personal donations and through our business. The GREY2K USA team has worked relentlessly to save living animals from the cruelty of humans. They also help to educate children so that this madness of using animals to make $ stops. I highly recommend that everyone should support GREY2k USA until ALL dog racing ends.
GREY2K USA does not succumb to the harsh attacks from the dog racing industry.
GREY2K USA is responsible both fiscally and humanly.

Previous Stories
3

Donor

Rating: 5

We've supported GREY2K USA for over two years now and have seen remarkable progress by Christine Dorchak and her team's non-stop, dedicated and diligent work. We support GREY2K USA both with fundraising, our personal monies and by signing the petitions and support she needs to bring the laws to fruition to protect living beings.
Rarely do you find a non-profit that is so transparent with the monies spent and most rare of all, the dedicated work devoting time and money directly to the cause. If more people cared as much as the GREY2K USA team our world would be a kinder place.

1 Julie88

Donor

Rating: 5

I am thankful for GREY2K USA and the wonderful work they do to help end the abuse and suffering of greyhounds.

Previous Stories
7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Thank you to GREY2K USA for the great work it does in getting information out about the cruelty of greyhound racing. The public needs to know the truth about the racing industry and GREY2K USA is doing just that. Thank you so much!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/06/2012

Thanks for this review.

5 Cheryl142

Donor

Rating: 5

I began supporting Grey2KUSA several years ago after adopting our first two greyhounds. They have a heart for these wonderful dogs. They have been very helpful in the education of the public of the truth about cruel the greyhhound racing industry as a whole. I have used their newsletters and brochures to help other understand what their mission is about. Social media has made it easier for me to open the eyes of my friends and family on the need to ban greyhound racing world wide. I stand tall with Grey2KUSA in all they do.

4 Maureen50

Donor

Rating: 5

Grey2KUSA works worldwide to end Greyhound racing. Dogs are pets, not livestock, and Grey2K makes that point over and over, putting a spotlight on the unnecessary injuries and deaths that dog racing results in. Donations to them are always put to great use.

4 Eric J.

Donor

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund has done so much to promote greyhounds as pets, from adoption to supplying materials for classroom presentations, and even supporting literacy programs. The Ed Fund provides books about adopted greyhounds to help young students learn about greyhounds and taking care of pets. Their humane education work includes a number of items like wristbands and buttons. Kids get to take home a memento of their classroom experience. The feedback from students is wonderful. The kids write about how they've committed themselves to being good stewards of animals. It's really heart-warming to see. Great job, Ed Fund.

I am the Vice-President of the Ed Fund's sister organization, GREY2K USA Worldwide. I am not involved in the governance, but I am a donor and supporter of the Education Fund.

Previous Stories
4

Donor

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund has done so much to further public knowledge of greyhound racing. I actively support their mission. The work they have done to promote reading and humane education is exceptional. Great work.

Read more
4

Donor

Rating: 5

I feel confident donating to GREY2K USA Education Fund because they are THE experts on this issue! Dedicated, selfless and persistent...they are getting the job done!

5

Donor

Rating: 5

The real story of the history of greyhounds and how they've come to be used now as expendable commodities in dog racing needs to be told, and Grey2K USA Education Fund is one of the primary information outlets to disseminate the facts. Not "the facts" as the racing industry would have one believe, but the real facts. Facts lead to action and to activists and they, in turn, lead to results. And every bit of light shed on this appalling institutionalized animal abuse will help bring about its end. I have supported them for years and will continue to do so...proudly.

Previous Stories
4

Donor

Rating: 5

This is THE non-profit that harnesses the smarts, resources and tireless dedication to take on the institutionalized cruelty of greyhound racing...first in the Northeast, then throughout the USA, and now throughout the world. These dedicated professionals have brought a powerful skill set to the nuances and logistics required to get the laws passed...get the publicity OUT...get the message across, and then make results happen. I've supported them for years and fully intend to support them until greyhound racing is an anachronism of a less enlightened era. I am proud to be affiliated with their efforts.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 08/29/2014

Dear Joyce, Thanks for being such a valued team member, and for loving greyhounds as much as we do! Christine Dorchak, President

Read more
4

Donor

Rating: 5

I believe that there are people out there writing comments to try to make Grey2k look bad by saying
that they do not help adoptions of greyhounds enough.
Grey2k is set up to "end racing", there are many groups out there who are set up to take in and adopt out greyhounds.
But is only one non profit that i know of, "Grey2k" who is set up to stop racing.

If no one stops it, when will these poor creatures ever have normal lives
like other breeds of dogs enjoy?

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 03/04/2014

Thank you for supporting our work to protect greyhounds and end dog racing!

4 Joan35

Donor

Rating: 5

I have been adopting greyhounds since 1994. These dogs are the sweetest creatures! They don't deserve to be exploited by the racing industry. GREY2K has been doing wonderful work, helping to legislate against racing, educating the public about racing greyhounds and promoting adoption!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 06/06/2013

Thanks for your kind words of support, Joan!

7 Danielle25

Donor

Rating: 5

Thank God for the GREY2K USA Education Fund; I can't think of another group that is so dedicated to its mission within the greyhound welfare world. The group has grown in size and scope since I first became involved as an advocate, donor and volunteer. They are still relatively small, but I am impressed by the level of professionalism, quality of resources and dedication to the mission of educating the public about the rampant abuses within the greyhound racing industry.

The racing industry has some very outspoken supporters, but they do not have the data to back up their claims. GREY2K Education Fund has performed and acquired huge amounts of data, reports, studies, and public records, as well as anecdotal evidence from people who have now turned their backs on the industry.

I trust their information completely and have used it in presentations and letter-writing campaigns to lawmakers around the world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 05/20/2013

Thanks for your emphatic support, Danielle! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA

Previous Stories
5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Christine and Carey (and their volunteers) are the most dedicated people I know. I have been adopting greyhounds as pets for most of my life, and absolutely love these beautiful animals. I hate that the racing industry creates greyhounds and then destroys them when they can no longer race and therefore stop earning money for their owners. While the public like to see the dogs, they are mostly unaware of what happens to the dogs and what conditions exist (including injuries, drug use, and animal abuse). GREY2K USA Education Fund uncovers the truth and does not let the industry brush the situation under the rug anymore. Like journalists, they see a story from beginning to end and do not shy away from taking on some powerful, outspoken racing supporters. They are tireless, focused, and really care about their work. If the Fund did not exist, greyhounds would have a very bleak future.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/08/2012

Thanks for this review Danielle.

7 Mike63

Donor

Rating: 1

I don't understand how one group can have so little impact on an industry, yet maintain such a hatred for it. I donated to Grey2k to help greyhounds. I later found out that 0% of the money I gave helped a greyhound find a home. Once I researched grey2k's literal message; ending greyhound racing, not nessisarly helping greyhounds, I found that they take credit for many track closures they had nothing to do with, such as the ones in colorado and wisconsin. I'm inpartial to greyhound racing, but I've found that donating to groups that are neutral like myself, or even pro racing, have the dogs in mind more then grey2k, who's only goal seems to be putting people out of work, then putting dogs in households.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 12/03/2012

The claim that this "review" was posted by a former donor is simply not true. This "review" was posted by a dog racing supporter as part of an orchestrated effort to place false negative reviews here. It is also not factually accurate. For example, the GREY2K USA Education Fund regularly makes direct financial contributions to local greyhound adoption groups. We also give greyhound adoption referrals and promote greyhound adoption.

6

Donor

Rating: 5

It's obvious from reading the negative comments that the authors are folks associated with racetracks. Grey2K USA Education Fund is a wonderful organization. Dedicated to helping greyhounds and educating the public about the realities of greyhound racing. They are a unique organization providing honest information from where to go to adopt a greyhound, to their financials, to the honest facts about greyhound racing.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/08/2012

Thanks for this review.

6

Donor

Rating: 5

Grey2KUSA is a group of incredibly intelligent people who understand that Greyhound racing is a cruel and inhumane practice that needs to be phased out. In order to do this, laws need to be changed and Grey2KUSA has the capacity to see this through. They are relentless in their quest for doing this, and doing it correctly and diplomatically.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/06/2012

Thanks for this review.

5 Lisa156

Donor

Rating: 5

Amazing organization helping all understand what greyhound racing is really about. People have no idea what these dogs endure. People have no idea what amazing animals they are. Grey2k USA fights to make the world a better place for greyhounds all over the world & to help everyone understand why tracks all over the world must be shut done & greyhound racing banned forever.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/01/2012

Thanks for the review Lisa.

5

Donor

Rating: 5

Fantastic organization that finally ended dog racing in MA. They are committed to exposing and ending the atrocities of racing nationally and internationally.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/01/2012

Thanks for the review John.